Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-17 and 19-21
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: claim 1’s preamble recites, “AR glasses, comprising;” however, claim 1, and claims 2-17 and 19-21 that depend upon claim 1, appear to be directed at single-device AR glass embodiments; consequently, claims 1-17 and 19-21 fail to particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Appropriate responses are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21
Claims 1-2, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi et al. (2021/0311310; “Trisnadi”).
Regarding claim 1, Trisnadi discloses in figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text, embodiments of wearable augmented reality systems comprising, for example: “[A] wearable display system with a light projection system 1010 having multiple nanowire LED micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c. Light from the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c is combined by an optical combiner 1050 and directed towards an eyepiece 1020, which relays the light to the eye 210 of a user. Projection optics 1070 may be provided between the optical combiner 1050 and the eyepiece 1020. In some embodiments, the eyepiece 1020 may be a waveguide assembly including one or more waveguides. In some embodiments, the light projection system 1010 and the eyepiece 1020 may be supported (for example, attached to) the frame 80 (FIG. 9F);” Trisnadi, figure 11A and paragraph [0194]; “In some embodiments, the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be monochrome micro-displays, with each monochrome micro-display outputting light of a different component color to provide a monochrome image. As discussed herein, the monochrome images combine to form a full-color image.” Trisnadi, figure 11A and paragraph [0195].
Trisnadi – Figure 11A
Trisnadi – Selected Text
[0194] With reference now to FIG. 11A, an example is illustrated of a wearable display system with a light projection system 1010 having multiple nanowire LED micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c. Light from the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c is combined by an optical combiner 1050 and directed towards an eyepiece 1020, which relays the light to the eye 210 of a user. Projection optics 1070 may be provided between the optical combiner 1050 and the eyepiece 1020. In some embodiments, the eyepiece 1020 may be a waveguide assembly including one or more waveguides. In some embodiments, the light projection system 1010 and the eyepiece 1020 may be supported (for example, attached to) the frame 80 (FIG. 9F).
[0195] In some embodiments, the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be monochrome micro-displays, with each monochrome micro-display outputting light of a different component color to provide a monochrome image. As discussed herein, the monochrome images combine to form a full-color image.
[0196] In some other embodiments, the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may each be full-color displays configured to output light of all component colors. For example, the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c each include red, green, and blue light emitters. The micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be identical and may display the same image. However, utilizing multiple micro-displays may provide advantages for increasing the brightness and brightness dynamic range of the brightness of the image, by combining the light from the multiple micro-displays to form a single image. In some embodiments, two or more (for example, three) micro-displays may be utilized, with the optical combiner 1050 is configured to combine light from all of these micro-displays.
[0197] With continued reference to FIG. 11A, the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may each be configured to emit image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c. Where the micro-displays are monochrome micro-displays, the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c may each be of a different component color. The optical combiner 1050 receives the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c and effectively combines this light such that the light propagates generally in the same direction, for example, toward the projection optics 1070. In some embodiments, the optical combiner 1050 may be a dichroic X-cube prism having reflective internal surfaces that redirect the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c to the projection optics 1070. It will be appreciated that the projection optics 1070 may be a lens structure including one or more lenses which converge or focus image light onto the eyepiece 1020. The eyepiece 1020 then relays the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c to the eye 210.
[0198] In some embodiments, the eyepiece 1020 may include a plurality of stacked waveguides 1020a, 1020b, 1020c, each of which has a respective in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, 1022c. In some embodiments, the number of waveguides is proportional to the number of component colors provided by the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c. For example, where there are three component colors, the number of waveguides in the eyepiece 1020 may include a set of three waveguides or multiple sets of three waveguides each. In some embodiments, each set may output light with wavefront divergence corresponding to a particular depth plane, as discussed herein. It will be appreciated that the waveguides 1020a, 1020b, 1020c and the in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, 1022c may correspond to the waveguides 670, 680, 690 and the in-coupling optical elements 700, 710, 720, respectively, of FIGS. 9A-9C. As viewed from the projection optics 1070, the in-coupling optical elements 1022a, 1022b, 1022c may be laterally shifted, such that they at least partly do not overlap as seen in such a view.
