DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species A1, in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 26 requires all of the features of claim 1 and thus fall under a single inventive concept. This is found persuasive and, thus claims 26-28 (Group II) will be rejoined onto Group I for further consideration.
With respect to Applicant’s traversal of the restriction requirement, Applicant’s arguments are based on the presently amended claims having a technical feature not taught by the references cited in the restriction requirement set forth in the office action mailed 06/10/2026. However, the restriction requirement was properly made with respect to the claims presented at the time of the previous office action (i.e., the claims as originally presented) and Applicant has not presented any arguments directed to the original claims. Also, even with respect to the newly amended claims, the amended claims do not make a contribution over the prior art (i.e., Species A1 and A2 still lack the same or corresponding special technical feature) because the groups do not make a contribution over the prior art, namely Liu (CN 209324703 U, cited in prior office action) as set forth below.
Liu teaches a sterilization and disinfection lamp (fan assembly 2, Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (walls of fan assembly 2, Fig. 1), wherein the housing is provided with a sterilization cavity (annular seat 24, Fig. 1), and an air inlet (lower mesh 25, Fig. 1) and an air outlet (upper mesh 23, Fig. 1), which communicate with the sterilization cavity (air sucked in by fan blade 21, Fig. 1);
a light-emitting assembly (light emitter assembly 5, Fig. 1), which is mounted on an outer surface of the housing (mounted on outer surface of annular seat 24 via frame 3, Fig. 1); and
a plasma generator (7, Fig. 1), at least part of which is accommodated in the sterilization cavity and generates positive ions and negative ions (p.2, last paragraph of English translation), wherein at least some positive ions and negative ions are combined in the sterilization cavity to sterilize and disinfect air flowing into the sterilization cavity through the air inlet, and at least some other positive ions and negative ions flow into the outside environment through the air outlet and are combined, so as to sterilize and disinfect the air of the outside environment (the recombination of the generated positive and negative ions in both the cavity and the outside environment is an intrinsic result of plasma generation encountering the flowing airstream, and thus, because the claimed structure is identical, the recombination to sterilize the air is a downstream result from the plasma generator 7, Fig. 1, see p.3, 6-7th paragraphs of English translation also demonstrating the recombination effect both in the air in the annular seat and the expelled air);
the air outlet is provided with an air outlet grid (mesh cover 23 is a grid because a mesh is a grid, Fig. 1), an air guide surface of the air outlet grid is obliquely arranged relative to a horizontal plane (the surface of the mesh cover 23 is slanted with respect to the horizontal plane relative to the drawing, Fig. 1), and the air guide surface obliquely extends downward along an air outlet direction (the surface slants downward along the mesh cover 23, Fig. 1).
Claims 4-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because the lines and text correlating to specific parts of the drawings are illegible (i.e., too blurry). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 3-4, “one or a plurality of air inlets are provided” should be corrected to “where a plurality of air inlets are provided”.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 3-4, “one or a plurality of air outlets are provided” should be corrected to “where one or a plurality of air outlets are provided”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 22-24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 209324703 U).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a sterilization and disinfection lamp (all of Fig. 1-2 except the three illuminating lighting assemblies, see drawing below), comprising:
a housing (annular seat 24, Fig. 1), wherein the housing is provided with a sterilization cavity (interior space of annular seat 24, Fig. 1), and an air inlet (lower mesh 25, Fig. 1) and an air outlet (upper mesh 23, Fig. 1), which communicate with the sterilization cavity (air sucked in by fan blade 21, Fig. 1);
a light-emitting assembly (three of the six light emitter assemblies 52, Fig. 1-2), which is mounted on an outer surface of the housing (mounted on outer surface of annular seat 24 via frame 3, Fig. 1); and
a plasma generator (7, Fig. 1), at least part of which is accommodated in the sterilization cavity and generates positive ions and negative ions (p.2, last paragraph of English translation), wherein at least some positive ions and negative ions are combined in the sterilization cavity to sterilize and disinfect air flowing into the sterilization cavity through the air inlet, and at least some other positive ions and negative ions flow into the outside environment through the air outlet and are combined, so as to sterilize and disinfect the air of the outside environment (the recombination of the generated positive and negative ions in both the cavity and the outside environment is an intrinsic result of plasma generation encountering the flowing airstream, and thus, because the claimed structure is identical, the recombination to sterilize the air is a downstream result from the plasma generator 7, Fig. 1, see p.3, 6-7th paragraphs of English translation also demonstrating the recombination effect both in the air in the annular seat and the expelled air);
