DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perriere (US 2010/0121271).
Regarding claim 1, Perriere discloses an injector 1/51 comprising:
a base 2/52;
a housing 3/53 movable relative to the base 2/52;
a needle unit (including base 16/516, cone 16/516 & needle 14/514) disposed within the base 2/52, the needle unit comprising at least one piercing needle 16/516 configured to pierce a pierceable membrane 17/517 of a drug product container 12/512, and at least one microneedle 14/514 disposed on an opposite side of the at least one piercing needle 16/516; and
a driving mechanism (spring 18 & pump 13 in Figs. 1-4; or spring 518, rotary drive system 528, pump 513 in Figs. 5-8) configured and arranged to drive at least one of the drug product container and the needle unit toward another of the drug product container and the needle unit, paras [0042-0046, 0058, 0083-0086, 0095-0097, 0101-0102].
Regarding claim 4, wherein the at least one piercing needle 16/516 comprises a plurality of piercing needles.
Regarding claim 5, wherein at least one microneedle 14/514 comprises a plurality of microneedles.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the needle unit comprises at least one channel providing fluid communication between the at least one piercing needle and the at least one microneedle (e.g., the pump 13 operates to drawn substance from the reservoir and deliver it to the needles 14, para [0046]; the percussion cones 16 come into contains with the capsules 17 so as to pierce them and create a leak tight passage so that the medicinal substance contained in the reservoir 12 is transmitted to the pump13, para [0053]; the percussion cones 516 and the capsules 517 are designed to co-operates with one another when the are moved together so as to create a passage between the reservoir 512 and the pump 513, para [0076])
Regarding claim 8, wherein the base (element 5/55 is a part of the base 2/52) defines an open 19/519 bottom through which the needle unit (e.g., microneedle 14/514 is a part of the needle unit) may pass.
Regarding claims 11, 14-15, this claim is rejected using the same analysis as noted above with regard to claims 1, 4-5.
Regarding claims 16-20 , they encompass(es) the same scope of the invention as to that of claims 1 & 11 except they are drafted in method format instead of apparatus format. The claims 16-19 are therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. With aspect to claim 20, a driving mechanism that includes a spring18/518 & 523.
It is noted that Examiner believes that device and method claims are not patentable distinguish from each other. In other words, if the device/apparatus claim (or method claim) is unpatentable and rejected over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under method claim (or device/apparatus claim) as well. Therefore, claims 1-20 are examined together. However, if Applicant believes that the device and method claims are patentable distinguishable, then the claims would be subject to further Election/Restriction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perriere (US 2010/0121271) in view of Leroy et al. (US 2006/0207912).
Regarding claims 2 & 12, Perriere discloses all the claimed subject matter as required except for the limitations that a thermoformed cover in the drug container and wherein the pierceable membrane includes a frangible foil seal.
Leroy discloses a plastic package for pharmaceutical product including a thermoformed cover (lower portion 2 of package is thermoformed, para [0025], Fig. 1); and wherein a pierceable membrane include a frangible foil seal (cover member is a polypropylene foil which can be readily stripped to access the pharmaceutical product, Fig. 1, para [0024])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the injector device of Perriere with obtaining thermoformed cover in the drug container and a frangible foil seal, as taught by Leroy, in order to keep the package in sterile condition.
Regarding claim 7, Perriere in view of Leroy discloses all the claimed subject matter as required. Perriere further teaches that the driving mechanism comprises a driving spring 523 disposed above the drug product container 512 and a counter spring 518 disposed below the drug product container 512.
Claims 3, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perriere (US 2010/0121271).
Regarding claims 3 & 13, Perriere discloses the claimed invention as required; wherein the drug container 12/512 includes a cylindrical or circular shaped compartment for storing a drug product. Meanwhile, the claimed invention requires that the drug container includes a halo-shape compartment. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to obtain a halo-shaped, since applicant has not disclosed that the halo-shaped of the compartment solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a cylindrical/circular shaped compartment in Perriere.
Regarding claim 10, it appears to Examiner that the needle unit comprises a rigid material for holding the needle 14/514. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain a rigid material in the needle unit, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perriere (US 2010/0121271) in view of Yang et al. (US 12,569,167).
Regarding claims 3 & 13, Perriere discloses the claimed invention as required except for the limitation that the needle unit comprises absorbable patch.
Yang discloses an injector comprising: a needle unit 1000 includes a microneedle unit 1500; wherein the needle unit comprises an absorbable patch 1000, col. 7, lines 13-16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device ofPerriere with providing an absorbable patch in the needle unit, as taught by Yang, in order to allow a fluid being absorbed into the absorbable patch.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/Quynh-Nhu H. Vu/
Quynh-Nhu H Vu
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783