[0199] As illustrated, the various in-coupling optical elements disclosed herein (for example, the in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, 1022c) may be disposed on a major surface of an associated waveguide (for example, waveguides 1020a, 1020b, 1020c, respectively). In addition, as also illustrated, the major surface on which a given in-coupling optical element is disposed may be the rear surface of the waveguide. In such a configuration, the in-coupling optical element may be a reflective light redirecting element, which in-couples light by reflecting the light at angles which support TIR through the associated waveguide. In some other configurations, the in-coupling optical element may be disposed on the forward surface of the waveguide (closer to the projection optics 1070 than the rearward surface). In such configurations, the in-coupling optical element may be a transmissive light redirecting element, which in-couples light by changing the direction of propagation of light as the light is transmitted through the in-coupling optical element. It will be appreciated that any of the in-coupling optical elements disclosed herein may be reflective or transmissive in-coupling optical elements.
[0200] With continued reference to FIG. 11A, image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c from different ones of the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may take different paths to the eyepiece 1020, such that they impinge on different ones of the in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, 1022c. Where the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c includes light of different component colors, the associated in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, 1022c, respectively, may be configured to selectively in couple light of different wavelengths, as discussed above regarding, for example, the in-coupling optical elements 700, 710, 720 of FIGS. 9A-9C.
[0201] With continued reference to FIG. 11A, the optical combiner 1050 may be configured to redirect the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c emitted by the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c such that the image light propagates along different optical paths, in order to impinge on the appropriate associated one of the in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, 1022c. Thus, the optical combiner 1050 combines the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c in the sense that the image light is outputted from a common face of the optical combiner 1050, although light may exit the optical combiner in slightly different directions. For example, the reflective internal surfaces 1052, 1054 of the X-cube prism may each be angled to direct the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c along different paths to the eyepiece 1020. As a result, the image light 1032a, 1032b, 1032c may be incident on different associated ones of in-coupling optical elements 1022a, 1022b, 1022c. In some embodiments, the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be appropriately angled relative to the reflective internal surfaces 1052, 1054 of the X-cube prism to provide the desired light paths to the in-coupling optical elements 1022a, 1022b, 1022c. For example, faces of one or more of the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be angled to matching faces of the optical combiner 1050, such that image light emitted by the micro-displays is incident on the reflective internal surfaces 1052, 1054 at an appropriate angle to propagate towards the associated in-coupling optical element 1022a, 1022b, or 1022c. In some embodiments, as discussed herein, micro-wire LEDs may advantageously be engineered to provide a directional light output. The dominant direction of light output for each of the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be selected so that light propagates along the appropriate light path from each of these micro-displays to a corresponding one of the in-coupling optical elements 1022a, 1022b, and 1022c. It will be appreciated that, in addition to a cube, the optical combiner 1050 may take the form of various other polyhedra. For example, the optical combiner 1050 may be in the shape of a rectangular prism having at least two faces that are not squares.
[0202] With continued reference to FIG. 11A, in some embodiments, the monochrome micro-display 1030b directly opposite the output face 1051 may advantageously output green light. It will be appreciated that the reflective surfaces 1052, 1054 may have optical losses when reflecting light from the micro-displays. In addition, the human eye is most sensitive to the color green. Consequently, the monochrome micro-display 1030b opposite the output face 1051 preferably outputs green light, so that the green light may proceed directly through the optical combiner 1050 without needing to be reflected to be outputted from the optical combiner 1050. It will be appreciated, however, that the green monochrome micro-display may face other surfaces of the optical combiner 1050 in some other embodiments.
