DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, preamble has a typo for the dependent claim number. It should read as “The biological image processing method according to claim 11”.
Claim 15, preamble has a typo for the dependent claim number. It should read as “The biological image processing method according to claim 11”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 10 – 13 and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (See Machine Translation for CN 113592843 A; hereafter referred to as Han) in view of Wang et al. (Wang, C., Wang, Y., Liu, Y., He, Z., He, R., & Sun, Z. (2019). ScleraSegNet: An attention assisted U-Net model for accurate sclera segmentation. IEEE Transactions on Biometrics, Behavior, and Identity Science, 2(1), 40-54; hereafter referred to as Wang).
Regarding Claim 1, Han teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium encoded with computer readable biological image processing instruction, which, when executed by processor circuitry, cause the processor circuitry to perform segmentation of a biological image (Han, Abstract, “inputting the retinal blood vessel image into a trained improved U-Net network model for image segmentation”; Han, page 4 detailed ways, “the GPU is GeForce RTX 2080Ti, and the memory is 11GB*2”) to perform:
reducing a size of the biological image that has been input and extracting a feature point, by adding an attention block for averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image (Han, page 6, para 1, “the size of the feature maps is gradually reduced”; Han, page 6, para 2, “extract image-related feature”; Han, page 2, “Step 1: Obtain the image of the retinal blood vessel to be detected; Step 2: Input the retinal blood vessel image into the trained and improved U-Net network model for image segmentation”; Han, page 3, step 3, “On the basis of the full convolutional network U-Net, a NoL-block attention module is added between the encoder and the decoder of the full convolutional network U-Net, and the NoL-block attention is used to capture the image The spatial dependence between pixels with distance in the segmentation”); and
outputting information relating to a feature image obtained by segmenting the biological image including the extracted feature point, by contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block (page 3, step 3, “Step 3: Output the segmentation result of the retinal blood vessel image. On the basis of the full convolutional network U-Net, a NoL-block attention module is added between the encoder and the decoder of the full convolutional network U-Net, and the NoL-block attention is used to capture the image The spatial dependence between pixels with distance in the segmentation, the output of the last convolution block of the encoder passes the NoL-block attention module and then is input to the first convolution block of the decoder for uploading sampling”);
However, Han fails to explicitly recite:
averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image; and
contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image (Wang, page 45, col. 2, “Channel attention module contains a squeeze block, which takes global average pooling on the feature map P to produce a channel vector Fc, then followed by a excitation block, which uses a multi-layer perceptron (MLP) with one hidden layer to estimate attention across channel from the channel vector Fc”); and
contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block (Wang, page 44, col. 1, para 1, “high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization”).
Han and Wang are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han with the invention of Wang to make the invention that adds the attention module for averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image; and contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block by contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block; doing so can improve the segmentation performance (Wang, Abstract); thus one of the ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 2, Han in view of Wang teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, causing the processor circuitry to perform:
extracting the feature point by preferentially reducing a region not including an outer shape or a vascular portion of a segmentation target site included in the biological image (Wang, page 43, col. 1, last para, “these attention modules implicitly increase the weight associated with the target class in feature maps and generate soft region proposals on-the-fly, hence the most discriminative features for sclera segmentation are highlighted and irrelevant features in the non-sclera regions are suppressed”).
Regarding Claim 3, Han in view of Wang teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, causing the processor circuitry to perform:
expanding the channels to the size of the biological image that has been input and outputting the feature image, after contracting the channels (Wang, page 44, col. 1, “to recover the spatial information lost in pooling layers of the contracting path and meanwhile reduce the number of channels, the expansive path adopts a series of bilinear upsampling operations, followed by two 3×3 convolutional units. Then, high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization… Finally, a 1 × 1 convolutional layer and a sigmoid activation function are used to output the probability map of sclera segmentation, which has the same size as the original input”).
Regarding Claim 5, Han in view of Wang teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein
the biological image is an image of an eyeball (Han, Fig. 5 (a) is an eye map; page 2, step 1: “obtaining the retina blood vessel image to be detected”), and
the computer readable biological image processing instructions causes the processor circuitry to perform outputting information relating to the feature image obtained by segmenting a foveal avascular zone of the eyeball (Han, Fig. 5 and 6(e) “the NoL-UNet result of the invention”; Han, page 2, step 3, “step 3: outputting retinal vascular image segmentation result; Wang, page 47, col. 2, “for each image, the corresponding per-pixel annotations of sclera, sclera vascular structures, iris, pupil and periocular region are provided”).
