DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al. (EP3841933; 4/12/24) in view of EP2071960 (hereinafter ‘960) and Merati et al. (20200270114).
Lopez teaches with respect to Independent claim 1, a method for producing foamed beverages,
delivering instant powder (fig. 1 ref. 2; par. 0032) from at least one powder container to a powder mixing unit (fig. 1 ref. 9; par. 0033),
delivering water from at least one water supply (par. 0032) to the powder mixing unit (par. 0033),
mixing the instant powder and the water (par. 0033), after having been delivered to the powder mixing unit, in the powder mixing unit to form a mixed beverage (par. 0032; liquid milk),
directing the mixed beverage from the powder mixing unit through a central suction line (par. 0036 fig. 1 ref. 1),
controlling flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through a first line (par. 0038) to at least one outlet (par. 0038 ref. 6), and
directing the first line through a foamer unit (par. 0037, fig. 1 par. 0034) in which the mixed beverage is processed to form a foamed beverage such that the foamed beverage (par. 0038) is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through the first line (par. 0038 ref. 6).
Lopez teaches method and device for selectively forming cold foamed milk or hot foam milk (par. 0042-0043) and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of selective control of beverage forming as desired by Lopez and taught by ‘960.
More specifically ‘960 teaches selective control for forming a beverage by providing a first and second flow paths depending on the choice of a user (par. 0012).
Thus since both teach a same option for selective processing of the beverage, since Lopez teaches a first and second flow path (fig. 1, fig. 2) which achieve user selected type of beverage produced and dispensed (par. 0017) and since ‘960 teaches selectively controlling the beverage through a first or second flow path depending on the desired product with or without additional processing (fig. 3-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selective control flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either a first line or a second line to at least one outlet for its art recognized purpose of providing an increased number of beverages available depending on the choice of beverage a user desires and more specifically a choice of a same beverage defined by a desired additional processing step.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach a second line not including a processing unit, such that the beverage is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through the second line, thus achieving its art recognized purpose due to bypassing a first flow path and producing a beverage depending on a choice of a user as desired by both .
Lopez teaches method and device for selectively forming cold foamed milk or hot foam milk (par. 0042-0043), ‘960 teaches a same selective control of beverage production as desired by Lopez and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of selective beverage foaming as taught by Merati.
Merati teaches a same milk foamer (par. 0022) as Lopez for producing frothed milk or alternatively smooth milk which is hot or cold (par. 0022).
Thus since Lopez teaches selective control of beverage forming, since ‘960 teaches a same selective control of beverage forming depending on a first or second flow path defined by “with” or “without” a beverage processing device and since Merati recognizes a same foamer unit as taught by Lopez and beverage production with or without foam depending on the selected beverage (par. 0020) depending on desired beverage delivered (par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selective control flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either a first line or a second line to at least one outlet depending on whether the user desires a frothed beverage or a smooth beverage as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second line not including a foamer unit, such as by providing a bypass path as taught by ‘960, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
In addition, it is not necessary that suggestion or motivation be found within the four comers of the reference(s) themselves. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In the instant case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second line not including a foamer unit, such as by providing a bypass path as taught by ‘960, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second line not including a foamer unit, such as by providing a bypass path as taught by ‘960, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
Claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one outlet as a common outlet as taught by ‘960 (fig. 1-4) such that both the unfoamed beverage and foamed beverage as taught by Merati are output at the common outlet thus achieving the advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
Claim 3, where the water is delivered from the at least one water supply to the powder mixing unit in a cold state (par. 0032 room temperature; cold relative hot; without heating).
Claim 4, wherein by means of the least one water supply (fig. 1 ref. 8), cold water can be conveyed into the powder mixing unit (par. 0032), from which the mixed beverage can be conveyed through the foamer unit (fig. 2 ref. 4) for producing cold or hot beverage foam (fig. 2 ref. 7 with or without heat par. 0032 room temperature; cold relative hot; without heating).
Claim 5, the foamer unit is provided with an air inlet (par. 0034 fig. 1 ref. 3), a pump (par. 0034), and at least one choke point (fig. 1 ref. 5; par. 0034) in an outlet line leading to the outlet (fig. 1 par. 0034).
Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one outlet as a common outlet as taught by ‘960 (fig. 1-4) such that both the unfoamed beverage and foamed beverage as taught by Merati are output at the common outlet thus achieving the advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a line running parallel to the foamer unit, as taught by ‘960, a pump as taught by Lopez and an outlet line as taught by Lopez leading to the common outlet, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
Claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one outlet is a single, common outlet as taught by ‘960, and the central suction line leads away from the powder mixing unit as taught by Lopez (fig. 1 ref. 1), which opens into suction lines of the line or the foamer unit as taught by Lopez respectively, and from this leads into a central outlet line with an actuation valve and to the common outlet as taught by ‘960 (fig. 1-4 ref. 4a) for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
Claim 8, Lopez teaches a suction that leads from the powder mixing unit directly to the foamer unit (fig. 1), and from this to the at least one outlet (fig. 1). Lopez teaches an air inlet for foaming the beverage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an actuatable closing valve assigned to the air inlet as taught by Lopez, by means of which the air inlet can be blocked or opened, for its art recognized purpose of, as desired, the mixed beverage can be conveyed not foamed or foamed, cold or hot, to the at least one outlet as taught by Merati thus providing the user an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage obtained at the outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
Claim 9, the powder mixing unit consists of with a mixing chamber (par. 0033), leading into which is a powder supply (par. 0032), at least one water supply (par. 0032) leading tangentially into the mixing chamber (fig. 1), an outlet channel (fig. 1 line connecting powder and water to ref. 9, 10), in which is a drivable mixing wheel (par. 0033; blade), and a beverage outlet (fig. 1 line connecting ref. 9 to ref. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one shape of a housing as taught by Lopez as a funnel housing since substituting a funnel shape would accomplish a same desired mixing as taught by Lopez.
Claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one shape of a housing as taught by Lopez such as configured with a cylindrical section, an upper cover, a ring-shaped base wall, and a lower flow opening, in which a same mixing wheel as taught by Lopez is arranged and providing an outlet element leads from the powder container into the mixing chamber as taught by Lopez with an axis of rotation of the mixing wheel transverse to the direction of flow thus achieving a same desired mixing of a powdered product with water and providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of with or without foam as taught by Merati (par. 0022).
Claim 13, Merati teaches a liquid source heater for the purpose of providing a hot drink as opposed to cold (par. 0022). Thus since Lopez teaches the dispensing of either hot or cold products (par. 0024). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a type of heater, such in the instant case an instantaneous water heater (par. 0044) upstream of the powder mixing unit (fig. 2 ref. 6) for the source liquid, such as in the instant case the water supply as taught by Lopez for its art recognized purpose of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of hot or cold beverages as taught by Merati (par. 0022) and Lopez (fig. 2 with heater) which by option, i.e. on or off, the liquid temperature can be adjusted as desired as further taught by Merati (par. 0022; hot vs cold).
Claim 14, wherein as instant powder, use can be made of a milk powder (par. 0016 line 67).
Claim 15, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach the at least one outlet comprises a single, common outlet as taught by’960 and Meratti and the step of selectively controlling flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either the first line or the second line to the common outlet comprises connecting the central suction line to a T-piece, wherein the central suction line opens via the T-piece into the first and second lines thus achieving a same a same option for selective processing of the beverage, since Lopez teaches a first and second flow path (fig. 1, fig. 2) which achieve user selected type of beverage produced and dispensed (par. 0017) and since ‘960 teaches selectively controlling the beverage through a first or second flow path depending on the desired product with or without additional processing (fig. 3-10).
Claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach the step of selectively controlling flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either the first line or the second line to the common outlet further comprises connecting the first line and the second line to an additional T-piece between the foamer unit and an outlet line leading to the common outlet, the second line leading into the outlet line via the additional T-piece thus achieving a same a same option for selective processing of the beverage, since Lopez teaches a first and second flow path (fig. 1, fig. 2) which achieve user selected type of beverage produced and dispensed (par. 0017) and since ‘960 teaches selectively controlling the beverage through a first or second flow path depending on the desired product with or without additional processing (fig. 3-10).
Claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one outlet comprises a single, common outlet and the step of selectively controlling flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either the first line or the second line to the common outlet comprises arranging valves in the first and second lines and controlling the valves to enable flow of the mixed beverage into the first line or into the second line. thus achieving a same a same option for selective processing of the beverage, since Lopez teaches a first and second flow path (fig. 1, fig. 2) which achieve user selected type of beverage produced and dispensed (par. 0017) and since ‘960 teaches selectively controlling the beverage through a first or second flow path depending on the desired product with or without additional processing (fig. 3-10).
Claim 18, Lopez teaches providing a pump and at least one valve in the first line (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve as taught by Lopez as a non-return valve in the first line as taught by ‘960 (par. 0014 lines 30-34) since ‘960 teaches any suitable valves depending on their function such as in the instant case providing multiple flow paths depending on the user desired product as taught by ‘960..
Claim 19, Lopez teaches providing a pump and at least one valve in the first line (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve as taught by Lopez as a non-return valve in the second line as taught by ‘960 (par. 0014 lines 30-34) since ‘960 teaches any suitable valves depending on their function such as in the instant case providing multiple flow paths depending on the user desired product.
Claim 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one outlet as a first outlet to which the foamed beverage is conveyed and a second outlet, and the second line is a branch line for discharge of the mixed beverage to the second outlet as taught by ‘960 (fig. 5-10) thus achieving a same a same option for selective processing of the beverage, since Lopez teaches a first and second flow path (fig. 1, fig. 2) which achieve user selected type of beverage produced and dispensed (par. 0017) and since ‘960 teaches selectively controlling the beverage through a first or second flow path depending on the desired product with or without additional processing (fig. 3-10).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al. (EP3841933; 4/12/24) in view of EP2071960 (hereinafter ‘960) and Merati et al. (20200270114) and Lassota (20030071061).
Lopez teaches method and device for powder drink dispensing and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of such as taught by Lassota.
Lassota teaches a powder delivery element (par. 0021 ref. 28), which is formed by a screw conveyor in the lower region of the powder container (fig. 1 ref. 28 relative ref. 12) for delivering a preselected quantity of powder ingredient (par. 0022).
Thus since Lopez teaches different milk beverages which are limited by a minimum amount which is variable (par. 0040). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings and provide a powder delivery element (fig. 1 ref. 28 relative ref. 12) for delivering a preselected quantity of powder ingredient (par. 0022) as taught by Lassota the motivation being achieving a defined preselected amount of powder product relative different beverages including any type of milk as taught by Lopez (par. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount a same screw conveyor as taught by Lassota such as to rotate horizontally along its longitudinal extension, through which, on the front side, and the powder outlet arranged on the upper side for a same purpose of providing a powder product as taught by both to a powder outlet for mixing.
Claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the screw conveyor which can be rotated by a controllable drive unit as taught by Lassota (par. 0021) and depending on the quantity of water which is detected by a flowmeter as taught by Lassota (par. 0022), the water supply can be adjusted in its speed of rotation by means of a control unit (par. 0023) as taught by Lassota (par. 0023) the motivation being achieving a defined preselected amount of water relative powder product of different beverages including any type of milk as taught by Lopez (par. 0040).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, in view of the claim amendments, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of EP2071960.
With respect to applicants urgings directed to a first and second flow path. ‘960 teaches selective control for forming a beverage by providing a first and second flow paths depending on the choice of a user (par. 0012).
Thus since Lopez and ‘960 teach a same option for selective processing of the beverage, since Lopez teaches a first and second flow path (fig. 1, fig. 2) which achieve user selected type of beverage produced and dispensed (par. 0017) and since ‘960 teaches selectively controlling the beverage through a first or second flow path depending on the desired product with or without additional processing (fig. 3-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selective control flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either a first line or a second line to at least one outlet for its art recognized purpose of providing an increased number of beverages available depending on the choice of beverage a user desires and more specifically a choice of a same beverage defined by a desired additional processing step.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach a second line not including a processing unit, such that the beverage is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through the second line, thus achieving its art recognized purpose due to bypassing a first flow path and producing a beverage depending on a choice of a user as desired by both.
Lopez teaches method and device for selectively forming cold foamed milk or hot foam milk (par. 0042-0043), ‘960 teaches a same selective control of beverage production as desired by Lopez and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of selective beverage foaming as taught by Merati.
Merati teaches a same milk foamer (par. 0022) as Lopez for producing frothed milk or alternatively smooth milk which is hot or cold (par. 0022).
Thus since Lopez teaches selective control of beverage forming, since ‘960 teaches a same selective control of beverage forming depending on a first or second flow path defined by “with” or “without” a beverage processing device and since Merati recognizes a same foamer unit as taught by Lopez and beverage production with or without foam depending on the selected beverage (par. 0020) depending on desired beverage delivered (par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide selective control flow of the mixed beverage from the central suction line through either a first line or a second line to at least one outlet depending on whether the user desires a frothed beverage or a smooth beverage as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second line not including a foamer unit, such as by providing a bypass path as taught by ‘960, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
In addition, it is not necessary that suggestion or motivation be found within the four comers of the reference(s) themselves. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In the instant case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second line not including a foamer unit, such as by providing a bypass path as taught by ‘960, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second line not including a foamer unit, such as by providing a bypass path as taught by ‘960, for its art recognized advantage of selectively forming a beverage such that an unfoamed beverage, i.e. smooth is output at the at least one outlet when the flow of the mixed beverage is controlled to pass through a second line as taught by ‘960 for its art recognized and advantage of providing an increased number of beverages available and more specifically providing an option of either a foamed beverage or an unfoamed beverage is obtained at the at least one outlet as taught by Merati (par. 0020).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN N LEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792