DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-14 of U.S. Application 18/701102 filed on May 1, 2025 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, lines 3-4, “a normal direction the surface” should be -- a normal direction of the surface --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takewa (US 20090097694).
Regarding claim 1, Takewa teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 below) an electromagnetic actuator arrangement (1) (Abstract; ¶ 99), comprising:
a first assembly (10-13) attachable to a surface, the first assembly (10-13) comprising a first permanent magnet (12) and a second permanent magnet (13) mechanically coupled to each other (¶ 100 to ¶ 103),
wherein the first permanent magnet (12) and the second permanent magnet (13) are arranged to define a space (see annotated fig. 2 below) between the first permanent magnet (12) and the second permanent magnet (13) with the first permanent magnet (12) and the second permanent magnet (13) arranged to have a same polarity of the first permanent magnet (12) and of the second permanent magnet (13) facing the space (see annotated fig. 2 below) (Abstract; ¶ 107); and
a second assembly (see annotated fig. 2 below) comprising an electromagnetic coil (15) arranged into the space (see annotated fig. 2 below) between the first permanent magnet (12) and the second permanent magnet (13), the electromagnetic coil (15) configured to receive an electrical signal and, in response to the electrical signal, produce a magnetic field interacting with the first permanent magnet (12) and the second permanent magnet (14), thereby causing relative movement between the first assembly (10-13) and the second assembly (see annotated fig. 2 below) at least in a movement direction parallel with a direction from the first permanent magnet (12) to the second permanent magnet (13) (Abstract; ¶ 106; ¶ 107),
the second assembly (see annotated fig. 2 below) also including a support member (14) for attaching the electromagnetic coil (15) to a structure (¶ 105 to ¶ 107).
Regarding claim 2/1, Takewa teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 above) the first assembly (10-13) further comprises a casing (10, 11) at least partially enclosing at least one of the first permanent magnet (12) or the second permanent magnet (13) (¶ 100 to ¶ 105).
Regarding claim 3/2/1, Takewa teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 above) the casing (10, 11) encloses the first permanent magnet (12) and the second permanent magnet (13) and further comprises at least one opening (see annotated fig. 2 above) for the support member (14) of the second assembly (see annotated fig. 2 above) (fig. 2; ¶ 105).
Regarding claim 5/1, Takewa teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 above) the first assembly (10-13) is attachable to the surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) in an orientation in which the movement direction is nonparallel with a normal direction the surface (see annotated fig. 2 above) (Abstract; ¶ 107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takewa in view of Kohlhafer (US 20140354381).
Regarding claim 4/2/1, Takewa teaches the device of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach the casing comprises a ferromagnetic material.
However, Kohlhafer teaches (see fig. 3 below) the casing (21) comprises a ferromagnetic material (¶ 63) in order to provide improved structural integrity, corrosion resistance and reduced flux leakage (Kohlhafer, ¶ 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa and provide the casing comprises a ferromagnetic material as taught by Kohlhafer in order to provide improved structural integrity, corrosion resistance and reduced flux leakage (Kohlhafer, ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 10/1, Takewa teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach one or more of the electromagnetic coil or the support member comprise non-ferromagnetic materials.
However, Kohlhafer teaches (see fig. 3 above) the support member (44) comprise non-ferromagnetic materials (¶ 80) in order to reduce eddy current loss (Kohlhafer, ¶ 74; ¶ 75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa and provide the support member comprise non-ferromagnetic materials as taught by Kohlhafer in order to reduce eddy current loss (Kohlhafer, ¶ 74; ¶ 75).
10. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takewa in the embodiment of figure 1 (Takewa E1) in view of Takewa in the embodiment of figure 15A (Takewa E2).
Regarding claim 6/1, Takewa E1 teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the first assembly is attachable to the surface in an orientation in which the movement direction is parallel with the surface.
However, Takewa E2 teaches (see fig. 15A below) the first assembly is attachable to the surface (see annotated fig. 15A below) in an orientation in which the movement direction is parallel with the surface (¶ 148) in order to reduce acoustic loading and thereby reducing noise and vibration (Takewa, ¶ 148).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa E1 and provide the first assembly is attachable to the surface in an orientation in which the movement direction is parallel with the surface as taught by Takewa E2 in order to reduce acoustic loading and thereby reducing noise and vibration (Takewa, ¶ 148).
11. Claims 7-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takewa in view of Wakuda (US 20210399617).
Regarding claim 7/1, Takewa teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the first assembly and the second assembly are mechanically coupled via at least one elastomer member.
