DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 04/16/2024 is entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following reasons:
All reference numerals in parenthesis should be crossed out e.g.,
The term “an error” is unclear. Specification fails to define the term clearly. Please revise and clarify the claim language as appropriate.
Claims 5 and 6 are hybrid claims that claims both apparatus and method steps in the same claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 the recitation “means adapted for carrying out all the steps of a method of validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera” should read “a system for validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera comprising, validating….” for clarity.
Claim 6 the recitation “a computer program comprising instructions for carrying out all the steps of a method, when said computer program is executed on a computer system, the method being a method of validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera” should read “a computer program is executed on a computer system comprising validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera” for clarity.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means adapted for carrying out all the steps of a method of validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUMA et al. (US PUB 2014/0320809; herein after “Fukuma”) in view of Lin et al. (US PUB 2016/0073092; herein after “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuma teaches a method of validating alignment (para. [0189]) of an image sensor (CCD 35, FIG. 1) of a camera (300A, FIG. 4A) and an illumination projection (MIP (Maximum Intensity Projection, para. [0136]) for use in a system (10) for automatically aligning a camera device (a camera unit 2) which includes the camera (i.e., illumination optical system 10 irradiates an illumination light to the fundus Ef. The imaging optical system 30 guides a fundus reflected light of the illumination light to imaging devices (CCD image sensors, para. [0062] … automatic alignment is possible using anterior eye cameras 300, para. [0071], as shown in FIG. 1-4, also see para. [0083 to [0086]), wherein a centre of the image sensor is identified (for example, the center of the fame, para. [0156]); and the camera device (2) also includes a stereo camera (i.e., it is possible to perform stereo photographing (via a stereo camera) using two imaging parts, para. [0269]), in addition to the camera (300), and the camera device (2) includes an illumination source (11) wherein a centre of an illumination projection is identified in an image from the image sensor or from the stereo camera (for example, the observation light source 11 or the light source unit 101) onto an eye fundus, para. [0262], also see para. [0060], [170] and [0190], FIG. 1), the method comprising the steps of (S1-S42, FIG. 6-7B):
aligning, using the stereo camera (para. [0269]), the centre of the illumination projection with the centre of an eye calibration target (i.e., the alignment optical system 50 generates a target (alignment target) for position matching of the optical system (examination optical system) with respect to the eye E (alignment), para. [0069], also see para. [0028], [0112] and [0142]) wherein the eye calibration target is included on one of the planes of a multi-planar calibration target (i.e., (Multi-Planar Reconstruction) and the like, and includes a process of extracting picture elements (voxels) located at a designated cross section para. [0138]: and the pair of the alignment targets is displayed over a prescribed position of the frame (for example, the center of the frame), para. [0156]), wherein each plane of the multi-planar calibration target is embedded with a plurality of fiducial markers (e.g., depth marker 1102 para. [0235], FIG. 8I), wherein the eye calibration target is a marker (i.e., The alignment optical system is configured to project an alignment target on the anterior eye part, para. [0270]), and wherein a size of the eye calibration target is approximately equal to the size of a pupil of an eye (i.e., the photographing magnifications and/or the display magnifications are/is different, the apparatus can adjust the display size of the interest area information based on the difference(s) in the magnification(s) para. [0304], also see para. [0156], [0270]); capturing an image (3000, FIG. 8I) of the eye calibration target using the camera (300) and detecting the position of the eye calibration target (i.e., an arithmetic and control unit 200 analyzes the position of the alignment target to move the optical system (automatic alignment), automatic alignment is possible using anterior eye cameras 300, para. [0071], also see para. [0068], [0117]); calculating an error (displacement) between the centre of the captured image and the centre of the detected eye calibration target (i.e., a first displacement calculator configured to calculate a displacement between the eye and the optical system by analyzing two images substantially simultaneously obtained by the two imaging parts, and the controller is configured to carry out the first control based on the displacement calculated by the first displacement calculator, para. [0027], also see para. [0146], FIG. 5A-5B A, [0155]); and validating if the error is within a predefined threshold (para. [019]-[0130]); wherein the method further comprises calibration of a position of illumination and the eye calibration target, including steps of:
aligning the centre of the illumination projection to the centre of the eye calibration target (i.e., alignment includes the action of aligning the light axis of the optical system of the apparatus with respect to the axis of an eye (xy alignment), as well as the action of adjusting the distance between the eye and the optical system of the apparatus (z alignment), para. [0006], also see para. [0156]); determining an optimal projection of illumination by moving a movable platform in a perpendicular direction to the plane of a centre of the eye calibration target (i.e., movement direction of the examination optical system (a movable platform) is set in the direction perpendicular to the OCT scanning direction in Auto-Z, para. [0218], also see para. [0219-[0121], FIG. 9A-9B), wherein the stereo camera, the camera and the illumination source are mounted on the moveable platform (i.e., in FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B, symbol 410 indicates a base in which a drive system such as an optical system driver 2A, etc. and arithmetic and control circuits are accommodated (mounted), para. [0061]; also see para. [0161], FIG. 3-4 and para. [0205], FIG. 8C); and identifying optimal coordinates of the eye calibration target for capturing an image by the camera and saving it in a database (para. [0103]-[0104], FIG. 3 and [0109]), wherein the optimal coordinates are the coordinates of the eye calibration target as calculated by the stereo camera (i.e., process may be carried out by comparing the coordinates corresponding to the predetermined area and the coordinates of the characteristic point, para. [0160]; and the process corresponds to the automatic alignment based on the image obtained by the stereo photographing, para. [0269], also see para. [0299]), and also the coordinates of the pupil where a captured image of a fundus of the eye is of the highest quality (i.e., positional information (e.g. coordinates) of the interest image region in the eye image; relative positional information indicating the position of the interest image region relative to the image region corresponding to a prescribed site of the eye E (e.g. pupil), para. [0299]; and automatically carrying out the image quality optimization, para. [0241], also see para. [0060], [0135]).
Fukuma teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of aligning the centre of the illumination projection to the centre of the eye calibration target, and each plane of the multi-planar calibration target is embedded with a plurality of fiducial markers, wherein the eye calibration target is a marker.
However, in a related field of endeavor Lin teaches a calibration method of a stereo camera, wherein the stereo camera includes a left eye image capture unit and a right eye image capture unit. The calibration method includes transmitting a group of system parameters of the stereo camera to a server; downloading a calibration pattern corresponding to the group of system parameters from the server; calculating a plurality of camera calibration parameters corresponding to the stereo camera according to the calibration pattern; and executing an image rectification operation on the left eye image capture unit and the right eye image capture unit according to the plurality of camera calibration parameters, respectively, para. [0007].
In addition, when the second display 110 displays the left eye image 140 corresponding to the calibration pattern 130, the processor 1026 can utilize 4 alignment markers 1102 included in a viewfinder (not shown in FIG. 1) of the second display 110 and images in the left eye image 140 corresponding to the 4 position markers 1062 to make the calibration pattern 130 be located within an image calibration range of the stereo camera 102, wherein a number of alignment markers of the second display 110 is equal to a number of position markers of the first display 106, para. [0029], FIG. 1.
In Step 212, the processor 1026 can generate projection parameters corresponding to the calibration pattern 130 according to the left eye image 140 and the right eye image corresponding to the calibration pattern 130, respectively, wherein in one embodiment of the present invention, the present invention utilizes a plurality of feature points of the left eye image 140 and the right eye image corresponding to the calibration pattern 130 to generate the projection parameters corresponding to the calibration pattern 130. As shown in FIG. 1, the calibration pattern 130 has 9 feature points FP1-FP9, para. [0030], FIG. 1-2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fukuma such that image calibration method of a stereo camera, where a processor can utilize 4 alignment markers on a second display and images in the left eye image corresponding to the 4 position markers to make the calibration pattern be located within an image calibration range of the stereo camera as taught by Lin, for the purpose of having optical accuracy of a stereo camera that is more convenient, lower cost, and without professional skills for the user.
