DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/034145 using US 2022/0166027 (US ‘027) as a English translation.
As to Claim 1, US ‘027 discloses an example composition of 0.4 wt % carbon nanotube blended with 0.45 wt % polyvinylpyrrolidone and 0.15 % tannic acid which is aromatic compound containing hydroxyl groups (Table 1). The viscosity of the composition is measured at 1.42 Pa-s at 25 deg C (Table 1, para. 0127).
However, the reference fails to disclose the shear rate at which the viscosity is measured.
The Examiner respectfully submits due to the similarity of the prior art composition in terms of materials and utility, the prior art would inherently display the claimed viscosity range at the temperature and shear rate required by the instant claim.
As to Claims 2 and 3, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claim 4, the example shows a PVP to tannic acid ratio of roughly 4:1 discussed above.
As to Claim 5, the nanotubes can be single walled (para. 0033).
As to Claim 6, the particle size of nanotubes is 0.6 to 10 nm (para. 0034, 0021).
As to Claim 7, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claims 11 and 12, the Examiner respectfully submits due to the similarity of the prior art composition in terms of materials and utility, the prior art would inherently display the claimed physical properties as required by the instant claims.
As to Claim 13, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claims 14-17, the reference discloses embodiments comprising an active material, a slurry, a negative electrode and a lithium battery comprising the material disclosed in Claim 1 above (para. 0002, 0071, 0081, 0087).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘027 in view of WO 2021/080006 using US 2022/0376262 as a English translation.
As to Claims 8 and 9, US ‘027 fails to disclose the use of alkali metal elements in the electrode slurry dispersion.
As to the difference, US ‘262 discloses the use of alkali metal containing compounds including lithium carbonate as dispersants in electrode slurries containing carbon nanotubes (para. 0064,0074,0076).
It would have been obvious to utilize the claimed alkali metal compounds of US ‘262 in the composition of US ‘027 as US ‘262 discloses the use of said compounds to help with dispersion in electrode slurries.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, none of the prior art discloses a ratio between the metal salt and PVP dispersants as required by the claim nor is there any teaching, suggestion or motivation to arrive at the claimed subject matter in the prior art.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 1/15/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762