DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 17-32 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. AU2021903302, filed on 10/14/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 18 and 19 recite the term “stabilising” in line 1. The term should read “stabilizing” to conform with American English.
Claims 24 recite the term “centre” in line 2. The term should read “center” to conform with American English.
Claims 21 and 28 recite the term “motorised” in lines 1 and 2 respectively. The term should read “motorized” to conform with American English.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the ground engaging mechanisms" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes “the ground engaging mechanisms” has been construed as “ground engaging mechanisms”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20, 22-27, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Besser (US 4796537 A).
Regarding claim 17, Besser teaches (Fig. 1-8): A ground-engaging support structure (Fig. 8) for rotating a vehicle-carrying platform (carrier ramp 10) supported thereby such that a vehicle (truck 84) driven onto the platform (10) is rotatable about a rotational axis (axis of turntable gear shaft 22) extending substantially perpendicularly to the ground (Fig. 1-3), the structure comprising: a base (turntable platform 34) for carrying and rotating the vehicle-carrying platform (10)(Fig. 8); and one or more ground-engaging mechanisms (hydraulic outriggers 46) adjustably secured to and extending outwardly from the base (34) for facilitating load distribution of the platform (10) and vehicle (84) thereon such that the support structure is operable on uneven or sloped ground (Claim 1; Fig. 3-4 and 8; col. 4, lines 10-16).
It is noted that the hydraulic outriggers 46 of Besser serve as ram activated stabilizers adjustably fitted at four corners of the turntable platform (Claim 1; Fig. 3-4 and 8; col. 4, lines 10-16). Therefore, the outriggers may be adjustably fitted at four corners to allow the support structure to be operable on uneven or sloped ground.
Regarding claim 18, Besser teaches (Fig. 3-4): two or more stabilizing legs (46), the first ends of which being generally equispaced from one another about the base (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 19, Besser teaches (Fig. 3-4): two pairs of opposed stabilizing legs (46)(Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 20, Besser teaches (Fig. 2-3): a central ring (turntable gear 24) that is rotatingly drivable about the rotational axis to rotate the platform (10)(Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 22, Besser teaches (Fig. 8): the base (34) comprises one or more feet (46) for adjustably engaging the ground.
Regarding claim 23, Besser teaches (Fig. 1-8): A vehicle-carrying platform (10) for use as part of a vehicle turntable (Fig. 8), the platform (34) extending in a longitudinal direction and comprising opposed ends via which a vehicle (84) can be driven onto and off the platform (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 24, Besser teaches (Fig. 8): opposed ends of the platform (10) slope downwardly away from a center of the platform such that the vehicle can drive onto and off the platform directly from and onto, respectively, the ground (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 25, Besser teaches (Fig. 8): the platform (10) comprises adjustable ground- engaging ramps (loading ramps 12) extending outwardly from respective opposed ends via which the vehicle (84) can drive onto and off the platform (adjusted through ramp lift ram 16; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 26, Besser teaches (Fig. 3-4 and 8): ground engaging mechanisms (46) are adjustable supports extending from respective opposed ends to provide stability of the platform (10) during which the vehicle can drive onto and off the platform (Claim 1; Fig. 3-4 and 8).
Regarding claim 27, Besser teaches (Fig. 8): fixed ground-engaging ramps (12) extending outwardly from respective opposed ends via which the vehicle can drive onto and off the platform (10).
Regarding claim 30, Besser teaches (Fig. 1-8): A vehicle turntable assembly comprising: a ground-engaging support structure (Fig. 8) including: a base (34) for carrying and rotating the vehicle-carrying platform (10)(Fig. 8); and one or more ground-engaging mechanisms (46) adjustably secured to and extending outwardly from the base (34) for facilitating load distribution of the platform and vehicle (84) thereon such that the support structure is operable on uneven or sloped ground (Fig. 8); and a vehicle-carrying platform (10) extending in a longitudinal direction and comprising opposed ends via which a vehicle (84) can be driven onto and off the platform (Fig. 8), the platform (10) being removably engageable with the support structure such that in use, the platform is rotatably driven (through turntable gear 24) by the support structure to effect rotation of a vehicle (84) parked on the platform (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 31, Besser teaches (Fig. 8): A method of rotating a stationary vehicle (84) using a vehicle turntable assembly according to claim 30 (see rejection of claim 30 above), comprising: arranging the support structure on the ground from which the vehicle is to be driven onto the platform (10)(Fig. 8); placing the platform (10) on the support structure (34); driving the vehicle onto the platform (Fig. 8); and rotating the platform (through turntable gear 24) to rotate the vehicle to a desired extent (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 32, Besser teaches (Fig. 8): before driving the vehicle (84) onto the platform (10), adjusting one or more ground-engaging mechanisms (46) and/or support structure (34) such that the platform (10) is generally level with the ground from which the vehicle is to be driven (Fig. 8).
