Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "vegetable cereal fibers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mua et al. (US 2023/0051029 A1 (Priority to 17/876,604 filed 2021-07-30).
Regarding claim 9-12, Mua et al. disclose a smoking material composed
Aerosol forming materials such as glycerol (i.e. glycerin) and propylene glycol [0118],
Fibrous support formed of plant fibers other than tobacco (i.e. wood fibers which are inherently cellulosic fibers [0083]) and “cereal grains (e.g. maize, oat, barley, rye, buckwheat, and the like)” [0091], and bran fibers [0091].
Nicotine with a purity greater than about 95% [0139].
Regarding claim 13, Mua et al. disclose the substrates contains 0-15% wood pulp, including 5-15% wood pulp [0094]. Mua et al. present a range that overlaps the claimed range and a preferred range that is wholly within the range claimed and therefore anticipate the claimed range.
Regarding claim 16, Mua et al. disclose that the substrate (i.e. plant fibers) have water content of between 0 and 30% and preferably 3 to 21% water [0158]. Mua et al. present a range that overlaps the claimed range and a preferred range that is wholly within the range claimed and therefore anticipate the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mua et al. (US 2023/0051029 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Masri (US 20110048438 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Mua et al. do not disclose that the fiber is cut to a particular size or surface area. However, Masri discloses a similar tobacco substitute that uses tea leaves as the plant material. Masri indicates that the prior art discloses drying green tea leaves and cutting to form particles 1-5 mm in width and 5-15 mm in length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the cut tea leaves disclosed by Masri in the invention of Mua et al. in order to achieve the tea flavor disclosed by Masri. Cut leaves of 1-5 mm wide and 5-15 mm long have a surface area of approximately 10 mm2 and 150 mm, which overlaps the claimed range and makes the range obvious.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747