DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite an apparatus with structural limitations and material worked upon by the apparatus. While there is nothing wrong with claiming the material worked upon, such limitations are only given weight to the extent that they limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2115. See In re Rishoi (94 USPQ 71), In re Smith (3 USPQ 315), and In re Young (25 USPQ 69).
In Rishoi, a film of liquid was claimed as part of an apparatus, it being clear that the liquid film is only present during use of the apparatus. It was held that the liquid film is not a structural limitation and therefore cannot impart patentability to those claims which are otherwise unpatentable. It was further stated that there is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.
In Smith, a particular web material having an extra length of carbons was claimed as part of an apparatus. The web material is worked upon by the apparatus. The court considered the possibility of combining the specified web with an old machine to provide a patentable combination, but it was held that a person may not patent a combination of a device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.
In Young, a concrete structure upon which an apparatus works was claimed as part of the apparatus. It was held that the inclusion of the material worked upon may not lend patentability to the apparatus.
In view of the cited cases and MPEP 2115, the claimed material worked upon has only been given weight to the extent that such limitations indicate structural limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 17 recite “one second elevation”. Is this one second elevation different from the second elevation previously recited. Additionally, to which previously recited second elevation does “the second elevation” refer?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Romijn et al. (US 2011/0079342).
As to claim 1 and 11, Romijn discloses an anvil tool 5 (para 22, fig 2-3) for an ultrasonic sealing device, comprising: a base surface (see below), the base surface having a first elevation which extends with a height H1 in a direction perpendicular to the base surface from the base surface (see below), the first elevation having a first partial sealing surface, the first partial sealing surface having a second elevation which extends with a height H2 in a direction perpendicular to the base surface from the first partial sealing surface (see below), the second elevation having a second partial sealing surface, wherein both the first partial sealing surface and the second partial sealing surface are intended to process two-layered or multilayered material during operation of the ultrasonic sealing device, and wherein the second elevation in a first plane perpendicular to the base surface has a part-circular cross-section with a radius r2; wherein the second elevation is arranged on the first partial sealing surface, wherein the first partial sealing surface is flat and parallel to the base surface, and wherein the first partial sealing surface forms an abutment for the material to be processed. (see annotated gig below, also fig 2-3, para 22-32).
The second elevation is clearly on the first partial sealing surface.
Nonetheless, if it is not taken that Romijn expressly discloses the second elevation is on the first partial sealing surface, the following rejection is set forth:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the second elevation to be on the first partial sealing surface, as Romijn disclose the specific configuration can be varied based design requirements (para 12-14).
As to claim 2, although Romijn does not expressly disclose the r2 radius is at most 2mm, at least para 32 discloses the shape and curvature can be varied based on the desired design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the r2 radius to be at most 2mm as choice of a radius is a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, varying the dimensions is obvious absent unexpected results demonstrated by applicant. MPEP 2144.04.
As to claims 4, 5 and 16 (examiner notes claim 16 is a combination of claims 4-5), Romijn discloses the first partial sealing surface is flat (see fig above), first elevation has a trapezoidal cross-section in a first plane perpendicular to the base surface (see fig above), and the first elevation and/or the second elevation have an extension in a transverse direction perpendicular to the first plane which is larger than an extension in a longitudinal direction parallel to the first plane (see fig above).
As to claim 6, 7,8 and 17 (claim 17 is a combination of claims 6-8), Romijn discloses exactly one second elevation is arranged on the first partial sealing surface of the first elevation (see fig above), a length of the shorter base side of the trapezoidal cross-section of the first elevation corresponds to an extension of the first partial sealing surface in the first plane (see fig above), and the height H2 of the second elevation is less than or equal to the height H1 of the first elevation (see fig above). While Romijn does not expressly disclose the second elevation arranged centrally on the first partial sealing surface, such a configuration would have been obvious to a POSITA as the exact configure is a design choice as detailed in the claim 1 rejection above.
As to claim 9, Romijn discloses an extension of the second partial sealing surface in a first plane perpendicular to the base surface is smaller than an extension of the first partial sealing surface in the first plane (see fig above).
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romijn as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Martin (US 5976315).
As to claim 10, Romijn does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 10. Martin disclose tool for ultrasonic welding, having at least two elevations extending form a base surface 21 each having height H1 and heigh H2, each forming a first and second sealing surface, wherein a third elevation 27 is provided on the base surface, wherein the third elevation extends with a height H3 in a direction perpendicular to the base surface from the base surface, wherein the third elevation is arranged neither on the first partial sealing surface nor on the second partial sealing surface and is capable of coming into contact with the material to be processed, but not to carry out processing of the material, wherein the height H3 of the third elevation corresponds at least to the sum of the height H1 of the first elevation and the height H2 of the second elevation, wherein the height H3 of the third elevation is larger than the sum of the height H1 of the first elevation and the height H2 of the second elevation, and wherein the tool is a sonotrode or an anvil of an ultrasonic welding device (fig 2, C6, L54 – C7, L8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Romijn to comprise a third elevation provided on the base surface, wherein the third elevation extends with a height H3 in a direction perpendicular to the base surface from the base surface, wherein the third elevation is arranged neither on the first partial sealing surface nor on the second partial sealing surface and is capable of coming into contact with the material to be processed, but not to carry out processing of the material, wherein the height H3 of the third elevation corresponds at least to the sum of the height H1 of the first elevation and the height H2 of the second elevation, wherein the height H3 of the third elevation is larger than the sum of the height H1 of the first elevation and the height H2 of the second elevation as taught by Martin above as such enables better alignment and a straighter seal (C3, L28-52).
As to claim 18, Romijn discloses an extension of the second partial sealing surface in a first plane perpendicular to the base surface is smaller than an extension of the first partial sealing surface in the first plane, wherein the tool is an anvil (see claim 9 and 11 discussions above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Romijn to comprise a third elevation provided on the base surface, wherein the third elevation extends with a height H3 in a direction perpendicular to the base surface from the base surface, wherein the third elevation is arranged neither on the first partial sealing surface nor on the second partial sealing surface and is capable of coming into contact with the material to be processed, but not to carry out processing of the material, wherein the height H3 of the third elevation corresponds at least to the sum of the height H1 of the first elevation and the height H2 of the second elevation, wherein the height H3 of the third elevation is larger than the sum of the height H1 of the first elevation and the height H2 of the second elevation as taught by Martin above as such enables better alignment and a straighter seal (C3, L28-52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/26 have been fully considered but are either not persuasive or moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant asserts Romijn does not disclose the second elevation on the first partial sealing surface because the regions allegedly merge into each other. This argument is not persuasive because the annotated figure above clearly shows the second elevation on the first partial sealing surface. Nonetheless such would have been obvious as detailed in the new grounds of rejection above. As to claims 9 and 18, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as annotated fig 3 of Romijn clearly shows an extension of the second partial sealing surface in the first plane perpendicular to the base surface is smaller than an extension of the first partial sealing surface in the first plane.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746