DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 22. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2023/036335) in view of Tang et al. (WO 2021/000370 A1) hereinafter Tang.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a shuttle vehicle control method, comprising:
controlling a shuttle vehicle to reach a specified position (para. [0126], [0156]; the handling robot moves to the target (X, Y) position based on its navigation system), and
controlling a first distance measurement device and a second distance measurement device to respectively measure a first distance and a second distance from a carrying target (para. [0161]; Fig. 2, step s2000, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are operated to check for obstacles or for comparing detected obstacle distance to extension distance),
wherein the first distance measurement device and the second distance measurement device are respectively mounted on a first fork mechanism and a second fork mechanism which are arranged in parallel on the shuttle vehicle (para. [0114]-[0115]; Fig. 2, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are mounted on telescopic arms 310 and 320);
respectively performing first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result (para. [0115]; checking if there is no obstacle detected, or comparing the distance of the detected obstacle (storage box) with the extension distance).
However, Wang does not disclose respectively performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing.
Tang discloses an automated vehicle used in warehousing that performs first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result (para. [0017]-[0019], [0135]; steps S210-S212, comparing angular deviation and lateral deviation to an angular deviation preset value and a lateral deviation preset value (example 3mm for lateral deviation)); and
respectively performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing (para. [0135]; steps s206-S207, compare measured angular deviation and lateral deviation to a threshold to determine if the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing. Example, determine if lateral displacement deviation is greater than preset value (3 mm) and less than threshold value (37 mm)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of performing first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result, and performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing, to allow the system to avoid unnecessary corrective actions for minor deviations while still identifying deviations that are too large to be safely corrected (Tang: para. [0135]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Wang further discloses, wherein the determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result comprises: determining that it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing in a case where the first distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold and the second distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold (para. [0115]; fork can be controlled when measured distance exceeds extension distance. The extension distance is equivalent to target normal distance).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Wang further discloses, wherein the controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing comprises: controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to be respectively extended out by a first forking length, wherein the first forking length is equal to the target normal distance threshold (para. [0169]-[0170]; Step S3000).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Wang further discloses wherein the determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result comprises: determining that the shuttle vehicle cannot be controlled to perform deviation correction processing in a case where the first distance is less than the deviation correction distance threshold or the second distance is less than the deviation correction distance threshold (para. [0166]-[0167]; step S2300).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Wang further discloses reporting abnormality information of placement of the carrying target in the state of determining that the shuttle vehicle cannot be controlled to perform deviation correction processing (para. [0166]-[0167]; step S2300).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Tang further discloses what Wang lacks, specifically controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to be respectively extended out by a second forking length based on the first distance and the second distance, and controlling the shuttle vehicle to move forwards and backwards (para. [0158]-[0159]; The telescopic fork extension length is adjusted to a second length different from the standard extension length to account for deviation and vehicle is moved).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to be respectively extended out by a second forking length based on the first distance and the second distance, and controlling the shuttle vehicle to move forwards and backwards to allow the forks to establish a correct positional relationship with target while accounting for positional deviations from standard position.
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Tang further discloses what Wang lacks, specifically selecting a shorter distance from the first distance and the second distance; and taking a difference between the shorter distance and a measurement error threshold as the second forking length (para. [0158]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of selecting a shorter distance from the first distance and the second distance; and taking a difference between the shorter distance and a measurement error threshold as the second forking length because using the smaller of the two measured distances represents the limiting condition controlling safer fork insertion to avoid collision. In addition, subtracting a measurement error threshold constitutes a routine safety allowance that compensates for sensor uncertainty and manufacturing tolerances, and is a routine engineering practice.
