DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 04/15/2024.
Status of the Claims
Claims 29-33, 37-41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Claims 34-36 and 42 are objected to for depending from a rejected base claim.
Claims 1-28 are cancelled.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-33, 37-41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FJEDLHEIM (US 2024/0190652 A1).
Regarding Claim 29, FJELDHEIM teaches a combination and separation apparatus for combining and separating a delivery container and a storage container, the delivery container being containable within the storage container, (¶ 72-76, 102-104, Fig. 5: A delivery container 20 is containable within a storage container 106 (¶ 104). A coupler is a combination and separation apparatus that combines or separates the delivery container to or from the storage container in order for them to be lifted and moved.)
the apparatus comprising: a clamping device configured for clamping the delivery container through at a least one cut-out extending through the storage container; (¶ 30-31, 41-46, 72-76, 106-107, 114: The coupler includes gripping devices that move to clamp the delivery container through recesses that extend through the delivery and storage containers (“tote” and “bin”, respectively).)
a lifting device configured for combining and separating the storage container and the delivery container; (¶ 33-35, 72-76, Fig. 5, 12B: A lifting mechanism lifts a delivery container stored within a storage container or lowers the delivery container within the storage container.)
and an alignment mechanism configured for aligning the delivery container and the clamping device relative to each other to enable the clamping device to clamp the delivery container when the delivery container is nested within the storage container. (¶ 55-56, 117-118: Guiding plates and rods are used to align the clamping devices of the coupler with the delivery container that is nested within the storage container. The guiding plates and rods are therefore an alignment mechanism.)
Regarding Claim 30, FJELDHEIM further teaches wherein the clamping device comprises: a pair of clamps configured for engaging with at least one side wall of the delivery container; wherein at least one of the pair of clamps includes at least one engagement pin configured for being received in an opening in the delivery container. (¶ 42-43, 106-107: The gripper includes two gripper paddles for gripping the delivery container which each engage with a side wall of the delivery container. These clamps are received through “indents/ recesses/ apertures” within inner walls of the delivery container.)
Regarding Claim 31, FJELDHEIM further teaches wherein the alignment mechanism is configured for engaging with at least one side wall of the delivery container. (¶ 118, Fig. 8B: The guiding plates 4 are part of the alignment mechanism and are engaged with a side wall of the delivery container, as the lower ends of the guiding plates should engage with the delivery container, as shown in Fig. 8B.)
Regarding Claim 32, FJELDHEIM further teaches wherein the alignment mechanism comprises: a centering device including one or more guides configured for engaging with an exterior surface of the delivery container such that the one or more guides will center the delivery container relative to the storage container when the delivery container is nested within the storage container; (¶ 116-118, Fig. 8B: A control system centers the coupler with the delivery container nested within the storage container. The guiding plates 4 and guiding pins 16 are part of the alignment mechanism and are engaged with a side wall of the delivery container, as shown in Fig. 8B.)
wherein the one or more guides is mounted to a frame such that the one or more guides is configured and arranged to center the delivery container relative to the frame when the one or more guides engages with the exterior surface of the delivery container, (Fig. 8A, ¶ 110, 116: The guides 4 are mounted to a frame 2 of the coupler and are used to center the coupler with respect to the delivery container.)
wherein the one or more guides includes a plurality of locating pins, each of the plurality of locating pins being downwardly extending from the frame and configured for engaging with the exterior surface of the delivery container, wherein the plurality of locating pins are mounted at diagonally opposed corners of the frame, wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of locating pins is wedge shaped, (Fig. 7, ¶ 117: The guides 16 are locating pins that are arranged at diagonally opposed corners of the frame 2. They extend downward from the frame and engage with the exterior surface of the delivery container since they engage with the bin that the container is nested within. The pins are wedge shaped as illustrated in Fig. 7.)
wherein the clamping device is mounted to the frame. (¶ 110, 116: The clamping device, which includes the gripper and gripper motor, is mounted to the frame.)
Regarding Claim 33, FJELDHEIM further teaches comprising: a clamp drive mechanism for moving the clamping device. (¶ 46, 114-116: The gripper includes a gripper motor which is a drive mechanism for moving the gripper, i.e. clamping, device.)
Regarding Claim 37, FJELDHEIM further teaches wherein the lifting device is configured for lifting the delivery container into engagement with the alignment mechanism. (¶ 7, 76, 102, Fig. 5: The lifting device is raised and lowered to engage the delivery container with the alignment mechanism.)
Regarding Claim 38, FJELDHEIM further teaches, wherein the clamping device, the lifting device and the alignment mechanism define a merge/separation station; (¶ 142-143, 146, 155, Figs. 10-11: A robotic picking device 400 is a merge/separation station that includes the clamping, lifting, and alignment devices described in the rejection of claim 29 and illustrated in Fig. 5.)
and wherein the apparatus comprises: a combined station configured for conveying a combined delivery container and storage container into the merge/separation station. (¶ 144-145, 152: A station 500 is a combined station that conveys the delivery and storage containers to and from the robotic picking device 400, i.e. the merger and separation station.)
Regarding Claim 39, FJELDHEIM further teaches comprising: a storage container station configured for conveying a storage container to the merge/separation station; a delivery container station configured for conveying a delivery container to the merge/separation station; (¶ 144-145: The conveyors 503a and 503b are storage (bin) and delivery (tote) stations that convey the delivery and storage containers to the merge and separation station.)
and a transfer mechanism configured for transferring the clamping device between the merge/separation station and the delivery container station. (¶ 155, 158-15, Figs. 10-12: The robotic picking device is a transfer mechanism which transfers the clamping device between the container (502, i.e. where the bins and totes are merged or separated) and the conveyor 503 (i.e. where the delivery containers are moved to and from the merging station).)
