DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17, 21-22 and 24 are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant's Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/29/2024 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copies of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU (see US PG Pub No. US 2020/0361855, pub. 11/19/2020, filed 04/16/2020) as applied to claims 1-17, 21-22 and 24 above, and further in view of Chen (see J Clin Oncol 38: 2020 (suppl; abstr e17028).
FU teaches compounds of Formula
with specific compounds such as
taught (see compound 4, p. 22). Further FU teaches polymorphs of said compounds (see paragraph [0103], p. 7). The compounds are taught in a method for treating or lessening the severity of a disease, condition, or disorder where activation or over activation of HIF-2α is implicated in the disease state (see paragraph [0322], p. 32) with diseases such as various types of cancer taught (see paragraphs [0316]-[0319], p. 30-31). The compounds are taught to be administered in combination with anti-cancer agents, which include trastuzumab (see paragraphs [352]-[368], p. 34-37). FU does not disclose bladder cancer as the specific type of cancer that can be treated by the compounds.
Chen et al teach that knockdown of HIF2α reduces both inflammatory response and migratory activity in bladder cancer. Thus, HIF2α inhibitors would be helpful in the treatment of bladder cancer.
Thus, prior to the filing of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to utilize the compounds of FU, which are taught to inhibit HIF2α and be useful in treating cancer to treat bladder cancer as Chen et al teach that knockdown of HIF2α reduces both inflammatory response and migratory activity in bladder cancer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,267,782 (hereafter referred to as ‘782) in view of Chen (see J Clin Oncol 38: 2020 (suppl; abstr e17028). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘782 is drawn to compounds and pharmaceutical compositions of said compounds such as
, which is disclosed in instant claim 10. “A claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use,” extends to any and all such uses disclosed in the specification of the earlier patent. See In Re Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86. In the instant case, Applicant is claiming methods of using compounds that overlap in scope with the compounds found in ‘782. However within ‘782, the compounds are disclosed to act as an inhibitor of HIF2α and be useful in treating cancer. Although ‘782 does not disclose bladder cancer as the specific type of cancer, Chen et al teach that knockdown of HIF2α reduces both inflammatory response and migratory activity in bladder cancer. Therefore, HIF2α inhibitors would be helpful in the treatment of bladder cancer. Thus, the methods of use embraced by the instant claims would be obvious given the teachings of ‘782 in view of Chen et al.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,366 (hereafter referred to as ‘366) in view of Chen (see J Clin Oncol 38: 2020 (suppl; abstr e17028). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘366 is drawn to compounds such as
, which is among the compounds disclosed in instant claim 10. “A claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use,” extends to any and all such uses disclosed in the specification of the earlier patent. See In Re Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86. In the instant case, Applicant is claiming methods of using compounds that overlap in scope with the compounds found in ‘736. However within ‘366, the compounds are disclosed to act as an inhibitor of HIF2α and be useful in treating cancer. Although ‘366 does not disclose bladder cancer as the specific type of cancer, Chen et al teach that knockdown of HIF2α reduces both inflammatory response and migratory activity in bladder cancer. Therefore, HIF2α inhibitors would be helpful in the treatment of bladder cancer. Thus, the methods of use embraced by the instant claims would be obvious given the teachings of ‘366 in view of Chen et al.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,420,936 (hereafter referred to as ‘936) in view of Chen (see J Clin Oncol 38: 2020 (suppl; abstr e17028). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘936 is drawn to compounds such as
, which is encompassed by instant claims 1-9. “A claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use,” extends to any and all such uses disclosed in the specification of the earlier patent. See In Re Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86. In the instant case, Applicant is claiming methods of using compounds that overlap in scope with the compounds found in ‘936. However within ‘936, the compounds are disclosed to act as an inhibitor of HIF2α and be useful in treating cancer. Although ‘936 does not disclose bladder cancer as the specific type of cancer, Chen et al teach that knockdown of HIF2α reduces both inflammatory response and migratory activity in bladder cancer. Therefore, HIF2α inhibitors would be helpful in the treatment of bladder cancer. Thus, the methods of use embraced by the instant claims would be obvious given the teachings of ‘936 in view of Chen et al.
Conclusion
None of the claims are allowed.
/KAREN CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623