Regarding Claim 6, Han teaches:
A biological image processing apparatus for performing segmentation of a biological image, the biological image processing apparatus comprising (Han, Summary, “segment retinal capillaries with low contrast information, and proposes an improved U-Net fundus retinal blood vessel image segmentation method and device”):
processor circuitry (Han, page 4 detailed ways, “the GPU is GeForce RTX 2080Ti, and the memory is 11GB*2”) configured to:
reduce a size of the biological image that has been input and extracting a feature point, by adding an attention block for averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image (Han, page 6, para 1, “the size of the feature maps is gradually reduced”; page 6, para 2, “extract image-related feature”; Han, page 2, “Step 1: Obtain the image of the retinal blood vessel to be detected; Step 2: Input the retinal blood vessel image into the trained and improved U-Net network model for image segmentation”; Han, page 3, step 3, “On the basis of the full convolutional network U-Net, a NoL-block attention module is added between the encoder and the decoder of the full convolutional network U-Net, and the NoL-block attention is used to capture the image The spatial dependence between pixels with distance in the segmentation”); and
output information relating to a feature image obtained by segmenting the biological image including the extracted feature point, by contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block (Han, page 3, step 3, “Step 3: Output the segmentation result of the retinal blood vessel image. On the basis of the full convolutional network U-Net, a NoL-block attention module is added between the encoder and the decoder of the full convolutional network U-Net, and the NoL-block attention is used to capture the image The spatial dependence between pixels with distance in the segmentation, the output of the last convolution block of the encoder passes the NoL-block attention module and then is input to the first convolution block of the decoder for uploading sampling”);
However, Han fails to explicitly recite:
averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image; and
contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image (Wang, page 45, col. 2, “Channel attention module contains a squeeze block, which takes global average pooling on the feature map P to produce a channel vector Fc, then followed by a excitation block, which uses a multi-layer perceptron (MLP) with one hidden layer to estimate attention across channel from the channel vector Fc”); and
contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block (Wang, page 44, col. 1, para 1, “high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization”).
Han and Wang are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han with the invention of Wang to make the invention that adds the attention module for averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image; and contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block by contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block; doing so can improve the segmentation performance (Wang, Abstract); thus one of the ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 7, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein,
the processor circuitry extracts the feature point by preferentially reducing a region not including an outer shape or a vascular portion of a segmentation target site included in the biological image (Wang, page 43, col. 1, last para, “these attention modules implicitly increase the weight associated with the target class in feature maps and generate soft region proposals on-the-fly, hence the most discriminative features for sclera segmentation are highlighted and irrelevant features in the non-sclera regions are suppressed”).
Regarding Claim 8, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein,
the processor circuitry expands the channels to the size of the biological image that has been input and outputting the feature image, after contracting the channels (Wang, page 44, col. 1, “to recover the spatial information lost in pooling layers of the contracting path and meanwhile reduce the number of channels, the expansive path adopts a series of bilinear upsampling operations, followed by two 3×3 convolutional units. Then, high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization… Finally, a 1 × 1 convolutional layer and a sigmoid activation function are used to output the probability map of sclera segmentation, which has the same size as the original input”).
Regarding Claim 10, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the biological image is an image of an eyeball (Han, Fig. 5 (a) is an eye map; page 2, step 1: “obtaining the retina blood vessel image to be detected”), and
the processor circuitry outputs information relating to the feature image obtained by segmenting a foveal avascular zone of the eyeball (Han, Fig. 5 and 6(e) “the NoL-UNet result of the invention”; Han, page 2, step 3, “step 3: outputting retinal vascular image segmentation result; Wang, page 47, col. 2, “for each image, the corresponding per-pixel annotations of sclera, sclera vascular structures, iris, pupil and periocular region are provided”).