Regarding claim 2, Fukuma according to claim 1 further teaches determining one or more contour properties of the illumination projection, wherein the contour properties are captured when calibration of the optimal position of the camera device with the illumination projection is successfully performed, and wherein an image in which the contour properties are determined is taken from the image sensor or from the stereo camera (i.e., the pupil is substantially circular; therefore, it is possible to specify the contour of the pupillary region, specify the center position of this contour (an approximate circle or an approximate ellipse thereof), para. [0144] and [0159]).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuma according to claim 2 further teaches the contour properties of the illumination projection comprise at least one of centre, radius, and circularity (i.e., the pupil is substantially circular; therefore, it is possible to specify the contour of the pupillary region, specify the center position of this contour (an approximate circle or an approximate ellipse thereof), para. [0144] and [0159]).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuma according to claim 1 further teaches the identifying optimal coordinates step uses the illumination projection (MIP) in the aligning step (i.e., the image processor 230 executes a rendering process (such as volume rendering and MIP (Maximum Intensity Projection)) on this volume data to form image data of a pseudo three-dimensional image taken from a specific view direction (e.g., identifying optimal coordinates), para. [0136], FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Fukuma in view of Lin teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1 and further teaches:
a system (an ophthalmologic apparatus 1, as shown in FIG. 1, para. [0059]) comprising means adapted for carrying out all the steps of a method of validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera (130) and an illumination projection for use in a system for automatically aligning a camera device (121) which includes the camera (130), wherein a centre of the image sensor is identified; and the camera device (121) also includes a stereo camera (120, 125), in addition to the camera (130), and the camera device (121) includes an illumination source (127) wherein a centre of an illumination projection is identified in an image from the image sensor or from the stereo camera, the method comprising the steps of: aligning, using the stereo camera (120, 125), the centre of the illumination projection with the centre of an eye calibration target (115) wherein the eye calibration target is included on one of the planes of a multi-planar calibration target (110), wherein each plane of the multi-planar calibration target is embedded with a plurality of fiducial markers, wherein the eye calibration target is a marker, and wherein a size of the eye calibration target is approximately equal to the size of a pupil of an eye; capturing an image of the eye calibration target using the camera (130) and detecting the position of the eye calibration target; calculating an error between the centre of the captured image and the centre of the detected eye calibration target; and validating if the error is within a predefined threshold; wherein the method further comprises calibration of a position of illumination and the eye calibration target, including steps of: aligning the centre of the illumination projection to the centre of the eye calibration target; determining an optimal projection of illumination by moving a movable platform (132) in a perpendicular direction to the plane of a centre of the eye calibration target, wherein the stereo camera, the camera and the illumination source are mounted on the moveable platform; and identifying optimal coordinates of the eye calibration target for capturing an image by the camera (130) and saving it in a database, wherein the optimal coordinates are the coordinates of the eye calibration target as calculated by the stereo camera, and also the coordinates of the pupil where a captured image of a fundus of the eye is of the highest quality (all limitations of claim 5 are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 above).
Fukuma teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of aligning the centre of the illumination projection to the centre of the eye calibration target, and determining an optimal projection of illumination by moving a movable platform in a perpendicular direction to the plane of a centre of the eye calibration target, wherein the stereo camera, the camera and the illumination source are mounted on the moveable platform.
However, in a related field of endeavor Lin teaches an image calibration system. The image calibration system includes a stereo camera. The stereo camera has a left eye image capture unit, a right eye image capture unit, and a processor, wherein the processor transmits a group of system parameters of the stereo camera to a server, and downloads a calibration pattern corresponding to the group of system parameters to a display from the server after the server receives the group of system parameters. The processor or the server calculates a plurality of camera calibration parameters corresponding to the stereo camera according to the calibration pattern, and the processor executes an image rectification operation on the left eye image capture unit and the right eye image capture unit according to the plurality of camera calibration parameters, respectively, para. [0008].
In addition, when the second display 110 displays the left eye image 140 corresponding to the calibration pattern 130, the processor 1026 can utilize 4 alignment markers 1102 included in a viewfinder (not shown in FIG. 1) of the second display 110 and images in the left eye image 140 corresponding to the 4 position markers 1062 to make the calibration pattern 130 be located within an image calibration range of the stereo camera 102, wherein a number of alignment markers of the second display 110 is equal to a number of position markers of the first display 106, para. [0029], FIG. 1.
In Step 212, the processor 1026 can generate projection parameters corresponding to the calibration pattern 130 according to the left eye image 140 and the right eye image corresponding to the calibration pattern 130, respectively, wherein in one embodiment of the present invention, the present invention utilizes a plurality of feature points of the left eye image 140 and the right eye image corresponding to the calibration pattern 130 to generate the projection parameters corresponding to the calibration pattern 130. As shown in FIG. 1, the calibration pattern 130 has 9 feature points FP1-FP9, para. [0030], FIG. 1-2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fukuma such that image calibration system includes a stereo camera, where a processor can utilize 4 alignment markers on a second display and images in the left eye image corresponding to the 4 position markers to make the calibration pattern be located within an image calibration range of the stereo camera as taught by Lin, for the purpose of having optical accuracy of a stereo camera that is more convenient, lower cost, and without professional skills for the user.
