Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “wall-flow type” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how much a carrier would need to resemble a wall-flow base material to meet the limitation “a wall-flow type.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goodwin et al. (US 2020/0306692).
Regarding claim 1, Goodwin et al. (US 2020/0306692) discloses a catalyst article for treating exhaust gas emissions comprising first and second catalyst compositions comprising three-way catalyst components provided on a high surface area support (inorganic oxide) together with an oxygen storage component ([0060]). The composition is supplied as a washcoat upon a wall flow filter comprising a plurality of inlet and outlet channels, wherein the channels are plugged at their respective ends sich that in use the exhaust gas passes into the inlet channels through the partition walls and out of the outlet channels ([0104]-[0108]). Goodwin et al. further teaches that the oxygen storage component, which s preferably a ceria and zirconia mixed oxide, has a first D90 and the inorganic oxide has a second D90, wherein the second D90 is less than 1 micron and the first D90 is from 1 to 20 microns ([0063]-[0065]). Additionally, the reference teaches that the ratio by weight of the OSC to the inorganic oxide is from 10:1 to 1:10, preferably from 3:1 to 1:3 ([0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Goodwin teaches that the first inorganic oxide, corresponding to the OSC, is a ceria zirconia composite oxide ([0072]) and that the second inorganic oxide is alumina ([0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Goodwin et al. teaches that the ratio by weight of the OSC to the inorganic oxide is from 10:1 to 1:10, preferably from 3:1 to 1:3 ([0078]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Goodwin et al. teaches that the composition includes a platinum group catalytic metal which functions as a three-way catalyst ([0003], [0045]).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeshima et al. (US 2003/0216254).
Regarding claim 1, Takeshima et al. (US 2003/0216254) discloses a catalyst composition comprising a monolithic substrate having a coat layer containing a cerium-zirconium composite oxide and a cerium free oxide ([0023]). The monolithic substrate is preferably a cordierite wall flow substrate where the cells are alternately filled for the purposed of purifying the exhaust gas containing particulate of diesel cars ([0049]). The catalyst preferably comprises a cerium zirconium composite oxide and a cerium free oxide at a ratio from 2/8 to 8/2, more preferably from 3/7 to 7/3 ([0045]). Takeshima et al. teaches that the cerium zirconium composite oxide is has a particle diameter of about 1 micron and that the cerium free oxide comprises fine particles having an average particle size of 1 micron or less ([0053], [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Takeshima et al. teaches that the first inorganic oxide is cerium-zirconium composite oxide and that the second inorganic oxide is alumina ([0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Takeshima et al. teaches that the catalyst preferably comprises a cerium zirconium composite oxide and a cerium free oxide at a ratio from 2/8 to 8/2, more preferably from 3/7 to 7/3 ([0045]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Takeshima et al. teaches that the composition includes a platinum group catalytic metal which functions as a three-way catalyst ([0004], [0059], Examples).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742