DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 17/716790 (reference application).
With regards to claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 1 of the current application are to be found in claim 1 of the copending application. The difference between claim 1 of the current application and the copending application lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 1 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species [see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (fed. Cir.) 1993)]. Since claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the copending application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the current application.
With regards to claim 2, all the claimed subject matter in claim 2 of the current application are to be found in claim 2 of the copending application.
With regards to claim 3, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 3 of the current application are to be found in claim 3 of the copending application. The difference between claim 3 of the current application and the copending application lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claim 3 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 3 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species [see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (fed. Cir.) 1993)]. Since claim 3 is anticipated by claim 3 of the copending application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 3 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 2, the claim states “as the impact pin, an impact pin that has a radius of curvature of a tip thereof…equal to or less than a radius of curvature of the bent portion is used”, it is unclear if the limitation is intending to set forth two impact pins or if the limitation is intending to further define the impact pin. For examination purposes the limitation is being interpreted as setting forth a single impact pin having a tip with a radius of curvature equal to or less than a radius of curvature of the bent portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Egawa et al (US 2016/0158914).
In reference to claim 1, Egawa et al discloses a metal sheet bent portion fatigue crack growth suppressing method of suppressing a growth of a fatigue crack generated in a bent portion formed by bending a metal sheet (11), comprising
applying a plastic strain at least in a range from a bending start point to a bending end point on a bend inner side of the bent portion [see paragraph 0057; stresses are altered on inner and outer surface by shot peening] in a direction orthogonal to a valley line direction of the bent portion at an interval equal to or larger than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet in the valley line direction so as to generate a compressive residual stress [see paragraph 0058; figures 1C & 13].
In reference to claim 3, Egawa et al discloses an automotive part comprising
a bent portion formed by bending a metal sheet (11) [see figure 1A; paragraph 0033], wherein a growth of a fatigue crack is suppressed in the bent portion, and
an indentation band which is a series of indentations formed by a needle peening treatment using an impact pin [it is noted that this limitation is a product by process limitation and therefore the patentability lies in the claimed structural components, i.e. indentation path, and not how the component was formed], the indentation back being formed at least in a range from a bending start point to a bending end point on a bend inner side of the bent portion in a direction orthogonal to a valley line direction of the bent portion at an interval equal to or larger than a sheet thickness of the metal sheet in the valley line direction [see figures 1C & 13; paragraphs 0057-0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egawa et al in view of Haas et al (US 2014/0007394).
In reference to claim 2, Egawa et al discloses the compressive residual stress is generated by forming an indentation band, which is a series of indentations (94) [see figure 13], on the bend inner side of the bent portion by a shot peening treatment, and
the shot has a radius of curvature thereof, in a cross section orthogonal to the valley line direction, equal to or less than a radius of curvature of the bent portion is used [see figure 13].
Egawa et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the compressive residual stress is generated by needle peening.
However, Haas et al teaches that it is well known in the art that shot peening, laser shock peening, needle peening, ultrasonic peening are all known equivalent peening treatments for forming compression within a workpiece [see paragraph 0007].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to generate the compressive residual stress by a needle peening treatment instead of by a shot peening treatment since these peening treatments are known equivalents in the art as taught by Haas et al.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725