[0203] As discussed herein, the perception of a full color image by a user may be achieved with time division multiplexing in some embodiments. For example, different ones of the nanowire LED micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c may be activated at different times to generate different component color images. In such embodiments, the different component color images that form a single full color image may be sequentially displayed sufficiently quickly that the human visual system does not perceive the component color images as being displayed at different times; that is, the different component color images that form a single full color image may all be displayed within a duration that is sufficiently short that the user perceives the component color images as being simultaneously presented, rather than being temporally separated. For example, it will be appreciated that the human visual system may have a flicker fusion threshold. The flicker fusion threshold may be understood to a duration within which the human visual system is unable to differentiate images as being presented at different times. Images presented within that duration are fused or combined and, as a result, may be perceived by a user to be present simultaneously. Flickering images with temporal gaps between the images that are outside of that duration are not combined, and the flickering of the images is perceptible. In some embodiments, the duration is 1/60 seconds or less, which corresponds to a frame rate of 60 Hz or more. Preferably, image frames for any individual eye are provided to the user at a frame rate equal to or higher than the duration of the flicker fusion threshold of the user. For example, the frame rate for each of the left-eye or right-eye pieces may be 60 Hz or more, or 120 Hz or more; and, as a result, the frame rate provided by the light projection system 1010 may be 120 Hz or more, or 240 Hz or more in some embodiments. It will be appreciated that time division multiplexing may advantageously reduce the computational load on processors (for example, graphics processors) utilized to form displayed images. In some other embodiments, such as where sufficient computational resources are available, all component color images that form a full color image may be displayed simultaneously by the micro-displays 1030a, 1030b, 1030c.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and/or combine Trisnadi’s embodiments to disclose: a display device, the display device comprising multiple display screens, and the display screens used for emitting multiple different monochromatic colors; a color combination device, the display screens respectively arranged around the color combination device, and the color combination device used for fusing the monochromatic colors emitted by the display screens to form an image; a projection lens, disposed on one side of a light exit side of the color combination device; and a waveguide element, disposed on one side of the projection lens away from the color combination device; Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate enhancing augmented reality capabilities. Trisnadi, abstract (“A wearable display system includes one or more nanowire LED micro-displays. The nanowire micro-LED displays may be monochrome or full-color. The nanowire LEDs forming the arrays may have an advantageously narrow angular emission profile and high light output. Where a plurality of nanowire LED micro-displays is utilized, the micro-displays may be positioned at different sides of an optical combiner, for example, an X-cube prism which receives light rays from different micro-displays and outputs the light rays from the same face of the cube. The optical combiner directs the light to projection optics, which outputs the light to an eyepiece that relays the light to a user's eye. The eyepiece may output the light to the user's eye with different amounts of wavefront divergence, to place virtual content on different depth planes.”).
Regarding claims 2, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21, as dependent upon claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and/or combine Trisnadi’s embodiments, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, to disclose:
Claim 2. The AR glasses of claim 1, wherein the display device comprises a first display screen, a second display screen, and a third display screen, the first display screen is used for emitting a first monochromatic color, the second display screen is used for emitting a second monochromatic color, and the third display screen is used for emitting a third monochromatic color. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 8. The AR glasses of claim 2, wherein the waveguide element comprise a coupling-in region, a transfer region, and a coupling-out region, the coupling-in region is used for receiving light transmitted from the projection lens, the transfer region is used for connecting the coupling-in region and the coupling-out region, and after the light emitted by the color combination device enters the waveguide element, the light passes through the coupling-in region, the transfer region, and the coupling-out region in sequence and then after passing through the coupling-out region, the light transmits to user's eyes. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 9. The AR glasses of claim 8, wherein the coupling-in region of the waveguide element is provided with a coupling-in grating, and the coupling-in grating is provided on one side of the waveguide element facing the projection lens or on one side of the waveguide element away from the projection lens. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 10. The AR glasses of claim 9, wherein a center of the second display screen, a symmetry axis of the color combination device, a symmetry axis of the projection lens, and a center of the coupling-in grating are located on the same straight line. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 11. The AR glasses of claim 2, wherein the first display screen, the second display screen, and the third display screen are all Micro LED display screens. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 12. The AR glasses of claim 2, wherein the first monochromatic color, the second monochromatic color, and the third monochromatic color are any combination of red light, green light, and blue light. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 14. The AR glasses of claim 1, wherein the AR glasses comprises two lenses, nose braces, and two temples, the nose braces are arranged between the two lenses and connects the two lenses, the two temples are respectively disposed on one side of the two lenses away from the nose braces, the waveguide element is disposed at positions of the lenses, and the display device, the color combination device, and the projection lens are disposed at position of the temples or the nose braces. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 15. The AR glasses of claim 1, wherein the waveguide element comprises a glass flat plate or a resin flat plate. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 16. The AR glasses of claim 1, wherein the projection lens comprises multiple lenses, and a number of the multiple lenses is 2 to 10. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 17. The AR glasses of claim 16, wherein the multiple lenses are selected from one or more of biconcave lenses, plano-concave lenses, convex-concave lenses, biconvex lenses, and plano-convex lenses. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 19. The AR glasses of claim 1, wherein the waveguide element and the projection lens are in a perpendicular relationship or a non-perpendicular relationship. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 20. The AR glasses of claim 1, wherein an angle between a plane where the waveguide element is located and an extension direction of the projection lens is .75 to 105. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
Claim 21. The AR glasses of claim 8, wherein the coupling-in region of the waveguide element is provided with a coupling-in grating, and the coupling-in grating is provided on one side of the waveguide element away from the projection lens. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text.
because the resulting configurations would facilitate enhancing augmented reality capabilities. Trisnadi, abstract.
Claims 3 and 4
Dependent claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi et al. (2021/0311310; “Trisnadi”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21, in view of Doany et al. (6,019,474; “Doany”).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Doany discloses in figure 7, and related figures and text, prism interfaces coated by dichroic coats (tailored, for example, for red, green, or blue and/or for specific polarizations). Doany, (“[A]ttention is directed to FIG. 7 which is an illustration of an optical arrangement that includes the modified X-cube of the present invention in proximity to a specific light valve optical arrangement which includes three light valves and three polarizing beam splitters. Specifically, the optical arrangement shown in FIG. 7 comprises three polarizing beam splitter cubes 135r, 135b and 135g each optimized for operation at a specific color of light (red, blue or green). Each beam splitter contains a specific dichroic coating, R', B' and G' which reflects one polarization and transmits the other. In close proximity and adjacent to each, is a light valve 140r, 140b and 140g. Each light valve is preferably a reflective liquid crystal (LC) spatial light modulator (SLM). Alternatively, the light valves can be a transmission SLM or another type of reflective SLM such as a digital mirror device (DMD).”). Doany, column 5, lines 35-51.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and/or combine Trisnadi’s embodiments, as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21, to disclose:
Claim 3. The AR glasses of claim 2, wherein the color combination device comprises a first prism, a second prism, a third prism, and a fourth prism, the first prism, the second prism, the third prism, and the fourth prism are all isosceles right-angle prisms; vertices of the first prism, the second prism, the third prism, and the fourth prism are connected together, a bottom surface of the first prism is a light exit surface of the color combination device, a bottom surface of the second prism is disposed toward the first display screen, a bottom surface of the third prism is disposed toward the second display screen, and a bottom surface of the fourth prism is disposed toward the third display screen; a first optical film layer is disposed between the third prism and the second prism, and the first optical film layer is used for reflecting the first monochromatic color emitted by the first display screen and transmitting the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen; a second optical film layer is disposed between the second prism and the first prism, and the second optical film layer is used for reflecting the third monochromatic color emitted by the third display screen and transmitting the first monochromatic color emitted by the first display screen and the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen; a third optical film layer is disposed between the first prism and the fourth prism, and the third optical film layer is used for reflecting the first monochromatic color emitted by the first display screen and transmitting the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen and the third monochromatic color emitted by the third display screen; and fourth optical film layer is disposed between the fourth prism and the third prism, and the fourth optical film layer is used for reflecting the third monochromatic color emitted by the third display screen and transmitting the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; Doany, figure 7, and related figures and text.
