DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
The images used to represent the formula in the claims are illegible. For example, in claim 1, formula (I), it is unclear the subscripts for the R groups and most of the L groups. Appropriate correction is required, such as using a higher resolution image. For purposes of examination, Examiner will rely on the formula in the specification, which are fuzzy as well, but not as bad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Borros Gomez et al (US 2020/147237, hereinafter Borros Gomez ‘237).
Borros Gomez ‘237 discloses modified poly(beta-amino ester)s (pBAEs) as vectors for the delivery of virus-based therapeutic agents in therapy (claims 1-29; [0001]). It discloses the preparation of a representative pBAE derived from 5-amino-1- pentanol, hexylamine, and/or mPEG, and 1,4-butanediol diacrylate, identical to the present invention ([0244]-[0249]; examples 1, 2), further end-modified with oligopeptides, having an amine or a thiol group ([0250]-[0319]; examples 3-7; tables 1, 2), providing a library of conjugates of the general formula as follows:
falling within the scope of the present application. D1 further discloses a list of equivalent alternatives comprising the oligopeptide being derived from Formula IV as follows
further specifying that Ra is HO₂C(CH₂)₂- or HO₂C-CH₂- with p = 2-19 ([0063, [0066]), which results in a zwitterionic polymer falling within the scope of the present application, in particular R₃ with r = 0. It further discloses nanoparticles, or vehicles comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent or an excipient, or a delivery system based on the said conjugates ([0164], [0187]- [0211], [0242]; examples 8-20; figure 21).
Examiner notes a genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 1-3, 6-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Borros Gomez et al (2018/250410, hereinafter Borros Gomez ‘410).
Borros Gomez ‘410 discloses polymers suitable for use in delivery of active agents and also pertains to nanoparticles comprising these polymers and methods for their production (claims 1-23; [0002]). It discloses a similar library of pBAE conjugated to oligopeptides/DNA complexes and their use ([0146]-[0182]; examples 1-3, 5-13; table 1; figure 8), as disclosed in Borros Gomez ‘237 discussed above. Borros Gomez ‘410 also discloses the list of equivalent alternatives of the oligopeptide acc. to Formula IV ([0020], [0023]), identical to Borros Gomez ‘237.
Examiner notes a genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 1-3, 6-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh et al (US 2018/000968).
Oh et al discloses nanoparticles that are suitable for use in delivery of active agents comprising PBAEs and additives that are sugars or sugar derivatives (claims 1-26; [0001]). D3 again discloses a similar library of pBAE conjugated to oligopeptides/DNA complexes and their use ([0201]-[0274]; examples 1-20; table 1), as disclosed in Borros Gomez ‘237 and ‘410. Oh et al also discloses the list of equivalent alternatives of the oligopeptide acc. to Formula IV ([0033], [0035]), identical to Borros Gomez ‘237 and ‘410.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borros Gomez et al (2018/250410, hereinafter Borros Gomez ‘410).
Borros Gomez ‘410 is discussed above but requires the selection from a limited list of compounds. If this is more than permitted for anticipation, then selection would have been obvious where the polymers and nanoparticles are disclosed in the prior art and selection would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to vary R4 and R9 based on the teaching of the reference.
Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borros Gomez et al (2020/147237, hereinafter Borros Gomez ‘237).
Borros Gomez ‘237 is discussed above but requires the selection from a limited list of compounds. If this is more than permitted for anticipation, then selection would have been obvious where the polymers and nanoparticles are disclosed in the prior art and selection would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to vary R4 and R9 based on the teaching of the reference.
Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borros Oh et al (US 2018/000968).
Oh et al is discussed above but requires the selection from a limited list of compounds. If this is more than permitted for anticipation, then selection would have been obvious where the polymers and nanoparticles are disclosed in the prior art and selection would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to vary R4 and R9 based on the teaching of the reference.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/292157 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘157 claims what appears to be the same compounds instantly claimed using different language, such as the independent claim directed to functional language instead of structural. The formula of ‘157 appears to be a narrower form of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 15/908,112 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘112 claims what appears to be overlapping polymers instantly claimed using different constituent groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 16/615,642 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘642 claims what appears to be overlapping polymers instantly claimed using different constituent groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612