DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filling of the Amendment on 03/22/2026.
Drawings
Figures 1a and 1b should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8, second line recites “an AC power supply”, which should be -- the AC power supply -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Marcinkiewicz (US 2017/0302200).
Regarding claim 1, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) a power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) for converting power supplied by an AC power supply (figure 2, part AC Line) and providing the converted power (figure 2, part converted power from 232) to a heat pump (figure 2, part 102) (paragraph [0023]; the present disclosure is applicable to other types of refrigeration systems including, but not limited to, heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC), heat pump, refrigeration, and chiller systems), comprising: a three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408), a DC-Link (figure 4, part DC-Link between 404 and 426) and an inverter (figure 4, part 402), wherein: the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408) is configured to receive the supplied power (figure 4, part supply power from Vac), and convert (figure 4, part 408) the received power to DC power (figure 4, part DC power output from 408) (paragraph [0065]; The rectification circuit 408 includes a bridge rectifier 420. The bridge rectifier 420 may include six diodes, as shown), the DC-Link (figure 4, part DC-Link between 404 and 426) is configured to receive the converted DC power (figure 4, part DC power output from 408), and filter (figure 4, part through 430) the received DC power (figure 4, part DC power output from 408) (paragraph [0065]; An output voltage of the bridge rectifier 420 may be referred to as a main voltage. A DC output of the portion 400 is provided to a DC bus 426, which may refer to the DC bus connected between the PFC circuit 212 and the inverter power circuit 208 of FIG. 2), the inverter (figure 4, part 402) is configured to receive the filtered DC power (figure 4, part filtered DC power at Vdcout), and convert the received DC power (figure 4, part DC power at Vdcout) to AC power (figure 4, part AC power output from 402) to be provided to the heat pump (figures 2 and 4, part 102) (paragraph [0072]; The inverter outputs signals INV.sub.1-n may control operation of switches 440, 442, 444, 446, 448, 450 of the portion 402 of the inverter power circuit for the compressor 102), and the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) is configured to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) with three phase wires (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422) (paragraph [0065]; The EMI filter 406 receives a 3-phase AC voltage V.sub.AC from a 3-phase AC input 422) and to also be connected (figure 7) to a single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) with a phase wire and a neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722) (paragraph [0091]; The EMI filter 706 receives a single phase AC voltage VAC from a single phase AC input 722).
Regarding claim 2, Marcinkiewicz discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408) comprises three arms (figure 4, part three arms at 420), and the three arms (figure 4, part three arms at 420) of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408) are configured to connect (figure 4, part three arms at 420) to the three phase wires of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422), respectively (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) (paragraph [0065]; The rectification circuit 408 includes a bridge rectifier 420. The bridge rectifier 420 may include six diodes, as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Marcinkiewicz discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) a first arm of three arms (figures 4 and 7, part first arm of the three arms at 420/720) of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408) is configured to connect to the phase wire of the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part upper phase wire at 722), and a second arm (figures 4 and 7, part second arm of the three arms at 420/720) of the three arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408) is configured to connect to the neutral wire of the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part lower neutral wire at 722).
Regarding claim 8, Marcinkiewicz discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) a method for connecting the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) in an AC power supply (figure 2, part AC Line), so as to convert power supplied by the AC power supply (figure 2, part AC Line) and provide the converted power (figure 2, part converted power from 232) to the heat pump (figure 2, part 102) (paragraph [0023]; the present disclosure is applicable to other types of refrigeration systems including, but not limited to, heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC), heat pump, refrigeration, and chiller systems), wherein the AC power supply (figure 2, part AC Line) can be either the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) comprising the three phase wires (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422) (paragraph [0065]; The EMI filter 406 receives a 3-phase AC voltage V.sub.AC from a 3-phase AC input 422), or the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) with the phase wire and the neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722) (paragraph [0091]; The EMI filter 706 receives a single phase AC voltage VAC from a single phase AC input 722), the method comprising: for the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac), connecting the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) to the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) by connecting arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part arms 420 at 408) to the three phase wires (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422) of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac), and for the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac), connecting the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) to the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) also by connecting arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 7, part arms 720 at 708) to the phase wire and the neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722) of the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac).
