Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,5,7,8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP200034363 in view of USP5457197.
Claim 1 is directed to a method of collecting a fibrous filling material and c-caprolactam, comprising adding a polyamide 6 resin composition (A) containing at least a fibrous filling material (D) and at least one of water (B) heated to 290°C or higher and 350°C or lower and a polyamide 6 oligomer aqueous solution (B1) heated to 290°C or higher and 350°C or lower to make contact with each other to obtain a mixture (C) containing at least the fibrous filling material (D), c- caprolactam, a polyamide 6 oligomer, and the water (B), and collecting the fibrous filling material (D) and the c-caprolactam from the mixture (C), wherein steps (a) to (c) are performed in this order: (a) preparing the mixture (C) by adding the polyamide 6 resin composition (A) containing the fibrous filling material (D) and at least one of the water (B) and the polyamide 6 oligomer aqueous solution (B1) to make contact with each other under a condition that a product of X and Y is 2,000 or less when a mass ratio of water to polyamide 6 or a mass ratio of water to a sum of polyamide 6 and the polyamide 6 oligomer is represented by X : 1 and a reaction temperature is represented by Y°C; (b) subjecting the mixture (C) to a solid-liquid separation (I) in a temperature range not higher than a boiling point of water at an operation pressure; and (c) washing a filter residue containing the fibrous filling material (D) obtained by the solid-liquid separation (I) with water having a temperature not higher than the boiling point of water at normal pressure to collect the fibrous filling material (D).
JP200034363 discloses depolymerizing a nylon 6 composition containing glass fiber and placing the reaction liquid in water and then separating the glass fiber from the ϵ-caprolactam solution, and washing the glass fiber for reuse. See page 5 lines 7-22, 37 (claim 1) and Example 1. The reference also teaches wet depolymerization using 0.01-5 parts waster per part nylon 6. See page 4 lines 17 and 22. However, the reference does not disclose the claimed temperature and X and Y values.
USP5457197 discloses treating nylon 6 waste with water at 290C. In Example 2, 1 part carpet containing 34.9 mass% nylon 6 is treated with 1.51 part water. The water and nylon ratio is about 4.33:1 which is less than 2,000. The reaction produces water, ϵ-caprolactam, nylon 6 oligomers and an insoluble moiety. The refernece then cools the mixture to 90C, and filters it at atmospheric pressure, and washes the solids twice with water. See col. 8 lines 1-42 and col. 12 lines 27-55, Examples 2 and 3.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the wet treatment conditions of USP5457197 in the process of JP200034363 in view of since USP5457197 discloses that these conditions depolymerize nylon 6 and allow the insoluble material to be separated and washed.
Claim 4 is directed to the method according to claim 1,wherein the solid-liquid separation (I) is performed in a temperature range not higher than the boiling point of water at normal pressure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USP5457197 filters the mixture at 90C and atmospheric pressure. This temperature is below the boiling point of water at atmospheric pressure. See col. 12 lines 27-40 and Example 2, 5.
Claim 5 is directed to the method according to claim 1,wherein the mixture (C) containing at least the fibrous filling material (D), the c-caprolactam, the polyamide 6 oligomer, and water is prepared, and then subsequently subjected to the solid-liquid separation (I).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since USP5457197 discloses preparing the mixture before filtering it. See col. 10, lines 1-49, and Examples 2 and 3.
Claim 7 is directed to the method according to claim 1,wherein the polyamide 6 resin composition (A) containing at least the fibrous filling material (D) is a waste of a resin molded body containing polyamide 6 including at least the fibrous filling material (D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since JP200034363 discloses using waste nylon 6 molded products containing glass fiber. See page 2 lines 2, 13 and page 3 lines 1-10.
Claim 8 is directed to a method of producing polyamide 6, comprising obtaining c-caprolactam by the method according to claim 1, and polymerizing
-caprolactam.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since both JP200034363 and USP5457197 recover ϵ-caprolactam from nylon 6 waste. USP5457197 discloses that polymerized ϵ-caprolactam may be obtained. See col. 9 lines 15-45, Example 5 and claim 9.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP200034363 in view of USP5457197 and further in view of JPH10287645A
Claim 2 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the polyamide 6 resin composition (A) containing at least the fibrous filling material (D) and the water (B) heated to 290°C or higher and 350°C or lower, or, the water (B) heated to 290°C or higher and 350°C or lower and the polyamide 6 oligomer aqueous solution (B1) heated to 290°C or higher and 350°C or lower are added to make contact with each other to obtain the mixture (C) containing at least the fibrous filling material (D), the c-caprolactam, the polyamide 6 oligomer, and the water (B), and then the fibrous filling material (D) and the c-caprolactam are collected from the mixture (C),solid-liquid separation (I) with water having a temperature not higher than the boiling point of water at normal pressure to collect the fibrous filling material (D).
JP200034363 (page 3 lines 1-10 and 31-46) and USP5457197 (col. 8 line 53) discloses treating a nylon 6 composition containing a filling material with water at a temperature within 290-350oC. USP5457197 specifically teaches supplying preheated water to a nylon 6 carpet composition and maintaining the mixture a at 300-350C. See col. 9 lines 1-14. JPH10287645A discloses adding a nylon 6 oligomer aqueous solution during depolymerization. See Example 4. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use this solution in the process of JP200034363 and USP5457197 since it supplies water and recyclable nylon 6 oligomer to the process.
Claim 6 is directed to the method according to claim 1,wherein the polyamide 6 oligomer aqueous solution (B1) is an extract liquid obtained in a step of extracting a polyamide 6 oligomer with hot water from polyamide 6 which is a product at a time of production of polyamide 6.
JPH10287645A discloses that the oligomer aqueous solution is obtained by extracting nylon 6 oligomer produced during nylon 6 reacting with hot water. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use this extract as the oligomer aqueous solution in the process. See Example 4. See also Example 5 and claim 13 of USP5457197.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP200034363 in view of USP5457197 and further in view of JPH10287645A.
Claim 3 is directed to the method according to claim 1 wherein a mass loss of the fibrous filling material (D) when the fibrous filling material (D) collected is subjected to a heating treatment in an air atmosphere at 600°C for 3 hours is 3.0 mass% or less.
JP200034363 discloses separating washing and reusing glass fiber recovered from a nylon 6 composition. See page 3 lines 1-10, claim 1 and Example 1.
USP5457197 also discloses the use of fibers in cols 1, 2 and 4, Examples 2, 3 and claim 18.
JPH10287645A discloses treating fiber reinforced plastic with supercritical water to decompose the resin and recover the glass fiber for reuse. See claim 1 and the Examples.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the reaction and washing conditions to remove the remaining resin the claimed value would have resulted from optimizing the known treatment and washing conditions.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765