Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noh (US 2022/0126496).
Noh (US 2022/0126496) teaches an internal mixing extruder (fig. 1), comprising:
an internal mixing mechanism 110, wherein the internal mixing mechanism 110 comprises a mixing chamber (chamber of cylinder 111), the mixing chamber comprises a rear end provided with a first feed port 114, and a front end provided with a first discharge port (not labeled but shown in fig. 1 connected to the pipe 130), and a rotor 112 is provided in the mixing chamber along a front-rear direction (fig. 1);
an extrusion mechanism 120 located below the internal mixing mechanism 110, wherein the
extrusion mechanism 120 comprises an extruding chamber (chamber of cylinder 121), the extruding chamber comprises a rear end provided with a second feed port (not labeled but shown in fig. 1 connected to the pipe 130), and a front end provided with a mold 140, and a screw 122 is
provided in the extruding chamber along the front-rear direction (fig. 1); and
a hopper 130, wherein the hopper is connected between the first discharge port and the second
feed port, wherein, along a vertical axis, the hopper 130 is below a portion of the rotor 112 in the mixing
chamber and is above a portion of the screw 122 (fig. 1; [0021]-[0024]);
(Claim 8) wherein the screw 122 refers to conical twin screws, a single screw or parallel twin screws ([0023], a second screw 122 (i.e., a single screw)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 2022/0126496) in view of Fukui et al. (US 5,672,005).
Noh (US 2022/0126496) discloses the internal mixing extruder substantially as
claimed as mentioned above, except for the limitations of claims 2 and 4-5.
As to claim 2, Fukui et al. IS 5,672,005) disclose an internal mixing mechanism (fig. 12)
including a mixing chamber (fig. 12), and a rotor in the mixing chamber (fig. 12), wherein the rotor is a
double-kneading structure (col. 6, lines 19-22, single or double kneading); the rotor comprises a rotor
shaft (fig. 12); and a material conveying segment 10A, a first mixing segment 11A, a first helical segment
10B, a second mixing segment 11B, and a first discharge segment (segment adjacent a discharge outlet
15) are arranged sequentially on the rotor shaft (fig. 12; col. 1, line 17 to col. 2, line 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the rotor of Noh (US 2022/0126496) with a rotor, as disclosed by Fukui et
al. (US 5,672,005), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative
configuration for the rotor known to be operable in the art.
As to claims 4-5, Fukui et al. (US 5,672,005) disclose an internal mixing mechanism (fig. 8)
including a mixing chamber (fig. 8), and a rotor in the mixing chamber (fig. 8),
(Claim 4) wherein the rotor (fig. 8) is a single-kneading structure (col. 6, lines 19-22, single or
double kneading); the rotor comprises a rotor shaft (fig. 8); and a material conveying segment 10A, a mixing segment 11A, and a discharge segment 11B (segment adjacent a discharge outlet 15) are
arranged sequentially on the rotor shaft (fig. 8);
(Claim 5) wherein a helical segment 10B is further provided between the mixing segment 11A
and the discharge segment 11B (fig. 8; col. 1, line 17 to col. 6, line 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the rotor of Noh (US 2022/0126496) with a rotor, as disclosed by Fukui et
al. US 5,672,005), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative
configuration for the rotor known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 2022/0126496) in view of Inoue et al. US 5,947,593).
Noh (US 2022/0126496) discloses the internal mixing extruder substantially as
claimed as mentioned above, except for the limitations of claim 3.
Inoue et al. (US 5,947,593) disclose an internal mixing mechanism (fig. 12; col. 10, line 54, to col.
12, line 34) including a mixing chamber 24, and a rotor in the mixing chamber 24 (fig. 12), wherein the
rotor is a double-kneading structure (col. 10, lines 13-18, two (double) screw set or single); the rotor
comprises a rotor shaft (fig. 12); and a material conveying segment (segment adjacent hopper 32), a first
mixing segment (fig. 12, most upstream rotor segment 21b), a first helical segment (fig. 12, screw
segment 21a downstream of the first mixing segment), a second mixing segment (fig. 12, rotor segment
downstream of the first helical segment), and a first discharge segment (fig. 12; segment adjacent the
discharge end) are arranged sequentially on the rotor shaft (fig. 12);
wherein a second helical segment (fig. 12, screw segment 21a downstream of the second mixing
element and upstream of the first discharge segment) is further provided between the second mixing
segment and the first discharge segment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the rotor of Noh (US 2022/0126496) with a rotor, as disclosed by Inoue et
al. (US 5,947,593), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative
configuration for the rotor known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 2022/0126496) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2002/0036948).