It is noted that the hydraulic outriggers 46 of Besser serve as ram activated stabilizers adjustably fitted at four corners of the turntable platform (Claim 1; Fig. 3-4 and 8; col. 4, lines 10-16). Therefore, the outriggers may be adjustably fitted at four corners to allow the support structure to be level and operable on uneven or sloped ground.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besser (US 4796537 A), in view of Starnes (US 7798067 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Besser teaches (Fig. 1 and 3-4): the ring (24) comprises a motorized slewing bearing (turntable gear 24 with gear support rollers 28) that is drivable in a direction about the rotational axis (through hydraulically motored turntable driving gear 40; col. 3, lines 43-44), but does not explicitly teach that the motorized slewing bearing is selectively drivable in either direction about the rotational axis.
However, Starnes teaches an alternate vehicle turntable, wherein (Fig. 27-32 and 46-47): a slewing bearing (intermediate race disc 12 carrying an array of ball bearings 96; Fig. 27-29 and 31) is selectively drivable in either direction about the rotational axis (the bearing 12 is integral with the load support platform 10 of the turntable and may turn clockwise or counter-clockwise, shown in Figs. 46-47, col. 10, lines 8-10; col. 11, lines 66- col. 12, line 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Besser to include a motorized bearing that is selectively drivable in either direction about the rotational axis, as disclosed by Starnes, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the vehicle being loaded on the platform to rotate in both clockwise and counterclockwise directions, thereby improving efficiency or to avoid obstacles.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besser (US 4796537 A), in view of Maclean (US 1449767 A).
Regarding claim 28, Besser further teaches (Fig. 1-2): adjustable and/or removable wheels (heavy duty wheels 50) which may be relocated via external propulsion (towed from job to job; Fig. 1-2; col. 4, lines 20-27), but does not explicitly teach adjustable and/or removable wheels which may be motorized for driving and/or steering such that the turntable may be relocated under its own propulsion and/or via external propulsion.
However, Maclean teaches an alternate vehicle turntable, wherein (Fig. 1-4): wheels (driving wheels 30 and pivot wheels 34) which may be motorized for driving and/or steering such that the turntable may be relocated under its own propulsion and/or via external propulsion (Fig. 1-4; page 1, lines 80-88).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Besser to motorize the wheels of the platform and provide the wheels with a steering mechanism for self-propulsion, as disclosed by Maclean, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would enable the vehicle-carrying platform to move and steer itself without an external tow vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and if all claim objections and rejections in view of 35 USC § 112 second paragraph are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 29, the prior art fails to teach truss-like side walls between which the vehicle can be driven and parked for rotation. While Besser teaches (Fig. 1 and 8): a vehicle-carrying platform (carrier ramp 10) supported thereby such that a vehicle (truck 84) driven onto the platform (10) is rotatable about a rotational axis (axis of turntable gear shaft 22) extending substantially perpendicularly to the ground (Fig. 1-3), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify Besser such that the vehicle-carrying platform has truss-like side walls between which the vehicle can be driven and parked for rotation. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
It is noted that adding truss-like side walls to the platform (10) as shown in Fig. 8 of Besser would render the platform inoperable for loading the vehicle, since Besser’s platform (10) is comprised of two carrier ramps for the wheels of the vehicle, instead of a single platform (see Fig. 8 of Besser below) for the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of a vehicle turntable assembly having a base platform and ground-engaging mechanism or legs: US-1068492-A, US-1172399-A, US-1384569-A, US-1465331-A, US-RE15976-E, US-2566634-A, US-3251311-A, US-4716837-A, US-4750428-A, US-20070012215-A1, US-7520225-B2, DE-4321145-A1, WO-2008009117-A1, CN-106043251-A, EP-3162982-A1, CN-110936929-A.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615