DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-20 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 4, 10 is/are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6, 9-11) in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• FUKAGAWA (US 2017/0226251),
and in view of Applicant’s Admissions.
FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251 discloses liquid compositions for forming a sulfobetaine-based material which is non-adhesive to a biological substance (e.g., an anti-fouling coating), wherein the liquid composition comprises:
(A) a (co)polymer (corresponding to the recited “polymer (a1)” and/or polymer (b1)) derived from:
• a sulfobetaine monomer (I) wherein the sulfobetaine structure contains a -C(=O)-NH- group (corresponding to the recited “structural unit (ii) having a betaine structure that is not of an ester linkage type”) wherein the sulfobetaine monomer (I) contains a (meth)acrylic or vinyl structure, and wherein the sulfobetaine monomer (I) preferably constitutes up to 95 mol% of the copolymer;
• optionally at least one additional betaine monomer (M-1) wherein X1 is -C(=O)-O- (corresponding to the recited “”structural unit (i) having an ester linkage type betaine structure”);
• optionally at least one additional non-betaine monomer (M-2) wherein Y can contain a carboxyl group (corresponding to the recited “structural unit (iii) having a carboxyl group”);
(B) a solvent comprising one or more of:
• water;
• amide compounds (e.g., 1-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (i.e., N-methyl-2-pyroolidone (NMP); N,N-dimethylformamide; N-N-dimethylacetamide; etc.);
• sulfoxide compounds such as DMSO, etc.;
• or mixtures thereof;
wherein the liquid composition preferably containing 10-70 wt% of sulfobetaine-containing (co)polymers.
The liquid compositions can also be a curable composition comprising a mixture of: (i) a (co)polymer of the sulfobetaine monomer; and (ii) one or more additional betaine or non-betaine comonomers; wherein the curable composition can be reacted (e.g., using heat, etc.) to produce a sulfobetaine-based non-adhesive material (e.g., an anti-fouling coating on a substrate). (entire document, paragraph 0004-0006, 0008-0017, 0044-0049, 0055, 0057-0070, 0088-0092, 0113-0141, 0146, 0189, etc.) However, the reference does not specifically mention the solubility parameters of specific solvents.
Applicant admits that N-methyl-2-pyroolidone (NMP) and N,N-dimethylformamide and N-N-dimethylacetamide and dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO) are organic solvents satisfying the δD and δP and δH and boiling point requirements as recited in claim 1. (Table 4 in the specification).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a mixture of known solvents (e.g., water in combination with organic solvents such as NMP or N,N-dimethylformamide or N-N-dimethylacetamide or dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), as suggested in FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251 to form a liquid compositions for forming a sulfobetaine-based material (e.g., a coated film, etc.) which is non-adhesive to a biological substance (e.g., for medical devices).
Regarding claim 3, one of ordinary skill would have incorporated known hydrophilic structures (e.g., hydroxyl groups, carboxyl groups, etc.) in the sulfobetaine-containing materials of FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251 in order to optimize the wetting properties of the sulfobetaine-based anti-fouling coating for specific applications.
Further regarding claims 10-11, since the liquid compositions (co)polymer of FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251 can comprise a polymer or monomer containing additional betaine monomer (M-1) wherein X1 is -C(=O)-O- (corresponding to the recited “”structural unit (i) having an ester linkage type betaine structure”) in amounts as low as 5 mol% of the copolymer, and can be subjected to heating; the Examiner has reason to believe that at least some of the containing additional betaine monomer (M-1) in the sulfobetaine-based material of FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251 would experience hydrolysis and react with other comonomers to form the recited “polymer (a2) containing a structural unit (iv) having an ester linkage type betaine structure and a structural unit (v) having a carboxyl group”) as recited in claim 9, the Examiner has reason to believe that at least a portion of the polymer or monomer comprising additional comonomer (M-1) in the sulfobetaine-based copolymers of FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251, upon being subjected to heating conditions sufficient to convert the liquid composition to a film or coating, would further react (e.g., by hydrolysis) to form at least some amount of “polymer (a2) containing a structural unit (iv) having an ester linkage type betaine structure and a structural unit (v) having a carboxyl group”) as recited in claim 9; therefore the Examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
Further regarding claims 10-11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have made coatings formed from liquid compositions containing the sulfobetaine-based copolymers of FUKAGAWA ET AL ‘251 at least partially water-swellable (e.g., by controlling the degree of crosslinking; by incorporating water-absorbing binders, etc.) in order to: (i) improve compatibility with living tissue and/or biological fluids (which contain a high water content); and/or (ii) to facilitate infusion or release of drugs or other water-soluble biologically active compounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHEN ET AL (US 2016/0355624) disclose betaine-containing coatings.
CHEN ET AL (US 2022/0161456) disclose betaine-containing liquid compositions using a mixture of water and organic solvents.
SAMOUR ET AL (US 3,671,502) and BOWERS ET AL (US 5,284,854) disclose (meth)acrylic copolymers containing betaine structures.
ZHANG E AL (US 2020/0157338) and YAMAMOTO ET AL (US 2020/0223966) disclose coating compositions containing betaine-containing compounds.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
August 8, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787