DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 08/18/2026, No Claims have been cancelled, and Claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 6 of 10, that DiMaio does not teach “a controller configured to move the mobile cart and the setup arm based on a user input manually entered through the GUI or the handle controller”, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. While DiMaio does disclose manual repositioning of the table in Paragraph 0213 and Paragraphs 0222-0223 as disclosed by Applicant, Applicants attention should be drawn to Paragraph 0221 which discloses “Returning now to the example shown in FIG. 2 and associated figures, the wheels 136, in some implementations, are powered wheels that can be controlled by the processor 302 to move the base 108 about the floor surface 20. The wheels 136 may include a drive mechanism that allows the processor 302 to control the orientation of the wheels 136 to facilitate or inhibit repositioning. For example, the processor 302 can control the orientation of wheels 136 such that the wheels are aimed to roll along a repositioning direction or not to roll along a non-repositioning direction. Thus, the processor 302 can control the wheels so movement of the base 108 in directions that are not the repositioning direction is inhibited.”
Furthermore, Paragraph 0223 discloses “In some examples, the processor 302 can move the cart 111 within the surgical environment 10, and hence the base 108, by simply activating the actuators of the wheels 136 to drive the cart 111 toward the optimal base location envelope 110. The positioning indicator system can visually indicate the optimal base location envelope 110 to which the base 108 will be moved. An operator can provide confirmation to the processor that the visually indicated optimal base location envelope shown is appropriate. Alternatively or additionally, one or more joints of the surgical manipulator assembly 104 are powered, and the processor controls the wheels and/or the one or more joints to move the surgical manipulator assembly 104 and components of the surgical manipulator assembly 104 to optimal poses. In some cases, the processor activates the actuators of the wheels 136 and/or actuators of the one or more joints in response to the operator manually operating a switch. When the switch is deactivated, the processor stops operation of the actuators to stop further automated movement of the wheels and/or one or more joints.”
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that DiMaio does indeed teach controller/processor (302) that is configured to move both the mobile cart and the set up arm based on user input manually through a GUI or handle controller since DiMaio clearly states “Alternatively or additionally, one or more joints of the surgical manipulator assembly 104 are powered, and the processor controls the wheels and/or the one or more joints to move the surgical manipulator assembly 104 and components of the surgical manipulator assembly 104 to optimal poses.” in Paragraph 0223.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Fuerst does not disclose that the GUI is part of a surgical console, however the Examiner is not relying on this interpretation of the prior art. Fuerst is being relied upon to teach that it was known before the effective filing date of the invention to have a graphical representation of the set up arm on a display screen. The display screen being part of the surgical console is taught by DiMaio.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Fuerst is disclosing having a direct view of the set up arm through the GUI provides an advantage as disclosed in the abstract and in Paragraphs 0005 and 0016. It appears that Applicant thinks that the “direct view” disclosed in Fuerst is a physical direct view as being inside the patient room, however this is not what the Examiner understands Fuerst is disclosing. Fuerst discloses that “The mobile interface device provides a surgeon with a direct view of the surgical robotic system and allows a surgeon to easily and intuitively select, control, or manipulate various target components of the surgical robotic system.” in the abstract. Thus the direct view taught by Fuerst is being provided by the display and the Examiner further notes that Fuerst is only being relied upon to teach that the set up arm can be displayed on a screen.
As to Applicant’s arguments directed to the dependent claims as being patentable due to their dependency to Claim 1, the rejection of Claim 1 is being maintained in light of the teachings of DiMaio (US PGPub 2019/0231460) in view of Fuerst (US PGPub 2021/0068907). Applicant has not separately argued the patentability of the dependent claims. Thus, the dependent claims are also being rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMaio (US PGPub 2019/0231460) in view of Fuerst (US PGPub 2021/0068907)
Regarding Claim 1, DiMaio teaches a surgical robotic system comprising (Figure 1):
a mobile cart (800A; Figure 8A; Paragraphs 0211-0214);
a setup arm (806A) coupled to the mobile cart (Figure 8A; Paragraph 0211);
a robotic arm (804A) coupled to the setup arm (806A; Figures 8A; Paragraph 0211);
a surgeon console (114; Figure 1; Paragraph 0073) including:
a handle controller (Paragraph 0076); and
a display (Paragraph 0076); and
a controller (processor; 302) configured to move the mobile cart and the setup arm based on a user input manually entered through the GUI or the handle controller (Paragraph 0213-0214 and Paragraph 0222-0223).
DiMaio fails to disclose:
The display configured to output a graphical user interface (GUI) having a graphical representation of the robotic arm.
Fuerst teaches a surgical robotic system comprising:
A robotic arm (28; Figure 2A; Paragraph 0038)
A display (26; Figure 2A) configured to output a graphical user interface (GUI) and having a graphical representation of the arm (28; Figure 2A; Paragraph 0038)
A controller (Paragraph 0004, 0060, and 0063) configured to move a component of the robotic surgical system (robotic arm) based on a user input manually entered (via options button 31) through the GUI (Paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display of DiMaio to include the GUI teachings of Fuerst for the advantage of “selecting and controlling components of the surgical robotic system through the direct view provided by the interface device rather than through the indirect view of a remote console, the risk of a surgeon mistakenly selecting and moving the wrong component of the surgical robotic system may be reduced.” (Paragraph 0016; instant specification PGPub).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the surgical robotic system according to claim 1, wherein DiMaio teaches the controller is further configured to receive procedure data including location of an access port couplable to the robotic arm and to calculate a position of the robotic arm based on the procedure data (Paragraph 0123 and 0137).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the surgical robotic system according to claim 2, wherein DiMaio teaches the controller is configured to couple to a remote server to receive the procedure data therefrom (Paragraph 0103 and Paragraphs 0216 and 0233-0236).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the surgical robotic system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to move the robotic arm based on the user input manually entered through the GUI or the handle controller and= the robotic arm includes at least one joint and the graphical representation includes the at least one joint (Paragraph 0038; Figure 2A and Paragraph 0038; Fuerst) (Figure 8A; DiMaio).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the surgical robotic system according to claim 4, wherein Fuerst teaches the display is a touchscreen, and the user input includes moving the at least one joint on the graphical representation (Paragraph 0025; Fuerst).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the surgical robotic system according to claim 1, wherein DiMaio and Fuerst teaches further comprising at least one proximity sensor (Paragraph 0017) and at least one camera disposed on at least one of the mobile cart, the setup arm, or the robotic arm (Paragraph 0075) (see also Paragraph 0032 of Fuerst), and Fuerst teaches wherein the GUI is configured to display at least one of a proximity alarm or a video during movement of the robotic arm (Paragraph 0027, 0032 and 0035).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references disclosed above teaches the surgical robotic system according to claim 6, wherein DiMaio teaches the controller is configured to prevent the mobile cart and the setup arm being moved based on the user input manually entered through the GUI or the handle controller during operation of an instrument coupled to the robotic arm (Paragraph 0159 discloses activating brakes).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED G GABR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771