DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previous indication of allowable subject matter is withdrawn in light of the claim amendments and the new grounds of rejection in this Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The new limitations in amended claim 1 of “the container is a stand-up pouch” and others are treated in this Action, below.
Claim Objections
Claims 31 and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 31 recites a device for producing "a cleaning solution" according to claim 29, whereas claim 29 recites a device for producing "a liquid cleaning agent."
Claim 32 recites a container for providing "a cleaning solution" according to claim 1, whereas claim 1 recites a container for providing a liquid cleaning agent in the form of "an aqueous cleaning solution."
For clarity and consistency, claim 31 should recite "the liquid cleaning agent," and claim 32 should recite "the aqueous cleaning solution."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention.
Claims 3, 8, and 9 recite "the one or more conduits" (claim 3, lines 1-2; claim 8, lines 1-2; claim 9, lines 1-2). Amended claim 1 no longer provides antecedent basis for that expression because claim 1 now recites "two or more conduits." It is unclear whether claims 3, 8, and 9 refer to all of the two or more conduits of claim 1 or to a different subset of conduits.
Claim 21 recites "the connecting element" in lines 3-4, whereas claim 1 recites "at least one connecting element." When more than one connecting element is present, it is unclear which connecting element must remain fluidically connected to the entire inner space at the minimum volume.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers (U.S. Pub. 2008/0199108) in view of Credle (U.S. Patent 4,286,636).
Regarding claim 1, Rogers discloses a container for providing a liquid, wherein the container is a flexible stand-up pouch (20) comprising a container wall formed by vertical walls (2), a base (5), sealed sides (3, 4), and a sealed top portion (1), which collectively define an inner space of the container. Rogers further discloses an internal straw (7) extending through an integral fitment (6). The straw (7) is an elongated conduit arranged in the inner space of the pouch and has a lower opening located in the inner space. The fitment (6) includes a seal wall (30) sealingly engaged with the pouch and is fully sealed into the top of the pouch to form a liquid-tight enclosure (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0002], [0018], and [0021]-[0023]). The recitation that the container is for providing a liquid cleaning agent in the form of an aqueous cleaning solution for coffee machines constitutes an intended use that does not further distinguish the claimed container structurally. Rogers's liquid-tight pouch is capable of containing and providing the recited aqueous cleaning solution. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). MPEP 2114.
Rogers does not disclose two or more conduits opening toward the inner space or a connecting element configured to fluid-tightly connect the two or more conduits to at least one external fluid conduit.
Credle discloses an elongated dip tube (10, 30) positioned in a flexible, collapsible bag (16). Credle's two-channel embodiment includes channels (30C1, 30C2) extending substantially the entire length of the dip tube and two associated longitudinal interior passages, thereby providing two elongated fluid conduits opening toward the inner space of the bag (Fig. 4; col. 4, lines 25-40; col. 8, lines 42-44). Credle further discloses a bag coupling (50) that houses a valve assembly and provides a quick-disconnect coupling between a bag fitment (54) and the hose coupling of an external dispensing hose. The bag coupling (50) is open at both ends, includes annular sealing rings (50D) forming a force-fit seal with the bag fitment (54), and connects with a mating coupling (72) having a hose connection (76). When connected, liquid flows from the dip tube through the bag coupling (50), the mating coupling (72), and the hose connection (76) to the dispensing apparatus (Figs. 7, 9, and 10; col. 5, lines 5-23; col. 6, lines 14-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers's single-passage internal straw (7) and fitment (6) according to Credle's multipassage dip tube and sealed quick-disconnect coupling, thereby providing at least two fluid conduits opening toward the inner space and fluid-tightly connecting the conduits to an external dispensing hose, because Credle teaches that its valve/dip-tube assembly can be used with standard bags, spouts, or fitments and that the longitudinal channels remain open as the flexible bag collapses around the dip tube, thereby permitting the "complete dispensing of all the liquid product" from the container (col. 3, lines 54-65; col. 7, lines 38-46).
