DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The Examiner notes that the amendment includes a portion of objected-to claim 9. However, all limitations of the objected-to claim are required to make the independent claims allowable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima et al. (US 2024/0406983 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2023/0087401 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kusashima discloses A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising (Fig. 12: UE1):
identifying that the first UE is operating in an unlicensed spectrum and in a frame based equipment mode or a load based equipment mode for sidelink communications ([0176]: A channel access procedure is performed to access an unlicensed channel on which transmission is performed in the base station 20 or the terminal device 40. The channel access can be rephrased as medium access or listen before talk (LBT). [0177]: In a channel access procedure of load-based equipment (LBE), sensing of a channel is performed once or a plurality of times. [0214]: In a channel access procedure of frame based equipment (FBE), sensing of a channel is performed once before transmission … the above-described “channel access” can be rephrased as listen before talk (LBT). [0220]: In an unlicensed band operation, a wireless communication device (hereinafter referred to as a communication device) performs LBT before signal transmission. When it is determined that the channel is clear as a result of the LBT, the channel can be occupied for a predetermined time. A predetermined time during which a channel can be occupied after the LBT is referred to as a channel occupancy time (COT). In the LBE, the COT is defined to fall within the maximum channel occupancy time (Maximum COT) defined in the table in FIG. 10A. In the FBE, the COT is defined to fall within 95% of the fixed frame period. The COT acquired by the communication device may be used for transmission of a reception-side communication device (hereinafter referred to as a reception device). Transmission of a signal by a communication device (responding device) different from the communication device (initiating device) that has acquired the COT using the COT is referred to as COT sharing. When the COT is shared, other communication devices also need to recognize the COT and the COT length);
receiving, from a second UE, a message indicating (Fig. 12, [0231]: After acquiring the COT, the 3rd device sends, in … sidelink, information indicating COT sharing to UE1 and/or UE2. [0272]: the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH … indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted); and
transmitting, to a third UE, a sidelink transmission using the one or more shared resources (Fig. 12, [0231]: Upon receiving the COT sharing information, UE1 and/or UE2 perform sidelink communication in the shared COT. [0272]: the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH … indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Kusashima does not disclose, but Shin discloses receiving, from a base station, a table indicating one or more shared resources ([0085]: In Case A … UE-A can provide resource allocation information configured by the base station to UE-B. [0086]: In Case A of Table 1, if two UEs are within the coverage of the same base station, the same resource pool may be configured for UE-A and UE-B. [0091]: UE-A may be allocated transmission resources by the base station ... To enable this, UE-A should be provided with information related to resource allocation to UE-B. [0099]-[0100], tables 2-3: Tables 2-3 show examples of parameter information included in the resource pool in LTE V2X and NR V2X, respectively); and
receiving, from a second UE, a message indicating a shared resource index corresponding to the one or more shared resources ([0083]: a scenario in which UE-A provides resource allocation information to UE-B may be considered. In this case, the resource allocation information provided by UE-A may be information on one or more resource pool candidates for UE-B. [0085]: UE-A can provide resource allocation information configured by the base station to UE-B. [0091]: UE-A provides resource allocation information to UE-B. [0107]-[0108]: different combination of methods are introduced where resource pool index are shared through SL MAC CE and 2nd stage SCI from one UE to another UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the base station, as taught by Kusashima, to allocate the same resource allocation information / resource pool to UE-A and UE-B, as taught by Shin, and to further program the 3rd device, as taught by Kusashima, to transmit a resource pool index corresponding to the allocated same resource allocation information / resource pool to the receiving UE, as taught by Shin.
