Response and Amendment Filed
Applicant’s response and amendment, filed April 13, 2026, has been entered and made of record.
Previously Set Forth Objections and Rejections
The status of the objections and rejections set forth in the previous Office action (mailed January 13, 2026) is as follows:
The objection to the drawings under 37 CFR 1.83(a) has been overcome by the filing of a corrected sheet of drawings with the 4/13/26 response.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 55, 57 and 67-74 has been overcome with respect to claim 55, but is maintained with respect to claims 57 and 67-74 and is applied to newly filed claim 79 as below.
The 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 50, 52-57, 59, 60, 65 and 66 as being anticipated by Willis (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0126922) is hereby withdrawn.
The 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 51, 58, 61-64 and 67-74 as being unpatentable over Willis (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0126922) in view of Danitz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0261720) is hereby withdrawn.
The following new and reiterated grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 57, 67-74 and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 57, 67 and 79 recite “and/or” which renders the claim vague and indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined. As claims 68-74 depend from claim 67, they are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 50-54, 56-60, 65, 66, 75-80 and 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Appling et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2009/137800).
In regard to claims 50, 52, 56, 75 and 77, Appling et al. teach a device for tissue treatment (pulsed electric field ablation) comprised of a handle 50 and an elongated probe 10 that has a tip region having a at least a first voltage delivery region 14 and a second voltage delivery region 12 with at least one electrically insulating region 13 (spaced) that separates the at least two voltage delivery regions 12, 14 (see Fig. 1 and paras. 0022-0023). Figure 1 shows that the second and first voltage delivery regions 12, 14 are spaced apart in a non-overlapping manner that second voltage delivery region 12 has a tip 11 that can be part of voltage delivery region 12 and has a beveled profile (3-sided trocar tip) to enable or facilitate percutaneous application of probe 10 (see also Figs. 2 and 3 and paras. 0025-0026). Figured 2 and 3 also show that the tip 11 has a distal cutting region and a proximal non-cutting region where the distal cutting region has one or more blade edges extending proximally and configured to cut tissue and a proximal non-cutting region that has a smooth face extending proximally from a proximal end of the one or more blade edges where the smooth face is configured to stretch and expand tissue and increase hoop stress. In regard to claim 51, see para. 0083 of Appling et al. In regard to claims 53 and 54, Figures 2 and 3 of Appling et al. show that the distal cutting region is about 5% to about 50% of a full circumference of the second voltage delivery region 12 at the proximal, non-cutting region and that the proximal non-cutting region comprises a curved conical surface. In regard to claims 57 and 79, see para. 0026 of Appling et al. In regard to claim 58, see para. 0023 of Appling et al. In regard to claims 59, 60, 65, 80 and 84, see paras. 0038-0047 of Appling et al. discussing different lengths for the voltage delivery regions 12, 14 and the electrically insulating region 13. In regard to claim 66, Figures 2 and 3 of Appling et al. show that a change in angle between the blade edges of tip region 11 relative to a longitudinal axis of the tip region 11 as they transition to the smooth face is less than 20 degrees. In regard to claim 76, see para. 0039 of Appling et al. In regard to claim 78, see Figure 1 of Appling et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 61-64, 67-74 and 81-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Appling et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2009/137800) in view of Danitz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0261720).
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
In regard to claims 67, 68 and 71, see the above rejection for claim 50. With further respect to claim 67 and in regard to claim 51, Appling et al. are silent as to the application of sub-microsecond pulses. However, Danitz et al. teach a similar probe device utilizing sub-microsecond pulsing at a duration of less than 1000 nanoseconds for the purpose of manipulating intracellular structures (see paras. 0004, 0011 and 0134). Danitz et al. thus demonstrate that the use of sub-microsecond pulsing at a duration of less than 1000 nanoseconds is well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to equip the device of Appling et al. with the ability to deliver sub-microsecond pulsing at a duration of less than 1000 nanoseconds in order to better manipulate intracellular structures. In regard to claims 64 and 83, see Figs. 4-5 of Davitz et al. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Appling et al. with a spacer 13 that has a wider circumference than the voltage regions 12, 14 or that tapers as changes in the size of a prior art device are a design consideration within the skill of the art. See also para. 0028 of Appling et al. disclosing an additional spacing member 40. In regard to claims 61 and 81, see Figs. 14-18 of Davitz et al. In regard to claims 62 and 70, see Fig. 13 of Danitz et al. In regard to claims 63, 69 and 82, see Fig. 5 of Davitz et al. In regard to claims 72-74, see para. 0048 of Appling et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 55 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest a spacer with an adjustable circumference where the spacer is configured to be expanded when in place for delivery of a pulsed electric field (see, e.g., Fig. 9A and para. 00087 of the instant application). Neither Appling et al. nor Danitz et al. disclose adjustable spacers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 50-84 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Appling et al. is newly applied to teach first and second electrodes that are spaced apart from each other in a non-overlapping manner (as recited in amended independent claims 50 and 67 and in newly filed independent claim 75).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794