the air outlet is provided with an air outlet grid (mesh cover 23 is a grid because a mesh is a grid, Fig. 1), an air guide surface of the air outlet grid is obliquely arranged relative to a horizontal plane (the surface of the mesh cover 23 is slanted with respect to the horizontal plane relative to the drawing, Fig. 1), and the air guide surface obliquely extends downward along an air outlet direction (the surface slants downward along the mesh cover 23, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches wherein the air inlet (lower mesh 25, Fig. 1) is located at a center of a bottom surface of the housing (bottom side of annular seat 24, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches wherein the air inlet (lower mesh 25, Fig. 1) is arranged on the bottom surface of the housing (bottom walls of annular seat 24, Fig. 1), one or a plurality of air inlets are provided (each pore of the mesh cover 25 is an air inlet, thus defining a plurality of air inlets, Fig. 1), the plurality of air inlets are arranged in a ring structure in cooperation (lower mesh 25 surrounds the decorative piece 251, Fig. 1), and adjacent air inlets are arranged at an interval (the lower mesh 25 constitutes individual air inlets in a pattern, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches wherein the air outlet is arranged on the side surface of the housing (mesh cover 23 is on a side surface of the walls of annular seat 24, Fig. 1), where one or a plurality of air outlets are provided (mesh cover 23 is a single part and defines thus a single combined air outlet, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches wherein the light-emitting assembly (three sterilizing light emitting assemblies 5, Fig. 1, see claim 1 rejection drawing above) is arranged in a circumferential direction of the air inlet (the sterilizing light emitters 5 surround circumferentially with respect to the lower mesh 25’s center, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches wherein a plurality of air guide ribs are disposed on a surface of the bottom surface of the housing (annular seat 24, Fig. 1) towards the interior of the housing (see drawing below)
the plurality of air guide ribs are arranged in a ring structure (circumferentially surround the center of the annular seat 24, Fig. 1), two adjacent air guide ribs are arranged at an interval (they are at a set distance from each other), an air guide duct is formed between two adjacent air guide ribs (air flows via the passage defined by the ribs, Fig. 1), the air passing area of the air guide duct gradually increases along an air outlet direction (see expanding outward arrow in drawing above), one end of the air guide duct communicates with the air inlet, and the other end of the air guide duct communicates with the air outlet (the air guide duct defined by the ribs are in fluid communication with both meshes 23 and 25, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches wherein a mounting head of the housing is provided with a first connecting structure (lamp frame 3, Fig. 1), the sterilization and disinfection lamp further comprises a mounting base (end part 51, Fig. 1), the mounting base is provided with a second connecting structure in cooperation with the first connecting structure (end part 51 is mounted on lamp frame 3, Fig. 1), and the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure may be connected in place to supply power to the sterilization and disinfection lamp (Fig. 3, showing the controller 6 is in electrical communication with LEDs 52, of which there is an electrical connection being formed when end part 51 is mounted on lamp frame 3 and LEDs 52, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches wherein the first connecting structure (lamp frame 3, Fig. 1) is fixedly connected to the second connecting structure (end part 51, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches wherein the sterilization and disinfection lamp further comprises:
a support post (mounting bracket 1, Fig. 1), one end of the support post being connected to the mounting base (mounting bracket 1 is mounted to lamp frame 3, Fig. 1), the support post is a hollow structure (in order to have the DC motor 26 electrically connected to controller 6, there have to exist wires within the mounting bracket 1, and thus, mounting bracket 1 is hollow to accommodate said wires, Fig. 1 and 3), and at least part of wires being accommodated in the support post (reasons stated above); and
a chassis, the other end of the support post being connected to the chassis (see drawing below),
wherein the chassis may be mounted on a wall to enable the sterilization and disinfection lamp hang on the wall (the suction cup 11 allows the attachment to a surface such as a ceiling, see p.1, 2nd to last paragraph citing ceiling fan structure);
the sterilization and disinfection lamp further comprises a cover body (lampshade 4 and dust screen 41, Fig. 1), the cover body is connected to the support post (lampshade 4 is mounted to mounting bracket 1, Fig. 1), and the light-emitting assembly is located in the cover body (lampshade 4 and dust screen 41 hold LEDs 52, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches a combined lamp (Fig. 1 and 2), comprising:
the sterilization and disinfection lamp according to claims 1 (claim 1 rejection above); and
an illuminating lamp (three illuminating lamps 52, Fig. 1-2, see drawing below), and the illuminating lamp is connected to the sterilization and disinfection lamp (all lamps 52 are mounted with respect to each other, Fig. 1-2), the illuminating lamp comprises a lamp housing (lampshade 4 and dust screen 41, Fig. 1) and a light source arranged inside the lamp housing (LEDs 52, Fig. 1), and the lamp housing (lampshade 4 and dust screen 41, Fig. 1) is detachably connected to the housing of the sterilization and disinfection lamp (detachably mounted to annular seat 24, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches wherein the combined lamp comprises at least one light-emitting group (one sterilizing lighting assembly and one adjacent illuminating lighting assembly as shown in the drawing above), and each light-emitting group is composed of a sterilization and disinfection lamp unit (one sterilizing lighting assembly, see drawing above) and an illuminating lamp unit (the one adjacent illuminating lighting assembly, see drawing above), wherein each sterilization and disinfection lamp unit comprises one sterilization and disinfection lamp (one sterilizing lighting assembly having one LED 52, see drawing above), each illuminating lamp unit comprises one illuminating lamp (the one adjacent illuminating lighting assembly having one LED 52, Fig. 1), and the light-emitting group comprises:
one sterilization and disinfection lamp unit and one illuminating lamp unit (one sterilizing lighting assembly and one adjacent illuminating lighting assembly as shown in the drawing above).
