DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 10, 12-14, 16-23, 29-31, 33-35 and 37-44 are pending in the instant
patent application.
Claims 1-3, 10, 12-14, 16-23, 29-31, 33-35 and 37-44 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. It is noted that Applicant has submitted at least 36 pages of documents cited within IDS. Per the MPEP, “consideration by the examiner of the information submitted in an IDS means nothing more than considering the documents in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search” (MPEP §609).
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites “EDSS” without first providing the full name of the term. It is suggested that the term be spelled out at its first use and in all independent claims so that it is clearly understood what it stands for. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1, 2, 10, 12-14, 16-23, 29, 31, 33-35 and 37-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 1 is vague and indefinite insofar as it employs the term “disease associated with microglial activation” as a limitation. This term is not known in the pertinent art of record as being associated with a particular group of pathological conditions. Moreover, because the instant specification does not identify that property or combination of properties which is unique to and, therefore, definitive of a “disease associated with microglial activation”, an artisan cannot determine if a pathology, which meets all of the other limitations of a claim, would then be included or excluded from the claimed subject matter by the presence of this limitation.
6. Similarly, claim 2 is indefinite for employing the term “ischemic related disease or injury” as a limitation, see section 5 above.
7. Claims 23 and 44 are indefinite wherein they recite functional language. MPEP 2173.05(g) states: “the use of functional language in a claim may fail ‘to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim' and thus be indefinite.” It further states: “Examiners should consider the following factors when examining claims that contain functional language to determine whether the language is ambiguous: (1) whether there is a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim; (2) whether the language sets forth well-defined boundaries of the invention or only states a problem solved or a result obtained; and (3) whether one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the claim terms what structure or steps are encompassed by the claim.” In the instant case, the claims recite methods of claims 1 and 29, respectively, but then define them —the method results in— by functional language. While a functional limitation can provide a patentable distinction (limit the claim scope) by imposing limits on the function of a structure, material or action, in the instant case it is unclear what material/structural or manipulative differences are encompassed by recitation of end results. Since the claims fail to meet the criteria set forth in MPEP 2173.05(g), then the claims are rejected as being indefinite.
8. Claim 29 is vague and indefinite insofar as it employs the term “disease associated with neural inflammation” as a limitation. This term is not known in the pertinent art of record as being associated with a particular group of pathological conditions. Moreover, because the instant specification does not identify that property or combination of properties which is unique to and, therefore, definitive of a “disease associated with neural inflammation”, an artisan cannot determine if a pathology, which meets all of the other limitations of a claim, would then be included or excluded from the claimed subject matter by the presence of this limitation.
9. Claims 10, 12-14, 16-22, 31, 33-35 and 37-43 are indefinite for being dependent from indefinite claim(s).
10. Claims 1-3, 10, 16-23, 29-31 and 37-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1 and 29 are directed to administration of an anti-CD3 antibody that provides for specific therapeutic effect in a subject suffering from a disease associated with microglial activation and/or neural inflammation. Dependent claims 2-3, 10, 16-23, 30-31 and 37-44 narrow the antibody function to treatment of specific pathological conditions when the antibody administered using specific protocol. However, the specification only discloses the structure of one antibody, Foralumab, and fails to convey to the artisan that Applicant was in possession of a method of treating any disease associated with microglial activation or with neural inflammation by administering any anti-CD3 antibody that is within the genus of the instant claims.
Section 112 states that “[t]he specification shall contain a written description of the invention … in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains . . . to make and use the same . . . .” This requirement ensures “that the inventor actually invented the invention claimed.” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). To show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that it “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Id. at 1350. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. Id. To provide this “precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus.” Id.
MPEP 2163, II A3(a)(ii) states,
For each claim drawn to a genus:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the gen[us]”. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof. In the instant case, the specification discloses one antibody identified by reference to the specific amino acid sequences and the description of a binding antigen. However, knowing that an antibody binds to a particular amino acid does not tell you anything at all about the structure of the antibody.
MPEP §2163(I)(A) states: "The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” Furthermore, the art teaches that antibodies generally share certain characteristics such as Fc regions or hinge regions. However, these structures are not correlated with the binding function of the antibody, and there is no way to a priori look at an antigen sequence (such as the structure of the recites biomarkers) and envisage the structure of the antibody that will bind that antigen. Moreover, reference to one prior art antibody does not inform the artisan about any other antibodies with the same specificity.
In the instant case, the specification does not provide a complete structure of those anti-CD3 antibodies that specifically bind to CD3 and are suitable for clinical administration, fails to convey a sufficient number of species to warrant a claim to the breadth of the genera described above, and does not describe a conserved structure reasonably correlated to the function across those genera. As such, the claims fail to meet the written description requirement.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of antibodies, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12-14, 16-23, 29-31, 33-35 and 37-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2018/226833, reference 025 of IDS filed on 04/23/2024.
Claims 1-3, 10, 12-14, 16-23, 29-31, 33-35 and 37-44 are broadly drawn to methods of treating diseases associated with microglial activation and/or neural inflammation by intra-nasal administration of an anti-CD3 antibody. The ‘833 document fully teaches the inventive concept of suppressing the activation of microglial cells and ameliorating cerebral inflammation by administration of anti-CD3 antibody, see abstract, the whole document and claims. For intra-nasal administration see specifically claim 8. Thus, the ‘833 document fully anticipates the instant claims or, in the alternative, makes the instant claimed methods obvious.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 1-3, 10, 12-14, 16-23, 29-31, 33-35 and 37-44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22-34 of copending Application No. 17/698,617 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims encompass the same method of treatment of the same pathologies by administration of the same anti-CD3 antibody as in conflicting claims of the cited co-pending patent application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
13. No claim is allowed.
/OLGA N CHERNYSHEV/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675
August 21, 2026