Regarding claim 3, the Rogers-Credle container includes the elongated dip-tube channels opening at the distal end of the container and along substantially the entire length of the dip tube, including a central zone of the container (Credle, Fig. 4; col. 4, lines 25-40).
Regarding claim 8, Credle discloses that the dip tube (10) is supported by a retainer (98) in the bottom of the valve body or bag coupling (50), and that the valve/dip-tube assembly is inserted into the bag fitment and collapsible bag (16). The dip tube is therefore detachably connected or at least detachably connectable to the container (Fig. 13; col. 7, lines 31-46).
Regarding claim 14, Rogers discloses a flexible pouch (20), and Credle discloses that the flexible bag (16) progressively collapses around the dip tube as liquid is withdrawn. The Rogers-Credle container is therefore capable of reversibly moving between an expanded, filled first volume and a reduced, collapsed second volume (Credle, col. 3, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 21, Credle discloses that the peripheral channels extending along the dip tube remain open as the collapsible bag contracts around the tube, thereby maintaining fluid communication between the coupling and portions of the remaining inner space at minimum volume (col. 3, lines 54-65). Credle expressly states that the remaining channel permits the complete dispensing of all liquid product from the collapsible container (col. 3, lines 61-65).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Credle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vetterli et al. ("Vetterli") (U.S. Pub. 2018/0184839).
Regarding claim 9, Rogers and Credle do not expressly disclose first and second conduits having openings located at opposite ends of the container. Vetterli discloses a cleaning-agent container (1) having a first fluid path through the bottle neck (3) that opens into the upper region of the container and a second fluid path through the discharge line (5) that extends to and opens in the base region of the container (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0012] and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange respective passages of the Rogers-Credle multipassage lance to open at opposite ends of the pouch, as taught by Vetterli, because Vetterli states that drawing cleaning agent from the base permits the container to be drained completely while the upper path supplies replacement fluid and prevents a vacuum (paragraphs [0012]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 10, Rogers and Credle do not disclose separate first and second connecting elements for the first and second conduits. Vetterli discloses first and second piercing regions (7a, 7b) containing respective sealing plugs (8a, 8b) and closure lips (14a, 14b). A first hollow mandrel (9) connects the discharge line (5) to an external cleaning-agent supply line, and a second hollow mandrel (10) connects the upper fluid path to an external air-intake line (11). The closure lips seal around the respective mandrels in a fluid-tight manner (Figs. 1, 3, and 4; paragraphs [0030]-[0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the Rogers-Credle fitment with separate sealed connectors for the two conduits, as taught by Vetterli, because Vetterli teaches that insertion of the container automatically establishes the two fluid connections and makes the cleaning system immediately ready for operation (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Vetterli discloses that the first and second piercing regions (7a, 7b) are arranged together at the connection terminal (4) at the upper end of the container, while the discharge line (5) extends from the first piercing region through the container to the opposite base region (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0030]-[0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place both connectors at the first end of the Rogers-Credle pouch and extend one internal conduit to the opposite end, because Vetterli teaches that this arrangement permits the cleaning agent to be suctioned from the base so that the container can be drained completely (paragraph [0012]).
Claims 2, 26, 29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Credle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tembaak et al. ("Tembaak") (U.S. Pub. 2014/0060338).
Regarding claim 2, Rogers and Credle do not disclose a water-soluble cleaning substance in the pouch.