Doing so minimizes power consumption of the UE because the UE can perform sensing and resource selection for another UE in inter-UE coordination (Shin: [0098]).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein receiving the message further comprises:
receiving, via the message, a single bit that indicates whether the first UE is allowed to transmit the sidelink transmission using the one or more shared resources during a duration between when the first UE receives the message and an end of the channel occupancy time ([0272]: the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted. Fig. 12, [0231]: Upon receiving the COT sharing information, UE1 and/or UE2 perform sidelink communication in the shared COT).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein receiving the message further comprises:
receiving the message via unicast (Fig. 12, [0274]: transmitting the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication may be determined, defined, or changed according to the cast type (that is, unicast, groupcast, or broadcast)).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein the one or more shared resources are based at least in part on a transmission time of the message indicating the one or more shared resources (Fig. 17, [0288], [0290]: Tx UE receives COT sharing information in S406 and determines resource on the basis of the information of the COT specified in the COT sharing information in S407. [0291]: the base station is disclosed to provide the COT sharing information, but a primary terminal device may also provide the COT sharing information on a sidelink. Fig. 12, [0232]: In sharing, the primary UE starts the COT. [0272]: the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication can be transmitted through the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)... The PSFCH may be mapped on the last symbol and/or the penultimate symbol of a predetermined slot. For example, the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein receiving the message further comprises:
receiving, via the message, a bitmap that indicates the one or more shared resources, wherein at least one bit of the bitmap indicates a shared resource of the one or more shared resources that is in relation to the transmission time of the message indicating the one or more shared resources ([0298]: in a case where the setter of the dynamic resource pool is other than the transmission device, it is necessary to provide the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool to the transmission device. Figs. 18-19, [0299]-[0300]: setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is a bitmap. A bit value of 1 in the bitmap may indicate a corresponding slot is set as a resource pool. Fig. 20, [0307]: the base station 20 shares the COT and sets the resource pool in the COT period. [0291]: the base station is disclosed to provide the COT sharing information, but a primary terminal device may also provide the COT sharing information on a sidelink, see also [0310]: the resource pool setter is the base station, but it may also be a terminal device providing the resource pool. [0272]: the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication can be transmitted through the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)... The PSFCH may be mapped on the last symbol and/or the penultimate symbol of a predetermined slot. For example, the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein receiving the message further comprises:
receiving, via the message, one or more start and length indicator values for the one or more shared resources ([0298]: in a case where the setter of the dynamic resource pool is other than the transmission device, it is necessary to provide the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool to the transmission device. Figs. 18-19, [0299]-[0300]: setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is a bitmap. A bit value of 1 in the bitmap may indicate a corresponding slot is set as a resource pool. [0302]: the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is the start position (slot offset) and the length of the resource pool. Fig. 20, [0307]: the base station 20 shares the COT and sets the resource pool in the COT period. [0291]: the base station is disclosed to provide the COT sharing information, but a primary terminal device may also provide the COT sharing information on a sidelink, see also [0310]: the resource pool setter is the base station, but it may also be a terminal device providing the resource pool. [0272]: the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication can be transmitted through the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)... The PSFCH may be mapped on the last symbol and/or the penultimate symbol of a predetermined slot. For example, the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein the one or more shared resources are based at least in part on an offset and a duration related to a fixed frame period structure of the second UE ([0298]: in a case where the setter of the dynamic resource pool is other than the transmission device, it is necessary to provide the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool to the transmission device. Figs. 18-19, [0299]-[0300]: setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is a bitmap. A bit value of 1 in the bitmap may indicate a corresponding slot is set as a resource pool. [0302]: the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is the start position (slot offset) … As an offset indicating the start position of the resource pool, an offset from the slot in which the COT is acquired or an offset from the slot in which the COT sharing information is received is assumed).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein receiving the message further comprises:
receiving the message via groupcast (Fig. 12, [0274]: transmitting the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication may be determined, defined, or changed according to the cast type (that is, unicast, groupcast, or broadcast)).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Kusashima A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising (Fig. 12: primary UE):
