Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 23-24, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
The instant invention is anticipated by Bandara et al. (US20190091688A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bandara et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), comprising: a substrate (See the bottom layer 1004, in [0085] in Fig. 10 and in claim(s) 1 and 2); and
a fluidic component comprising at least one fluidic channel, wherein the at least one fluidic channel is adapted to conduct a fluid and retain the fluid within the at least one fluidic channel (See the fluidic channel 1010 in [0085] in Fig. 10 and in claim 1);
wherein the at least one fluidic channel comprises at least one porous material having a hydrophilic surface (See how the fluidic channel-containing substrate 1008 is configured to house polymer inclusion membrane-treated substrates 1002, 1004, and 1006 and also to comprise a fluidic channel 1010 that fluidly couples the polymer inclusion membrane-treated substrates in [0085] in Fig. 10 and in claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 15); and
wherein the at least one fluidic channel is formed on the substrate via a deposition process (See in [0067]-[0078] claim(s) 15-17).
Regarding Claim 23, Bandara et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), comprising: a substrate (See the bottom layer 1004, in [0085] in Fig. 10 and in claim(s) 1 and 2); and
a fluidic component comprising at least one fluidic channel, wherein the at least one fluidic channel is adapted to conduct a fluid and retain the fluid within the at least one fluidic channel (See the fluidic channel 1010 in [0085] in Fig. 10 and in claim 1);
wherein the at least one fluidic channel comprises a binder and at least one porous material having a hydrophilic surface (See in [0059]-[0086], [0106] and in claim(s) 1-4).
Regarding Claim 24, Bandara et al. teaches a method of fabricating a fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), the method comprising: depositing on a substrate a material comprising a binder and at least one porous material having a hydrophilic surface to form at least one fluidic channel, wherein the at least one fluidic channel is adapted to conduct a fluid and retain the fluid within the at least one fluidic channel (See claim(s) 1, 15-25).
Regarding Claim 36, Bandara et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 24.
Bandara et al. further teaches a method of fabricating a fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), wherein the material is deposited onto the substrate using a printing or a coating process (See in [0076], [0078], [0138] and in claim 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandara et al. (US20190091688A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mellors et al. (US20190108992A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 2-3, Bandara et al. teaches the fluidic device limitations of claim 1.
Bandara et al. further teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), wherein the fluid flow is conducted by a capillary force (See in claim(s) 6-8, 22, and 25); nanometer distances between each polymer inclusion membrane spot (See in [0075]).
Bandara et al. fails to explicitly teach a ridge fluidic device, wherein the fluid flow is conducted by a capillary force; wherein the at least one fluidic channel comprises at least one of a microfluidic channel and a nanofluidic channel.
However, in the analogous art of fluidic device for chromatographic separation, Mellors et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic device 10, and the Claim(s) 1-20 in [0007]-[0176], in Fig. 1-11), wherein the fluid flow is conducted by a capillary force (See the microfluidic device 10 for microchip capillary electrophoresis (CE)in [0004]-[0009], [0148] in Fig. 2A-H); wherein the at least one fluidic channel comprises at least one of a microfluidic channel and a nanofluidic channel (See in [0012], [0042], [0099], [0134] in Fig. 1A and in claim 16)
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the fluidic device of Bandara et al. by incorporating a capillary force, a microfluidic channel, and a nanofluidic channel (as taught by Mellors et al.) for the benefit of transporting fluids with a channel of the device without external equipment, and to aid in the detection of nanoscale analytes.
Regarding Claim(s) 4-6, The combination of Bandara et al. and Mellors et al. teaches the fluidic device limitations of claim 3.
Bandara et al. further teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), wherein the at least one fluidic channel is deposited on a surface by at least one of a screen printing, flexo printing, and blade coating (See in [0076], [0078], [0138] in claim 17);
wherein the deposition process comprises multi-layer deposition and the ridge fluidic device is integrated with other components via the multi-layer deposition (See in claim(s) 1-25).
Bandara et al. fails to explicitly teach a ridge fluidic device, wherein the other components comprise at least one of an electronic component and a photonic component.
However, in the analogous art of fluidic device for chromatographic separation, Mellors et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic device 10, and the Claim(s) 1-20 in [0007]-[0176], in Fig. 1-11), wherein the other components comprise at least one of an electronic component and a photonic component (See the circuit or data processing system 290 in [0210]-[0215] in Fig. 11).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the fluidic device of Bandara et al. by incorporating an electronic component and a photonic component (as taught by Mellors et al.) for the benefit of collecting data and analyzing the flow and analytes of a sample within a fluidic device.
Regarding Claim(s) 7-9, Bandara et al. teaches the fluidic device limitations of claim 1.
Bandara et al. further teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), nanometer distances between each polymer inclusion membrane spot (See in [0075]); wherein the at least one particle is within a range of 5 to 30% by volume and the at least one microparticle is within a range of 55% to 85% by volume of the total solid content of the at least one fluidic channel (See in [0059]-[0080]).
Bandara et al. fails to explicitly teach a ridge fluidic device, wherein the at least one material comprises at least one nanoparticle with a diameter of less than 200 nanometers and at least one microparticle with a diameter within a range of 1 to 30 micrometers; wherein each of the at least one nanoparticle and at least one microparticle comprise at least one of silica, alumina, and another material with high surface energy; wherein the at least one nanoparticle is within a range of 5 to 30% by volume and the at least one microparticle is within a range of 55% to 85% by volume of the total solid content of the at least one fluidic channel.
However, in the analogous art of fluidic device for chromatographic separation, Mellors et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic device 10, and the Claim(s) 1-20 in [0007]-[0176], in Fig. 1-11), wherein the at least one material comprises at least one nanoparticle with a diameter of less than 200 nanometers and at least one microparticle with a diameter within a range of 1 to 30 micrometers (See in [0099], [0130],[0134] in Fig. 1A and in claim 16);
wherein each of the at least one nanoparticle and at least one microparticle comprise at least one of silica, alumina, and another material with high surface energy (See in 0099], [0111]-[0112]);
wherein the at least one nanoparticle is within a range of 5 to 30% by volume and the at least one microparticle is within a range of 55% to 85% by volume of the total solid content of the at least one fluidic channel (See in [0101]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the fluidic device of Bandara et al. by incorporating a nanometer and a micrometer sized particles that are made of a high surface energy material having a percentage by volume of the total solid content of the at least one fluidic channel (as taught by Mellors et al.) for the benefit of collecting data and analyzing the flow and analytes of a sample within a fluidic device.
Regarding Claim(s) 10-12, The combination of Bandara et al. and Mellors et al. teaches the fluidic device limitations of claim 7.
Bandara et al. further teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), wherein the at least one material comprises a binder; wherein the binder is chosen from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), cellulose, polyvinyl acetate, copolymer like ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA), vinyl acetate ethylene (VAE) and other styrene-acrylic copolymers (See in [0062]-[0080] and in claim(s) 1-4); wherein the binder is within a range of 10% to 30% by volume of the total solid content of the at least one fluidic channel (See in [0059]-[0080]).
Regarding Claim(s) 13-16, Bandara et al. teaches the fluidic device limitations of claim 1.
Bandara et al. further teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic devices 406,810,908,1000,2900, and the Claim(s) 1-25 in [0003]-[0008], [0055]-[0086], in Fig. 1-29), wherein the at least one fluidic channel is integrated with an absorptive material that can effectively absorb liquid but not transport liquid over a significant distance; wherein the absorptive material comprises a hydrophilic binder and nanoparticles with a hydrophilic surface (See in [0059], [0086], [0106] and in claim 2); wherein the nanoparticles are within the range of 70% to 90% by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material (See in [0059]-[0080]); wherein the absorptive material further comprises microparticles, and wherein the particles are within the range of 60% to 80% by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material and the microparticles are at a concentration of 10% or less by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material (See in [0059]-[0080] and in claim(s) 1-5).
Bandara et al. fails to explicitly teach a ridge fluidic device, wherein the absorptive material further comprises microparticles, and wherein the nanoparticles are within the range of 60% to 80% by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material and the microparticles are at a concentration of 10% or less by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material.
However, in the analogous art of fluidic device for chromatographic separation, Mellors et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic device 10, and the Claim(s) 1-20 in [0007]-[0176], in Fig. 1-11), wherein the absorptive material further comprises microparticles, and wherein the nanoparticles are within the range of 60% to 80% by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material and the microparticles are at a concentration of 10% or less by volume of the total solid content of the absorptive material (See in [0099], [0101], [0130],[0134] in Fig. 1A and in claim 16).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the fluidic device of Bandara et al. by incorporating a nanometer and a micrometer sized particles that are a percentage by volume of the total solid content of an absorptive material (as taught by Mellors et al.) for the benefit of absorbing liquid samples that have particles without transporting the liquid sample over significant distances.
Regarding Claim 21, Bandara et al. teaches the fluidic device limitations of claim 1.
Bandara et al. fails to explicitly teach a ridge fluidic device, wherein the at least one fluidic channel is directly integrated with at least one of an electrical circuit, a photonic circuit and a sensing element on the same substrate.
However, in the analogous art of fluidic device for chromatographic separation, Mellors et al. teaches a ridge fluidic device (See the Abstract, the microfluidic device 10, and the Claim(s) 1-20 in [0007]-[0176], in Fig. 1-11), wherein the at least one fluidic channel is directly integrated with at least one of an electrical circuit, a photonic circuit and a sensing element on the same substrate (See the circuit or data processing system 290 in [0210]-[0215] in Fig. 11).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the fluidic device of Bandara et al. by incorporating an electrical circuit, a photonic circuit and a sensing element on the same substrate (as taught by Mellors et al.) for the benefit of collecting data and analyzing the flow and analytes of a sample within a fluidic device.
Conclusion
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797