Regarding claim 9, claim 2 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, claim 3 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcinkiewicz (US 2017/0302200), in view of Sun et al. (US 2020/0083727), hereinafter Sun.
Regarding claim 4, Marcinkiewicz discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) all three arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part three arms at 420), the DC-Link (figure 4, part DC-Link between 404 and 426), and the neutral wire of the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part lower neutral wire at 722). However, Marcinkiewicz does not expressly disclose all three arms of the three-phase rectifier are configured to connect to the phase wire of the single-phase AC power supply, the DC-Link comprises two capacitors connected in series, and a node between the two capacitors is configured to connect to the neutral wire of the single-phase AC power supply.
Sun teaches (see figures 1-6) all three arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 1A, part all three arms of the three-phase rectifier at N4-N6) are configured to connect to the phase wire of the single-phase AC power supply (figure 1A, part N1; when AC power terminal 11 receives single-phase AC input or single-phase AC output, S1 up connection to N1 and S2 up connection to N1), the DC-Link (figure 1A, part C1/C2) comprises two capacitors (figure 1A, part C1/C2) connected in series (figure 1A, part C1/C2), and a node (figure 1A, part nc2) between the two capacitors (figure 1A, part C1/C2) is configured to connect to the neutral wire of the single-phase AC power supply (figure 1A, part NC1) (paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power conversion apparatus of Marcinkiewicz with the converter features as taught Sun and obtain all three arms of the three-phase rectifier are configured to connect to the phase wire of the single-phase AC power supply, the DC-Link comprises two capacitors connected in series, and a node between the two capacitors is configured to connect to the neutral wire of the single-phase AC power supply, because it provides more efficient power conversion compatible with single-phase and three-phase AC power supply (paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Marcinkiewicz discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) for each wire of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422) and/or the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part phase wire at 722). However, Marcinkiewicz does not expressly disclose an inductor is configured in said each wire.
Sun teaches (see figures 1-6) for each wire of the three-phase AC power supply and/or the single-phase AC power supply (figure 1A, parts N1-N3), an inductor is configured in said each wire (figure 1A, part La-Lc).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power conversion apparatus of Marcinkiewicz with the converter features as taught Sun and obtain for each wire of the three-phase AC power supply and/or the single-phase AC power supply, an inductor is configured in said each wire, because it provides more efficient power conversion compatible with single-phase and three-phase AC power supply (paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, claim 4 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, claim 5 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) a power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) for converting power supplied (figure 2, part AC Line) by a three- phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) with first, second and third phase wires (figure 4, part first, second and third phase wires at 422), for converting power supplied (figure 2, part AC Line) by a single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) with one phase wire and one neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722), and for providing the converted power (figure 2, part converted power from 232) to a heat pump (figure 2, part 102) (paragraph [0023]; the present disclosure is applicable to other types of refrigeration systems including, but not limited to, heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC), heat pump, refrigeration, and chiller systems), the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) comprising: a three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408), including first, second and third arms (figure 4, part first, second and third arms at 420), configured to receive the supplied power (figure 4, part input supplied power to first, second and third arms at 420) and to convert (figure 4, part 408) the received power to DC power (figure 4, part output DC power from first, second and third arms at 420) (paragraph [0065]; The rectification circuit 408 includes a bridge rectifier 420. The bridge rectifier 420 may include six diodes, as shown); a DC-Link (figure 4, part DC-Link between 404 and 426) is configured to receive the DC power (figure 4, part output DC power from first, second and third arms at 420) and to filter (figure 4, part through 430) the received DC power (figure 4, part output DC power from first, second and third arms at 420) (paragraph [0065]; An output voltage of the bridge rectifier 420 may be referred to as a main voltage. A DC output of the portion 400 is provided to a DC bus 426, which may refer to the DC bus connected between the PFC circuit 212 and the inverter power circuit 208 of FIG. 2), an inverter (figure 4, part 402) is configured to receive the filtered DC power (figure 4, part filtered DC power at Vdcout) and to convert the received DC power (figure 4, part DC power at Vdcout) to AC power (figure 4, part AC power output from 402) to be provided to the heat pump (figures 2 and 4, part 102) (paragraph [0072]; The inverter outputs signals INV.sub.1-n may control operation of switches 440, 442, 444, 446, 448, 450 of the portion 402 of the inverter power circuit for the compressor 102), first, second and third nodes (figure 4, part left input nodes connected to the first, second and third arms at 420) that are respectively connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part first, second and third arms at 420); wherein the first, second and third nodes (figure 4, part left input nodes connected to the first, second and third arms at 420) are configured to be respectively connected to the first, second and third phase wires of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part first, second and third phase wires at 422) when the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132); wherein when the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132).