Tembaak discloses a supply container (6) containing a water-soluble descaling agent (5), preferably a powder or compressed tablets, which dissolves when contacted by water to form an acid cleaning solution (paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place Tembaak's water-soluble descaling agent in the Rogers-Credle pouch because Tembaak teaches that the solid agent allows the container to be relatively small and avoids leakage risks associated with liquid descaling agents (paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 26, Rogers and Credle do not expressly disclose a non-return valve in a connecting element. Tembaak discloses a one-way valve (14) in the water inlet (3) of the connection geometry for the supply container (6). The one-way valve (14) prevents dissolved descaling agent from entering the fresh-water flowline (10), thereby preventing backflow (paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place Tembaak's one-way valve in the water-side connector of the Rogers-Credle pouch because Tembaak expressly teaches that the valve prevents backflow of dissolved descaling agent into the fresh-water line (paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 29, Tembaak discloses a device for producing a liquid descaling agent comprising a supply container (6), a first external flow path that supplies water through the water inlet (3), and a second external flow path that retrieves dissolved descaling agent through the capillary line (8). The connection neck (13) and associated receiving geometry fluid-tightly connect the water inlet (3) to the water-carrying flowline (10), while the connection flange (29) connects the capillary line (8) to the receiving device and flowline system (Figs. 1 and 4; paragraphs [0050]-[0053] and [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect the two conduits of the Rogers-Credle pouch to Tembaak's water-supply and solution-retrieval flow paths because Tembaak teaches that the arrangement permits accurately metered quantities of descaling agent to be dissolved and withdrawn in accordance with demand (paragraphs [0011]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 31, the Rogers-Credle-Tembaak combination discussed regarding claim 29 provides the claimed cleaning-agent-producing device. The combination does not otherwise require that the device be incorporated into a beverage machine. Tembaak discloses an automatic beverage maker (19) containing the supply container (6), pump (20), water source (2), flowline system, valves, and beverage discharge devices (21, 22), with the supply container (6) positioned in a selectively connectable descaling bypass (Figs. 3 and 4; ¶¶ [0055]-[0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the Rogers-Credle-Tembaak device of claim 29 into Tembaak's automatic beverage maker (19) because Tembaak teaches that supplying the cleaning solution through the machine permits the flowlines to be freed from scale residues and also permits descaling of the valve and discharge device(¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 32, the Rogers-Credle container discussed regarding claim 1 is capable of providing the recited aqueous cleaning solution. Rogers and Credle do not disclose a beverage machine comprising the container.
Tembaak discloses an automatic beverage maker (19) having a supply container (6) installed within the machine and hydraulically connected to a selectively operable descaling bypass of the machine's flowline system (Figs. 3 and 4; ¶¶ [0055]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the Rogers-Credle container into Tembaak's automatic beverage maker (19) as the supply container (6) because Tembaak teaches that supplying cleaning solution from the container to the beverage machine permits "the flowlines of the flowline system to be freed from scale residues" and also permits descaling of the valve and discharge device (¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 33, Tembaak discloses providing the supply container (6) with a water-soluble descaling agent (5); supplying a metered amount of water through the water inlet (3); dissolving a portion of the descaling agent (5) in the water to form an aqueous descaling solution; and discharging a corresponding amount of the solution through the capillary line (8) (¶¶ [0012]-[0013], [0018], [0045], and [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to operate the Rogers-Credle pouch according to Tembaak's method because Tembaak teaches that only a portion of the stored agent is dissolved by freshly admitted water at any one time, allowing accurately metered solution to be withdrawn in accordance with demand (¶ [0013]).
Regarding claim 34, Tembaak discloses repeatedly admitting fresh water to dissolve only a portion of the stored descaling agent at any one time and withdrawing approximately the same volume of dissolved agent by volume displacement. Thus, after one metered quantity of solution is retrieved, a further metered quantity of water is admitted for a subsequent descaling demand (¶¶ [0013], [0018], and [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a further predetermined quantity of water to the modified pouch after retrieval because Tembaak teaches that its stored supply remains available for repeated procedures and that only the quantity needed is dissolved and withdrawn on demand (¶ [0013]).
Claims 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Credle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wallerstorfer et al. ("Wallerstorfer") (U.S. Pub. 2014/0197193).
Regarding claim 13, Rogers's pouch is flexible and therefore does not expressly have an invariable inner volume.
