DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-30 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants argue that the prior art on record, i.e., THOMAS., does not teach some of the claimed subject matter, e.g., “A method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a plurality of base stations, a request for a capability report indicating at least one of whether the plurality of base stations have a capability to formulate a reference signal (RS) for communication as a positioning reference signal (PRS) for a user equipment (UE) positioning session or whether the plurality of base stations have a capability to transmit a PRS dedicated for positioning for the UE positioning session; receiving, from each of the plurality of base stations, the capability report; and selecting at least some of the plurality of base stations and a signal pattern configuration for the UE positioning session based on the capability report received from each of the plurality of base stations.” The examiner kindly steers the applicants’ attention to the following:
THOMAS teaches “…receiving configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF); receiving configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station; and performing positioning based on round trip time (RTT), based on the configuration related to the DL PRS and the configuration related to the UL PRS…”. THOMAS further teaches “…A new generation evolved-NB (ng-eNB) and a gNB are network elements of NG-RAN capable of providing a measurement result for location estimation, and may measure a radio signal for a target UE and may transfer a resultant value to the LMF. In addition, the ng-eNB may control several transmission points (TPs) such as remote radio heads or PRS-dedicated TPs supporting a positioning reference signal (PRS)-based beacon system for E-UTRA…”, equating the “transmitting…”.
THOMAS teaches “…upon confirmation of the subscription request, the gNB may generate the available configuration including, e.g. the available frequency layers, and/or number of resources/resource availability of all TRPs under the serving gNB. The gNB then may periodically/aperiodically provide the available configuration…”, equating “a request for a capability report…”.
THOMAS teaches “…upon confirmation of the subscription request, the gNB may generate the available configuration including, e.g. the available frequency layers, and/or number of resources/resource availability of all TRPs under the serving gNB. The gNB then may periodically/aperiodically provide the available configuration…”, equating the “receiving…”.
And finally THOMAs teaches “…the gNB may perform the required UL-PRS measurements based on the SRS received from the UE and may directly forward the measurements to the LMF in accordance with the step S1780. In step S1770, the LMF may also request the SRS measurements from the gNB and can trigger this request depending on whether the measurements were received or not or updated measurements need to be provided. In step S1780, the gNB may forward the measurements to the LMF to assist in the UE location estimate computation. In step S1790, the LMF can cancel the subscription based on its own needs/requirements…”, which is equated to “…selecting…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030.
Applicant(s) are reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claim. The Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition, which is not specifically set forth in the claims, In re Tanaka et al, 193 USPQ 139, (CCPA) 1977. Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained with some elucidation to clarify examiner’s position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by THOMAS (US Pub. No.: 2023/0053304 A1: hereinafter “THOMAS”).
Consider claims 1, 15, 21, and 30:
THOMAS teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240), a method of wireless communication at a base station (Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240), an apparatus, a method of wireless communication at a network entity (See THOMAS, e.g., “…a method of performing, by a first apparatus, wireless communication…receiving configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF); receiving configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station; and performing positioning based on round trip time (RTT), based on the configuration related to the DL PRS and the configuration related to the UL PRS…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030), comprising: transmitting, to a plurality of base stations, a request for a capability report indicating at least one of whether the plurality of base stations have a capability to formulate a reference signal (RS) for communication (See THOMAS, e.g., “…A new generation evolved-NB (ng-eNB) and a gNB are network elements of NG-RAN capable of providing a measurement result for location estimation, and may measure a radio signal for a target UE and may transfer a resultant value to the LMF. In addition, the ng-eNB may control several transmission points (TPs) such as remote radio heads or PRS-dedicated TPs supporting a positioning reference signal (PRS)-based beacon system for E-UTRA…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030) as a positioning reference signal (PRS) for a user equipment (UE) positioning session or whether the plurality of base stations have a capability to transmit a PRS dedicated for positioning for the UE positioning session (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030); receiving, from each of the plurality of base stations, the capability report (See THOMAS, e.g., “…upon confirmation of the subscription request, the gNB may generate the available configuration including, e.g. the available frequency layers, and/or number of resources/resource availability of all TRPs under the