Marcinkiewicz does not expressly disclose a fourth node that is connected to the DC-Link; wherein the first, second and third nodes are configured to be simultaneously connected to the one phase wire and the fourth node is configured to be connected to the one neutral wire when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus; and wherein one of the first, second and third nodes is configured to be connected to the one phase wire and another one of the first, second and third nodes is configured to be connected to the one neutral wire when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus.
Sun teaches (see figures 1-6) first, second and third nodes (figure 1A, parts first, second and third nodes connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier through N4, N5 and N6) that are respectively connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 1A, parts first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier connected to N4, N5 and N6); and a fourth node (figure 1A, part node connected to NC1) that is connected to the DC-Link (figure 1A, part DC-Link at C1/C2; through NC2); wherein the first, second and third nodes (figure 1A, parts first, second and third nodes connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier through N4, N5 and N6) are configured to be respectively connected to the first, second and third phase wires (figure 1A, part N1-N3 wires when the three-phase AC power supply at 11 is connected) of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 1A, part three-phase AC power supply at 11) when the three-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 1A, when the three-phase AC power supply at 11 is connected) (figure 2, part S21 to S22) (paragraph [0080]; The control module 13 is configured to: control the first end of the first switch set S1 to be coupled to the third end (the second node N2) of the first switch set S1 and the first end of the second switch set S2 to be coupled to the third end (the third node N3) of the second switch set S2; when the AC power terminal receives three-phase AC input or sends three-phase AC output); wherein the first, second and third nodes (figure 1A, parts first, second and third nodes connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier through N4, N5 and N6) are configured to be simultaneously connected to the one phase wire (figure 1A, parts N1 wire when single-phase AC power supply is connected) and the fourth node (figure 1A, part node connected to NC1) is configured to be connected to the one neutral wire (figure 1A, part neutral wire at NC1) when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 1A, when the single-phase AC power supply at 11 is connected) (figure 2, part S21 to S23) (paragraph [0080]; control the second end of the first switch set S1 to be coupled to the second end (the first node N1) of the first switch set S1, and the first end of the second switch set S2 to be disconnected with the third end (the third node N3) of the second switch set S2, when the AC power terminal 11 receives single-phase AC input or single-phase AC output, which includes two conditions in which the first end of the second switch set S2 is coupled to or disconnected with the second end of the second switch set S2); and wherein one of the first, second and third nodes (figure 1A, parts first, second and third nodes connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier through N4, N5 and N6) is configured to be connected to the one phase wire (figure 1A, parts N1 wire when single-phase AC power supply is connected) and another one of the first, second and third nodes (figure 1A, parts first, second and third nodes connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier through N4, N5 and N6) is configured to be connected to the one neutral wire (figure 1A, part neutral wire at NC1) when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 1A, when the single-phase AC power supply at 11 is connected) (figure 2, part S21 to S23) (paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power conversion apparatus of Marcinkiewicz with the converter features as taught Sun and obtain a power conversion apparatus for converting power supplied by a three- phase AC power supply with first, second and third phase wires, for converting power