Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 8/11/2026, wherein claims 1 and 30 were amended, claims 3, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 17-23, 26-27, 29 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12, 14, 16, 24-25, 28 and 30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12, 14, 16, 24-25, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassel (US 20060231449 A1) in view of LaBuda (US 5390818 A) and Wagner (US 20120199513 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hassel discloses a container, wherein the container comprises a base (12) and upstanding walls (14, 16) on the base, wherein the upstanding walls each comprise a top edge (top edge of 14, 16), the top edges defining a top opening therebetween, wherein the upstanding walls comprise first and second opposite long walls (16s) and third and fourth opposite short walls (14s), wherein the container comprises an inverted lifting handle (figure 1, bottom openings) to enable, at least in part, lifting of the container when the container is in an inverted orientation, and wherein the inverted lifting handle (bottom opening) is at an elevation proximal to an elevation of the base, and distal from an elevation of the top opening, the interior surface being corrugated to define a ribbed shape (wall 16 has ribbed shape), the ribbed shape comprising wall ribs in an upright orientation, on opposite upstanding walls (opposing 16s) of the upstanding walls of the container.
Hassel failed to disclose wherein the container further comprises a finger recess for the inverted lifting handle, wherein an interior surface of the container, comprising an interior side of the finger recess, is non-planar due to the finger recess and wherein the finger recess is alongside an outwardly-protruding rib of the wall ribs. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with inverted configurations, LaBuda taught of a container with a handle, with finger recess (30) that are shaped as a recess to help form a foothold or handhold for the user to use in transporting the receptacle (abstract). A handle shaped as such placed on Hassels invention would inherently result in a top of the finger recess not protruding further inward than the base corners of LaBuda. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handles of Hassel to be structured as recessed features as taught by LaBuda in order to allow for the recesses to be used as both handholds and footholds.
The references failed to teach “wherein an edge of the finger recess most inboard to the container dimensioned not to protrude inwardly beyond a pair of interior base corners of the upstanding wall having the finger recess, wherein the long walls meet one of the short walls at edges, wherein the interior base corners are at bottoms of the edges”. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with ribbing, Wagner taught of containers with corners (46, 48) that protrude inwardly and bevel in order to resist sliding movement of the base (page 2 [0038]). The incorporation of this feature on the device as taught by Hassel and LaBuda could lead to the claimed results. Further, alterations to the size of the bevel and finger recess would be considered not novel in view of the guidelines established In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the corners of Hassel and LaBuda to include bevels (meaning that the finger recesses do not protrude inwardly beyond the interior base corners) as taught by Wagner in order to allow resistance to sliding.
Examiner Note: [[wherein the finger recess is adjacent an inwardly-protruding rib of the wall ribs, wherein an edge of the finger recess most inboard to the container is dimensioned not to protrude inwardly beyond the inwardly- protruding rib]] is not being used for interpretation due to the “OR” optionality.
Examiner Note: “Outwardly Protruding wall rib” can have a broad interpretation. For example, from the bottom to the top, all walls can be considered outwardly protruding (relative to the bottom). Please note that the inwardly protruding wall ribs and outwardly protruding wall ribs are never positively claimed together.
With respect to claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Hassel further discloses wherein the inverted lifting handle is a first inverted lifting handle, and wherein the container comprises a second inverted lifting handle to a second opposite side of the container than the first inverted lifting handle. (openings on opposing walls of 16)
With respect to claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further discloses wherein the inverted lifting handle comprises a finger engaging surface (bottom surface of 32 of LaBuda facing 34) to impart a reaction force against an upwards lifting force applied to the finger engaging surface when the container is in the inverted orientation. Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 5, the references as applied to claim 4, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further discloses wherein the base comprises an upper side facing the upstanding walls, and an underside opposite the upper side and facing an opposite direction than the upper side, wherein the finger engaging surface (bottom surface of 32 of LaBuda facing 34) faces, at least in part, an opposite direction than the underside of the base. Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 6, the references as applied to claim 4, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further discloses wherein the finger engaging surface (bottom surface of 32 of LaBuda facing 34) comprises at least one of a depth dimension greater than or equal to one centimeter, to provide enough of a ledge to receive a digit of a hand of a user; or a width dimension greater than three centimeters to provide space to receive a plurality of digits of a hand of a user. (Both measurements are inherently met as LaBuda’s recess is intended to receive a user’s hand or foot) Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further discloses wherein the finger recess comprises first and second lower edges (see figure 4 of LaBuda) separated from each other in a depth dimension of the finger recess, and first and second upper edges (see figure 4 of LaBuda) separated from each other in the depth dimension, wherein the first and second lower edges and first and second upper edges extend in a width dimension of the container and are parallel to each other, wherein the first and second lower edges are vertically closer to the base than the first and second upper edges, wherein the first lower edge is inward of the second lower edge in the depth dimension, wherein the first upper edge is inward of the second upper edge in the depth dimension, wherein the second lower edge is a transitional edge, and wherein the transitional edge comprises a convex fillet. (It isn’t clear from drawings; however, it is clear that LaBuda includes a filleted edge for the base edge. It would’ve been obvious to include one on the surfaces relating to the finger recess as sharp edges would be undesired as it can harm the user.) Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further discloses wherein the inverted lifting handle comprises a reinforcing portion (top of 50 of LaBuda figure 5), wherein the reinforcing portion comprises at least one reinforcing rib (top of 50 of LaBuda figure 5). Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 12, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references as applied failed to disclose wherein the inverted lifting handle comprises a drain. However, LaBuda does teach of an aperture (40) or a duckbill valve (44 also known as a one-way drain valve) in order to allow selective flow. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the finger recess of Hassel and Labuda to include an opening as taught by Labuda in order to allow for increase flow.
