DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Bager does not disclose the claimed “input gear” having a “gear portion configured to transfer power…to a gear box” and further argues that Bager’s torque transfer direction is opposite to that recited in amended claims 1, 10 and 17.
Regarding the torque transfer direction, Bager discloses a shaft 3, a rotational member 2, and insulating members 5 positioned between the shaft 3 and rotational member 2, wherein torque is transferred from shaft 3 to rotational member 2 through the insulating members 5. Thus, when shaft 3 is mapped to the claimed rotor and rotational member 2 is mapped to the claimed input gear, Bager teaches the claimed relationship wherein rotation of the rotor causes rotation of the input gear. Bager expressly discloses that the insulating joint may be arranged between a gearbox a and a generator in para. 0055.
To the extent Bager does not expressly identify rotational member 2 as having a gear portion configured to transfer power to a gearbox, Filzen (US9698650) teaches an electric machine having a shaft 14, gearbox 28, and input/motor gear 32 configured to transfer rotational power to the gearbox through engagement with gearbox gear 30. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to facilitate transfer of the torque received through Bager’s insulated coupling to the gearbox, particularly in view of Bager’s express disclosure of use of the coupling in a gearbox/generator drivetrain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " The electric isolation coupler of Claim 1 further comprising a retainer attached to the input gear connecting portion…" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there were no previously introduced connecting portions. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bager (US 20190360467 A1) in view of Filzen (US9698650B2).
Claim 1
Bager teaches: An electric isolation coupler (1), the electric isolation coupler (1) comprising: an input gear (rotational member 2), the input gear comprising an input gear connector portion (second grooves 8);
a rotor (shaft 3), the rotor comprising a rotor connector portion (first grooves 4), wherein rotation of rotor (3) causes the input gear (2) to rotate; and a plurality of insulating elements (5) positioned between the input gear connector portion (8) and the rotor connector portion (4), wherein the plurality of insulating elements (5) are configured to connect the input gear connector portion (8) to the rotor connector portion (4); wherein the input gear (2) and the rotor (3) are electronically isolated while mechanically transmitting torque from the rotor (3) to a gear box (3 may be connected between a gearbox and a generator; see para. 0055).
Bager however does not expressly disclose:
the input gear comprising a gear portion configured to transfer power from the input gear to a gear box; wherein the input gear and the rotor are electronically isolated while mechanically transmitting torque from the rotor to the gear box;
Filzen relevantly teaches an electric machine 12 having a rotatable shaft 14 and a gearbox 28 operably connected to the electric motor. Filzen further teaches an input gear 32 mounted on motor shaft 14, wherein input gear 32 meshes with gearbox gear 30 supported in gearbox 28. Filzen therefore teaches the claimed gear portion configured to transfer rotational power to a gearbox. Bager expressly teaches that the insulated shaft joint may be arranged between a gearbox and a generator and is intended to provide high torque transmission while preventing electrical current across the generator and gearbox components (see para. 0055).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Bager’s rotational member 2 to include the gear portion/input gear arrangement of Filzen such that rotational torque receied by rotational member 2 from shaft 3 through insulating members 5 is transferred to a gearbox. Such a modification would be advantageous to facilitate transfer of the torque received through Bager’s insulated coupling to the gearbox, particularly in view of Bager’s express disclosure of use of the coupling in a gearbox/generator drivetrain.
Claim 2/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein the input gear connector portion (8) comprises a plurality of input gear grooves, wherein the plurality of input gear grooves are configured to hold the plurality of insulating elements (5).
Claim 3/2/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 2, wherein the rotor connector portion (4) comprises a plurality of rotor grooves, wherein the plurality of rotor grooves correspond to the plurality of insulating elements (5) for receiving the plurality of insulating elements (5).
Claim 4/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of insulating elements (5) is cylindrical shaped (insulating members may be in the form of rollers as seen in Fig. 6, see para. 0051).
Claim 5/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1 further comprising a retainer (6) attached to the input gear connecting portion (8), wherein the retainer (6) is configured to retain the plurality of insulating elements (5) to the input gear connector portion (8).
Claim 6/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, further comprising a non-conductive spacer (6) attached to the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4), wherein the non-conductive spacer (6) is attached between the plurality of the insulating elements (5) and an end of the input gear connector portion (8) and is configured for bearing axial load presented to and/or by the coupler (1).
Claim 7/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein at least one of the input gear connector portion (8) or the rotor connector portion (4) encompasses the other.
Claim 8/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein the rotor (3) further comprises a stopping element (axial resting platform for insulating elements 5 located at bottom of groove 4), wherein the stopping element is configured to bear an axial load on the plurality of insulating elements (5).
Claim 9/1
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of insulating elements (5) are spaced equidistantly about an axis of the coupler.