Regarding Claim 11, Han teaches:
A biological image processing method for a computer configured to perform segmentation of a biological image to perform (Han, page 2, Summary, “proposes an improved U-Net fundus retinal blood vessel image segmentation method and device”; Han, page 4 detailed ways, “the GPU is GeForce RTX 2080Ti, and the memory is 11GB*2”) to perform:
reducing a size of the biological image that has been input and extracting a feature point, by adding an attention block for averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image (page 6, para 1, “the size of the feature maps is gradually reduced”; page 6, para 2, “extract image-related feature”; page 2, “Step 1: Obtain the image of the retinal blood vessel to be detected; Step 2: Input the retinal blood vessel image into the trained and improved U-Net network model for image segmentation”; page 3, step 3, “On the basis of the full convolutional network U-Net, a NoL-block attention module is added between the encoder and the decoder of the full convolutional network U-Net, and the NoL-block attention is used to capture the image The spatial dependence between pixels with distance in the segmentation”); and
outputting information relating to a feature image obtained by segmenting the biological image including the extracted feature point, by contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block (page 3, step 3, “Step 3: Output the segmentation result of the retinal blood vessel image. On the basis of the full convolutional network U-Net, a NoL-block attention module is added between the encoder and the decoder of the full convolutional network U-Net, and the NoL-block attention is used to capture the image The spatial dependence between pixels with distance in the segmentation, the output of the last convolution block of the encoder passes the NoL-block attention module and then is input to the first convolution block of the decoder for uploading sampling”);
However, Han fails to explicitly recite:
averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image; and
contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image (Wang, page 45, col. 2, “Channel attention module contains a squeeze block, which takes global average pooling on the feature map P to produce a channel vector Fc, then followed by a excitation block, which uses a multi-layer perceptron (MLP) with one hidden layer to estimate attention across channel from the channel vector Fc”); and
contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block (Wang, page 44, col. 1, para 1, “high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization”).
Han and Wang are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han with the invention of Wang to make the invention that adds the attention module for averaging channels to a convolution block for the biological image; and contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block by contracting the channels in a state in which the attention block has been added to the convolution block; doing so can improve the segmentation performance (Wang, Abstract); thus one of the ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 12, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing method according to claim 11 for the computer to perform:
extracting the feature point by preferentially reducing a region not including an outer shape or a vascular portion of a segmentation target site included in the biological image (Wang, page 43, col. 1, last para, “these attention modules implicitly increase the weight associated with the target class in feature maps and generate soft region proposals on-the-fly, hence the most discriminative features for sclera segmentation are highlighted and irrelevant features in the non-sclera regions are suppressed”).
Regarding Claim 13, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing method according to claim 11 for the computer to perform:
expanding the channels to the size of the biological image that has been input and outputting the feature image, after contracting the channels (Wang, page 44, col. 1, “to recover the spatial information lost in pooling layers of the contracting path and meanwhile reduce the number of channels, the expansive path adopts a series of bilinear upsampling operations, followed by two 3×3 convolutional units. Then, high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization… Finally, a 1 × 1 convolutional layer and a sigmoid activation function are used to output the probability map of sclera segmentation, which has the same size as the original input”).
Regarding Claim 15, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing method according to claim 11, wherein
the biological image is an image of an eyeball (Han, Fig. 5 (a) is an eye map; page 2, step 1: “obtaining the retina blood vessel image to be detected”), and
the computer readable biological image processing instructions causes the processor circuitry to perform outputting information relating to the feature image obtained by segmenting a foveal avascular zone of the eyeball (Han, Fig. 5 and 6(e) “the NoL-UNet result of the invention”; Han, page 2, step 3, “step 3: outputting retinal vascular image segmentation result; Wang, page 47, col. 2, “for each image, the corresponding per-pixel annotations of sclera, sclera vascular structures, iris, pupil and periocular region are provided”).
Regarding Claim 16, Han in view of Wang teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 2, causing the computer to perform:
expanding the channels to the size of the biological image that has been input and outputting the feature image, after contracting the channels (Wang, page 44, col. 1, “to recover the spatial information lost in pooling layers of the contracting path and meanwhile reduce the number of channels, the expansive path adopts a series of bilinear upsampling operations, followed by two 3×3 convolutional units. Then, high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization… Finally, a 1 × 1 convolutional layer and a sigmoid activation function are used to output the probability map of sclera segmentation, which has the same size as the original input”).
Regarding Claim 17, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein,
the processor circuitry expands the channels to the size of the biological image that has been input and outputting the feature image, after contracting the channels (Wang, page 44, col. 1, “to recover the spatial information lost in pooling layers of the contracting path and meanwhile reduce the number of channels, the expansive path adopts a series of bilinear upsampling operations, followed by two 3×3 convolutional units. Then, high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization… Finally, a 1 × 1 convolutional layer and a sigmoid activation function are used to output the probability map of sclera segmentation, which has the same size as the original input”).
