DETAILED ACTION
DRAWINGS
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Figs. 3-8 shows a signal showing gain and frequency, but does not specify what kind of a signal it is? Is it a torque signal/speed signal (speed or torque not referenced and needs to be labeled (see spec., para’s [0059], [0087], [0088] & [0090]). Figs.6A, 6B shows a second excitation signal (see spec., page 3) but needs to specify and label the signal (torque or speed)? No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The spec teaches (see spec., para’s [0087]-[0088], page 15) states
[0087] Thus, second output part 12 causes the second excitation signal for measuring frequency characteristics of servo system 20 again to have an amplitude of an input signal (motor torque) near the antiresonance frequency, the amplitude being 100 times larger than that in Fig. 6A. As a result, a level of an output signal (rotational speed) near the antiresonance frequency increases to a level similar to that when the gain is calculated using the rigid body approximation, and thus remeasurement of the frequency characteristics using the second excitation signal can be accurately performed.
[0088] As illustrated in Fig. 6B, when the gain of resonance frequency fₚ increases by 40 [db] from the gain calculated using the rigid body approximation, a ratio of an amplitude of an output signal (rotational speed) to that of an input signal (input torque) is 100 times that when the gain is calculated using the rigid body approximation.
These above underlined phrases are unclear as applicants’ fail to teach what is rigid body approximation? and does not show or reference in figs. 6A-6B.
SPEC. (SEE PARA. [0119], PAGES 18-19) teaches an anti-resonance frequency band having a large depth coefficient is unclear as what it means?
3.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 6, The phrase, “The frequency characteristic measurement apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the second output part calculates an amplitude of the second excitation signal to be output, based on the first frequency characteristic” is unclear in that the second output part 12 (see fig.1 of applicant) output excitation signal and therefore it is unclear as how an output part is calculating? Appropriate corrections and clarifications required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IIJIMA (Pub.No.: US 2017/0277206 A1) in view of Fujisaki et al. (Patent No.: US 6,211,640 b1 and Fujisaki hereinafter).
As to claim 1, A frequency characteristic measurement apparatus comprising:
a first output part that outputs a first excitation signal in a first frequency range;
a frequency characteristic calculator that calculates a first frequency characteristic of a servo system in the first frequency range based on the first excitation signal and a first state signal, the first state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the first excitation signal;
a resonance frequency calculator that calculates at least one of a resonance frequency or an antiresonance frequency of the servo system based on the first frequency characteristic; and
a second output part that outputs a second excitation signal in a second frequency range including at least one of the resonance frequency and the antiresonance frequency calculated by the resonance frequency calculator and belonging to a partial range of the first frequency range,
the frequency characteristic calculator being configured to further calculates a second frequency characteristic of the servo system in the second frequency range based on the second excitation signal and a second state signal, the second state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the second excitation signal.
(As to claim 1, IIJIMA teaches (see figs.1-4, para. [0002], [0015])
A frequency characteristic measurement apparatus 10 (see para’s [0010], [0011], [0012], [0025], [0030], fig.1) comprising:
a first output part [speed command unit 100] (fig.1) that outputs a first excitation signal [torque signal] (via torque command unit 102, see para. [0021]) in a first frequency range [500-2000 Hz] (Frequencies Hz relative to speed control, see fig.2);
a frequency characteristic calculator 105 (fig.1) that calculates a first frequency characteristic (resonance frequencies/resonance peak gains, see para’s [0025]-[0026], figs.2-3) of a servo system [servo motor 20, transmission 30] in the first frequency range [500-2000 Hz] based on the first excitation signal (torque signal via torque command 102, fig.1) and a first state signal [velocity detection signal, via speed detection unit 107), the first state signal [velocity detection signal] (fig.1) indicating a state quantity [actual velocity value, see para. [0033]) of the servo system 20-30 and being acquired from the servo system 20 having received the first excitation signal (torque signal via torque command 102, fig.1);
a resonance frequency calculator [resonance frequency adjustment unit 106] (fig.1) that calculates at least one of a resonance frequency (figs.2-3) of the servo system 20, 30 based on the first frequency characteristic [resonance frequencies], see figs.2-3, para. [0025]-[0026], [0028] & [0031]); and
a second output part [SINE-WAVE SWEEP UNIT 104] that outputs a second excitation signal [SINE-WAVE SWEEP SIGNAL] (VIA ADDING TO VELOCITY COMMAND SIGNAL to produce the torque signal, SEE FIG.1, para’s [0033], [0034]) in a second frequency range [800-1400Hz] (fig.2) including at least one of the resonance frequency calculated by the resonance frequency calculator [resonance frequency adjustment unit 106] (fig.1, para. [0035]) and belonging to a partial range [860HZ/1150HZ/1310HZ] (see figs.2-3, para’s [0028], [0029], [0030]-[0031]) of the first frequency range [500-2000 Hz] (fig.2),
the frequency characteristic calculator 105 (figs.1, 4) being configured to further calculates a second frequency characteristic [resonance peaks or resonance peak amplitudes/resonance peak gains] (figs.2-3, 4, para. [0028], [0029], [0030], [0035]-[0037]) of the servo system 20-30 in the second frequency range [800-1400Hz] (see figs.2-3) based on the second excitation signal [SINE-WAVE SWEEP SIGNAL] (VIA ADDING TO VELOCITY COMMAND SIGNAL to produce the torque signal, SEE FIG.1, para’s [0033], [0034]).