identifying that the first UE and a second UE are operating in an unlicensed spectrum and in a frame based equipment mode or a load based equipment mode for sidelink communications ([0176]: A channel access procedure is performed to access an unlicensed channel on which transmission is performed in the base station 20 or the terminal device 40. The channel access can be rephrased as medium access or listen before talk (LBT). [0177]: In a channel access procedure of load-based equipment (LBE), sensing of a channel is performed once or a plurality of times. [0214]: In a channel access procedure of frame based equipment (FBE), sensing of a channel is performed once before transmission … the above-described “channel access” can be rephrased as listen before talk (LBT). [0220]: In an unlicensed band operation, a wireless communication device (hereinafter referred to as a communication device) performs LBT before signal transmission. When it is determined that the channel is clear as a result of the LBT, the channel can be occupied for a predetermined time. A predetermined time during which a channel can be occupied after the LBT is referred to as a channel occupancy time (COT). In the LBE, the COT is defined to fall within the maximum channel occupancy time (Maximum COT) defined in the table in FIG. 10A. In the FBE, the COT is defined to fall within 95% of the fixed frame period. The COT acquired by the communication device may be used for transmission of a reception-side communication device (hereinafter referred to as a reception device). Transmission of a signal by a communication device (responding device) different from the communication device (initiating device) that has acquired the COT using the COT is referred to as COT sharing. When the COT is shared, other communication devices also need to recognize the COT and the COT length);
transmitting, to the second UE, a first message indicating (Fig. 12, [0231]: After acquiring the COT, the 3rd device sends, in … sidelink, information indicating COT sharing to UE1 and/or UE2. Upon receiving the COT sharing information, UE1 and/or UE2 perform sidelink communication in the shared COT. [0272]: the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH … indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Kusashima does not disclose, but Shin discloses receiving, from a base station, a table indicating one or more shared resources ([0085]: In Case A … UE-A can provide resource allocation information configured by the base station to UE-B. [0086]: In Case A of Table 1, if two UEs are within the coverage of the same base station, the same resource pool may be configured for UE-A and UE-B. [0091]: UE-A may be allocated transmission resources by the base station ... To enable this, UE-A should be provided with information related to resource allocation to UE-B. [0099]-[0100], tables 2-3: Tables 2-3 show examples of parameter information included in the resource pool in LTE V2X and NR V2X, respectively); and
transmitting, to the second UE, a first message indicating a shared resource index corresponding to a first portion of the one or more shared resources ([0083]: a scenario in which UE-A provides resource allocation information to UE-B may be considered. In this case, the resource allocation information provided by UE-A may be information on one or more resource pool candidates for UE-B. [0085]: UE-A can provide resource allocation information configured by the base station to UE-B. [0091]: UE-A provides resource allocation information to UE-B. [0107]-[0108]: different combination of methods are introduced where resource pool index are shared through SL MAC CE and 2nd stage SCI from one UE to another UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the base station, as taught by Kusashima, to allocate the same resource allocation information / resource pool to UE-A and UE-B, as taught by Shin, and to further program the 3rd device, as taught by Kusashima, to transmit a resource pool index corresponding to the allocated same resource allocation information / resource pool to the receiving UE, as taught by Shin.
Doing so minimizes power consumption of the UE because the UE can perform sensing and resource selection for another UE in inter-UE coordination (Shin: [0098]).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein transmitting the first message further comprises:
transmitting, to a third UE, a second message indicating a second portion of the one or more shared resources during the channel occupancy time, wherein the second portion of the one or more shared resources are available for the third UE to use for second sidelink transmissions (Fig. 12, [0231]: After acquiring the COT, the 3rd device sends, in downlink or sidelink, information indicating COT sharing to UE1 and/or UE2. Upon receiving the COT sharing information, UE1 and/or UE2 perform sidelink communication in the shared COT).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein transmitting the first message further comprises:
transmitting, via the first message, a single bit that indicates whether the second UE is allowed to transmit the first sidelink transmissions using the first portion of the one or more shared resources during a duration between when the second UE receives the first message and an end of the channel occupancy time ([0272]: the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted. Fig. 12, [0231]: Upon receiving the COT sharing information, UE1 and/or UE2 perform sidelink communication in the shared COT).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 15 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein transmitting the first message further comprises:
