Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the limitation “wherein a value of N is a minimum integer value that satisfies a condition of ʎ0< 2 x N x
ρ
, wherein ʎ0 represents a free space wavelength, and
ρ
represents a radiation period of the ITO radiation patch” in lines 13-15 of claim 1 and lines 14-16 of claim 11, renders the claimed indefinite because the specification does not provide examples that inform those of ordinary skill in the art of the boundaries or values of the radiation period 𝜌 to obtain the value of N.
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 are rejected for being dependent on the indefinite claims 1 and 11.
Clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 110071371 of record) in view of Wang (CN 106932947 of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Jiang discloses in Figures an array antenna, comprising:
an upper dielectric plate (6, Fig. 1c),
a middle dielectric plate (4-5, Fig. 1c) and a lower dielectric plate (7, Fig. 1c) disposed from top to bottom,
wherein the middle dielectric plate (4, 5, see Fig. 1a) comprises a metasurface structure (4, Figs. 1a-1c) formed by a liquid crystal material;
wherein the metasurface structure (4, Fig. 1c) comprises: a liquid crystal material layer (5), a digital radiation assembly (9) printed on the liquid crystal material layer (5), and a direct current bias wire (2);
wherein the digital radiation assembly (9) comprises
MxM digital radiation units (4x4 radiation units, see Fig. 1a, M=4) arranged in an array,
each (each unit 4, see Figs. 1a, 1b) of the digital radiation units comprises NxN
where M represents both a number of rows and a number of columns of the digital radiation units, and
N represents both a number of columns and a number of rows of the ITO radiation patches in each digital radiation unit;
wherein a value of N is a minimum integer value that satisfies a condition of ʎ0< 2 x N x
ρ
, wherein ʎ0 represents a free space wavelength, and
ρ
represents a radiation period of the ITO radiation patch.
Jiang does not disclose the radiation patches being made of indium tin oxide (ITO). However, such difference is not patentable merit. Radiating patches being made of ITO is well known in the art of antenna. One of such examples is the teaching of Wang in Figure 6 and par. 0045, the radiation patches (15a) being made of ITO. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the radiating patches of Jiang with the radiating patches being made of ITO as taught by Wang, and it has been held that to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Note that, Jiang and Wang are silent on wherein a value of N is a minimum integer value that satisfies a condition of ʎ0< 2 x N x
ρ
, wherein ʎ0 represents a free space wavelength, and
ρ
represents a radiation period of the ITO radiation patch. However, such difference is not patentable merit, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to select the value of the radiating period to obtain the value of the rows and columns of each radiation unit to optimize the radiation characteristic for the array antenna and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2nd 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, as applied to claims 1 and 11, Jiang discloses in Figures 1a-1c,
wherein the value of N is negatively correlated with a size of a maximum beam pointing angle and a number of beam pointing angles scanned by the metasurface structure, respectively.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Jiang discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly
recited in claims 1 and 11, except for each of the ITO radiation patches having a circular shape.
However, such difference is not patentable merit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to change the shape of the radiation patches to achieve desired radiation characteristics, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the shape and generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 16-18, as applied to claims 1 and 11, Jiang discloses in Figures 1a-1c and par. 0038,
wherein within an operation frequency band of the array antenna, the digital radiation units are constructed to have either of two different states between which a reflection phase difference is 1800 depending on the liquid crystal material changing with a voltage; wherein the two different
states of the digital radiation units correspond to different representing values; wherein the digital
radiation units are controlled row by row (see Figs. 1a-1b).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, as applied to claims 1 and 11, Jiang (Figure 1c and par. 0033) and
Wang disclose,
wherein the lower dielectric plate (7) comprises a grounding plate (3, see par. 0033) made of an
ITO material (see Wang, par. 0056) and a glass dielectric plate (7) from top to bottom.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, as applied to claims 1 and 11, Jiang discloses in par. 0033,
wherein the upper dielectric plate (6) is a glass dielectric substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-11 and 14-20 with respect to the limitation “wherein a value of N is a minimum integer value that satisfies a condition of ʎ0< 2 x N x
ρ
, wherein ʎ0 represents a free space wavelength, and
ρ
represents a radiation period of the ITO radiation patch”
have been considered but are not moot for the reasons as set forth in the body rejections of the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 and Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845