Wallerstorfer discloses, as an alternative to a collapsible cleaner bag, a rigid cleaning-agent container having an invariable internal volume (¶ [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to reinforce the walls of the Rogers-Credle stand-up container sufficiently to maintain its internal volume while preserving its self-standing configuration because Wallerstorfer expressly teaches that a rigid container provides advantages for handling (¶ [0053]).
Regarding claim 17, Rogers discloses first and second opposing pouch walls (2) sealingly connected along peripheral side seams (3, 4), but does not disclose that one wall is flexible and the other wall is rigid.
Wallerstorfer teaches both a flexible, collapsible bag-like cleaner container and a rigid cleaner container as known alternatives (¶¶ [0052])-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain one of Rogers's opposing walls (2) as a flexible wall and form the other opposing wall (2) as a rigid wall while retaining Rogers's sealed peripheral connections, because Wallerstorfer teaches that the flexible configuration collapses without aeration while the rigid configuration provides advantages for handling (¶¶ [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 18, Rogers discloses first and second opposing pouch walls (2) sealingly connected along peripheral side seams (3, 4), but does not disclose that both walls are rigid.
Wallerstorfer discloses a rigid cleaner container as an alternative to a flexible bag-like container (¶¶ [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form both opposing walls (2) of the Rogers-Credle container as rigid walls while retaining Rogers's sealed peripheral connections because Wallerstorfer expressly teaches that a rigid cleaner container provides advantages for handling (¶ [0053]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Credle, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Clusserath (U.S. Pub. 2010/0108180).
Regarding claim 19, Rogers and Credle do not disclose a variable-volume wall formed by a tubular cartridge and a sealing piston displaceable along the cartridge axis.
Clusserath discloses a generally tubular housing (5) defining a closed control space (17), a piston (18) closing the upper end of the space and movable axially through a predetermined stroke, and a piston rod (20) for displacing the piston (18) (Fig. 1; ¶ [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the variable-volume portion of the Rogers-Credle container as a tubular cartridge closed by an axially displaceable sealing piston, as taught by Clusserath, because Clusserath teaches that piston displacement provides a controlled variable volume and permits the volume flow to be adjusted by the piston position (¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 20, Clusserath further discloses that the side of the variable control space (17) is bounded by a bellows (19), while the piston (18) closes its upper end (Fig. 1; ¶ [0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the variable-volume wall portion of the modified Rogers-Credle container as a bellows because Clusserath teaches that the bellows and piston provide a closed variable space through which cleaning or sterilization medium flows while pressure in that space produces the required pressing force. (¶¶ [0011] and [0034]).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Credle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ichikawa (U.S. Pub. 2001/0027984).
Regarding claim 37. Rogers and Credle disclose elongated internal straws or dip tubes, but do not disclose a conical lance.
Ichikawa discloses a flexible bag-shaped container body (2) having an internal tubular conduit portion (13) whose free end is finely tapered and converges toward its distal tip (Figs. 1, 3, and 4; ¶¶ [0016], [0024], and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the distal portion of the Rogers-Credle lance with Ichikawa's convergent conical shape because Ichikawa teaches that the convergent outer surface prevents the open end from contacting and damaging the pouch wall while keeping the opening unobstructed (¶ [0048]).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Credle, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wauters et al. ("Wauters") (U.S. Pub. 2006/0163292).
Regarding claim 38, Rogers and Credle do not specify that the lance is a rigid metal tube.
Wauters discloses a hollow elongated tube extending into a flexible beverage bag and expressly teaches that the tube may be made of metal or hard, relatively rigid plastic so that it maintains its elongated shape (¶¶ [0002], [0009], and [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the cl aimed invention, to manufacture the Rogers-Credle lance from rigid metal because Wauters teaches that maintaining the elongated shape avoids flow-rate disturbance when the collapsing bag contacts the dispensing member (¶¶ [0003] and [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MJM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 October 23, 2026