Claim 4. The AR glasses of claim 3, wherein a reflectivity of the first optical film layer to the first monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the first optical film layer to the first monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the first optical film layer to the second monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the first optical film layer to the second monochromatic color; a reflectivity of the second optical film layer to the third monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the second optical film layer to the third monochromatic color, a transmittance of the second optical film layer to the first monochromatic color is greater thana reflectivity of the second optical film layer to the first monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the second optical film layer to the second monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the second optical film layer to the second monochromatic color; a reflectivity of the third optical film layer to the first monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the third optical film layer to the first monochromatic color, a transmittance of the third optical film layer to the second monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the third optical film layer to the second monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the third optical film layer to the third monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the third optical film layer to the third monochromatic color; and a reflectivity of the fourth optical film layer to the third monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the fourth optical film layer to the third monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the fourth optical film layer to the second monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the fourth optical film layer to the second monochromatic color. Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; Doany, figure 7, and related figures and text.
the resulting configurations would facilitate enhancing augmented reality capabilities. Trisnadi, abstract; Doany, abstract (“An optical projection display system, such as a liquid crystal display device, is disclosed. A feature of the present invention is that the projection display system utilizes a modified X-cube (or X-prism) arrangement wherein the internal angles of the prisms forming the modified X-cube deviate from 90.degree.. The utilization of the present modified X-cube arrangement improves contrast for checkerboard images, minimizes the possibility of spurious unwanted reflections from entering the projection lens as well as substantially eliminating glare and ghost images typically present using prior art X-cubes.”).
Claims 5– 7 and 13
Dependent claims 5– 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi et al. (2021/0311310; “Trisnadi”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21, in view of Doany et al. (6,019,474; “Doany”), as applied in the rejection of claims 3 and 4, further in view of Popovich et al. (6,373,603; “Popovich”) and further in view of Berman et al. (2003/0063388; “Berman”).
Regarding dependent claims 5-7 and 13, Popovich discloses at column 4, line 62 – column 5, line 9, and at related text and figures, embodiments of antireflection configurations comprising mirrors and filters. Popovich, column 4, line 62 – column 5, line 9 (“The light emitted from the display device 12 is collimated into a parallel beam by collimating optics 16 (FIG. 4A). The collimating optics 16 may include condenser lenses, mirrors, collimating lenses, and heat rejection filters as is well known by those skilled in the art. The parallel beam 71 is directed towards optical filters 30, 32, 34 which are each disposed at approximately a 45 degree angle with respect to a front surface of the light guide 52. The filters 30, 32, 34 are preferably dichroic mirrors (e.g., glass coated with multilayer dielectric and/or metallic coatings that reflect certain colors of light while allowing others to pass therethrough). Filter 30 is configured to reflect red light and allow green and blue light to pass therethrough. Similarly, dichroic filter 32 reflects green light and allows blue light to pass therethrough and filter 34 reflects blue light.”).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and/or combine Trisnadi’s in view of Doany’s embodiments to disclose:
Claim 5. The AR glasses of claim 3, wherein a first anti-reflection film is provided on the bottom surface of the second prism, and the first anti-reflection film is used for increasing the transmittance of the first monochromatic color; a second anti-reflection film is provided on the bottom surface of the third prism, and the second anti-reflection film is used for increasing the transmittance of the second monochromatic color; a third anti-reflection film is provided on the bottom surface of the fourth prism, and the third anti-reflection film is used for increasing the transmittance of the third monochromatic color; and a fourth anti-reflection film is provided on the bottom surface of the first prism, and the fourth anti-reflection film is used for simultaneously increasing the transmittances of the first monochromatic color, the second monochromatic color, and the third monochromatic color. Popovich, column 4, line 62 – column 5, line 9, and related text and figures; Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; Doany, figure 7, and related figures and text.
