DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 07/23/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 15-20 are currently amended via a preliminary amendment.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Youngkyo Baek (US 20220272498 A1) in view of Shuang Liang et al (US 20230081286 A1).
For Claim 1, Baek discloses method in a base station for managing transmission of multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS) (Baek teaches, in ¶ 0015, a method and an apparatus for smoothly providing multicast/broadcast), the method comprising: receiving, by the base station from a core network (CN), a request ) (Baek teaches, in in operation 214, the AMF 250 transmits N2 Session Request (with MBS session context) to the RAN 240) to configure a common tunnel associated with a broadcast MBS session, via which the base station is to receive MBS data, from the CN, for wireless transmission to multiple user equipment (UEs) (Baek, in ¶ 0073 teaches that when the RAN 240 has already created a shared tunnel for the multicast session, the UE 230 receives traffic for the multicast session in operations 220 and 221. The shared tunnel is a tunnel for transmitting multicast data traffic for the multicast session from an MB-UPF to the RAN 240); and in response to the request, transmitting, by the base station to the CN, a configuration of the common tunnel via which the base station is to receive broadcast MBS data, from the CN, wherein the configuration includes an Internet Protocol (IP) address and a Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) (Baek teaches, in operation 217, the RAN 240 transmits an N2 session response message to the AMF. The N2 session response message includes the MB-SMF ID, the multicast session ID, and shared tunnel endpoint information such as the IP address of the RAN 240 and a shared tunnel ID).
Baek fails to disclose wireless transmission to multiple user equipment (UEs).
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses wireless transmission to multiple user equipment (UEs) (Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG-RAN transmitting to UEa and UEb).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 2, Baek discloses a method, further comprising: receiving, by the base station, the broadcast MBS data from the CN via the common tunnel (Baek teaches, in ¶ 0055, that the MB-UPF 140 may forward the multicast data to a RAN node or a UPF based on quality of service (QoS)).
Baek fails to expressly disclose configuring, by the base station, a logical channel associated with a radio interface and corresponding to the common tunnel; and transmitting, by the base station, the broadcast MBS data to the multiple UEs via the logical channel over the radio interface.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses configuring, by the base station, a logical channel associated with a radio interface and corresponding to the common tunnel (Liang teaches, in FIG. 6, that Source RAN has established Broadcast DRB with UEa); and transmitting, by the base station, the broadcast MBS data to the multiple UEs via the logical channel over the radio interface (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0051 that when the NG-RAN node receives the multicast data in the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN may determine to deliver the multicast flow via a broadcast mode or a unicast mode on a radio interface. If the unicast mode is used, the dummy multicast flow is used for transferring the multicast flow via a dedicated data radio bearer (DRB) on the radio interface. If the broadcast mode is used, the UEs in the same group of such a multicast service receive the multicast data via a shared DRB on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 3, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of method of receiving the MBS data includes receiving the broadcast MBS data associated with the multiple QoS flows; and transmitting the MBS data includes transmitting the broadcast MBS data associated with the multiple QoS flows via the logical channel.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses receiving the MBS data includes receiving the broadcast MBS data associated with the multiple QoS flows (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0051 that when the NG-RAN node receives the multicast data in the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN may determine to deliver the multicast flow via a broadcast mode or a unicast mode on a radio interface); and transmitting the MBS data includes transmitting the broadcast MBS data associated with the multiple QoS flows via the logical channel (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0051 that If the broadcast mode is used, the UEs in the same group of such a multicast service receive the multicast data via a shared DRB on the radio interface. Liang teaches, in ¶ 0074 that At 930, the method includes transmitting, upon determination that the data packets include the QFI, by the target radio access node, the data packets to the mobile device in a unicast mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 4, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of method of mapping a plurality of QoS flows in the broadcast MBS data to the plurality of logical channels.