DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The figures of the compounds are faded and not clear. Examiner notes that where the compound is named, the appears to be redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 / 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are directed to a “Use”. A “Use” appears to be method subject matter, but there is no active step.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are unclear as they appear to be directed to a method, but have no active step.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted as composition claims with the “Use” defining an intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (Chemical components, pharmacological properties, and nanoparticulate delivery systems of Brucea javanica. International Journal of Nanomedicine, 8, 85–92. https://doi.org/10.2147/IJN.S31636), as evidenced by Zhang et al (Front Pharmacol. 2022 Mar 18;13:853119. doi: 10.3389/fphar.2022.853119).
Chen et al discloses encapsulating Brucea javanica oil in nanoparticlulate drug delivery systems, specifically liposomes to improve poor solubility of dissolving drugs (see Liposomes section).
Zhang et al evidences that bruceantin is a component of Brucea javanica oil. Thus, while Chen et al did not recognize all the active compounds encapsulated at the time, where of Brucea javanica oil was encapsulated, bruceantin was an encapsulated component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Chemical components, pharmacological properties, and nanoparticulate delivery systems of Brucea javanica. International Journal of Nanomedicine, 8, 85–92. https://doi.org/10.2147/IJN.S31636), as evidenced by Zhang et al (Front Pharmacol. 2022 Mar 18;13:853119. doi: 10.3389/fphar.2022.853119), in view of Shanley et al (US 2004/0254635).
Chen et al and Zhang et al are discussed above, but do not teach the specific liposome components of instant claims 4 and 5 or the size of instant claim 7.
Chen et al further teaches the nanoparticles are seized from 10nm to 100nm, but do not disclose the size of the liposomes.
Shanley et al teaches it was well known in the art to formulate liposomes using known lipids, including DPPE and glycerol monolaurate (¶ 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the liposomes of Chen et al using any known lipids suitable for encapsulating the active, such as taught by Shanley et al. When formulating the liposomes, the size of the liposomes will inherently flow form the formation of the liposomes and the lipids used to encapsulate the active.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,938 in view of Chen et al (Chemical components, pharmacological properties, and nanoparticulate delivery systems of Brucea javanica. International Journal of Nanomedicine, 8, 85–92. https://doi.org/10.2147/IJN.S31636). ‘938 is directed to a method for treating castration-resistant prostate cancer by administering a pharmaceutical composition which may include bruceantin, but does not claim nanoparticles or liposomal delivery. Chen is discussed above for teaching the ability to administer compounds from Brucea javanica via nanosized liposomes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 is free of the prior art and will be allowable when the ODP rejection is resolved.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612