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Wang further discloses wherein the controlling the shuttle vehicle to move forwards and backwards comprises: controlling the shuttle vehicle to move forwards and backwards at least once based on a forward movement distance setting value and a backward movement distance setting value, until the first distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold and the second distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold (para. [0163]-[0164]; the transport robot is controlled to move to the blocked side until that side is not blocked).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Wang further discloses the carrying target comprises a cargo box; and the first distance measurement device and the second distance measurement device comprise a laser distance measurement device (para. [0002], [0115]; Fig. 2, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are laser sensors, carrying target is a box).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses a shuttle vehicle control apparatus, comprising: a processor; and memory coupled to the processor, storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (para. [0126]; control unit, and storage for storing coordinate values implies a processor and memory):
control a shuttle vehicle to reach a specified position, and control a first distance measurement device and a second distance measurement device to respectively measure a first distance and a second distance from a carrying target (para. [0126], [0156]; the handling robot moves to the target (X, Y) position based on its navigation system; para. [0161]; Fig. 2, step s2000, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are operated to check for obstacles or for comparing detected obstacle distance to extension distance),
wherein the first distance measurement device and the second distance measurement device are respectively mounted on a first fork mechanism and a second fork mechanism which are arranged in parallel on the shuttle vehicle (para. [0114]-[0115]; Fig. 2, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are mounted on telescopic arms 310 and 320):
respectively perform first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determine whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result (para. [0115]; checking if there is no obstacle detected, or comparing the distance of the detected obstacle (storage box) with the extension distance).
However, Wang does not disclose respectively performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing.
Tang discloses an automated vehicle used in warehousing that performs first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result (para. [0017]-[0019], [0135]; steps S210-S212, comparing angular deviation and lateral deviation to an angular deviation preset value and a lateral deviation preset value (example 3mm for lateral deviation)); and
respectively performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing (para. [0135]; steps s206-S207, compare measured angular deviation and lateral deviation to a threshold to determine if the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing. Example, determine if lateral displacement deviation is greater than preset value (3 mm) and less than threshold value (37 mm)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of performing first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result, and performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing, to allow the system to avoid unnecessary corrective actions for minor deviations while still identifying deviations that are too large to be safely corrected (Tang: para. [0135]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a shuttle vehicle, comprising: the shuttle vehicle control apparatus according to claim 19 (para. [0126]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having thereon stored computer instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (para. [0126]; control unit, and storage for storing coordinate values implies a processor and memory):
control a shuttle vehicle to reach a specified position, and control a first distance measurement device and a second distance measurement device to respectively measure a first distance and a second distance from a carrying target (para. [0126], [0156]; the handling robot moves to the target (X, Y) position based on its navigation system; para. [0161]; Fig. 2, step s2000, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are operated to check for obstacles or for comparing detected obstacle distance to extension distance),
wherein the first distance measurement device and the second distance measurement device are respectively mounted on a first fork mechanism and a second fork mechanism which are arranged in parallel on the shuttle vehicle (para. [0114]-[0115]; Fig. 2, first and second distance measurement devices 410 and 420 are mounted on telescopic arms 310 and 320):
respectively perform first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determine whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result (para. [0115]; checking if there is no obstacle detected, or comparing the distance of the detected obstacle (storage box) with the extension distance).
However, Wang does not disclose respectively performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing.
Tang discloses an automated vehicle used in warehousing that performs first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result (para. [0017]-[0019], [0135]; steps S210-S212, comparing angular deviation and lateral deviation to an angular deviation preset value and a lateral deviation preset value (example 3mm for lateral deviation)); and
respectively performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing (para. [0135]; steps s206-S207, compare measured angular deviation and lateral deviation to a threshold to determine if the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing. Example, determine if lateral displacement deviation is greater than preset value (3 mm) and less than threshold value (37 mm)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of performing first comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a target normal distance threshold, and determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result, and performing second comparison processing on the first distance and the second distance with a deviation correction distance threshold, and determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result, in a state of determining that it is unable to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing, to allow the system to avoid unnecessary corrective actions for minor deviations while still identifying deviations that are too large to be safely corrected (Tang: para. [0135]).
