DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the plurality of insulating elements are configured to connect the input gear connection portion” in lines 5-6. Applicant is advised to correct to connector portions as previously introduced to remain consistent with claim disclosures. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites “the plurality of insulating elements are spaced equidistantly about an axis of the coupler” in lines 1-2. Applicant is advised to correct to the electric isolation coupler as previously introduced to remain consistent with claim disclosures. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “a plurality of insulating elements, wherein the plurality of insulating components” in lines 6-7. Applicant is advised to correct to the plurality of insulating elements as previously introduced to remain consistent with claim disclosures. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim recites the limitation "the plurality of insulating elements are located about an axis in reference to the first component" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there were no previously introduced first components. Examiner will interpret the term as referring to the input gear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bager (US 20190360467 A1).
Claim 1
Bager teaches: An electric isolation coupler (1), the electric isolation coupler (1) comprising:
an input gear (3), the input gear (3) comprising an input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4);
a rotor (2), the rotor (2) comprising a rotor connector portion (8); and
a plurality of insulating elements (9) positioned between the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) and the rotor connector portion (8), wherein the plurality of insulating elements (9) are configured to connect the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) to the rotor connector portion (8);
wherein the input gear (3) and the rotor (2) are electronically isolated.
Claim 2/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) comprises a plurality of input gear grooves (4), wherein the plurality of input gear grooves (4) are configured to hold the plurality of insulating elements (9).
Claim 3/2/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 2, wherein the rotor connector portion (8) comprises a plurality of rotor grooves (8), wherein the plurality of rotor grooves (8) correspond to the plurality of insulating elements (9) for receiving the plurality of insulating elements (9).
Claim 4/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of insulating elements (9) is cylindrical shaped (insulating members may be in the form of rollers as seen in Fig. 6, see para. 0051).
Claim 5/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1 further comprising a retainer (6) attached to the input gear (3) connecting portion, wherein the retainer (6) is configured to retain the plurality of insulating elements (9) to the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4).
Claim 6/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, further comprising a non-conductive spacer (6) attached to the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4), wherein the non-conductive spacer (6) is attached between the plurality of the insulating elements (9) and an end of the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) and is configured for bearing axial load presented to and/or by the coupler (2 presents axial load on 9 which induces axial load on 6 which in turn induces axial load on 3).
Claim 7/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein at least one of the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) or the rotor connector portion (8) encompasses the other.
Claim 8/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein the rotor (2) further comprises a stopping element (axial resting platform for insulating elements 9 located at bottom of groove 4), wherein the stopping element is configured to bear an axial load on the plurality of insulating elements (9).
Claim 9/1
Bager teaches: The electric isolation coupler (1) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of insulating elements (9) are spaced equidistantly about an axis of the coupler.
Claim 10
Bager teaches: An electric isolation system (1), the electric isolation system comprising:
a first component (2), the first component (2) comprising a first component connector portion (8);
a second component (3), the second component (3) comprising a second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4)`; and
a plurality of insulating elements (9), wherein the plurality of insulating components (9) create a connection between the first component connector portion (8) and the second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4);
wherein connection is an electrically isolated connection (due to insulation).
Claim 11/10
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein the first component connector portion (8) comprises a plurality of first grooves (8), wherein the plurality of first grooves (8) are configured to hold the plurality of insulating elements (9).
Claim 12/11/10
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 11, wherein the second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) comprises a plurality of second grooves (4), wherein at least one of an individual first groove (8) of the plurality of first grooves (8) corresponds to an individual second groove (4) of the plurality of second grooves (4) and wherein the corresponding at least one individual first groove (8) and individual second groove (4) are configured to hold an individual insulating element (9) of the plurality of insulating elements (9).
Claim 13/10
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein the first component connector portion (8) comprises a first axis, wherein the second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) comprises a second axis and wherein the first axis is substantially similar (co-axial) to the second axis.
Claim 14/13/10
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 13, wherein the connection is configured to allow a movement of the first component (2) along the first axis and the second component (3) along the second axis.
Claim 15/10
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein first component connector portion (8) at least partially encloses the second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4).
Claim 16/10
Bager teaches: The (resulting from torque transfer from wind, para. 0054) electric isolation system (1) of claim 10, wherein connection is configured to transfer rotational force between the first component connector portion (8) and the second component connector portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4).
Claim 17
Bager teaches: An electric isolation system (1), the electric isolation system (1) comprising:
an input gear (3), the input gear (3) comprising an input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4);
a rotor (2), the rotor (2) comprising a rotor connector portion (8); and
a plurality of equidistant, cylindrical shaped insulating elements (19) positioned between the input gear connection portion (tip of input gear 3 comprising grooves 4) and the rotor connector portion (8), wherein the plurality of insulating elements (19) are configured to connect the input gear (3) connection portion to the rotor connector portion (8);
wherein the input gear (3) and the rotor (2) are electronically isolated (due to insulation).
Claim 18/17
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system of claim 17 wherein the plurality of insulating elements (9) are made of at least one of a plastic or ceramic material (para. 0051).
Claim 19/17
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system of claim 17 wherein the plurality of insulating elements (19) are located about an axis in reference to the first component.
Claim 20/17
Bager teaches: The electric isolation system of claim 17 further comprising an electric motor (16).
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834