However, Wakuda teaches (see fig. 6 below) the first assembly (20, 60) and the second assembly (10) are mechanically coupled via at least one elastomer member (40A, 40B) (¶ 38; ¶ 39) in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa and provide the first assembly and the second assembly are mechanically coupled via at least one elastomer member as taught by Wakuda in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 8/7/1, Takewa in view of Wakuda teaches the device of claim 7 but does not explicitly teach the at least one elastomer member has a first modulus of elasticity along a first direction and a second modulus of elasticity along a second direction.
However, Wakuda further teaches (see fig. 6 above) the at least one elastomer member (40A, 40B) has a first modulus of elasticity along a first direction and a second modulus of elasticity along a second direction (¶ 38; ¶ 39; ¶ 77; ¶ 78) in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa in view of Wakuda and provide the at least one elastomer member has a first modulus of elasticity along a first direction and a second modulus of elasticity along a second direction as further taught by Wakuda in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 9/8/7/1, Takewa in view of Wakuda teaches the device of claim 8 but does not explicitly teach the first direction is parallel with the movement direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the movement direction, and the first modulus of elasticity is less than the second modulus of elasticity.
However, Wakuda further teaches (see fig. 6 above) the first direction (Z-direction, see fig. 6) is parallel with the movement direction (¶ 47), the second direction (X-direction) is perpendicular to the movement direction, and the first modulus of elasticity is less than the second modulus of elasticity (the Z-direction has a resonant frequency of 200Hz, therefore at 200Hz the first modulus of elasticity in the Z-direction is less than the second modulus of elasticity in the X-direction, see ¶ 78) (¶ 38; ¶ 39; ¶ 47; ¶ 77; ¶ 78) in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa in view of Wakuda and provide the first direction is parallel with the movement direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the movement direction, and the first modulus of elasticity is less than the second modulus of elasticity as further taught by Wakuda in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 12/1, Takewa in view of Wakuda teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach a touch interface arrangement comprising a touch interface surface, a frame, and the electromagnetic actuator arrangement, wherein the first assembly of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement is mechanically coupled to the touch interface surface and the second assembly of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement is mechanically coupled to the frame.
However, Wakuda further teaches (see fig. 6 above and fig. 3 below) a touch interface arrangement comprising a touch interface surface (140) (¶ 32),
a frame (110), and the electromagnetic actuator arrangement (160), wherein the first assembly (20, 60) of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement (160) is mechanically coupled to the touch interface surface (140) and the second assembly (10) of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement (160) is mechanically coupled to the frame (110) (¶ 32; ¶ 33; ¶ 43) in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa in view of Wakuda and provide a touch interface arrangement comprising a touch interface surface, a frame, and the electromagnetic actuator arrangement, wherein the first assembly of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement is mechanically coupled to the touch interface surface and the second assembly of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement is mechanically coupled to the frame as further taught by Wakuda in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 13/12/1, Takewa in view of Wakuda teaches the device of claim 12 but does not explicitly teach the movement direction of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement is parallel with the touch interface surface.
However, Wakuda further teaches (see figs. 3 and 6 above) the movement direction of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement (160) is parallel with the touch interface surface (140) (X-direction movement is parallel to touch interface surface, see ¶ 32; ¶ 33; ¶ 43; ¶ 38; ¶ 39; ¶ 47; ¶ 77; ¶ 78) in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa in view of Wakuda and provide the movement direction of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement is parallel with the touch interface surface as further taught by Wakuda in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 14/12/1, Takewa in view of Wakuda teaches the device of claim 12 but does not explicitly teach a driving unit configured to provide the electrical signal to the electromagnetic coil of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement, wherein the electrical signal is configured to cause one or more of a haptic feedback in the touch interface surface or a sound emitting from the touch interface surface.
However, Wakuda further teaches (see figs. 3 and 6 above) a driving unit (180, fig. 2) configured to provide the electrical signal to the electromagnetic coil (30A, 30B) of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement (160), wherein the electrical signal is configured to cause one or more of a haptic feedback in the touch interface surface or a sound emitting from the touch interface surface (¶ 36; ¶ 41; ¶ 51) in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Takewa in view of Wakuda and provide a driving unit configured to provide the electrical signal to the electromagnetic coil of the electromagnetic actuator arrangement, wherein the electrical signal is configured to cause one or more of a haptic feedback in the touch interface surface or a sound emitting from the touch interface surface as further taught by Wakuda in order to provide an easily adjustable vibration force in multiple directions (Wakuda, ¶ 64).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Usuki (US 20030068063) teaches a first magnet is provided in an upper case and a second magnet is provided in a lower case so that these magnets face each other. These magnets are magnetized in opposite directions. A diaphragm having a drive coil is placed between these magnets.
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 7