serving gNB. The gNB then may periodically/aperiodically provide the available configuration…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030); and selecting at least some of the plurality of base stations and a signal pattern configuration for the UE positioning session based on the capability report received from each of the plurality of base stations (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the gNB may perform the required UL-PRS measurements based on the SRS received from the UE and may directly forward the measurements to the LMF in accordance with the step S1780. In step S1770, the LMF may also request the SRS measurements from the gNB and can trigger this request depending on whether the measurements were received or not or updated measurements need to be provided. In step S1780, the gNB may forward the measurements to the LMF to assist in the UE location estimate computation. In step S1790, the LMF can cancel the subscription based on its own needs/requirements…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 2, 16, and 22:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 15, and 21. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the RS for communication includes a tracking reference signal (TRS) (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the LMF may be connected to an SUPL location platform (SLP). The LMF may support and manage different location determining services for respective target UEs. The LMF may interact with a serving ng-eNB or serving gNB for the target UE to obtain location measurement of the UE. For positioning of the target UE, the LMF may determine a positioning method based on a location service (LCS) client type, a requested quality of service (QoS), UE positioning capabilities, gNB positioning capabilities, and ng-eNB positioning capabilities…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 3, 17:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 15. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein if the capability report from a base station of the plurality of base stations indicates that the base station does not have the capability to formulate the RS for communication as the PRS, the at least one processor is further configured to: exclude the base station from the at least some of the plurality of base stations for the UE positioning session (See THOMAS, e.g., “…A new generation evolved-NB (ng-eNB) and a gNB are network elements of NG-RAN capable of providing a measurement result for location estimation, and may measure a radio signal for a target UE and may transfer a resultant value to the LMF. In addition, the ng-eNB may control several transmission points (TPs) such as remote radio heads or PRS-dedicated TPs supporting a positioning reference signal (PRS)-based beacon system for E-UTRA…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 4, 18, and 23, 25, and 28:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 15, and 21. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein if the capability report from a base station of the plurality of base stations indicates that the base station has the capability to formulate the RS for communication as the PRS, the capability report further includes one or more of: at least one RS type supported by the base station, a periodicity of the at least one RS type, a first indication of whether the RS for communication is able to be configured for a UE in an idle mode or an inactive mode, a maximum supported bandwidth (BW) for the RS, a duration of the RS that is able to serve as the PRS, a second indication of whether the base station is capable of formulating the RS for communication to a predefined PRS pattern, or a third indication of whether the base station supports RS muting (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 5, 24:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 4, 23. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the at least one RS type includes one or more of: an aperiodic–tracking reference signal (AP-TRS), a semi-persistent–tracking reference signal (SP-TRS), or a periodic–tracking reference signal (P-TRS) (See THOMAS, e.g., “…A new generation evolved-NB (ng-eNB) and a gNB are network elements of NG-RAN capable of providing a measurement result for location estimation, and may measure a radio signal for a target UE and may transfer a resultant value to the LMF. In addition, the ng-eNB may control several transmission points (TPs) such as remote radio heads or PRS-dedicated TPs supporting a positioning reference signal (PRS)-based beacon system for E-UTRA…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 6, 14, and 29:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 21. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a request to determine a location of a UE; transmit, to the UE, a request to report a UE capability associated with the UE positioning session (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030); and receive, from the UE, the UE capability, wherein the at least some of the plurality of base stations and the signal pattern configuration for the UE positioning session are selected further based on the UE capability (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 7, 19:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 15. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the at least some of the plurality of base stations, the signal pattern configuration (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 8, 26:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 25. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the signal pattern configuration corresponds to a first PRS pattern formulated based on the PRS dedicated for positioning or a second PRS pattern formulated based on the RS for communication that is different from the first PRS pattern (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 9, 27:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 8, 26. