DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority Documents
The Korean foreign priority document(s) 10-2021-0187838 , submitted under 35
U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on April 12, 2024 and placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 12, 2024 & January 15, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 & 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., KR102024524B1 in view of Park et al. US-11749849-B2.
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches a battery module (Fig. 3, below), comprising: a plurality of battery cells (80; Fig. 3); a module housing accommodating the plurality of battery cells therein (Fig. 3); and a heat dissipation pad received within the module housing (heat dissipation pad 40 including the soft heat dissipation sheet 20 and the hard heat dissipation protrusion 30 is integrated with the metal plate by curing the hard silicone liquid; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 7; Fig.3 below), and positioned along at least one side of the plurality of battery cells (heat dissipation pad 40, made up of sheet 20 & protrusions 30, support the plurality of cells 80; Fig. 3, See also Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 2, the heat dissipation pad has elasticity (The soft heat dissipation sheet 20 is made of a thermally conductive silicon heat dissipation sheet having a Shore hardness of 20 to 40 and a thermal conductivity of 1.5 to 5 (W / mK). Thermal conductivity with respect to heat generated from the battery cell 110; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 12). With respect to claim 3, the heat dissipation pad has a Shore 00 hardness-is in a range from 50 to 90 HS (The soft heat dissipation sheet 20 is made of a thermally conductive silicon heat dissipation sheet having a Shore hardness of 20 to 40; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 12). With respect to claim 8, the heat dissipation pad (heat dissipation pad 40 including the soft heat dissipation sheet 20 and the hard heat dissipation protrusion 30 is integrated with the metal plate by curing the hard silicone liquid; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 7; Fig.3), includes: a first pad in direct contact with the plurality of battery cells (20 in contact with cells 80; Fig. 3); and a second pad positioned in contact with the first pad on the an opposite side of the first pad from the plurality of battery cells (second sheet 10 with protrusions 30; Fig. 3). With respect to claim 9, an elasticity of the first pad (The soft heat dissipation sheet 20 is made of a thermally conductive silicon heat dissipation sheet having a Shore hardness of 20 to 40; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 12) is greater than an elasticity of the second pad (the hard heat dissipation protrusion 30 is integrated with the metal plate by curing the hard silicone liquid 30; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 7 & Figs 2-3; Examiners Note: it would be reasonable to expect a silicon sheet (20) to have a greater elasticity than a metal sheet integrated with pockets of cured silicon 30). With respect to claim 11, the liquid resin is a curable liquid resin that hardens over time (the hard heat dissipation protrusion 30 is integrated with the metal plate by curing the hard silicone liquid 30; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 7 & Figs 2-3). With respect to claim 14, a battery pack comprising at least one battery module (heat dissipation package for an electric vehicle battery pack; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 2).
With respect to claim 15, vehicle comprising at least one battery pack (heat dissipation package for an electric vehicle battery pack; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 2).
Although Lee teaches apertures 30 in the heat in pad filled with silicon making concave protrusions (Fig. 2):
the reference does not teach: at least one concave portion defined therein, the at least one concave portion being configured to receive a resin therein in a liquid form (claim 1); the concave portion perforates the heat dissipation pad by extending therethrough from a top surface to a bottom surface of the heat dissipation pad (claim 6); the concave portion has a groove shape extending along a straight line (claim 7); the concave portion is included in the first pad without being included in the second pad (claim 10).
Park teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: at least one concave portion defined therein (resin layer 30 is a heat dissipation layer; Col. 6, lines 35-45; but the other element does not interfere with heat transfer from the battery cell to the resin layer, and from the resin layer to the bottom plate or the like; Col. 6, lines 1-5; Fig. 6 below), the at least one concave portion being configured to receive a resin therein in a liquid form (Fig. 6 below; Examiners Note: the shape can hold liquid, and thus configured thereto; claim 1); the concave portion perforates the heat dissipation pad by extending therethrough from a top surface to a bottom surface of the heat dissipation pad ( the thickness of the pad shape is concave; Fig. 6; claim 6); the concave portion has a groove shape extending along a straight line (base of the concave portion is a channel in the y axis; Fig. 6; claim 7).