Noh (US 2022/0126496) discloses the internal mixing extruder substantially as claimed as mentioned above, except for the limitations of claim 6.
Yamaguchi et al. (US 2002/0036948) teaches an internal mixing extruder (figs. 17-18; [0005]- [0015]), comprising:
a hopper (fig. 17, not labeled but shown as the structure defining chamber 5), wherein a forced feeding device 921 is provided in the hopper (fig. 17); the forced feeding device 921 comprises two parallel rotating shafts; a blade is provided on each of the two parallel rotating shafts; and the two parallel rotating shafts rotate relatively ([0008], a pair (two) of right and left feed rollers 921 similar to those (921) of introduction portion 93; figs. 17-18 show two parallel rotating shafts for the feed rollers 921, 931; fig. 18 shows a blade (sharp projections) provided on each of the two parallel rotating shafts; fig. 18 shows rotation arrows for the rotating parallel shafts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the hopper of Noh (US 2022/0126496), wherein a forced feeding device is provided in the hopper; the forced feeding device comprises two parallel rotating shafts; a blade is provided on each of the two parallel rotating shafts; and the two parallel rotating shafts rotate relatively, as disclosed by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2002/0036948), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the hopper capable of force feeding.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 2022/0126496) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2002/0036948) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Neubauer (US 2007/0109911).
Noh (US 2022/0126496) and Yamaguchi et al. (US 2002/0036948) do not disclose the limitations of claim 7
Neubauer (US 2007/0109911) discloses an extrusion apparatus including two parallel rotating
shafts, wherein the two parallel rotating shafts 210, 215 are respectively driven by a driving gear 290A
and a driven gear 290B, and the driving gear 290A and the driven gear 290B are engaged to each other
(fig. 2B; [0020]-[0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the two parallel rotating shafts to be respectively driven by a driving gear and a driven gear, and the driving gear and the driven gear are engaged to each other, as disclosed by Neubauer (US 2007/0109911), because such means for rotating two parallel rotating shafts are known in the extrusion art and would enable rotation of the parallel shafts as desired by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2002/0036948).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 2022/0126496) in view of McCormick et al. (US 3,605,188).
This is an alternative rejection of claim 8 which reads on the conical twin screws of claim 8.
Noh (US 2022/0126496) disclose the internal mixing extruder substantially as
claimed as mentioned above, except for the conical twin screws of claim 8.
McCormick et al. (US 3,605,188) discloses an extrusion mechanism including conical twin screws
13, 14 (figs. 1-3; col. 1, line 69, to col. 2, line 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the screw of Noh (US 2022/0126496) with conical twin screws, as disclosed
by McCormick et al. US 3,605,188), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide
an alternative configuration for the screw known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 2022/0126496) in view of Munz et al. (US 2007/0104814).
This is an alternative rejection of claim 8 which reads on the parallel twin screws of claim 8.
Noh (US 2022/0126496) disclose the internal mixing extruder substantially as
claimed as mentioned above, except for the parallel twin screws of claim 8.
Munz et al. (US 2007/0104814) discloses an extrusion mechanism including parallel twin screws
23, 24 (figs. 1-5; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the screw of Noh (US 2022/0126496) with parallel twin screws, as
disclosed by Munz et al. (US 2007/0104814), because such a modification is known in the art and would
provide an alternative configuration for the screw known to be operable in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/700,720 in view of Noh (US 2022/0126496).
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/700,720 substantially disclosed the claimed apparatus, except for wherein, along a vertical axis, the hopper is below a portion of the rotor in the mixing chamber and is above a portion of the screw.
Noh (US 2022/0126496) is applied as above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/700,720, wherein, along a vertical axis, the hopper is below a portion of the rotor in the mixing chamber and is above a portion of the screw, as disclosed by Noh (US 2022/0126496), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the apparatus known to be operable in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art cited in the prior office action does not disclose the limitations of wherein, along a vertical axis, the hopper is below a portion of the rotor in the mixing chamber and is above a portion of the screw.
The Examiner agrees. However, such limitations are disclosed by Noh (US 2022/0126496) as mentioned above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744