Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/171004 to Lopez in view of WO 2019/097736 to Yato.
Regarding claim 1, Lopez discloses a robotic vacuum cleaner (see Background) comprising: a main body (104); a wheel (102, 106, or 108) for enabling movement of the main body (104); a drive motor (130) for driving the wheel, a gearbox (110) coupling the drive motor to the wheel (see page 9, line 31- page 10, line 2); and a suspension system coupling the wheel to the main body (see Figure 3); wherein the suspension system comprises a first arm (132) and a second arm (134), the first arm (132) coupled to the gearbox(110) at a first pivot point (142) and coupled to the main body (104) at a second pivot point (138), the second arm (134) coupled to the gearbox at a third pivot point (144) and coupled to the main body (104) at a fourth pivot point (140), the first pivot point (142) spaced from the third pivot point (144) by a first distance, and the second pivot point (138) spaced form the fourth pivot point (140) by a second distance greater than the first distance (see Figures 3 and 4).
Lopez fails to disclose having a distance sensor located on the main body, the distance sensor for sensing a distance between the main body and a surface upon which the wheel is located.
Yato discloses a distance sensor (18) located on the main body (1) of a self-propelled cleaner (1), the distance sensor for sensing a distance between the main body and a surface upon which the wheel is located (see top of page 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to have a distance sensor described by Yato on the robotic vehicle of Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success in order to better avoid objects and to also better navigate the floor. The combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Lopez discloses the robotic vacuum cleaner (100) is movable in a first direction (154) substantially orthogonal to a rotational axis of the wheel (164), and in a second, opposite, direction substantially orthogonal to the rotational axis of the wheel second direction (reverse 154; see at least Figure 2), the first (142) and third (144) pivot points are located rearwardly of the second (138) and fourth pivot (14) points when the robotic vacuum cleaner moves in the first direction, and the second and fourth pivot points are located rearwardly of the first and third pivot points when the robotic vacuum cleaner moves in the second direction (see at least Figure 3).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7 and 18, Lopez and Yato are discussed above, but fail to disclose a ratio of the second distance to the first distance is in the range of 1.1 to 3.0; the first distance is in the range of 10.0mm to 16.0mm; and the second distance is in the range of 17.0mm to 30.0mm.
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention would have been motivated to modify the suspension arm distances of Lopez such that the distances for the pivot points are in the claimed ratio and distance ranges, since it has been held that discovering the optimum workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, the suspension of Lopez would function for it’s intended purpose with a ratio of the second distance to the first distance is in the range of 1.1 to 3.0; the first distance is in the range of 10.0mm to 16.0mm; and the second distance is in the range of 17.0mm to 30.0mm. Additionally, the subject disclosure does not provide any criticality to the ratio of the second distance to the first distance is in the range of 1.1 to 3.0; the first distance is in the range of 10.0mm to 16.0mm; and the second distance is in the range of 17.0mm to 30.0mm.
Regarding claims 4, 6, and 8, Lopez and Yato are discussed above, but fail to disclose a ratio of the second distance to the first distance is approximately 1.5; the first distance is approximately 14.3mm; and the second distance is approximately 21.3mm.
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention would have been motivated to modify the suspension arm distances of Lopez such that the ratio and arm distances are the claimed ratio and distances, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, the suspension of Lopez would function for its intended purpose with the ratio of the second distance to the first distance is approximately 1.5; the first distance is approximately 14.3mm; and the second distance is approximately 21.3mm. Additionally, the subject disclosure does not provide any criticality to the ratio of the distances to each other or the specific length of the distances.
Regarding claim 17, Lopez discloses the wheel (102) is located at a first side (top side) of the main body (see at least Figure 2), and the robotic vacuum cleaner comprises: a further wheel (106 or 108) located at a second side of the main body opposite to the first side of the main body (see Figure 2); and a further suspension system coupling the further wheel (106 or 108) to the main body; wherein the further suspension system comprises a third arm and a fourth arm, the third arm coupled to the further gearbox at a fifth pivot point and coupled to the main body at a sixth pivot point, the fourth arm coupled to the further gearbox at a seventh pivot point and coupled to the main body at an eighth pivot point, the fifth pivot point spaced from the seventh pivot point by a third distance, and the sixth pivot point spaced from the eighth pivot point by a fourth distance greater than the third distance (Figure 3 shows the exemplary suspension system for wheel 102, but it is the same suspension and pivot system use for both further wheels 106 and 108).
Lopez and Yato fail to disclose having a further drive motor for driving the further wheel; a further gearbox coupling the further drive motor to the further wheel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to have an addition drive motor and gearbox in order to provide better handing and wheel control, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device only involves routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The addition would yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 9-16 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter for at least the details of claims 9 and 14. Specifically the prior art fails to disclose, suggest, or render obvious, alone or in combination, having the first arm comprises a first end at which the first pivot point is located, and a second end opposite to the first end, wherein the second end is coupled to a spring at a coupling point, and the second pivot point is located intermediate the first and second ends; and the details of the suspension in combination with the wheel comprising a hub, with the drive motor located in the hub. The closest prior art of record are discussed above, but fail to disclose or render obvious having the second pivot point being located intermediate the first and second ends and having a drive motor located in the hub of the wheel in combination with the suspension.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited on the attached PTO-892 relates to robot vehicle suspension configurations.
/T.L.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614