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses mapping a plurality of QoS flows in the broadcast MBS data to the plurality of logical channels (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0051 that If the unicast mode is used, the dummy multicast flow is used for transferring the multicast flow via a dedicated data radio bearer (DRB) on the radio interface. If the broadcast mode is used, the UEs in the same group of such a multicast service receive the multicast data via a shared DRB on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 5, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of configuring, by the base station, a multicast radio bearer (MRB) for transmitting data received via the common tunnel; and wherein transmitting the broadcast MBS data includes using the MRB.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses configuring, by the base station, a multicast radio bearer (MRB) for transmitting data received via the common tunnel; and wherein transmitting the broadcast MBS data includes using the MRB (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0060 that When multicast service data arrives in the NG-RAN via the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN decides to use either a unicast data radio bearer (DRB) DRB1a or DRB1b or a broadcast DRB to transfer the multicast service data on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 6, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of associating the MRB with a logical channel associated with the common tunnel.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses associating the MRB with a logical channel associated with the common tunnel (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0047 that the MBSF triggers the MB-SMF to establish an MBS flow via a shared tunnel for UEs that belong to the same multicast group under the same NG-RAN node... The multicast service data is transferred via the MBS flow in the shared tunnel to the NG-RAN node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 7, Baek discloses receiving, by the base station, the broadcast MBS data via the common tunnel (Baek teaches, in ¶ 0055, that the MB-UPF 140 may forward the multicast data to a RAN node or a UPF based on quality of service (QoS)).
Baek fails to explicitly disclose in response to determining that the common tunnel is associated with the MBS session, selecting a logical channel via which to transmit the broadcast MBS data.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses in response to determining that the common tunnel is associated with the MBS session, selecting a logical channel via which to transmit the broadcast MBS data (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0060 that When multicast service data arrives in the NG-RAN via the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN decides to use either a unicast data radio bearer (DRB) DRB1a or DRB1b or a broadcast DRB to transfer the multicast service data on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 8, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of in response to determining that the common tunnel is configured for receiving the broadcast MBS data for multiple UEs, selecting a logical channel via which to transmit the broadcast MBS data.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses receiving, by the base station, the MBS data via the common tunnel; and in response to determining that the common tunnel is configured for receiving the broadcast MBS data for multiple UEs, selecting a logical channel via which to transmit the broadcast MBS data (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0060 that When multicast service data arrives in the NG-RAN via the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN decides to use either a unicast data radio bearer (DRB) DRB1a or DRB1b or a broadcast DRB to transfer the multicast service data on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 9, Baek discloses a method, further comprising: based on at least one of IP address or a tunnel identifier of a received data packet, determining whether the data packet arrived via the common tunnel associated with the MBS session or a tunnel configured for a particular UE (Baek teaches, in in ¶ 0074, the RAN 240 transmits an N2 session response message to the AMF. The N2 session response message includes the MB-SMF ID, the multicast session ID, and shared tunnel endpoint information such as the IP address of the RAN 240 and a shared tunnel ID).
Baek fails to expressly disclose selecting a logical channel via which to transmit the data packet based on the determining.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses selecting a logical channel via which to transmit the data packet based on the determining (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0060 that When multicast service data arrives in the NG-RAN via the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN decides to use either a unicast data radio bearer (DRB) DRB1a or DRB1b or a broadcast DRB to transfer the multicast service data on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 10, Baek discloses receiving, by the base station, the broadcast MBS data via the common tunnel (Baek teaches, in ¶ 0055, that the MB-UPF 140 may forward the multicast data to a RAN node or a UPF based on quality of service (QoS)).