transmitting the first message to the second UE via unicast (Fig. 12, [0274]: transmitting the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication may be determined, defined, or changed according to the cast type (that is, unicast, groupcast, or broadcast)).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein the one or more shared resources are based at least in part on a transmission time of the first message indicating the one or more shared resources (Fig. 17, [0288], [0290]: Tx UE receives COT sharing information in S406 and determines resource on the basis of the information of the COT specified in the COT sharing information in S407. [0291]: the base station is disclosed to provide the COT sharing information, but a primary terminal device may also provide the COT sharing information on a sidelink. Fig. 12, [0232]: In sharing, the primary UE starts the COT. [0272]: the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication can be transmitted through the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)... The PSFCH may be mapped on the last symbol and/or the penultimate symbol of a predetermined slot. For example, the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Regarding claim(s) 18, Kusashima discloses all features of claim(s) 17 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein transmitting the first message further comprises:
transmitting, via the first message, a bitmap that indicates the one or more shared resources, wherein at least one bit of the bitmap indicates a shared resource of the one or more shared resources that is in relation to the transmission time of the first message indicating the one or more shared resources ([0298]: in a case where the setter of the dynamic resource pool is other than the transmission device, it is necessary to provide the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool to the transmission device. Figs. 18-19, [0299]-[0300]: setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is a bitmap. A bit value of 1 in the bitmap may indicate a corresponding slot is set as a resource pool. Fig. 20, [0307]: the base station 20 shares the COT and sets the resource pool in the COT period. [0291]: the base station is disclosed to provide the COT sharing information, but a primary terminal device may also provide the COT sharing information on a sidelink, see also [0310]: the resource pool setter is the base station, but it may also be a terminal device providing the resource pool. [0272]: the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication can be transmitted through the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)... The PSFCH may be mapped on the last symbol and/or the penultimate symbol of a predetermined slot. For example, the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 17 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein transmitting the first message further comprises:
transmitting, via the first message, one or more start and length indicator values for the one or more shared resources ([0298]: in a case where the setter of the dynamic resource pool is other than the transmission device, it is necessary to provide the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool to the transmission device. Figs. 18-19, [0299]-[0300]: setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is a bitmap. A bit value of 1 in the bitmap may indicate a corresponding slot is set as a resource pool. [0302]: the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is the start position (slot offset) and the length of the resource pool. Fig. 20, [0307]: the base station 20 shares the COT and sets the resource pool in the COT period. [0291]: the base station is disclosed to provide the COT sharing information, but a primary terminal device may also provide the COT sharing information on a sidelink, see also [0310]: the resource pool setter is the base station, but it may also be a terminal device providing the resource pool. [0272]: the COT sharing information provided from the another terminal device 40 through the sidelink communication can be transmitted through the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)... The PSFCH may be mapped on the last symbol and/or the penultimate symbol of a predetermined slot. For example, the COT sharing information transmitted through the PSFCH is 1-bit information, and indicates whether or not the COT can be acquired for a predetermined resource. The predetermined resource can be determined in association with the resource on which the PSFCH is transmitted).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Kusashima discloses wherein the one or more shared resources are based at least in part on an offset and a duration related to a fixed frame period structure of the first UE ([0298]: in a case where the setter of the dynamic resource pool is other than the transmission device, it is necessary to provide the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool to the transmission device. Figs. 18-19, [0299]-[0300]: setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is a bitmap. A bit value of 1 in the bitmap may indicate a corresponding slot is set as a resource pool. [0302]: the setting parameter of the dynamic resource pool is the start position (slot offset) … As an offset indicating the start position of the resource pool, an offset from the slot in which the COT is acquired or an offset from the slot in which the COT sharing information is received is assumed).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima et al. (US 2024/0406983 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2023/0087401 A1) and Min et al. (US 2023/0007629 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Kusashima in view of Shin discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Kusashima does not disclose, but Min discloses further comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a table indicating the one or more shared resources ([0178]: The signal transmitted by the base station 110 may include at least one of a broadcast message for system information, such as SIB (system information block) 21. [0181]: the system information may transmit resource pool sharing information in “SL-CommResourcePoolV2X-r14.” Table 5: “SL-CommResourcePoolV2X-r14.” [0197]: the terminal may identify the shared status of resources (usage status of shared resources) through “Shared_Pool-r15” (see Table 5 below). If “Shared_Pool-r15” is “True”, the terminal may identify that the shared resource pool is available. [0198]: “Shared_Pool-r15” may indicate whether or not a resource is shared).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the base station, as taught by Kusashima, to provide, to UEs, system information with resource pool sharing information, as taught by Min.
Doing so allows the terminal to identify the status of resources (Min: [0197]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov