DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an image capture device” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “guiding extension of the n from” is unclear. It is unclear what feature is being referred to in this limitation. Claims 15-17 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiltshire (US 2004/0138529).
Regarding claim 1, Wiltshire discloses an endoscope system (see figure 2) comprising: a control handle (22, figure 1); a primary scope (10, figure 2) extending from the control handle to a distal portion (14, figure 2) and configured for insertion into a passage of a patient (patient’s body [0082]), the primary scope defining a working channel (26, figures 1-2) extending therethrough; an auxiliary scope (see tool 40 with end effector 48, figure 1 | secondary scopes [0141]) located at least partially within the working channel and movable to extend from the primary scope (see figures 1-2); and a guide (30, figures 1-2) extendable from the distal portion of the primary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Wiltshire further discloses the guide is extendable from the working channel and engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see 34 of 30 and it guides 48 of 40, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Wiltshire further discloses an arm (96, figure 21d) pivotably connected (see pivot/curve of 30, figure 21d) to the distal portion of the primary scope (tether to the fixation point 104…[0124]), the arm engageable with the guide to guide extension of the guide from the primary scope (see figure 21d).
Regarding claim 4, Wiltshire further discloses the arm is engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figure 21d | the auxiliary scope would be engaged with the arm 96 through guide 30).
Regarding claim 5, Wiltshire further discloses a guide wire (tools may be passed through auxiliary lumens…[0150] | tools…not limited [0019]) extendable from the primary scope (figures 37-40), the guide engageable (functional language) with the guidewire to guide extension of the guide wire from the primary scope (used in conjunction with the arms 30 and/or tools 40 inserted through the arms [0148]; see figures 37-40).
Regarding claim 6, Wiltshire further discloses the arm (96, figure 21d) is engageable (functional language) with the guide wire to guide extension of the guide wire from the primary scope (used in conjunction with the arms 30 and/or tools 40 inserted through the arms [0148]; see figures 37-40).
Regarding claim 7, Wiltshire further discloses the guide wire is extendable from a second channel (auxiliary lumens 58 [0148]) located near the working channel (see figures 37-40).
Regarding claim 8, Wiltshire further discloses the guide is tapered from a proximal portion to a distal portion (best seen with 30, figure 37a).
Regarding claim 9, Wiltshire further discloses a distal portion of the guide is configured to deliver energy to ablate tissue (end effectors…electrosurgical…laser [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Wiltshire further discloses an image capture device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a sensor, lens, chip, or processor [0041] | main body 10…visualization elements…[0096]; CCD [0108]) connected to an outer portion of the primary scope (visualization element would be close to the outer portion/surface of the primary scope | see 10, figure 1) and angled with respect to a longitudinal axis of the primary scope (see the angled surface of 16, figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Wiltshire further discloses the primary scope is a duodenoscope (ERCP…[0094] | interpreted the primary scope to be a duodenoscope because it can be in the duodenum) and the auxiliary scope is a cholangioscope (secondary scopes [0141] | ERCP…[0094] | interpreted the auxiliary scope to a cholangioscope to perform ERCP).
Regarding claim 14, Wiltshire discloses a method of operating an endoscope system (see figure 2), the method comprising: extending a guide (30, figures 1-2 | insertable through a…[0084]) from a distal portion of a primary scope (10, figure 2) near a working channel (guide lumen 26, figures 2) of the primary scope; engaging the guide with an arm (96, figure 21d) connected to the distal portion of the primary scope; extending an auxiliary scope (see tool 40 with end effector 48, figure 1 | secondary scopes [0141]) from the working channel to engage the guide (see 34 of 30 and it guides 48 of 40, figures 1-2); guiding extension of the n from the working channel by engaging the guide with the auxiliary scope (see 112b rejection above | see 34 of 30 and it guides 48 of 40, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Wiltshire further discloses engaging the arm with the auxiliary scope (see figure 21d | the auxiliary scope would be engaged with the arm 96 through guide 30).
Regarding claim 16, Wiltshire further discloses cannulating a sphincter of Oddi with a tip of the guide (see 34 of 30, figures 1-2 | ERCP…sphincterotomy…[0094] | the distal end 34 is steerable…[0084], can cannulate a sphincter of Oddi).
Regarding claim 17, Wiltshire further discloses extending the auxiliary scope into the sphincter of Oddi following cannulation (tool 40 is advanced…48 emerges…[0085]; see figures 2).
Regarding claim 18, Wiltshire discloses an endoscope system (see figure 2) comprising: a primary scope (10, figure 2) extending from a proximal portion (see proximal portion of 20, figure 2) to a distal portion (14, figure 2) and configured for insertion into a passage of a patient (patient’s body [0082]), the primary scope defining a working channel (26, figures 1-2) extending therethrough; an auxiliary scope (see tool 40 with end effector 48, figure 1 | secondary scopes [0141]) located at least partially within the working channel and movable to extend from the primary scope (see figures 1-2); and a guide (30, figures 1-2) extendable from the distal portion of the primary scope to direct advancement of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Wiltshire further discloses the guide is extendable from the working channel and engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see 34 of 30 and it guides 48 of 40, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Wiltshire further discloses an arm (96, figure 21d) pivotably connected (see pivot/curve of 30, figure 21d) to the distal portion of the primary scope (tether to the fixation point 104…[0124]), the arm engageable with the guide to guide extension of the guide from the primary scope (see figure 21d).
Regarding claim 21, Wiltshire further discloses the arm is engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figure 21d | the auxiliary scope would be engaged with the arm 96 through guide 30).
Regarding claim 22, Wiltshire further discloses a guide wire (tools may be passed through auxiliary lumens…[0150] | tool…not limited [0019]) extendable from the primary scope (figures 37-40), the guide engageable (functional language) with the guide wire to guide extension of the guide wire from the primary scope (used in conjunction with the arms 30 and/or tools 40 inserted through the arms [0148]; see figures 37-40).
Regarding claim 23, Wiltshire further discloses the arm (96, figure 21d) is engageable (functional language) with the guide wire to guide extension of the guide wire from the primary scope (used in conjunction with the arms 30 and/or tools 40 inserted through the arms [0148]; see figures 37-40).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masubuchi (US 5,460,168).
Regarding claim 1, Masubuchi discloses an endoscope system comprising: a control handle (302, figure 1); a primary scope (303, figure 1) extending from the control handle to a distal portion (308, figure 1) and configured for insertion into a passage of a patient (into a human body; Col. 9, line 24), the primary scope defining a working channel (329, figure 4 | 44, figure 35a) extending therethrough; an auxiliary scope (medical treatment instruments…catheter; Col. 9, lines 44-47) located at least partially within the working channel and movable to extend from the primary scope (inserted into… Col. 9, lines 47-48); and a guide (see 122, figures 35) extendable from the distal portion of the primary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figures 35).
Regarding claim 2, Masubuchi further discloses the guide is extendable from the working channel and engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figures 35).
Regarding claim 3, Masubuchi further discloses an arm (114, figures 35) pivotably connected to the distal portion of the primary scope (see rotating arrow for 123 caused by 114, figures 35), the arm engageable with the guide to guide extension of the guide from the primary scope (see figures 35).
Regarding claim 4, Masubuchi further discloses the arm is engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figures 35 | the auxiliary scope would be engaged with the arm through guide 122).
Regarding claim 12, Masubuchi further discloses an image capture device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a sensor, lens, chip, or processor [0041] | observational objective lens 317 and observational cover lens 322, figure 3) connected to an outer portion of the primary scope (see location of 317 and 322, figures 1 and 3) and angled with respect to a longitudinal axis of the primary scope (see location of 317 and 322, figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 13, Masubuchi further discloses the primary scope is a duodenoscope (duodenum | Col. 3, line 39) and the auxiliary scope is a cholangioscope (duodenal papilla; Col. 2, line 23 | catheter; Col. 9, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 14, Masubuchi discloses a method of operating an endoscope system (see figure 1), the method comprising: extending a guide (122, figure 35) from a distal portion of a primary scope (303, figure 1) near a working channel (329, figure 4 | 44, figure 35a) of the primary scope; engaging the guide with an arm (114, figures 35) connected to the distal portion of the primary scope; extending an auxiliary scope (medical treatment instruments…catheter; Col. 9, lines 44-47) from the working channel to engage the guide; guiding extension of the n from the working channel by engaging the guide with the auxiliary scope (see 112b rejection above | figures 35).
Regarding claim 15, Masubuchi further discloses engaging the arm with the auxiliary scope (see figures 35 | the auxiliary scope would be engaged with the arm through guide 122).
Regarding claim 16, Masubuchi further discloses cannulating a sphincter of Oddi with a tip of the guide (see movement of 122 and arrow, figures 35 | duodenal papilla; Col. 2, line 23 | catheter; Col. 9, lines 44-47). Catheter can be moved by the tip of the guide to cannulate a sphincter of Oddi at the duodenal papilla.
Regarding claim 17, Masubuchi further discloses extending the auxiliary scope into the sphincter of Oddi following cannulation (inserted into… Col. 9, lines 47-48).
Regarding claim 18, Masubuchi discloses an endoscope system (see figure 1) comprising: a primary scope (303, figure 1) extending from a proximal portion to a distal portion and configured for insertion into a passage of a patient (into a human body; Col. 9, line 24), the primary scope defining a working channel (329, figure 4 | 44, figure 35a) extending therethrough; an auxiliary scope (medical treatment instruments…catheter; Col. 9, lines 44-47) located at least partially within the working channel and movable to extend from the primary scope (inserted into… Col. 9, lines 47-48); and a guide (122, figures 35) extendable from the distal portion of the primary scope to direct advancement of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figures 35).
Regarding claim 19, Masubuchi further discloses the guide is extendable from the working channel and engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figures 35).
Regarding claim 20, Masubuchi further discloses an arm (114, figures 35) pivotably connected to the distal portion of the primary scope (see rotating arrow for 123 caused by 114, figures 35), the arm engageable with the guide to guide extension of the guide from the primary scope (see figures 35).
Regarding claim 21, Masubuchi further discloses the arm is engageable with the auxiliary scope to guide extension of the auxiliary scope from the primary scope (see figures 35 | the auxiliary scope would be engaged with the arm through guide 122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiltshire (US 2004/0138529) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reydel (US 2017/0251917).
Regarding claim 10, Wiltshire discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Wiltshire is silent regarding a stabilizer connected to the primary scope and configured to extend therefrom to engage an inner intestinal wall.
Reydel teaches an attachable structure (40d, figure 28a) with one or more flexible appendages (47d, figure 28a) extending outwardly from the outer surface of the body ([0130]). There may be multiple flexible appendages extending outward within the same row (figure 29b; [0134]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the system, specifically the distal portion of the primary scope, of Wiltshire to have an attachable structure (40d, figure 28a) with multiple flexible appendages (47, figures 28a and 29b) extending outward within the same row ([0134]). Doing so would facilitate a forward advance of the endoscope by reducing intestinal looping ([0141]). The modified system would have a stabilizer (47, figures 28a and 29b; Reydel) connected to the primary scope (the modified primary scope would have the attachable structure 40d and flexible appendages 47d, figure 28a) and configured to extend therefrom to engage an inner intestinal wall ([0141]; Reydel).
Regarding claim 11, Reydel further teaches the stabilizer includes a plurality of projections (47, figures 28a and 29b; Reydel) extending from the primary scope, each projection configured to engage the inner intestinal wall ([0141]; Reydel).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Komiya (US 4,245,624).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
December 26, 2025
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795