DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and species of benzamil and lactic acid, in the reply filed on July 9, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is a finite number of salt forms that are similar. This is not found persuasive because the structural element that is shared is not novel and nonobvious over the prior art. See also below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
3. Claims 11-14, 19 and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 9, 2026.
Priority
4. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 12, 2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. The IDS was considered. A signed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013109856.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
US 2013109856 teaches compounds of general structure
including specific embodiments such as
(page 15, Example 11). The reference teaches both the free base and the TFA salt of the compound.
The reference further teaches pharmaceutically acceptable salts, including for example, that of lactic acid. Page 7, paragraph [0187].
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The difference between US 2013109856 and Applicant’s elected species is that the reference specifically teaches the TFA salt while the elected species is directed to the lactic acid salt.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art and considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness
MPEP 2143 B provides basic requirements of prima facie case of obviousness including examples of rationale of the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. To reject a claim based on this rationale the following is considered below and applied to the present claims:
A finding that the prior art method differs from claimed method by the substitution of some component with another component
US 2013109856 does not teach specifically the elected species in combination with lactic acid. The prior art differs from the claims to the elected species by substitution of one acid for another.
A finding that the substituted components and their functions were known in the art
US 2013109856 teaches various interchangeable pharmaceutical acids which result in pharmaceutically acceptable salts of the claimed compounds. For this reason, the present claims are found to be prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Conclusion
/SUN JAE YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621