supplied by a single-phase AC power supply with one phase wire and one neutral wire, and for providing the converted power to a heat pump, the power conversion apparatus comprising: a three-phase rectifier, including first, second and third arms, configured to receive the supplied power and to convert the received power to DC power; a DC-Link configured to receive the DC power and to filter the received DC power; an inverter configured to receive the filtered DC power and to convert the filtered DC power to AC power to be provided to the heat pump; first, second and third nodes that are respectively connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier; and a fourth node that is connected to the DC-Link; wherein the first, second and third nodes are configured to be respectively connected to the first, second and third phase wires of the three-phase AC power supply when the three-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus; wherein the first, second and third nodes are configured to be simultaneously connected to the one phase wire and the fourth node is configured to be connected to the one neutral wire when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus; and wherein one of the first, second and third nodes is configured to be connected to the one phase wire and another one of the first, second and third nodes is configured to be connected to the one neutral wire when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus, because it provides more efficient power conversion compatible with single-phase and three-phase AC power supply (paragraph [0006]).
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcinkiewicz (US 2017/0302200), in view of Ripoll et al. (US 2015/0239358), hereinafter Ripoll.
Regarding claim 6, Marcinkiewicz discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132). However, Marcinkiewicz does not expressly disclose a single-phase rectifier configured to receive power supplied by the single-phase AC power supply, and all three arms of the three-phase rectifier are configured to connect to output of the single-phase rectifier.
Ripoll teaches (see figures 1-4) the power conversion apparatus (figure 2) further comprises a single-phase rectifier (figure 2, part 8) configured to receive power supplied by the single-phase AC power supply (figure 2, part input AC power supply of 8), and all three arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 2, part all three arms at 61-72) are configured to connect to output of the single-phase rectifier (figure 2, part output of 8) (paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power conversion apparatus of Marcinkiewicz with the converter features as taught Ripoll and obtain the power conversion apparatus further comprises a single-phase rectifier configured to receive power supplied by the single-phase AC power supply, and all three arms of the three-phase rectifier are configured to connect to output of the single-phase rectifier, because it increases the energy efficiency of the power converter with a good performance and compatibility with three-phase and single-phase network (paragraphs [0007]-[0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Marcinkiewicz and Ripoll teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). However, Marcinkiewicz does not expressly disclose for each connection between the respective arm of the three-phase rectifier and the output of the single-phase rectifier, an inductor is configured in said each connection.
Ripoll teaches (see figures 1-4) for each connection between the respective arm of the three-phase rectifier (figure 2, part all three arms at 61-72) and the output of the single-phase rectifier (figure 2, part output of 8), an inductor is configured in said each connection (figure 2, parts 51-53).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power conversion apparatus of Marcinkiewicz with the converter features as taught Ripoll and obtain for each connection between the respective arm of the three-phase rectifier and the output of the single-phase rectifier, an inductor is configured in said each connection, because it increases the energy efficiency of the power converter with a good performance and compatibility with three-phase and single-phase network (paragraphs [0007]-[0009]).