Claim 10
Bager teaches: An electric isolation system, the electric isolation system comprising: a first component (rotational member 2), the first component (rotational member 2) comprising a first component connector portion (grooves 8); a second component (shaft 3), the second component (3) comprising a second component connector portion (grooves 4), wherein rotation of the second component (3) causes the first component (2) to rotate; and a plurality of insulating elements (5), wherein the plurality of insulating elements (5) create a connection between the first component connector portion (8) and the second component connector portion (4); wherein connection is an electrically isolated connection while mechanically transmitting torque from the second component (3) to a gear box (3 may be connected between a gearbox and a generator; see para. 0055).
Bager however does not expressly disclose: a gear portion configured to transfer power from the second component to a gear box; wherein connection is an electrically isolated connection while mechanically transmitting torque from the second component to the gear box.
Filzen relevantly teaches an electric machine 12 having a rotatable shaft 14 and a gearbox 28 operably connected to the electric motor. Filzen further teaches an input gear 32 mounted on motor shaft 14, wherein input gear 32 meshes with gearbox gear 30 supported in gearbox 28. Filzen therefore teaches the claimed gear portion configured to transfer rotational power to a gearbox. Bager expressly teaches that the insulated shaft joint may be arranged between a gearbox and a generator and is intended to provide high torque transmission while preventing electrical current across the generator and gearbox components (see para. 0055).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Bager’s rotational member 2 to include the gear portion/input gear arrangement of Filzen such that rotational torque receied by rotational member 2 from shaft 3 through insulating members 5 is transferred to a gearbox. Such a modification would be advantageous to facilitate transfer of the torque received through Bager’s insulated coupling to the gearbox, particularly in view of Bager’s express disclosure of use of the coupling in a gearbox/generator drivetrain.
Claim 11/10
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein the first component connector portion (8) comprises a plurality of first grooves, wherein the plurality of first grooves are configured to hold the plurality of insulating elements (5).
Claim 12/11/10
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 11, wherein the second component connector portion (4) comprises a plurality of second grooves, wherein at least one of an individual first groove (8) of the plurality of first grooves corresponds to an individual second groove (4) of the plurality of second grooves and wherein the corresponding at least one individual first groove (8) and individual second groove (4) are configured to hold an individual insulating element (5) of the plurality of insulating elements.
Claim 13/10
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein the first component connector portion (8) comprises a first axis, wherein the second component connector portion (4) comprises a second axis and wherein the first axis is substantially similar (co-axial) to the second axis.
Claim 14/13/10
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 13, wherein the connection is configured to allow a movement of the first component (2) along the first axis and the second component (3) along the second axis.
Claim 15/10
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein first component connector portion (8) at least partially encloses the second component connector portion (4).
Claim 16/10
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The (resulting from torque transfer from wind, para. 0054) electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein connection is configured to transfer rotational force between the first component connector portion (8) and the second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4).
Claim 17
Bager teaches: An electric isolation system, the electric isolation system comprising: an input gear (2), the input gear (2) comprising an input gear connector portion (8) and a gear portion configured to transfer power from the input gear to a gearbox;
a rotor (shaft 3), the rotor (3) comprising a rotor connector portion (4) wherein rotation of the rotor (3) causes the input gear (2) to rotate; and a plurality of equidistant, cylindrical shaped (insulating members may be in the form of rollers as seen in Fig. 6, see para. 0051) insulating elements (5) positioned between the input gear connector portion (8) and the rotor connector portion (4), wherein the plurality of insulating elements (5) are configured to connect the input gear connector portion (8) to the rotor connector portion (4); wherein the input gear (2) and the rotor are electronically isolated while mechanically transmitting torque from the rotor (3) to a gear box (3 may be connected between a gearbox and a generator; see para. 0055).
Bager however does not expressly disclose:
the input gear comprising a gear portion configured to transfer power from the input gear to a gear box; wherein the input gear and the rotor are electronically isolated while mechanically transmitting torque from the rotor to the gear box;
Filzen relevantly teaches an electric machine 12 having a rotatable shaft 14 and a gearbox 28 operably connected to the electric motor. Filzen further teaches an input gear 32 mounted on motor shaft 14, wherein input gear 32 meshes with gearbox gear 30 supported in gearbox 28. Filzen therefore teaches the claimed gear portion configured to transfer rotational power to a gearbox. Bager expressly teaches that the insulated shaft joint may be arranged between a gearbox and a generator and is intended to provide high torque transmission while preventing electrical current across the generator and gearbox components (see para. 0055).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Bager’s rotational member 2 to include the gear portion/input gear arrangement of Filzen such that rotational torque receied by rotational member 2 from shaft 3 through insulating members 5 is transferred to a gearbox. Such a modification would be advantageous to facilitate transfer of the torque received through Bager’s insulated coupling to the gearbox, particularly in view of Bager’s express disclosure of use of the coupling in a gearbox/generator drivetrain.
Claim 18/17
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system of claim 17 wherein the plurality of insulating elements (5) are made of at least one of a plastic or ceramic material (para. 0051).
Claim 19/17
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system of claim 17 wherein the plurality of insulating elements (5) are located about an axis in reference to the input gear (2).
Claim 20/17
Bager as modified by Filzen teaches: The electric isolation system of claim 17 further comprising an electric motor (16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834