IIJIMA does not mention a second state signal, the second state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the second excitation signal.
Fujisaki teaches (fig.1, (col.1, lines 6-9)) a frequency characteristic measurement unit 1, wherein a second state signal [Velocity signal Vm] (of the motor 3 based from [position detection signal Pd] or Fujisaki teaches a second state signal [velocity signal of the load 4] (see (col.5, lines 46-57)) or a second state signal [velocity difference signal Vd] (see fig.2, (col.6, lines 1-44)), the second state signal [velocity signal Vm] indicating a state quantity [real rotational velocity] of the servo system 3-4 (figs.1, 12) and being acquired from the servo system 3-4 (fig.1) having received the second excitation signal [Cins] (based on Vins/WN, see fig.1, (col.1, lines 51-58), (col.3, lines 55-67), (col.4, lines 6-64), (col.6, lines 27-34)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have the second state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the second excitation signal of Fujisaki in the system of IIJIMA because suppress noise and enhance the measurement precision of the frequency characteristics (see Fujisaki, (col.2, lines 18-21)).
As to claim 2, The frequency characteristic measurement apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first excitation signal is any one of a white noise signal, a multiple sinusoidal signal, a sinusoidal sweep signal, a step signal, and a lamp signal.
(As to claim 2, IIJIMA teaches (see figs.1-4, para. [0002], [0015]) a frequency characteristic measurement apparatus 10 (see para’s [0010], [0011], [0012], [0025], [0030], fig.1) wherein the first excitation signal [torque signal] (via 102, fig.1) produce a multiple sinusoidal signal (see fig.2)).
As to claim 3, The frequency characteristic measurement apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the second excitation signal is a multiple sinusoidal signal or a sinusoidal sweep signal.
(As to claim 3, IIJIMA teaches (see figs.1-4, para. [0002], [0015]) a frequency characteristic measurement apparatus 10 (see para’s [0010], [0011], [0012], [0025], [0030], fig.1) wherein the second excitation signal [SINE-WAVE SWEEP SIGNAL] (see fig.1, para. [0033]).
As to claim 6, The frequency characteristic measurement apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the second output part calculates an amplitude of the second excitation signal to be output, based on the first frequency characteristic.
(As to claim 6, IIJIMA teaches (see figs.1-4, para. [0002], [0015]) a frequency characteristic measurement apparatus 10 (see para’s [0010], [0011], [0012], [0025], [0030], fig.1) wherein an output unit 106 (fig.1) calculates an amplitude of the second excitation signal [sine wave sweep signal] to be output (via second output part 104, fig.1), based on the first frequency characteristic [resonance frequencies/resonance peak gains] (via 105, see figs.1, 2-3, para. [0025]-[0026], [0028], [0029] thru [0037]).
As to claim 8, The frequency characteristic measurement apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first state signal and the second state signal include sensor information indicating a state quantity of a driven body obtained by sensing the driven body in the servo system.
(As to claim 8, IIJIMA teaches (see figs.1-4, para. [0002], [0015]) a frequency characteristic measurement apparatus 10 (see para’s [0010], [0011], [0012], [0025], [0030], fig.1) wherein the first state signal [velocity signal] include sensor information indicating a state quantity [velocity value] (via speed detection unit 107, see fig.1, para. [0033]) of a driven body [servomotor 20] obtained by detecting the driven body [servomotor 20] in the servo system 20-30 (fig.1, para. [0024]).
IIJIMA does not mention a second state signal include sensor information indicating a state quantity of a driven body obtained by sensing the driven body in the servo system.
Fujisaki teaches (fig.1, (col.1, lines 6-9)) a frequency characteristic measurement unit 1, wherein a second state signal [Velocity signal Vm] (of the motor 3 based from [position detection signal Pd] or Fujisaki teaches a second state signal [velocity signal of the load 4] (see (col.5, lines 46-57)) or a second state signal [velocity difference signal Vd] (see fig.2, (col.6, lines 1-44)), the second state signal [velocity signal Vm] indicating a state quantity [real rotational velocity] of a driven body [motor 3] obtained by sensing (via position detection 12/ velocity detection 13, fig.1) the driven body [servo motor 3] in the servo system 3-4 (figs.1, 12, (col.4, lines 18-35)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have a second state signal include sensor information indicating a state quantity of a driven body obtained by sensing the driven body in the servo system of Fujisaki in the system of IIJIMA because suppress noise and enhance the measurement precision of the frequency characteristics (see Fujisaki, (col.2, lines 18-21)).