Regarding claim 6, Fukuma in view of Lin teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1 and further teaches:
a computer program comprising instructions for carrying out all the steps of a method, when said computer program is executed on a computer system (an ophthalmologic apparatus 1, as shown in FIG. 1 … The arithmetic and control unit 200 is provided with a computer that executes various arithmetic processes, control processes, and so on, FIG. 3para. [0059]), the method being a method of validating alignment of an image sensor of a camera (130) and an illumination projection for use in a system for automatically aligning a camera device (121) which includes the camera (130), wherein a centre of the image sensor is identified; and the camera device (121) also includes a stereo camera (120, 125), in addition to the camera (130), and the camera device (121) includes an illumination source (127) wherein a centre of an illumination projection is identified in an image from the image sensor or from the stereo camera, the method comprising the steps of: aligning, using the stereo camera (120, 125), the centre of the illumination projection with the centre of an eye calibration target (115) wherein the eye calibration target is included on one of the planes of a multi-planar calibration target (110), wherein each plane of the multi-planar calibration target is embedded with a plurality of fiducial markers, wherein the eye calibration target is a marker, and wherein a size of the eye calibration target is approximately equal to the size of a pupil of an eye; capturing an image of the eye calibration target using the camera (130) and detecting the position of the eye calibration target; calculating an error between the centre of the captured image and the centre of the detected eye calibration target; and validating if the error is within a predefined threshold; wherein the method further comprises calibration of a position of illumination and the eye calibration target, including steps of: aligning the centre of the illumination projection to the centre of the eye calibration target; determining an optimal projection of illumination by moving a movable platform (132) in a perpendicular direction to the plane of a centre of the eye calibration target, wherein the stereo camera, the camera and the illumination source are mounted on the moveable platform; and identifying optimal coordinates of the eye calibration target for capturing an image by the camera (130) and saving it in a database, wherein the optimal coordinates are the coordinates of the eye calibration target as calculated by the stereo camera, and also the coordinates of the pupil where a captured image of a fundus of the eye is of the highest quality (all limitations of claim 6 are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 above).
Fukuma teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of aligning the centre of the illumination projection to the centre of the eye calibration target, and determining an optimal projection of illumination by moving a movable platform in a perpendicular direction to the plane of a centre of the eye calibration target, wherein the stereo camera, the camera and the illumination source are mounted on the moveable platform.
However, in a related field of endeavor Lin teaches an image calibration system. The image calibration system includes a stereo camera. The stereo camera has a left eye image capture unit, a right eye image capture unit, and a processor, wherein the processor transmits a group of system parameters of the stereo camera to a server, and downloads a calibration pattern corresponding to the group of system parameters to a display from the server after the server receives the group of system parameters. The processor or the server calculates a plurality of camera calibration parameters corresponding to the stereo camera according to the calibration pattern, and the processor executes an image rectification operation on the left eye image capture unit and the right eye image capture unit according to the plurality of camera calibration parameters, respectively, para. [0008].
In addition, when the second display 110 displays the left eye image 140 corresponding to the calibration pattern 130, the processor 1026 can utilize 4 alignment markers 1102 included in a viewfinder (not shown in FIG. 1) of the second display 110 and images in the left eye image 140 corresponding to the 4 position markers 1062 to make the calibration pattern 130 be located within an image calibration range of the stereo camera 102, wherein a number of alignment markers of the second display 110 is equal to a number of position markers of the first display 106, para. [0029], FIG. 1.
In Step 212, the processor 1026 can generate projection parameters corresponding to the calibration pattern 130 according to the left eye image 140 and the right eye image corresponding to the calibration pattern 130, respectively, wherein in one embodiment of the present invention, the present invention utilizes a plurality of feature points of the left eye image 140 and the right eye image corresponding to the calibration pattern 130 to generate the projection parameters corresponding to the calibration pattern 130. As shown in FIG. 1, the calibration pattern 130 has 9 feature points FP1-FP9, para. [0030], FIG. 1-2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fukuma such that image calibration system includes a stereo camera, where a processor can utilize 4 alignment markers on a second display and images in the left eye image corresponding to the 4 position markers to make the calibration pattern be located within an image calibration range of the stereo camera as taught by Lin, for the purpose of having optical accuracy of a stereo camera that is more convenient, lower cost, and without professional skills for the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ghaly et al. (US PUB 20170287221) teaches “an image can be captured by the camera 102 from the perspective of the predetermined pose, for example. Note that the captured image may be an augmented-reality image including one or more virtual object (e.g., virtual truck 114) overlaid on the physical space 106 or the captured image may not include any virtual objects or otherwise virtual augmentation. In some implementations, the image may be automatically captured responsive to alignment being achieved., para. [0036], FIG. 1-4.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
March 25, 2026