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the signal pattern configuration is selected further based on whether the at least some of the plurality of base stations are able to transmit the first PRS pattern, or whether the at least some of the plurality of base stations are able to transmit both the first PRS pattern and the second PRS pattern (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claim 10:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein if the capability report from a base station of the plurality of base stations indicates that the base station does not have the capability to formulate the RS for communication as the PRS but has the capability to transmit the PRS dedicated for positioning, the capability report further includes one or more of: a resource pattern associated with the PRS, a beam type associated with a transmission of the PRS, a periodicity associated with the PRS (See THOMAS, e.g., “…A new generation evolved-NB (ng-eNB) and a gNB are network elements of NG-RAN capable of providing a measurement result for location estimation, and may measure a radio signal for a target UE and may transfer a resultant value to the LMF. In addition, the ng-eNB may control several transmission points (TPs) such as remote radio heads or PRS-dedicated TPs supporting a positioning reference signal (PRS)-based beacon system for E-UTRA…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claims 11, 20:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 15. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to a UE associated with the UE positioning session, an indication to receive one or more PRSs that are formulated based on one or more RSs for communication from the at least some of the plurality of base stations (See THOMAS, e.g., “…A new generation evolved-NB (ng-eNB) and a gNB are network elements of NG-RAN capable of providing a measurement result for location estimation, and may measure a radio signal for a target UE and may transfer a resultant value to the LMF. In addition, the ng-eNB may control several transmission points (TPs) such as remote radio heads or PRS-dedicated TPs supporting a positioning reference signal (PRS)-based beacon system for E-UTRA…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claim 12:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the one or more PRSs are associated with periodic resources (See THOMAS, e.g., “…the first apparatus may receive configuration related to a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from a location management function (LMF). For example, the configuration related to the DL PRS may include at least one of first information related to a synchronization signal block (SSB) or second information related to the SSB. In step S2120, the first apparatus may receive configuration related to an uplink (UL) PRS from a base station…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Consider claim 13:
THOMAS teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, THOMAS teaches wherein the indication is transmitted via a positioning system information block (SIB) (See THOMAS, e.g., “…Codewords may be converted into radio signals via the signal processing circuit 1000 of FIG. 25. Herein, the codewords are encoded bit sequences of information blocks. The information blocks may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block, a DL-SCH transport block). The radio signals may be transmitted through various physical channels (e.g., a PUSCH and a PDSCH)…The codewords may be restored to original information blocks through decoding. Therefore, a signal processing circuit (not illustrated) for a reception signal may include signal restorers, resource demappers, a postcoder, demodulators, descramblers, and decoders…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0014], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0071], ¶ [0089]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0109]-¶ [0117], ¶ [0119]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0177]-¶ [0195],and Figs. 2-3, 9 10-13, 16-23, 28 elements 10-240, steps S1310-S2030).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BAEK et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0184953 A1) teaches “A method by which a terminal operates in a wireless communication system, according to one embodiment, comprises the steps of: receiving time difference of arrival (TDoA) slots from anchor nodes (ANs); and measuring the position of the terminal by using the TDoA slots, wherein the TDoA slots include control information of the ANs and positioning reference signals (PRSs) of the ANs.”
KIILERICH et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0047435 A1) teaches “Disclosed is a method comprising receiving, by a first terminal device, from a second terminal device, a first message indicating a first set of resource configurations for transmission of a reference signal to the second terminal device: transmitting, by the first terminal device, a second message indicating a second set of resource configurations for the transmission of the reference signal to the second terminal device, wherein the second set of resource configurations are generated based at least partly on the first set of resource configurations; receiving, by the first terminal device, from the second terminal device, a third message indicating a resource configuration to be used for the transmission of the reference signal to the second terminal device; and transmitting, by the first terminal device, to the second terminal device, the reference signal based at least partly on the resource configuration indicated in the third message.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667