Regarding Claim 18, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing method according to claim 12, for the computer to perform:
expanding the channels to the size of the biological image that has been input and outputting the feature image, after contracting the channels (Wang, page 44, col. 1, “to recover the spatial information lost in pooling layers of the contracting path and meanwhile reduce the number of channels, the expansive path adopts a series of bilinear upsampling operations, followed by two 3×3 convolutional units. Then, high-resolution features from the contracting path and the upsampled output from the expansive path are concatenated via skip connections for further information fusion and more precise localization… Finally, a 1 × 1 convolutional layer and a sigmoid activation function are used to output the probability map of sclera segmentation, which has the same size as the original input”).
Claims 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (See Machine Translation for CN 113592843 A; hereafter referred to as Han) in view of Wang et al. (Wang, C., Wang, Y., Liu, Y., He, Z., He, R., & Sun, Z. (2019). ScleraSegNet: An attention assisted U-Net model for accurate sclera segmentation. IEEE Transactions on Biometrics, Behavior, and Identity Science, 2(1), 40-54; hereafter referred to as Wang) further in view of Iwase et al. (See Machine Translation for JP 2020166813 A; hereafter referred to as Iwase).
Regarding Claim 4, Han in view of Wang teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach:
calculating a vascular density for each of one or more regions in the biological image based on the information relating to the feature image.
In the same field of endeavor, Iwase teaches:
calculating a vascular density for each of one or more regions in the biological image based on the information relating to the feature image (Iwase, page 26, 17th embodiment, “The analysis unit 2208 applies a predetermined image analysis process to the high-quality image generated by the high-quality image unit 404. In the field of ophthalmology, for example, image analysis processing includes segmentation of the retinal layer, layer thickness measurement, papillary three-dimensional shape analysis, sieve plate analysis, vascular density measurement of OCTA images, and corneal shape analysis of images acquired by OCT. Includes any existing image analysis processing such as”).
Han, Wang and Iwase are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Wang with the invention of Iwase to make the invention that calculates the vascular density using the image analysis process; doing so can improve the image analysis and segmentation performance (Iwase, page 26, para 11); thus one of the ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 9, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing apparatus according to claim 6, but fails to explicitly teach:
the processor circuitry calculates a vascular density for each of one or more regions in the biological image based on the information relating to the feature image.
In the same field of endeavor, Iwase teaches:
the processor circuitry calculates a vascular density for each of one or more regions in the biological image based on the information relating to the feature image (Iwase, page 26, 17th embodiment, “The analysis unit 2208 applies a predetermined image analysis process to the high-quality image generated by the high-quality image unit 404. In the field of ophthalmology, for example, image analysis processing includes segmentation of the retinal layer, layer thickness measurement, papillary three-dimensional shape analysis, sieve plate analysis, vascular density measurement of OCTA images, and corneal shape analysis of images acquired by OCT. Includes any existing image analysis processing such as”).
Han, Wang and Iwase are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Wang with the invention of Iwase to make the invention that calculates the vascular density using the image analysis process; doing so can improve the image analysis and segmentation performance (Iwase, page 26, para 11); thus one of the ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 14, Han in view of Wang teaches the biological image processing method according to claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach:
calculating a vascular density for each of one or more regions in the biological image based on the information relating to the feature image.
In the same field of endeavor, Iwase teaches:
calculating a vascular density for each of one or more regions in the biological image based on the information relating to the feature image (Iwase, page 26, 17th embodiment, “The analysis unit 2208 applies a predetermined image analysis process to the high-quality image generated by the high-quality image unit 404. In the field of ophthalmology, for example, image analysis processing includes segmentation of the retinal layer, layer thickness measurement, papillary three-dimensional shape analysis, sieve plate analysis, vascular density measurement of OCTA images, and corneal shape analysis of images acquired by OCT. Includes any existing image analysis processing such as”).
Han, Wang and Iwase are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Han in view of Wang with the invention of Iwase to make the invention that calculates the vascular density using the image analysis process; doing so can improve the image analysis and segmentation performance (Iwase, page 26, para 11); thus one of the ordinary skill the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 113744178 A Skin Lesion Segmentation Method Based On Convolution Attention Model
Shan, T., & Yan, J. (2021). SCA-Net: A spatial and channel attention network for medical image segmentation. IEEE Access, 9, 160926-160937.
Contact Information
VAISALI RAO. KOPPOLU
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664