CTNF 18/701,172 CTNF 85287 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3#113-e, R3-213788, ZTE, TP for TS38.413 Management of Multicast session, Agenda Item 22.2.2, 16-26 August 2021, hereinafter D1, IDS disclosed by applicant) . Regarding claim 1 , D1 discloses a method, in a Core Network (CN) of a wireless communication system (see Figure 8.Y.1.2-1, AMF), for managing paging of multiple User Equipment (UEs) interested in a Multicast and/or Broadcast Services (MBS) service (see section 2.4, if AMF determines that there are any UEs in CM-idle state and invoked in the MBS session; section 8.Y.1.1, the purpose of the MBS paging procedure is to enable the AMF to page UEs joining the multicast session) when respective radio connections between the multiple UEs and respective base stations of the wireless communication system are not active (see section 2.4, UEs in CM-IDLE state) the method comprising: generating, by the CN, a single multicast paging message to page the multiple UEs interested in the MBS service, the single multicast paging message including an indication of a respective set of radio capabilities of each UE of the multiple UEs (see section 9.2.xx.7 of page 37, MBS paging message including UE radio capability for paging); and transmitting, by the CN, the single multicast paging message to one or more base stations of the wireless communication system thereby causing the each UE to be paged in accordance with the respective set of radio capabilities for activating data reception of the MBS service (see section 8.Y.1.2, The AMF initiates the MBS paging message to the NG-RAN node supporting MBS session. At the reception of the MBS paging message, the NG-RAN shall perform paging of the UE in cells which belong tracking areas as indicated in the TAI list for paging IE…if the UE radio capability for paging IE is included in the MBS paging message, the NG-RAN node may use it to apply specific paging schemes). Regarding claim 3 , D1 discloses wherein generating the single multicast paging message includes generating a single multicast paging message including a session identifier of an MBS session of the MBS service, respective identifications of the multiple UEs, and the indication of the respective set of radio capabilities of the each UE of the multiple UEs (see section 9.2.X.X.7, page UEs joining multicast session with multicast session ID, UE radio capability). Regarding claim 11 , D1 discloses further comprising determining, by the CN, to page the multiple UEs for an indicated service, and determining that the indicated service is the MBS service; and wherein performing the method of claim 1 is responsive to determining that the indicated service is the MBS service (see section 9.2.xx.7 of page 37, MBS paging message including UE radio capability for paging); see section 8.Y.1.2, The AMF initiates the MBS paging message to the NG-RAN node supporting MBS session. At the reception of the MBS paging message, the NG-RAN shall perform paging of the UE in cells which belong tracking areas as indicated in the TAI list for paging IE…if the UE radio capability for paging IE is included in the MBS paging message, the NG-RAN node may use it to apply specific paging schemes. Regarding claim 13 , A node of a wireless communication system comprising processing hardware and configured to implement the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, Figure 8.Y.1.2-1, NG-RAN node). Regarding claim 30 , A Core Network (CN) of a wireless communication system, the CN comprising processing hardware and configured to implement the method of clam 1 (see Figure 8.Y.1.2-1, AMF, rejection of claim 1) Regarding claim 31 , A wireless communication system comprising processing hardware and configured to implement the method of claim 1 (see section 8.Y.1.2) .. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 4-5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of XU et al. (EP 4068871 A1, hereinafter “XU”) . Regarding claim 2, D1 disclose all the subject matter but fails to mention further comprising, upon an activation of data reception of the MBS service at at least one of the multiple UEs, sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one of the multiple UEs via the MBS session. However, XU from a similar field of endeavor discloses further comprising, upon an activation of data reception of the MBS service at at least one of the multiple UEs, sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one of the multiple UEs via the MBS session (see Figure 5 step 502, para. 0085 and 0141). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include XU data transmission scheme into D1 MBS paging scheme. The methos can be implemented in a network entity. The motivation of doing this is to reduce paging overheads (see para. 0005). Regarding claim 4 , D1 disclose all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein generating the single multicast paging message includes generating the single multicast paging message responsive to receiving, by the CN, content data of the MBS service that is to be delivered to interested UEs. However, XU from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein generating the single multicast paging message includes generating the single multicast paging message responsive to receiving, by the CN, content data of the MBS service that is to be delivered to interested UEs (see para. 0081-0085, 0089 and 0097, CN deliver data to UEs). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include XU data transmission scheme into D1 MBS paging scheme. The methos can be implemented in a network entity. The motivation of doing this is to reduce paging overheads (see para. 0005). Regarding claim 5 , D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein generating the single multicast paging message includes generating the single multicast paging message responsive to setting up, by the CN in conjunction with at least one of the one or more base stations, a respective set of resources corresponding to the MBS service. However, XU from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein generating the single multicast paging message includes generating the single multicast paging message responsive to setting up, by the CN in conjunction with at least one of the one or more base stations, a respective set of resources corresponding to the MBS service (see para. 0089, 0097, dedicated bearer for MBS). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include XU data transmission scheme into D1 MBS paging scheme. The method can be implemented in a network entity. The motivation of doing this is to reduce paging overheads (see para. 0005). Regarding claim 7 , D1 discloses wherein at least one UE of the multiple UEs is operating in an idle state (see section 2.4, UEs in CM-IDLE state). D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention the method further comprises, subsequent to a respective activation of data reception of the MBS service at the at least one UE operating in the idle state: sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one UE operating in the idle state. However, XU from a similar field of endeavor discloses the method further comprises, subsequent to a respective activation of data reception of the MBS service at the at least one UE operating in the idle state: sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one UE operating in the idle state (see para. 0081-0085, 0089 and 0097, CN deliver data to UEs). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include XU data transmission scheme into D1 MBS paging scheme. The methos can be implemented in a network entity. The motivation of doing this is to reduce paging overheads (see para. 0005). Regarding claim 8 , D1 discloses wherein at least one UE of the multiple UEs is operating in an inactive state (see section 2.4, UEs in CM-IDLE state). D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention the method further comprises, subsequent to a respective activation of data reception of the MBS service at the at least one UE operating in the inactive state: sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one UE operating in the inactive state. However, XU from a similar field of endeavor discloses the method further comprises, subsequent to a respective activation of data reception of the MBS service at the at least one UE operating in the inactive state: sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one UE operating in the inactive state (see para. 0081-0085, 0089 and 0097, CN deliver data to UEs). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include XU data transmission scheme into D1 MBS paging scheme. The methos can be implemented in a network entity. The motivation of doing this is to reduce paging overheads (see para. 0005). Regarding claim 9 , D1 discloses wherein one or more UEs of the multiple UEs are operating in an inactive state or in an idle state (see section 2.4, UEs in CM-IDLE state). D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention method further comprises, subsequent to a respective activation of data reception of the MBS service at the one or more UEs operating in the inactive state: transitioning, by the CN in conjunction with the one or more UEs operating in the inactive state or in the idle state, the one or more UEs to operate in a connected state. However, XU from a similar field of endeavor discloses method further comprises, subsequent to a respective activation of data reception of the MBS service at the one or more UEs operating in the inactive state: transitioning, by the CN in conjunction with the one or more UEs operating in the inactive state or in the idle state, the one or more UEs to operate in a connected state (see para. 0081-0085, 0089 and 0097, CN deliver data to UEs). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include XU data transmission scheme into D1 MBS paging scheme. The methos can be implemented in a network entity. The motivation of doing this is to reduce paging overheads (see para. 0005) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Ericsson, Paging Enhancements for Low complexity UE, TEI12, LC_MTC_LTE-Core, SA WG2 Meeting #105, Sapporo, Japan, 13-17 October 2014, S2-143796, hereinafter “D2”, IDS disclosed by applicant) . Regarding claim 6 , D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein: at least one UE of the multiple UEs is operating in an idle state; the method further comprises storing, at the CN, an indication of the respective set of UE radio capabilities of the at least one UE operating in the idle state; and generating the single multicast paging message that includes the indication of the respective set of radio capabilities of the each UE of the multiple UEs is based on the stored indication corresponding to the at least one UE operating in the idle state. However, D2 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein: at least one UE of the multiple UEs is operating in an idle state (see section 5.3.4.3, UE is ECM-IDLE state). D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention the method further comprises storing, at the CN, an indication of the respective set of UE radio capabilities of the at least one UE operating in the idle state; and generating the single multicast paging message that includes the indication of the respective set of radio capabilities of the each UE of the multiple UEs is based on the stored indication corresponding to the at least one UE operating in the idle state. However, D2 from a similar field of endeavor discloses the method further comprises storing, at the CN, an indication of the respective set of UE radio capabilities of the at least one UE operating in the idle state; and generating the single multicast paging message that includes the indication of the respective set of radio capabilities of the each UE of the multiple UEs is based on the stored indication corresponding to the at least one UE operating in the idle state (see section 5.11.x, MME stores UE capability for paging). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D2 storing scheme into D1 MBS transmission. The method can be implemented in a CN. The motivation of doing this is to decrease failure rate of paging messages . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Ling et al. (WO 2022/161815A1, hereinafter “Ling”) . Regarding claim 10 , D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein: at least one of the multiple UEs is operating in an inactive state corresponding to a respective radio connection with a first base station of the wireless communication system; the method further comprises receiving, by the CN, a request to switch a path of the at least one of the multiple UEs from corresponding to the first base station to corresponding to a second base station of the wireless communication system; and sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one of the multiple UEs via the second base station. However, Ling from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein: at least one of the multiple UEs is operating in an inactive state corresponding to a respective radio connection with a first base station of the wireless communication system; the method further comprises receiving, by the CN, a request to switch a path of the at least one of the multiple UEs from corresponding to the first base station to corresponding to a second base station of the wireless communication system; and sending, by the CN, content data of the MBS service to the at least one of the multiple UEs via the second base station (see Figure 6, page 11. Page 16 (item 1), switching the MBS session). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Ling switching scheme into D1 MBS scheme. The method can be implemented in a wireless network. The motivation of doing this is to continue MBS session without interruption . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0417854 A1) . Regarding claim 12 , D1 discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention further comprising including an indication of a respective discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle configuration corresponding to the each UE of the multiple UEs indicated in the single multicast paging message, the respective DRX cycle configuration corresponding to the each UE for the MBS service different than a respective DRX cycle configuration corresponding to the each UE for unicast services. However, Park from a similar field of endeavor discloses further comprising including an indication of a respective discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle configuration corresponding to the each UE of the multiple UEs indicated in the single multicast paging message, the respective DRX cycle configuration corresponding to the each UE for the MBS service different than a respective DRX cycle configuration corresponding to the each UE for unicast services (see para. 00358, indicating signal unicast traffic and Multicast/broadcast traffic). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Park DRX cycle indication scheme into D1 MBS scheme. The method can be implemented in a message or signal. The motivation of doing this is to save power. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMAD S ANWAR whose telephone number is (571)270-5641. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached at 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR Primary Examiner Art Unit 2463 /MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 7 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 8 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 9 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 10 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 11 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/701,172 Page 12 Art Unit: 2463