DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and amended claim set filed April 12,2024. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le et al., hereinafter Le (WO 2017/088892 A1 as listed on the IDS dated 4/12/2024).
The examiner will refer to the US equivalent of Le et al., US 2018/0346658 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Le teaches an asphalt composition comprising bitumen and lignin, (which correspond to the binder), aggregates and active components (claims 1, 26, 36), wherein the asphalt composition is obtained by a process comprising:
subjecting lignocelluolosic biomass to a treatment including hydrothermal pretreatment, acid catalyzed hydrolysis to provide a lignin material having a dry matter content (solid content) of 20 wt.% to 95 wt.% or 30 wt.% to 85 wt.% of lignin, wherein a solids content of at least 90 wt.% is exemplified at example 1 ([0361]-[0362])( (claims 1-2, 38-39), [0431]-[[0436], example 1 [0442]);
wherein the lignin is subjected to a comminuting step including milling and sieving to obtain a desired average grain size (i.e. 120-150 µm) ([0245], [0364], [0379], example 1 [0442]);
mixing the lignin having a dry matter content of 20-95 wt.% or 30-85 wt.% ([0239], [0361]-[0362] with bitumen, plasticizing modifying agents, aggregates, fillers to obtain an asphalt composition, ([0437],[0442], claims 1, 20, 26, 36, 38, [0300]-[0315]).
Regarding claim 2, Le teaches the lignin is subjected to a comminuting step that includes milling and sieving the lignin component to an expected average particle size of around 0.5 mm ([0245], [0364], [0379], example 1 [0442]), as required by the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, note that the discussion supra for claims 1 presently applies, wherein the bitumen and lignin read on the binder for an asphalt composition, ([0437],[0442], claims 1, 20, 26, 36, 38, [0300]-[0315]).
Regarding claim 7-8, Le teaches an asphalt composition suitable for roads, pavements, wherein the composition comprises bitumen, lignin, aggregates and active components ( ([0047], claims 1, 20, 26, 34, 36), thereby reading on the asphalt composition wherein lignin is mixed with an asphalt blend ( bitumen and aggregates, see discussion of claim 1) and a binder wherein the lignin is mixed with the bitumen which functions as a binder for the aggregates (see paragraph 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le et al., hereinafter Le (WO 2017/088892 A1 as listed on the IDS dated 4/12/2024).
Le teaches the process of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 3-4, Le teaches an asphalt composition comprising bitumen and lignin having a solid concentration of 35-80 wt.% ([0239], [0361]-[0362]).
Le and the claims differ in that Le does not teach the exact claimed ranges for the solid content of lignin material as recited in the instant claims.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the ranges taught by Le overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Le teaches the lining is obtained by a process for treatment of a lignocellulosic biomass comprising a) hydrothermal pretreatment at pH within the range of 3.5 -9 ([0162], [0169]), b) acid catalyzed hydrolysis conducted at a pH in the range of 4.2-5.4 [0177] that results in a liquid fraction comprising soluble carbohydrates, and a fiber fraction comprising a lignin component, and d) isolating the lignin from the fiber fraction obtained in step (b) [0047], ([0060], claim 1)
Lu is silent on the aqueous content of the lignin material used has a pH in a range of from 1-7.
However, Lu teaches that the lignin is isolated from the hydrolysis step. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to infer that the aqueous content of the lignin material is expected to overlap with the claimed range of from 1 to 7, thereby a prima facie case of obviousness being established. MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
20. Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/701,012.
21. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets teach a process for preparing an asphalt composition or a process for preparing a binder for an asphalt composition, wherein claims 1- 2 of copending application ’ 012 teach a process comprising a) providing lignin having a moisture content of 1- 45 wt.% (55-99 wt.% of solid content) that overlaps with the claimed solid content of lignin material of instant claims 1-4, b) subjecting the lignin from step a) to a milling step; followed by c) a sieving step as disclosed by instant claims 1 and 2, wherein both set of claims teach mixing disintegrated lignin particles with a bitumen blend to obtain a binder for an asphalt composition or mixing the disintegrated lignin particles with an asphalt blend to obtain an asphalt composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/OLGA LUCIA DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763