DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-21, in the reply filed on 8/5/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both groups contain a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because the special technical features is provided by the method of producing the ferromagnetic material and claim 3 while being dependent up claim 1, being a product claim does not require the process step but only the product which is taught in the Granger (2016/0211062).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Hence, considering the amendment filed 8/5/25, claims 15-18 have been canceled. Claim 22 is withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-14 and 19-21 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,2,7,12,14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “one or more functional coatings” lacks antecedent basis as the claim recites “one or more nanometric functional coatings”. The Examiner suggest adding the term “nanometric” to overcome the rejection. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 2, the claim in unclear and confusing as to whether the washing liquid is the “claimed second solution” or is this a different solution. If so, then the claim would need to recite a second stirring step in said second solution for completeness.
Regarding claim 7, the term “an apolar” appears to be a typographical error and should recite “a polar” or “an polar” but not both. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 12, the term “predetermined” is vague and indefinite as to what is encompassed by the term “predetermined” as anything can be considered being “predetermined”. The Examiner suggest deletion of the term.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is confusing as the Examiner questions hoe the consolidation is done with mixing? Should this be recited as the “stirring” step? Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Granger et al. (2016/0211062) in combination with Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023).
Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches encapsulating magnetic nanoparticles with a plurality of layer sand an exterior coating by a layer-by-layer deposition process which is known to be executed by immersion in a solution or suspension [0004].[0054]. The layers can include coating of opposite charges polycationic (positive charge) and polyanionic (negative charge) [0035] on a ferromagnetic particle material [0032]. The layers can include hydrogen bonding and covalent bonding [0040]
Granger et al. (2016/0211062) fails to teach compacting the coated ferromagnetic particles to obtain a ferromagnetic material.
Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023) teaches a process for producing ferromagnetic particles and compacted magnet (abstract). Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023) teaches forming a compacted magnet by subjecting the ferromagnetic particles having a coating thereon to compression molding in a magnetic field [0098]-[0111].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Granger et al. (2016/0211062) to perform a compacting step as evidenced by Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023) with the expectation of producing a compacted magnet.
Regarding claim 2, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches the layer-by-layer process which includes sonication (claimed stirring) and also teaches a washing procedure [0051]-[0056].
Regarding clam 3-6, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches sonication which would be inclusive of ultrasound as well as a mechanical and/or turbulent mixer which would be rotated [0054],[0057].
Regarding claim 7, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches a washing procedure but fails to teach the claimed polar solvents. The Examiner takes the position that polar solvents are now to be utilized as a washing liquid and would be utilized for the expected success absent a showing of criticality thereof the polar solvent.
Regarding claims 8-11, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches coating both positive and negative charges and hence would meet these claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches repeating the process coating steps to form the layers on the magnetic particles [0054].
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023) teaches a process for producing ferromagnetic particles and compacted magnet (abstract). Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023) teaches forming a compacted magnet by subjecting the ferromagnetic particles having a coating thereon to compression molding in a magnetic field [0098]-[0111] which would result in the claimed “mixing” in claim 14. Regarding the metal powder press, Takahashi et al. (2014/0085023) compression molding which would suggest a powder press and would be inclusive a metal or non-metal presses [0098]-[0111].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches coating that include both inorganic or organic materials [0036]-[0037].
Regarding claim 21, Granger et al. (2016/0211062) teaches nanometers for the coating thickness which is within the claimed range of 1nm to 100 microns [0087].
/BRIAN K TALBOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715