Regarding claim 28, Liu teaches wherein the combined lamp further comprises a connector (chassis, see drawing below) and a connecting post (mounting bracket, see drawing below),
one end of the connecting post is connected to the top surface of the housing of the sterilization and disinfection lamp (mounting bracket 1 is connected to annular seat 24, Fig. 1), the other end of the connecting post is connected to the connector (mounting bracket 1 is connected to the chassis portion above, Fig. 1), the illuminating lamp is connected to the sterilization and disinfection lamp (illuminating lamp assemblies are mounted to annular seat 24, Fig. 1), the connector may be mounted on a wall to enable the sterilization and disinfection lamp hang on the wall;
the combined lamp further comprises a plurality of connecting rods (lamp frame 3 having a plurality of arms, one for each lighting assembly, Fig. 1), one end of the connecting rod is connected to the illuminating lamp (illuminating lighting assemblies, see drawing below), and the other end of the connecting rod is connected to the connector (lamp frame 3 arms are mounted to chassis portion shown in the drawing above, Fig. 1); and
the combined lamp further comprises a lamp ring (ring-shaped assortment of sterilizing and illuminating lighting assemblies, Fig. 2), the lamp ring is arranged along a circumferential direction of the sterilization and disinfection lamp (sterilizing lighting assemblies are on the same circumferential direction as the illumination lamp circumferential pattern, Fig. 2), the lamp ring is provided with a plurality of lamp mounting positions for mounting the illuminating lamp (end part 51 accomodating illuminating LEDs 51, Fig. 1), and the lamp ring is connected to the connecting rod (each lamp from the ring of lamps is mounted to a lamp frame 3 arm, Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 209324703 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takasahara et al. (US 20170274113 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches wherein the sterilization and disinfection lamp further comprises a fan (fan 21, Fig. 1), the air inlet (lower mesh 25, Fig. 1) is arranged on the bottom surface of the housing (bottom walls of annular seat 24, Fig. 1), the air outlet is arranged on the side surface of the housing (mesh cover 23 is on a side surface of the walls of annular seat 24, Fig. 1), the fan is used for blowing the positive ions and the negative ions into the outside environment from the air outlet (p.4, 7th paragraph of English translation), the fan (21, Fig. 1) is directly opposite to the air inlet (lower mesh 25, Fig. 1) so that the air from the air inlet uniformly flows to the air outlet (mesh cover 23, Fig. 1) through the fan (p.4, 7th paragraph of English translation), and an emission head assembly of the plasma generator (the head of plasma generator 7 that the ions are generated directly on, Fig. 1) is arranged close to the air outlet relative to the fan (mesh cover 23 is downstream of the plasma generator 7, Fig. 1).
Liu fails to teach wherein the fan is a centrifugal fan.
Takasahara teaches a ceiling-mounted plasma generating assembly (Fig. 2) for the purpose of removing pathogens in the air ([0047]), further citing a centrifugal fan (33, Fig. 2) to generate a circulating airstream into and out of the ion generator ([0042]).
Liu and Takasahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wall-mounted airstream-circulating plasma generators.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the fan of Liu with the centrifugal fan of Takasahara, because the substitution of this feature yields the predictable result of generating a circulating airstream into and out of the ion generator (Takasahara, 0042]) with a reasonable expectation of success.
9. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 209324703 U) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Robert (US 20160367712 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches wherein the plasma generator (7, Fig. 1) is mounted on the housing (annular seat 24, Fig. 1); having an emission head assembly (circuitry of plasma generator 7 connected to control device 72, Fig. 3, also shown in drawing below), which is arranged on a cavity wall of the sterilization cavity (annular seat 24, Fig. 1), at least an emission head of the emission head assembly is arranged inside the air guide duct (see drawing below), and at least one emission head assembly is arranged inside at least one air guide duct (see drawing below).
Liu fails to teach wherein the plasma generator comprises: a plasma flyback transformer, wherein the plasma flyback transformer is connected to the emission head assembly.
Robert teaches a sanitizing assembly emitting ions/plasma to sanitize an airstream (Fig. 8) having a plasma generator (Fig. 21) comprising an emission head (electrode 80, Fig. 8 and 21) and an emission head assembly (circuitry of Fig. 21) further comprising dual flyback transformers (140,142, Fig. 21) in order to improve the output of ions from the electrode ([0142]).
Liu and Robert are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of plasma generators for airstream disinfection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plasma generator of Liu by incorporating a dual-flyback transformer circuit as taught by Robert, because doing so improves the output of ions from the electrode (Robert, [0142]) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, modified Liu fails to teach wherein a plurality of emission head assemblies are provided;
the plurality of emission head assemblies are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the cavity wall of the sterilization cavity, and the emission head of each emission head assembly is exposed in the sterilization cavity.
However, it would have been obvious to duplicate the single plasma generator mounted in the cavity wall of the sterilization cavity of modified Liu to now be a plurality of plasma generators, thus yielding the predictable result of increased plasma generation, because “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
With this modification, the plurality of emission head assemblies (duplicated emission head assemblies, see drawing above) are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the cavity wall of the sterilization cavity (a duplicated plasma generator would be at a set distance from the original plasma generator 7, Fig. 1), and the emission head of each emission head assembly is exposed in the sterilization cavity (the original plasma generator emission head is exposed in the sterilization cavity, so the duplicated one should as well).
10. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 209324703 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Machi et al. (US 20160031708 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the light-emitting assembly (sterilizing light emitting assemblies 52, Fig. 1, shown in claim 1 rejection drawing above) and the bottom surface of the housing (bottom surface of annular seat 24, Fig. 1), but fails to teach wherein the sterilization and disinfection lamp further comprises a radiator;
the radiator is padded between the light-emitting assembly and the bottom surface of the housing.
Machi teaches a plasma generator for the disinfection of air (100B, Fig. 5), further teaching a cooling module (210, Fig. 5) and heat radiating fins (220, Fig. 5) attached to one of the plasma generating electrodes (111, Fig. 5) in order to cool the electrode and dissipate heat ([0055-0056]).
Liu and Machi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of plasma generators for airstream disinfection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plasma generator of Liu by incorporating a cooling module and heat radiating fins adjacent to the plasma generating electrode as taught by Machi, because doing so would cool the plasma generating electrode and dissipate heat (Machi, [0055-0056]) with a reasonable expectation of success.
With this modification, the radiator (Machi, cooling module 210 and fins 220, Fig. 5) is padded between the light-emitting assembly and the bottom surface of the housing because the plasma generator (Liu, 7, Fig. 1) adjacent to the radiator is between the bottom surface of the housing (Liu, bottom surface of annular seat 24, Fig. 1) and the light-emitting assembly (sterilizing light emitting assemblies 52, Fig. 1, shown in claim 1 rejection drawing above).
Regarding claim 18, modified Liu teaches wherein the sterilization and disinfection lamp further comprises a fan (21, Fig. 1).
The limitation of “the gas temperature inside the housing may be less than or equal to 50° by arranging the radiator and adjusting the air velocity and air volume of the fan” are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by the Liu/Machi combination and the apparatus of the Liu/Machi combination is capable of having a gas temperature inside the housing less than or equal to 50° by arranging the radiator and adjusting the air velocity and air volume of the fan. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant' s invention (see MPEP §2114).
NOTE: this is a recitation of intended use / functional language, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, the instant combination teaches a radiator, fan, and a housing, to which the ambient environment could already be less than equal to 50° (Celsius or Fahrenheit), and with the fan running at a predetermined speed and the radiator being in the housing, the temperature of the gas entering the housing (which directly comes from the ambient environment) could also be under 50°.
Per MPEP 2114,II, claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758