DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/700,843. Claims 10 and 13-18 are pending in the application. Claims 13-18 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The applicant’s amendment filed January 23, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2021/0380807) in view of Schulte et al (US 4,599,262) and Witucki (US 4,923,755).
Chen et al teaches an electrically conductive silicone rubber composition comprising 1.5-5.5 % by weight carbon black and 0.05-1 % by weight carbon nanotubes (abstract; par. 6-8). A solvent is not required. The composition is capable of cross-linking (par. 18). The composition comprises a linear organopolysiloxane containing carbon-carbon double bonds and Si-C bonds (par. 10-11). The composition further comprises a linear organohydrogenpolysiloxane which contains silicon-bonded hydrogen atoms (par. 18-19).
Chen et al does not teach a BET surface area of less than 300 m2/g.
However, Schulte et al teaches a conductive composition comprising conductive carbon black having a BET surface area of more than 50 m2/g (Col. 3, lines 45-50). The conductive carbon black having a surface area of more than 50 m2/g is commercially available and has high electrical conductivity (Col. 3, lines 48-51).
Chen et al teaches a carbon black having “extra” electrical conductivity (par. 46). Schulte et al teaches a carbon black which is commercially available and has high electrical conductivity (Col. 3, lines 48-51). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the carbon black BET surface area of Schulte et al with the composition of Chen et al in view of Witucki in order to obtain a commercially available carbon black having high electrical conductivity.
Chen et al does not teach that the viscosity is at most 60,000 mPa·s.
However, Witucki teaches a curable organosilicone resin composition having a viscosity of 32,000 cP (col. 8, lines 53-62). 1 cP equates to 1 mPa·s. The composition is used to make silicone coatings (col. 6, lines 59-69). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the viscosity of Witucki with the composition of Chen et al in view of Schulte et al in order to obtain composition suitable for forming a coating.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Schulte et al is not analogous art. However, Schulte et al is concerned with a conductive polymer composition containing carbon black, which is the same field of endeavor as the invention. Therefore, Schulte et al is analogous art.
Conclusion
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information