As to claim 9, A frequency characteristic measurement method comprising:
outputting a first excitation signal in a first frequency range;
calculating a first frequency characteristic of a servo system in the first frequency range based on the first excitation signal and a first state signal, the first state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the first excitation signal;
calculating at least one of a resonance frequency and an antiresonance frequency of the servo system based on the first frequency characteristic;
outputting a second excitation signal in a second frequency range including at least one of the resonance frequency and the antiresonance frequency and belonging to a partial range of the first frequency range; and
calculating a second frequency characteristic of the servo system in the second frequency range based on the second excitation signal and a second state signal, the second state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the second excitation signal.
(As to claim 9, IIJIMA teaches (see figs.1-6, para. [0002], [0015]) a frequency characteristic measurement method (fig.4, para. [0003], [0012]) (using apparatus 10 (see para’s [0010], [0011], [0012], [0025], [0030], fig.1) comprising:
a first output part [speed command unit 100] (fig.1) outputting a first excitation signal [torque signal] (via torque command unit 102, see para. [0021]) in a first frequency range [500-2000 Hz] (Frequencies Hz relative to speed control, see fig.2);
a frequency characteristic calculator 105 (fig.1) calculating a first frequency characteristic (resonance frequencies/resonance peak gains, see para’s [0025]-[0026], figs.2-3) of a servo system [servo motor 20, transmission 30] in the first frequency range [500-2000 Hz] based on the first excitation signal (torque signal via torque command 102, fig.1) and a first state signal [velocity detection signal, via speed detection unit 107), the first state signal [velocity detection signal] (fig.1) indicating a state quantity [actual velocity value, see para. [0033]) of the servo system 20-30 and being acquired from the servo system 20 having received the first excitation signal (torque signal via torque command 102, fig.1);
a resonance frequency calculator [resonance frequency adjustment unit 106] (fig.1) calculating at least one of a resonance frequency (figs.2-3) of the servo system 20, 30 based on the first frequency characteristic [resonance frequencies, see figs.2-3, para. [0025]-[0026], [0028] & [0031]); and
a second output part [SINE-WAVE SWEEP UNIT 104] outputting a second excitation signal [SINE-WAVE SWEEP SIGNAL] (VIA ADDING TO SPEED COMMAND SIGNAL to produce the torque signal, SEE FIG.1, para’s [0033], [0034]) in a second frequency range [800-1400Hz] (fig.2) including at least one of the resonance frequency calculated by the resonance frequency calculator [resonance frequency adjustment unit 106] (fig.1, para. [0035]) and belonging to a partial range [860HZ/1150HZ/1310HZ] (see figs.2-3, para’s [0028], [0029], [0030]-[0031]) of the first frequency range [500-2000 Hz] (fig.2),
the frequency characteristic calculator 105 (figs.1, 4) calculating a second frequency characteristic [resonance peaks or resonance peak amplitudes/resonance peak gains] (figs.2-3, 4, para. [0028], [0029], [0030], [0035]-[0037]) of the servo system 20-30 in the second frequency range [800-1400Hz] (see figs.2-3) based on the second excitation signal [SINE-WAVE SWEEP SIGNAL] (VIA ADDING TO SPEED COMMAND SIGNAL to produce the torque signal, SEE FIG.1, para’s [0033], [0034])
IIJIMA does not mention a second state signal, the second state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the second excitation signal.
Fujisaki teaches a frequency characteristic measurement method using a frequency characteristic measurement unit 1 (see figs.1-13, (col.1, lines 6-9), (col.7, lines 1-22)), wherein a second state signal [Velocity signal Vm] (of the motor 3 based from [position detection signal Pd] (fig.1) or Fujisaki teaches a second state signal [velocity signal of the load 4] (see (col.5, lines 46-57)) or a second state signal [velocity difference signal Vd] (see fig.2, (col.6, lines 1-44)), the second state signal [velocity signal Vm] indicating a state quantity [real rotational velocity] of the servo system 3-4 (figs.1, 12) and being acquired from the servo system 3-4 (fig.1, 12) having received the second excitation signal [Cins] (based on Vins/WN, see fig.1, (col.1, lines 51-58), (col.3, lines 55-67), (col.4, lines 6-64), (col.6, lines 27-34)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have the second state signal indicating a state quantity of the servo system and being acquired from the servo system having received the second excitation signal of Fujisaki in the system of IIJIMA because suppress noise and enhance the measurement precision of the frequency characteristics (see Fujisaki, (col.2, lines 18-21)).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 4-5, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 4, IIJIMA and Fujisaki fails to teach a frequency characteristic synthesizer that synthesizes the first frequency characteristic and the second frequency characteristic to calculate a third frequency characteristic of the servo system in the first frequency range.
As to claim 5, IIJIMA and Fujisaki fails to teach a frequency resolution finer than a frequency resolution at a time of calculating the first frequency characteristic.
As to claim 7, IIJIMA and Fujisaki fails to teach the first output part outputs the first excitation signal multiple times, and the frequency characteristic calculator calculates the first frequency characteristic based on the first excitation signal and a plurality of the first state signals acquired from the servo system for each of the first excitation signals output from the first output part multiple times.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846