Lee and Park are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating heat dissipation pads including resin material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ at least one concave portion defined therein, and being configured to receive a resin therein in a liquid form as taught by Park, in the heat dissipation pad of Lee, in order to increase heat dissipation. Furthermore, Lee teaches apertures 30 in the heat in pad filled with silicon making concave protrusions (Fig. 2), thus contemplation concave shapes. Lastly, change in shape of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With respect to the concave portion being included in the first pad without being included in the second pad (claim 10); it would have been obvious in the in the heat dissipation pad of Lee in view of Park, in order in order to increase heat dissipation. Furthermore, Lee teaches apertures 30 in the heat in pad filled with silicon making concave protrusions (Fig. 2), thus contemplation concave shapes. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Lastly, change in shape of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., KR102024524B1 in view of Park et al. US-11749849-B2, and further in view of Nakada JP 2020057507.
Lee in view of Park teach a battery module (Fig. 3, below), comprising: a plurality of battery cells (80; Fig. 3); a module housing accommodating the plurality of battery cells therein (Fig. 3); and a heat dissipation pad received within the module housing (heat dissipation pad 40 including the soft heat dissipation sheet 20 and the hard heat dissipation protrusion 30 is integrated with the metal plate by curing the hard silicone liquid; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 7; Fig.3 below), and positioned along at least one side of the plurality of battery cells (heat dissipation pad 40, made up of sheet 20 & protrusions 30, support the plurality of cells 80; Fig. 3, See also Fig. 2), as described in the rejection recited above.
With respect to claim 5, a resin layer formed by allowing the resin in the liquid form located in the concave portion to flow out into the space formed between the plurality of battery cells and the heat dissipation pad wherein the resin in the liquid form has a predetermined thickness (liquid resin flows into the 30 holes in Lee Figs. 2 & 3; the holes are concave in Park Fig. 6).
Lee does not teach or suggest: the heat dissipation pad is deformed by pressure due to steps formed on along the at least one side of the plurality of battery cells, so as to form a space between the plurality of battery cells and the heat dissipation pad (claim 4).
Nakada teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the heat dissipation pad is deformed by pressure due to steps formed on along the at least one side of the plurality of battery cells, so as to form a space between the plurality of battery cells and the heat dissipation pad (the heat dissipation pad has steps in Figs 3, 4 & 6; claim 4).
Lee, Park and Nakada are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating heat dissipation pads including resin material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the heat dissipation pad being deformed by pressure due to steps formed on along the at least one side of the plurality of battery cells, so as to form a space between the plurality of battery cells and the heat dissipation pad as taught by Nakada, in the heat dissipation pad of Lee in view of Park, to accommodate cell swelling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., KR102024524B1 in view of Park et al. US-11749849-B2, and further in view of Nakaya WO 2012101954 A1.
Lee in view of Park teach a battery module (Fig. 3, below), comprising: a plurality of battery cells (80; Fig. 3); a module housing accommodating the plurality of battery cells therein (Fig. 3); and a heat dissipation pad received within the module housing (heat dissipation pad 40 including the soft heat dissipation sheet 20 and the hard heat dissipation protrusion 30 is integrated with the metal plate by curing the hard silicone liquid; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 7; Fig.3 below), and positioned along at least one side of the plurality of battery cells (heat dissipation pad 40, made up of sheet 20 & protrusions 30, support the plurality of cells 80; Fig. 3, See also Fig. 2), as described in the rejection recited above.
Lee does not teach or suggest: a heat sink positioned inside the module housing for dissipating heat generated in the battery cell to an area outside of the battery module (claim 12); the heat dissipation pad is interposed between the plurality of battery cells and the heat sink (claim 13).
Nakaya teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a heat sink positioned inside the module housing for dissipating heat generated in the battery cell to an area outside of the battery module (Fig. 15; claim 12).
Lee, Park and Nakaya are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating heat dissipation pads including resin material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a heat sink positioned inside the module housing for dissipating heat generated in the battery cell to an area outside of the battery module as taught by Nakaya, in the heat dissipation pad of Lee in view of Park, to increase cooling of the battery cels to maintain predetermined temperature. Also, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the heat dissipation pad is interposed between the plurality of battery cells and the heat sink (claim 13); it would have been obvious in the battery module of Lee in view of Park and Nakaya, to increase cooling of the battery cels to maintain predetermined temperature. Also, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723