Regarding claim 22, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Wang further discloses determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result comprises: determining that it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing if the first distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold and the second distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold (para. [0015]; fork can be controlled when measured distance exceeds extension distance. The extension distance is equivalent to target normal distance).
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 22. Wang further discloses controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing comprises: controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to be respectively extended out by a first forking length, wherein the first forking length is equal to the target normal distance threshold (para. [0169]-[0170]; Step S3000).
Regarding claim 24, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Wang further discloses determining whether the shuttle vehicle is controlled to perform deviation correction processing based on a second comparison processing result comprises: determining that the shuttle vehicle cannot be controlled to perform deviation correction processing if the first distance is less than the deviation correction distance threshold or the second distance is less than the deviation correction distance threshold (para. [0166]-[0167]; step S2300).
Regarding claim 25, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 24. Wang further discloses reporting abnormality information of placement of the carrying target in the state of determining that the shuttle vehicle cannot be controlled to perform deviation correction processing (para. [0166]-[0167]; step S2300).
Regarding claim 26, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Wang further discloses determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result comprises: determining that it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing in a case where the first distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold and the second distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold (para. [0015]; fork can be controlled when measured distance exceeds extension distance. The extension distance is equivalent to target normal distance).
Regarding claim 27, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 22. Tang further discloses what Wang lacks, specifically controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to be respectively extended out by a second forking length based on the first distance and the second distance, and controlling the shuttle vehicle to move forwards and backwards (para. [0158]-[0159]; Fork length is adjusted based on measured distance and vehicle is moved).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of controlling the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to be respectively extended out by a second forking length based on the first distance and the second distance, and controlling the shuttle vehicle to move forwards and backwards to allow the forks to establish a positional relationship with the carrying target while avoiding full insertion before alignment is confirmed.
Regarding claim 28, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 27. Tang further discloses what Wang lacks, specifically selecting a shorter distance from the first distance and the second distance; and taking a difference between the shorter distance and a measurement error threshold as the second forking length (para. [0158]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shuttle of Wang and to incorporate the teachings in Tang of selecting a shorter distance from the first distance and the second distance; and taking a difference between the shorter distance and a measurement error threshold as the second forking length because using the smaller of the two measured distances represents the limiting condition governing safer fork insertion. In addition, subtracting a measurement error threshold constitutes a routine safety allowance that compensates for sensor uncertainty and manufacturing tolerances, and is a routine engineering practice.
Regarding claim 29, Wang in view of Tang, discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Wang further discloses determining whether it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing based on a first comparison processing result comprises: determining that it is able to control the first fork mechanism and the second fork mechanism to perform goods processing in a case where the first distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold and the second distance is greater than the target normal distance threshold (para. [0015]; fork can be controlled when measured distance exceeds extension distance. The extension distance is equivalent to target normal distance).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ji (US 20220177222 A1) discloses a high-position warehouse robot with an image collector and a distance sensor mounted on its fork. The image collector reads positioning information on the rack, such as a QR code or similar mark, to tell whether the fork is lined up correctly. The distance sensor measures how far the fork is from the rack. A processing module then uses both kinds of data to steer the fork into the correct position and to move it the correct remaining distance for placement (para. [0042]-[0046]; Fig. 3).
Zheng et al. (US 20190352092 A1) discloses an automated guided robot for carrying inventory that detects positional shift of inventory items and adjusts its position to compensate for the positional deviation. The adjustment includes comparing the position shift to a threshold; if the position shift is larger than the threshold, adjusting the position of the warehouse robot based on the position shift; re-measuring the position shift; and adjusting the position of the warehouse robot until the measured position shift is smaller than the threshold (para. [0052]).
Kobayashi (JP 6690237) discloses an automated material transfer device that detects the position and orientation of packages stored on a storage shelf using a distance sensor and adjusts the extension of the fork by compensating for deviations detected. It also discloses identifying packages that have deviation above a certain threshold and determines whether or not the package is in a state where it can be transferred by the transfer device (para. [0049].
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655