Regarding Claim 40, FJELDHEIM further teaches wherein the alignment mechanism comprises: a datum edge and a datum clamp, said datum clamp being configured and arranged for clamping a storage container against the datum edge so as to position the storage container relative to clamping device, (Fig. 7, ¶ 117: The guides 16 are locating pins that are arranged at diagonally opposed corners of the frame 2 to ensure alignment of the coupler with the storage container, as illustrated in Fig. 7. The storage container grippers 17 also read on datum clamp and edge as they are used to position and clamp the storage container relative to the coupler.)
wherein the lifting device includes a robot having a robot base, and a robot arm coupled to the robot base, wherein an end effector is coupled to the robot arm for controlling movement of the end effector to combine and separate a delivery container and a storage container, said end effector including the clamping device and the alignment mechanism. (¶ 68-70: A robot picking device, such as those shown in Figs. 10-12, includes a robot base and a robot arm (i.e. “segment”) for moving an end effector (i.e. “operative end”) intro a grid cell (¶ 69: “the robotic picking device may be configured such that the operative end is movable to a position which is at least within reach of the storage container or the delivery container to be delivered or removed from the framework of that storage and retrieval system.”) so as to effect separation and combination of the delivery container and the storage container, as illustrated in Figs. 5, and 10-12. The robotic base is mounted on at least one of the grid cells. ¶ 70: “the robotic base may be arranged directly or indirectly on the rail system.”)
Regarding Claim 41, FJELDHEIM further teaches an order processing system comprising at least one combination and separation apparatus as defined in claim 29; (See Fig. 5 and 10, which show two embodiments of the combination/separation apparatus as defined by claim 29 and discussed above.)
and comprising: a three dimensional grid framework structure including a plurality of upright members arranged to form a plurality of vertical storage columns for one or more combined delivery and storage containers to be stacked between the upright members and be guided by the upright members in a vertical direction, wherein the plurality of upright members are interconnected by a plurality of grid members arranged in a grid pattern to form a grid structure including a plurality of grid cells; (Fig. 1: The prior art storage grid 700 illustrated in Fig. 1 and discussed in ¶ 3-5 is a three dimensional grid framework including the plurality of upright members 102 forming a plurality of vertical storage columns 105 for combined delivery and storage container 106 to be stacked 107 between the upright members in a vertical direction The upright members are interconnected by a plurality of grid members 110/111 arranged in a grid pattern to form a grid structure 108 having a plurality of cells as illustrated.)
said plurality of vertical storage columns including at least one delivery port column being configured and arranged for delivering a combined delivery container and storage container in a vertical direction through a grid cell to the combination and separation apparatus (¶ 19-20, 22-23, Fig. 1: Delivery, or “drop-off”, port column 119.)
and at least one pick-up port column being configured arranged for receiving a combined delivery container and storage container in a vertical direction through a grid cell from the combination and separation station; (¶ 19-20, 22-23, Fig. 1: “Pick-up port column” 120.)
and one or more load handling devices operative on the grid structure and configured for transporting a combined delivery container and storage container to the at least one delivery port column and/or for picking up a combined delivery container and storage container from the at least one pick-up column, each of the one or more load handling devices including a lifting device configured for lifting and/or lowering a combined delivery container and storage container. (¶ 6-7: Container handling vehicles 200, 300, 350 are “load handling device” that are operative on the grid structure and that transport the bins (i.e. combined delivery container and storage container) to the port column or pick-up column. Each of the vehicles includes a lifting device for lifting the bins using the mechanisms discussed in the rejection of claim 29.)
Regarding Claim 43, FJELDHEIM further teaches an order processing system comprising at least one combination and separation apparatus according to claim 29, for combining and separating a delivery container (See Fig. 5 and 10, which show two embodiments of the combination/separation apparatus as defined by claim 29 and discussed above.)
and a storage container stored in a three dimensional grid framework structure; a three dimensional grid framework structure including a plurality of upright members configured and arranged to form a plurality of vertical storage columns for one or more combined delivery and storage containers to be stacked between the upright members and be guided by the upright members in a vertical direction, wherein the plurality of upright members are interconnected by a plurality of grid members configured and arranged in a grid pattern to form a grid structure including a plurality of grid cells; (Fig. 1: The prior art storage grid 700 illustrated in Fig. 1 and discussed in ¶ 3-5 is a three dimensional grid framework including the plurality of upright members 102 forming a plurality of vertical storage columns 105 for combined delivery and storage container 106 to be stacked 107 between the upright members in a vertical direction The upright members are interconnected by a plurality of grid members 110/111 arranged in a grid pattern to form a grid structure 108 having a plurality of cells as illustrated.)
and wherein a robot base of a robot is mounted to at least one of the plurality of grid cells, and a robot arm of a robot is configured for moving an end effector of the robot into a grid cell so as to effect separation and combination of the delivery container and the storage container. (¶ 68-70: A robot picking device, such as those shown in Figs. 10-12, includes a robot base and a robot arm (i.e. “segment”) for moving an end effector (i.e. “operative end”) intro a grid cell (¶ 69: “the robotic picking device may be configured such that the operative end is movable to a position which is at least within reach of the storage container or the delivery container to be delivered or removed from the framework of that storage and retrieval system.”) so as to effect separation and combination of the delivery container and the storage container, as illustrated in Figs. 5, and 10-12. The robotic base is mounted on at least one of the grid cells. ¶ 70: “the robotic base may be arranged directly or indirectly on the rail system.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-36 and 42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art includes various embodiments of a storage system including a combination and separation apparatus for automatically storing a plurality of containers, similar to the FJELDHEIM reference relied upon in the above rejections.
/RAMI R OKASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118