Claim 6. The AR glasses of claim 2, wherein the color combination device comprise a first plane mirror, a second plane mirror, a third plane mirror, and a fourth plane mirror, and one end of the first plane mirror, one end of the second plane mirror, one end of the third plane mirror, and one end of the fourth plane mirror are connected together; one side of the first plane mirror and one side of the second plane mirror are disposed toward the first display screen, one side of the second plane mirror away from the first plane mirror and one side of the third plane mirror are disposed toward the second display screen, one side of the third plane mirror away from the second plane mirror and one side of the fourth plane mirror are disposed toward the third display screen, one side of the first plane mirror away from the second plane mirror is a light exit side, and one side of the fourth plane mirror away from the third plane mirror is a light exit side; the second plane mirror comprises a first light-transmitting plate and a first optical film disposed on one surface of the first light-transmitting plate, and the first optical film is used for reflecting emitted the first monochromatic color by the first display screen and transmitting the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen; the first plane mirror comprises a second light-transmitting plate and a second optical film disposed on one surface of the second light-transmitting plate, and the second optical film is used for reflecting the third monochromatic color emitted by the third display screen and transmitting the first monochromatic color emitted by the first display screen and the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen; the fourth plane mirror comprises a third light-transmitting plate and a third optical film provided on one surface of the third light-transmitting plate, and the third optical film is used for reflecting the first monochromatic color emitted by the first display screen and transmitting the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen and the third monochromatic color emitted by the third display screen; and the third plane mirror comprises a fourth light-transmitting plate and a fourth optical film provided on one surface of the fourth light-transmitting plate, and the fourth optical film is used for reflecting the third monochromatic color emitted by the third display screen and transmitting the second monochromatic color emitted by the second display screen. Popovich, column 4, line 62 – column 5, line 9, and related text and figures; Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; Doany, figure 7, and related figures and text.
Claim 7. The AR glasses of claim 6, wherein a reflectivity of the first optical film to the first monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the first optical film to the first monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the first optical film to the second monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the first optical film to the second monochromatic color; a reflectivity of the second optical film to the third monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the second optical film to the third monochromatic color, a transmittance of the second optical film to the first monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the second optical film to the first monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the second optical film to the second monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the second optical film to the second monochromatic color; a reflectivity of the third optical film to the first monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the third optical film to the first monochromatic color, a transmittance of the third optical film to the second monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the third optical film to the second monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the third optical film to the third monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the third optical film to the third monochromatic color; and a reflectivity of the fourth optical film to the third monochromatic color is greater than a transmittance of the fourth optical film to the third monochromatic color, and a transmittance of the fourth optical film to the second monochromatic color is greater than a reflectivity of the fourth optical film to the second monochromatic color. Popovich, column 4, line 62 – column 5, line 9, and related text and figures; Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; Doany, figure 7, and related figures and text.
Claim 13. The AR glasses of claim 6, wherein materials of the first light- transmitting plate, the second light-transmitting plate, the third light-transmitting plate, and the fourth light-transmitting plate are glass or resin. Popovich, column 4, line 62 – column 5, line 9, and related text and figures; Trisnadi, figure 11A, and related figures and text, for example, Trisnadi – Selected Text; Doany, figure 7, and related figures and text.
the resulting configurations would facilitate enhancing augmented reality capabilities; Trisnadi, abstract; Doany, abstract; by reducing deleterious insitu effects. Berman, paragraph [0019] (“In some prism assembly configurations, an air gap is introduced between the microdisplays and a face on the prism assembly where the microdisplays are mounted. The air gap is a legitimate approach to accomplish pathlength matching, but has substantial disadvantages. For example, anti-reflection (AR) coatings are needed on the outer surfaces of the microdisplays and the prism assembly faces. The three microdisplays are aligned with respect to each other along all 6 axes of the microdisplay (x, y, z, roll, pitch, and yaw). Alignment is generally performed using mechanical positioners. Once alignment has been accomplished, the problem of maintaining the required precise alignment during the mechanical shock of appliance transport and during the thermal expansion/contraction that occurs while the video projector is in use still remains. In addition, the AR surfaces are exposed to dust, moisture and other atmospheric contaminates that may cause them to degrade. All of these factors reduce video projector performance.”).
Conclusion
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874