DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 09/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a porosity of 15% or less” is not clear. It is not clear if this refers to a volumetric apparent porosity, or a volumetric total porosity.
All claims not specifically addressed are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20230125965, hereinafter referred to as Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang makes obvious a boehmite structure, comprising: a plurality of boehmite particles where adjacent boehmite particles are bonded to each other (See Zhang at [0033], disclosing boehmite), wherein a boehmite crystallite size is 10 nm or less (see Zhang at [0026], disclosing an average particle size of the ceramic particles is 10 nm to 20 μm, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05), and the boehmite structure has a porosity of 15% or less (see Zhang at [0086], disclosing the porosity of the insulation layer is 10% to 60%, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang makes obvious inorganic oxide particles (see Zhang at [0106], disclosing zinc oxide).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang makes obvious an average particle size of the inorganic oxide particles is 5 µm or less (see Zhang at [0026], disclosing an average particle size of the ceramic particles is 10 nm to 20 μm, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang makes obvious the inorganic oxide particles comprise silicon (See Zhang at [0099], disclosing silicon).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP2019199515A with reference to machine translation, hereinafter referred to as Mori.
Zhang and Mori do not disclose or make obvious the subject matter of instant claims 2, 4 and 6-7. Zhang and Mori do not disclose or make obvious a flexural strength measured in accordance with JIS T6526 is 50 MPa or more per instant claim 2. Zhang and Mori do not disclose or make obvious a boehmite phase is an indefinite shape crystal per instant claim 4. Zhang and Mori do not disclose or make obvious a Vickers hardness of the inorganic oxide particles is 10 GPa or less per instant claim 6. Zhang and Mori do not disclose or make obvious an elastic modulus of the inorganic oxide particles is 320 GPa or less per instant claim 7.
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731