Baek fails to explicitly disclose based on determining that the MBS data is broadcast data
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses based on determining that the MBS data is broadcast data When multicast service data arrives in the NG-RAN via the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN decides to use either a unicast data radio bearer (DRB) DRB1a or DRB1b or a broadcast DRB to transfer the multicast service data on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 11, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of selecting includes selecting at least one of a multicast traffic channel or a dedicated traffic channel.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses selecting includes selecting at least one of a multicast traffic channel or a dedicated traffic channel (Liang teaches, in ¶ 0060 that When multicast service data arrives in the NG-RAN via the shared tunnel, the NG-RAN decides to use either a unicast data radio bearer (DRB) DRB1a or DRB1b [i.e., dedicated channel] or a broadcast DRB to transfer the multicast service data on the radio interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 12, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of configuring, by the base station, a multicast radio bearer (MRB) for the MBS session;
assigning, by the base station, a first identifier to the MRB;
configuring, by the base station, a data radio bearer (DRB) for a particular UE;
assigning, by the base station, a second identifier to the DRB.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses configuring, by the base station, a multicast radio bearer (MRB) for the MBS session (Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG- RAN configures/establishes broadcast DRB for multicast);
assigning, by the base station, a first identifier to the MRB (Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG- RAN identifies the drb for multicast as broadcast DRB);
configuring, by the base station, a data radio bearer (DRB) for a particular UE(Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG- RAN configures/establishes DRB1a with UEa);
assigning, by the base station, a second identifier to the DRB (Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG- RAN identifies the drb for UEa as DRB1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 13, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of assigning the first identifier and assigning the second identifier include selecting the first identifier and the second identifier from an overlapping number space.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses of assigning the first identifier and assigning the second identifier include selecting the first identifier and the second identifier from an overlapping number space (Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG- RAN identifies the drb for UEa as DRB1a and identifies the drb for UEb DRB1b. [DRB1a and DRB1b share an overlapping number space]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 14, Baek discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of assigning the first identifier and assigning the second identifier include selecting the first identifier and the second identifier from non-overlapping number spaces.
However, Liang, in the analogous art, discloses of assigning the first identifier and assigning the second identifier include selecting the first identifier and the second identifier from non-overlapping number spaces (Liang teaches, in FIG. 5, that NG- RAN identifies the drb for UEa as DRB1a and identifies the drb for multicast as broadcast DRB. [DRB1a and DRB share non-overlapping number space]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Baek with the two kinds of DRBs taught in Liang. The motivation is to enable reliable delivery mode switching between unicast and multicast [Liang: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 15-19, please refer to the rejection of Claims 1-5, above.
For Claim 20, please refer to the rejection of Claim 7, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner will respond in the rebuttal that follows:
Claim Rejection under 35 USC 102 and 103
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument that "Baek clearly contemplates limiting the shared tunnel to multicast only, and thus claim Baek cannot anticipate amended claim 1 or render amended claim 1 obvious," (remarks, page 7).
The reason being, and as Applicant rightly cited in the remarks, At par. 74, for example, Baek explains that "in the case where although the RAN 240 supports multicast, the shared tunnel for the multicast session has not yet been created, the RAN 240 transmits an N2 session response message to the AMF 250 in order to request shared tunnel setup in operation 217. The N2 session response message includes the MB-SMF ID, the multicast session ID, and shared tunnel endpoint information for receiving the multicast session traffic. The endpoint information may include the IP address of the RAN 240 and a shared tunnel ID".
Clearly, from the above citation, a PHOSITA easily recognizes that the B in MB-SMF ID stands for Broadcast. Therefore, Baek’s shared tunnel is not limited to multicast only; it also applies to broadcast.
For at least these reasons, amended claims are not yet allowable.
Accordingly, Examiner respectfully requests that the rejections be maintained as proper.
In light of the above rebuttal and rejection, Examiner believes that this instant rejection should be made final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jia et al (US 20230188949 A1) teaches that tunnel that is established in the multicast delivery manner and that is for transmitting the data of the multicast service may be a multicast tree, and the multicast tree may correspond to/identify one or more multicast services. The information about the tunnel may be a multicast IP address, and the multicast IP address may include a common TED (Common-TEID, C-TEID), an IP address of the MB-UPF, or the like.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412