Regarding claim 13, claim 6 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, claim 7 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Marcinkiewicz discloses (see figures 1-8) a power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) for converting power supplied (figure 2, part AC Line) by a three- phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) with first, second and third phase wires (figure 4, part first, second and third phase wires at 422), for converting power supplied (figure 2, part AC Line) by a single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) with one phase wire and one neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722), and for providing the converted power (figure 2, part converted power from 232) to a heat pump (figure 2, part 102) (paragraph [0023]; the present disclosure is applicable to other types of refrigeration systems including, but not limited to, heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC), heat pump, refrigeration, and chiller systems), the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) comprising: a three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part 408), including a current supply end (figure 4, part 408; current supply end), a current return end (figure 4, part 408; return end) and first, second and third arms (figure 4, part first, second and third arms at 420), configured to receive the supplied power (figure 4, part input supplied power to first, second and third arms at 420) and to convert (figure 4, part 408) the received power to DC power (figure 4, part output DC power from first, second and third arms at 420) (paragraph [0065]; The rectification circuit 408 includes a bridge rectifier 420. The bridge rectifier 420 may include six diodes, as shown); a DC-Link (figure 4, part DC-Link between 404 and 426) is configured to receive the DC power (figure 4, part output DC power from first, second and third arms at 420) and to filter (figure 4, part through 430) the received DC power (figure 4, part output DC power from first, second and third arms at 420) (paragraph [0065]; An output voltage of the bridge rectifier 420 may be referred to as a main voltage. A DC output of the portion 400 is provided to a DC bus 426, which may refer to the DC bus connected between the PFC circuit 212 and the inverter power circuit 208 of FIG. 2), an inverter (figure 4, part 402) is configured to receive the filtered DC power (figure 4, part filtered DC power at Vdcout) and to convert the received DC power (figure 4, part DC power at Vdcout) to AC power (figure 4, part AC power output from 402) to be provided to the heat pump (figures 2 and 4, part 102) (paragraph [0072]; The inverter outputs signals INV.sub.1-n may control operation of switches 440, 442, 444, 446, 448, 450 of the portion 402 of the inverter power circuit for the compressor 102); first, second and third nodes (figure 4, part left input nodes connected to the first, second and third arms at 420) that are respectively connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier (figure 4, part first, second and third arms at 420); wherein the first, second and third nodes (figure 4, part left input nodes connected to the first, second and third arms at 420) are configured to be respectively connected to the first, second and third phase wires of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part first, second and third phase wires at 422) when the three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132); wherein when the single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132).
Marcinkiewicz does not expressly disclose a single-phase rectifier, including first and second arms, a current supply end connected to the first, second and third nodes and a current return end, connected to the current return end connected of the three-phase rectifier; and fourth and fifth nodes that are respectively connected to the first and second arms of the single-phase rectifier; and wherein the fourth node is configured to be connected to the one phase wire and the fifth node is configured to be connected to be connected to the one neutral wire when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus.
Ripoll teaches (see figures 1-4) a single-phase rectifier (figure 2, part 8), including first (figure 2, part 82/84) and second arms (figure 2, part 81/83), a current supply end (figure 2, part 8; supply end) connected to the first, second and third nodes (figure 2, part first, second and third nodes connected to left side of 51-53) and a current return end (figure 2, part 8; return end), connected to the current return end (figure 2, part 8; return end) connected of the three-phase rectifier (figure 2, part three-phase rectifier generated by 5/6); and fourth (figure 2, part 86) and fifth nodes (figure 2, part 85) that are respectively connected to the first (figure 2, part 82/84) and second arms (figure 2, part 81/83) of the single-phase rectifier (figure 2, part 8); wherein the first, second and third nodes (figure 2, part first, second and third nodes connected to left side of 51-53) are configured to be respectively connected to the first, second and third phase wires (figure 2, part first, second and third phase wires from 1a/1b connected to left side of 51-53) of the three-phase AC power supply (figure 2, part three-phase AC power supply at 1a) when the three-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part when three-phase AC power supply is connected at 1a) (paragraph [0076]); and wherein the fourth node (figure 2, part 86) is configured to be connected to the one phase wire (figure 2, part upper first phase wire from 1b) and the fifth node (figure 2, part 85) is configured to be connected to be connected to the one neutral wire (figure 2, part neutral wire of 1b) when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part when single-phase AC power supply is connected at 1b) (paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power conversion apparatus of Marcinkiewicz with