DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following reference characters have been used to designate multiple parts:
reference character “100” has been used to designate both secondary battery and the first case.
reference characters “110” has been used to designate both electrode assembly and first plate portion.
reference characters “120” has been used to designate both first collector plate and second plate portion.
reference characters “220” has been used to designate both first collector plate, electrode tabs, and first electrode tab.
reference characters “121” has been used to designate both electrode connection part and casing plate.
reference characters “221” has been used to designate both electrode connection part and welded portion.
reference characters “122” has been used to designate both first piece and current collector plate.
reference characters “123” has been used to designate both second piece and terminal.
reference characters “125” has been used to designate both terminal connection part and first insulating plate.
reference characters “130” has been used to designate both second collector plate and third plate portion.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 122a, 122b, 122c, 123a, 123b, 123c, 123d, 221a, 221b, 221c, 221d, 150, and 160. All of these reference numbers are mentioned only once in the specification and are found in the “[Sequence List Text]” section.
The drawings are objected to because some of the labels in FIG. 1 and FIG. 6 appear to be mislabeled and do not agree with what is depicted in FIG. 2 – FIG. 5. For the purpose of the following review, an assumption was made that the part numbers found in the [Sequence List Text] section of the specification were inaccurate and so part numbers found elsewhere in the specification are assumed to be correct unless otherwise noted.
In FIG. 1 and FIG. 6, reference number 122 appears to identify a vent. In the specification, the reference number 122 represents the current collector plate and the vent is represented by reference number 321.
The second plate portion 120 is described as being a part of the first case 100 and comprising in part a casing plate 121, a terminal 123, a terminal plate 124, and a first insulating plate 125. In FIG. 1 and FIG. 6, it is unclear whether the reference number 120 is pointing to the long side plate of the second case 300 (unlabeled) or the obscured short plate of the first case 100. If the former, then the reference numbers for 120 and 121 are incorrect as they both label the same part and the correct reference number for that part corresponds either to the second plate portion 320 of the second case 300 or the third plate portion 330 of the second case. If 120 is pointing to the obscured side of the first case 100, then reference numbers 121, 123, 124, and 125 are all mislabeled as they are on incorrect plate portions.
FIG. 1 and FIG. 6 are described in the specification as depicting a secondary battery, but only reference numbers corresponding to the first case 100 are included in each drawing.
FIG. 5 shows the first case 100 with the electrode assembly 200 within, and an exploded view of the second case 300 above. The labels in this drawing all match their descriptions in the specification. When comparing FIG. 5 to FIG. 1 (and FIG. 6), there are many discrepancies between the drawings, including as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xi et al (CN 107706325 A).
Regarding Claim 1,
Xi teaches a secondary battery (power supply module) comprising: a first case including a first plate portion having a rectangular shape, and a second plate portion and a third plate portion formed along a short side of the first plate portion (lower fixing component 15); a second case including a rectangular-shaped first plate portion corresponding to the first case, and a second plate portion and a third plate portion formed along a long side of the first plate portion (upper fixing element 14); and an electrode assembly (assembly 19) accommodated in an inner space in which the first case and the second case are coupled, wherein the first case and the second case are engaged with and coupled to each other. FIG. 1 shows an exploded view of the lower fixing member 15, upper fixing member 14, and the assembly member 19.
Regarding Claims 2 and 10,
Xi teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the upper fixing element 14 and lower fixing component 15 are fixedly connected by welding at the welding seams 18 on the outer surface of the secondary battery, as seen in FIG. 8.
Regarding Claim 3,
Xi teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and as seen in FIG. 1, the length of the assembly 19 corresponds to the length of the lower fixing component 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi, in view of Hamada (US 20040131932 A1).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5,
Xi teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Additionally, Xi teaches inclusion of a positive electrode lead piece 9 and a negative electrode lead piece 10 protruding from a short end of the assembly 19, but is silent on protruding terminal tabs being coupled to the lower fixing component 15 on opposite short ends of the assembly 19. However, Hamada teaches a rechargeable battery comprising projecting edges of the positive core substrate 11a of the positive electrode 11 and the negative core substrate 12a of the negative electrode 12 terminating at opposite ends of the battery to form a positive electrode end face 14 and a negative electrode end face 15, respectively (Paragraph [0042]; Fig. 9). The electrode end faces 14/15 are connected to current collectors 31/32 via welding (Paragraph [0060]) and the current collectors are coupled to the case 3 via insulating tape 42 and through coupling to connection projections 34 and a sealing plate 36, which are welded to the case 3 (Paragraphs [0061-0063]; Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the secondary battery of Xi to increase the stability of the battery by securing the electrode assembly to both ends of the case through
welding the terminal tabs to a current collector plate and coupling the current collector to the case.
Regarding Claim 6,
In view of Hamada, Xi teaches the secondary battery of claim 5. As taught by Hamada, the location of welding between the current collectors 31/32 and the electrode end faces 14/15 is not limited, so welding may be done at an upper portion of where the parts overlap.
Regarding Claims 7-8,
In view of Hamada, Xi teaches the secondary battery of claim 4. Additionally, Hamada teaches a connection plate 6 and connection terminals 7a/7b on the exterior of the battery module 1 (Paragraph [0040]; Fig. 1). These terminals are connected to current collectors 31/32 via current collector connection projections 34 passing through the case 3 and connecting to connection projections 5a/b on the positive side of the battery and to connection projections 18a/b on the negative side of the rechargeable battery 2.
Regarding Claim 9,
Xi teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, but does not teach the presence of a vent. However, Hamada teaches a safety vent 20 replacing the liquid injection port 19 after the electrolyte solution has been injected (Paragraph [0044]). Safety vents to alleviate pressure build-up in a system are well known in the art, therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a known safety vent for a known purpose in the secondary battery of Xi.
References of Interest
Kwak (US 10826048 B2)
Kohda et al (WO 2018110395 A1)
Conclusion
/KEVIN M KNOWLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783