DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-7, claims 28-31 in the reply filed on 7/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0239476).
Regarding claim 28, Lee discloses a device comprising:
a case (102) defining a central axis;
a magnet frame (108) within the case (102) and rotatable about the central axis of the case (102); and
only two elongate diametrically magnetized magnets (110) that are located in the frame (108), that each define a longitudinal axis and a N-S direction, that are rotatable about the longitudinal axis relative to the frame (108).
Lee teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the magnetized magnets that each define a longitudinal axis and a N-S direction, that are separated from one another by a fixed distance (see the drawing below) of about 3.8 mm to about 4.2 mm that is perpendicular to at least one of the longitudinal axes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the magnetized magnets that each define a longitudinal axis and a N-S direction, that are separated from one another by a fixed distance (see the drawing below) of about 3.8 mm to about 4.2 mm that is perpendicular to at least one of the longitudinal axes for the purpose of preventing the outer magnets from crushing or locking the movement of the central magnet.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fixed distance)]
Regarding claim 29, Lee discloses:
the frame (108) includes two receptacles (118);
one of the elongate diametrically magnetized magnets (110) is located in each of the receptacles.
Lee teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the receptacles (118) are separated by about 3.8 mm to about 4.2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the receptacles (118) are separated by about 3.8 mm to about 4.2 mm for the purpose of preventing Arcing, providing an adequate air and surface gap to prevent electrical current from jumping (arcing) between the positive and negative contacts, and avoiding Short Circuits.
Regarding claim 30, Lee teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the elongate diametrically magnetized magnets (110) are attracted to one another with a magnetic attraction force that is less than 3.0 N.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the elongate diametrically magnetized magnets (110) are attracted to one another with a magnetic attraction force that is less than 3.0 N for the purpose of having low magnetic force.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0239476) in view of Smith et al. (US 2021/0299456).
Regarding claim 31, Lee discloses:
a headpiece (30, 36, 400) including an axially magnetized magnet (110).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose the axially magnetized magnet (110b) comprises an N55 magnet having a diameter of about 11.45 mm and a length of about 7.6 mm; and the elongate diametrically magnetized magnets comprise N52 magnets each having a diameter of about 2.3 mm and a length of about 8.3 mm.
Smith discloses a device comprising the axially magnetized magnet (110b) comprises an N55 magnet ([see para. 0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the axially magnetized magnet (110b) comprises an N55 magnet having a diameter of about 11.45 mm and a length of about 7.6 mm; and the elongate diametrically magnetized magnets comprise N52 magnets each having a diameter of about 2.3 mm and a length of about 8.3 mm for the purpose of achieving High Flux Density, Weight Reduction and Geometric Integration that guide the magnetic flux lines exactly where the device needs them.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
August 18, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837