the converter features as taught Ripoll and obtain a power conversion apparatus for converting power supplied by a three- phase AC power supply with first, second and third phase wires, for converting power supplied by a single-phase AC power supply with one phase wire and one neutral wire, and for providing the converted power to a heat pump, the power conversion apparatus comprising: a three-phase rectifier, including a current supply end, a current return end and first, second and third arms, configured to receive the supplied power and to convert the received power to DC power; a DC-Link configured to receive the DC power and to filter the received DC power; an inverter configured to receive the filtered DC power and to convert the filtered DC power to AC power to be provided to the heat pump; first, second and third nodes that are respectively connected to the first, second and third arms of the three-phase rectifier; a single-phase rectifier, including first and second arms, a current supply end connected to the first, second and third nodes and a current return end, connected to the current return end connected of the three-phase rectifier; and fourth and fifth nodes that are respectively connected to the first and second arms of the single-phase rectifier; wherein the first, second and third nodes are configured to be respectively connected to the first, second and third phase wires of the three-phase AC power supply when the three-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus; and wherein the fourth node is configured to be connected to the one phase wire and the fifth node is configured to be connected to be connected to the one neutral wire when the single-phase AC power supply is connected to the power conversion apparatus, because it increases the energy efficiency of the power converter with a good performance and compatibility with three-phase and single-phase network (paragraphs [0007]-[0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues on page 8 of the Applicant's Response (“With respect to the recitation of "an AC power supply" in line 2, applicant respectfully submits that in view of the later recitations of three-phase and single-phase power supplies in claim 8, the word "an" is line 2 is appropriate”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because the term “an AC power supply” is referred to the same “AC power supply” previously presented in independent claim 1. In case that this term is referred to another power supply, the applicant should use another term in order to distinguish this term from another. Therefore, the objection is maintained.
Applicant’s argues on pages 8-11 of the Applicant's Response (“Independent claim 1 calls for power "conversion apparatus" comprising "a three- phase rectifier, a DC-Link and an inverter." Claim 1 also specifies that the power conversion apparatus is also "configured to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply with three phase wires and to also be connected to a single-phase AC power supply with a phase wire and a neutral wire." The respective combinations defined by claims 2-7 include, inter alia, the elements recited in claim 1. The cited references fail to teach or suggest the claimed combinations”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Marcinkiewicz discloses a power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) for converting power supplied by an AC power supply (figure 2, part AC Line) and providing the converted power (figure 2, part converted power from 232) to a heat pump (figure 2, part 102) (paragraph [0023]; the present disclosure is applicable to other types of refrigeration systems including, but not limited to, heating, ventilating, and air conditioning (HVAC), heat pump, refrigeration, and chiller systems), comprising:... the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) is configured to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) with three phase wires (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422) (paragraph [0065]; The EMI filter 406 receives a 3-phase AC voltage V.sub.AC from a 3-phase AC input 422) and to also be connected (figure 7) to a single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) with a phase wire and a neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722) (paragraph [0091]; The EMI filter 706 receives a single phase AC voltage VAC from a single phase AC input 722). As discussed above, Marcinkiewicz’s reference discloses the power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132), which includes rectifier stage (figure 2, part rectifier AC/DC at 212), the DC link stage (figure 2, part DC link at DC Bus) and the inverter stage (figure 2, part inverter 232) (paragraphs [0038]-[0041]). This power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) is configured to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) with three phase wires (figure 4, part three phase wires at 422) and to a single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) with a phase wire and a neutral wire (figure 7, part phase wire and neutral wire at 722). Therefore, the same power conversion apparatus (figure 2, part 132) is configured to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply (figure 4, part three-phase AC power supply Vac) and to also be connected to a single-phase AC power supply (figure 7, part single-phase AC power supply Vac) and meet with the claimed limitation. Furthermore, this features of configure a power conversion apparatus to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply and to a single-phase AC power supply it is a known technique in the art. In order to provides more evidence about this statement, the reference Ahmed et al. (US 2014/0035492) discloses a power conversion apparatus (figures 1 and 2, part power conversion apparatus 14/16) to be connected to a three-phase AC power supply (figure 1, part 12) and to a single-phase AC power supply (figure 2, part 42).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838