DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2 and 4-7 are pending.
This application claims a priority as a 371 filing of PCT/KR022/015663 filed 10/14/2022 which claims priority to KR10-2021-0137546 filed 10/15/2021. A translation of the foreign papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. Therefore the effective filing date of the instant invention is that of the filing of the application on 10/15/2021.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the drawings were sufficient to overcome the objections to the drawings. As well, the rejection under 35 USC 112, second and 35 USC 101 are overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. These are new rejections necessitated by applicants’ amendment.
Claim 1b) recites the limitation "the cells" in line 5 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Cells are differentiated into ectoderm, endoderm and otic vesicles. Hence, the reference in lines 5 and again in line 6 are unclear. It is unclear if the reference is made to the original ESC or iPSC of step a) or the ectoderm, the endoderm or the cells of the otic vesicle and in line 6 this would also include the steps that are cultured in N2 media.
Claim 1) recites the limitation "the start of differentiation " in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no actual start of differentiation. The cells are induced to form differentiated cells in part a) but there is no actual start of this differentiation such that one would known what day 25, 35, 80 and 90 are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
Claims 1, 2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first
paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This rejection is maintained.
The claims broadly refer to steps of culturing that are necessary to produce an inner ear organoid with improved hair cell differentiation ability. The step of culturing is not defined except by the effect of forming endoderm, ectoderm and otic vesicles. The disclosure provides the following specifics which appear to be the sole means by which the method is performed.
[0037] ESCs were differentiated into an inner ear-like organoid based on prior literature [Koehler K R, Hashino E. 3d mouse embryonic stem cell culture for generating inner ear organoids. Nature Protocols 2014; 9: 1229-44]. Briefly, on day 3 of differentiation, non-neural ectoderm was induced by adding 10 ng/mL of recombinant BMP4 (Stemgent, Beltsville, MD, USA) and 1 μM SB431542 (Stemgent) to the cultured cells (non-neural ectoderm induction step). On day 5, preplacodal ectoderm was induced by adding 25 ng/mL of FGF-2 (Peprotech, Rocky Hill, NJ, USA) and 1 μM of LDN-193189 (Stemgent) (preplacodal ectoderm induction step). Cells were cultured for 2 days, and the medium was replaced with maturation medium containing 1% Matrigel on day 8 (otic vesicle induction and first maturation step). Half of the medium was replaced with Matrigel-free maturation medium every other day until day 18, and then, the organoid was cultured in the organoid medium (second maturation step). The schematic diagram of the differentiation process is shown in FIG. 1.
This is a limited descriptive element wherein the claims broadly and incompletely claim the inventive elements. Specifically, the method of producing the inner ear organoid having improved cell differentiation ability involves specific steps. First, the cells are induced to form ectoderm by addition of BMP4 and SB431542 on day 3. On day 5, FGF-2 and LDN-193189 is added until day 8 at which time Matrigel containing maturation media was added as a first maturation step with subsequent additions of Matrigel-free maturation media. The cells were considered differentiated at this point. A second maturation step was based in culturing the organoid in organoid medium from day 20-34 days wherein for improved hair differentiation, DAPT and CHIR-99021 were added to the second maturation step at day 28.
These specific compounds added to the cells for the culturing step were shown to be critical for the resulting product. However, the claims refer to them in generic terms. The Court indicated that while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of a genus is achieved by the recitation of a precise definition of a representative number of members of the genus, such as by reciting the structure. Structural features that could distinguish the compounds of the claimed genus from others not encompassed by the genus are missing from the disclosure. In this case, there are specific elements referenced but the claims reference these structures with broad generic functional terms that represent a large and diverse genus of elements.
To this end, the MPEP provides such guidance (emphasis added). If the application as filed does not disclose the complete structure (or acts of a process) of the claimed invention as a whole, determine whether the specification discloses other relevant identifying characteristics sufficient to describe the claimed invention in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize applicant was in possession of the claimed invention. For example, if the art has established a strong correlation between structure and function, one skilled in the art would be able to predict with a reasonable degree of confidence the structure of the claimed invention from a recitation of its function. Thus, the written description requirement may be satisfied through disclosure of function and minimal structure when there is a well-established correlation between structure and function. In contrast, without such a correlation, the capability to recognize or understand the structure from the mere recitation of function and minimal structure is highly unlikely. In this latter case, disclosure of function alone is little more than a wish for possession; it does not satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (written description requirement not satisfied by merely providing "a result that one might achieve if one made that invention"); In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming a rejection for lack of written description because the specification does "little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate"). Compare Fonar, 107 F.3d at 1549, 41 USPQ2d at 1805 (disclosure of software function adequate in that art). As recited, the method lacks critical elements that provide necessary function.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the methods of culturing (the remaining issue in the 112a rejection) is described in the disclosure and also well known in the art. What is described in the disclosure is not a genus of culturing methods. Applicants even provide the limited disclosure in their arguments. “In addition, the maturation and culturing step are fully supported by the specification. The specification (Example 1-1, paragraph [0033]) discloses a specific and complete culturing protocol for inducing endoderm, ectoderm, and otic vesicle (e.g., adding BMP4 and SB431542 on day 3, FGF-2 and LDN-193189 on day 5”. The MPEP sets forth “If a representative number of adequately described species are not disclosed for a genus, the claim to that genus must be rejected as lacking adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.” In this case, the step of culturing is an incredible large genus and the field of developing organoids a complicated art and hence applicants by providing a single species of culturing have not satisfied the written description genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wong et al (US 20240060040). This is a new rejection necessitated by applicants’ amendment.
Wong et al teach an inner ear organoid with improved hair cell differentiation (see Figure 1 and 10 as well as ¶0023). “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longworth-Mills (Methods Mol Biol. 2016 ; 1341: 391–406) in view of Liu et al (Stem cell Reports, 2021, pages 2257-2273). This rejection is maintained as regards claim 7 to which applicants arguments do not extend.
Longworth-Mills teach a method of producing inner ear organoids wherein the method involves culturing embryonic stem cells (ESC) in differentiation media (abstract). The culturing leads to endoderm, ectoderm and otic vesicles (see bridging ¶, page 1-2).
Liu teach hair cell formation in these differentiated tissues was stimulated by CHIR99021 and DAPT which are WNT signaling activators and g-secretase inhibitors respectively (see page 2261, briding ¶ col 1-2). This is critical as protection and regeneration of the mammalian cochlear hair cells are essential for hearing restoration (see Discussion).
(Page 2270, col 1) Instead, inner ear organoids could be obtained by 3D culture and staged induction from human pluripotent stem cells (Koehler et al., 2017). However, only a small proportion of the inner ear organoids contain differentiated hair cells and the induced hair cells from stem cell-derived organoids display vestibular but not cochlear characteristics (Koehler et al., 2017; Liu et al., 2016). Therefore, further optimizations of the human inner ear organoids for robust generation of cochlear hair cells will be a major challenge and a worthy undertaking.
Based on such teachings, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the steps taught by Liu et al in the methods of Longworth-Mills. Such a modification would have resulted in an inner ear organoid comprising the properties of claim 7. As noted above: 1) inner ear organoids are made by culturing cells to induce formation of endoderm, ectoderm and otic vesicles; 2) hair cell formation is stimulated in an improved method by DAPT and CHIR-99021. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, would have reasonably expected that the expanded method would allow improved inner cell formation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA MARVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634