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 12, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the drain is located at a finger engaging surface of the inverted lifting handle. (as taught by 40/44 of Labuda, refer to claim 12 rejection above for combination rationale.)
With respect to claim 16, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Hassel further discloses comprising an upright lifting handle (handle on figure 1 above) to enable, at least in part, lifting of the container when the container is in an upright orientation, wherein the upright lifting handle is at a same one of the upstanding walls as the inverted lifting handle. Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 24, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Hassel further discloses wherein the container comprises nesting separators and nesting platforms (figure 1 above) above the nesting separators, wherein the nesting platforms are configured to receive the nesting separators of another container nested within the container to provide a minimum vertical nesting separation distance between the top edges of the other container and the top edges of the container. (separation and configuration visible in figure 3) Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 25, the references as applied to claim 24, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Hassel further discloses wherein the minimum vertical nesting separation distance is greater than a vertical height of the finger recess from the base of the container, to prevent the base of the other container from hitting the finger recess of the container. (As visible in figure 3 of Hassel, for the bottom container, the base is visible through the finger recess. The bottom of the upper container is not visible through the finger recesses.) Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 28, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Hassel further discloses wherein the wall ribs extend up the upstanding walls further than the finger recess. (ribs of Hassel extend higher than the finger recess as taught by Hassel and LaBuda) Refer to claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
Claim(s) 1 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassel (US 20060231449 A1) in view of Albrecht (US 20160236817 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hassel discloses a container, wherein the container comprises a base (12) and upstanding walls (14, 16) on the base, wherein the upstanding walls each comprise a top edge (top edge of 14, 16), the top edges defining a top opening therebetween, wherein the upstanding walls comprise first and second opposite long walls (16s) and third and fourth opposite short walls (14s), wherein the container comprises an inverted lifting handle (figure 1, bottom openings) to enable, at least in part, lifting of the container when the container is in an inverted orientation, and wherein the inverted lifting handle (bottom opening) is at an elevation proximal to an elevation of the base, and distal from an elevation of the top opening, the interior surface being corrugated to define a ribbed shape (wall 16 has ribbed shape), the ribbed shape comprising wall ribs in an upright orientation, on opposite upstanding walls (opposing 16s) of the upstanding walls of the container.
Hassel failed to disclose wherein the container further comprises a finger recess for the inverted lifting handle, wherein an interior surface of the container, comprising an interior side of the finger recess, is non-planar due to the finger recess and wherein the finger recess is alongside an outwardly-protruding rib of the wall ribs, wherein the finger recess is adjacent an inwardly-protruding rib of the wall ribs, wherein an edge of the finger recess most inboard to the container is dimensioned not to protrude inwardly beyond the inwardly- protruding rib. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with inverted configurations, Albrecht taught of a container with recesses (80, 82) in order to allow for supporting the container in an inverted orientation (page 3, [0028]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handles of Hassel to be structured as recessed features as taught by Albrecht in order to allow for the recesses to be used as supports for an inverted orientation.
Examiner Note: “Outwardly Protruding wall rib” can have a broad interpretation. For example, from the bottom to the top, all walls can be considered outwardly protruding (relative to the bottom). Alternatively, when considering the wall from the top to bottom extension, the ribs are inwardly protruding.
With respect to claim 30, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further disclose wherein the inverted lifting handle is a first inverted lifting handle and the finger recess is a first finger recess (teachings of claim 1), wherein the container comprises a second inverted lifting handle to a second opposite side of the container than the first inverted lifting handle, and a second finger recess for the second inverted lifting handle (duplication of handles located at the bottom is taught by Hassel, recessed feature as taught by Albrechts), wherein the first finger recess is adjacent the inwardly-protruding rib (recess and description taught in claim 1) of the wall ribs, wherein an edge of the first finger recess most inboard to the container is dimensioned not to protrude beyond the inwardly-protruding rib (as taught by claim 1), and wherein the second finger recess is alongside an outwardly-protruding rib of the wall ribs, wherein an edge of the second finger recess most inboard to the container is dimensioned not to protrude beyond a pair of interior base corners of the upstanding wall having the second finger recess.
Examiner Note: “Outwardly Protruding wall rib” can have a broad interpretation. For example, from the bottom to the top, all walls can be considered outwardly protruding (relative to the bottom). Alternatively, when considering the wall from the top to bottom extension, the ribs are inwardly protruding.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-7784615-B2 OR US-6269967-B1 OR US-5096083-A OR US-6581796-B1 OR US-6471221-B1 OR US-20150321796-A1 OR US-20120199513-A1 OR US-20060273084-A1 OR US-20020008043-A1 OR US-20180016060-A1 OR US-20160280424-A1 OR US-20150151910-A1 OR US-20140361026-A1 OR US-20060065568-A1 OR US-20170190472-A1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735