DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 3/26/26 has been entered. Currently claims 1, 4, 5, 7-20 are pending, claims 2, 3 and 6 are cancelled and claims 14-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoffel et al (US Publication 20060075925).
Stoffel discloses an ink set providing reduced differential lightfade and graininess (abs). The ink set may include pigmentated inks of at least one of a cyan, yellow, magenta dark inkjet and at least one of a cyan, yellow or magenta light inkjet ink. A dark black or light black inkjet may also be present in the ink set (paragraphs 12- 13). Stoffel teaches that the red ink can be Pigment Red 254 (paragraph 28) as well as Pigment red 122 (paragraph 20) and since the ink can have both of these inks, they would be considered to be different from each other. The term for printing on a plastic foil is an intended use limitation and the ink set of Stoffel is capable of being printed on a plastic substrate. Stoffel is silent to the specifics of the ink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stoffel and formed the ink to have at least one cyan, yellow, magenta and black ink within the inkjet ink wherein on ink had Pigment Red 254 and the other had Pigment red 122 as Stoffel teaches the use of all of these colors when forming the ink and one would know how to adjust the color of the ink to form an aesthetically pleasing image.
As to claims 4-5, Stoffel teaches that the red ink can be Pigment Red 254 (paragraph 28) which has a hue angled in the range claimed in claim 4, and Pigment red 122 (paragraph 20) which has a hue angle in the range as claimed within claim 5 as these are the same materials used within the invention.
As to claim 7, Stoffel teaches that the yellow ink can be pigment yellow 110 (paragraph 20).
As to claim 8, Stoffel teaches that the ink can comprise phthalocyanine blues or greens (paragraph 19).
As to claims 9 and 10, Stoffel teaches that the ink can comprise a light black ink and a dark black ink (paragraph 48), wherein carbon black can be used as the black ink (paragraph 18).
As to claims 11 and 12, Stoffel teaches that the loading of the dark ink has a high colorant loading and light ink has a low colorant loading. The dark ink can have a loading amount of 1 to 10 by weight of the dark ink, wherein the light ink has a loading in the range of 5 to 50% by weight of the dark ink (paragraph 11). However, this reference is silent to the range of having the second black comprise a pigment load of .1 to 2% based on the total weight of the second black ink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Stoffel and had the second black ink (light black ink) be in a range of .1 to 2 % based on a total weight of the black ink as it has a low colorant loading amount and Stoffel teaches having overlapping ranges wherein if the dark pigment is loaded in an amount of 1% by weight of dark pigment, the light ink can be 50% of the dark ink by weight which, would be .5% loading of the light ink. Further one would know how to adjust the loading amount of the inks to provide reduced differential lightfade and graininess (paragraph 11).
As to claim 13, Stoffel discloses that the inks can be water soluble inks (paragraphs 41 and 48) and therefore would be considered water-based.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argue that that both inks contain pigment red 254 and therefore fails to meet claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that the claim comprises open language and would allow the inks to contain pigments that overlap. The ink of Stoffel could contain an ink that includes pigment Red 254 and an ink that includes Pigment 122 as it teaches these inks are suitable inks used when forming the ink. Further the plastic substate is an intended use limitation and the ink of Stoffel would be capable of being printed on a plastic substrate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785