Detailed Action
The communications received 04/15/2024 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 13-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harlin et al (US 2023/0132641 supplied as WO 2021/181007 in the IDS filed 04/15/2024) hereinafter HAR.
As for claim 13, HAR teaches a method for preparing cellulose dope from textile waste comprising cellulose fibers in a mass percentage greater than 50% [Abstract; 0020; 0025], the method comprising the following steps:
step (S1) shredding the textile waste in order to obtain a first mixture of shredded fibers and residues [0025-26],
step (S2) separating at least a portion of the non-cellulosic components from the first mixture in order to obtain a second mixture in which the mass percentage of cellulose fibers is greater than the mass percentage of cellulose fibers in the first mixture (via removal of metal) [0026-30],
step (S3) filtering the second mixture in order to recover a solid phase comprising the cellulose fibers [0049],
step (S4) dissolving the cellulose fibers of the solid phase so as to obtain a cellulose dope comprising undissolved particles (to be used after carbamate reaction as spinning dope, polyurethane for a moment pre filtration will be present) [0040], and
step (SS) filtering the cellulose dope in order to obtain a cellulose dope that is separated from the undissolved particles (to be used after carbamate reaction as spinning dope, polyurethane understood to be removed during filtration) [0040].
As for claim 17, HAR teaches claim 13 and wherein step (S2) is carried out by dissolving a portion of the non-cellulosic components of the first mixture by placing the first mixture in contact with an alkaline aqueous solution [0025].
As for claim 18, HAR teaches claim 17 and , wherein the aqueous alkaline solution is an aqueous alkaline solution based on sodium hydroxide, the mass percentage of the sodium hydroxide being between 3 and 25% (83/1000 * 100 = 8.3%) [0056].
As for claim 19, HAR teaches claim 17 and wherein step (S2) is carried out at a temperature between 50 and 150 degrees Celsius (110 degrees Celsius) [0056].
As for claim 20, HAR teaches claim 17 and wherein step (S2) is carried out during a time interval of between 15 and 240 minutes (120 minutes) [0056].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAR.
As for claim 16, HAR teaches claim 13 and the overlapping claim of above 50% cellulose [0025].
In accordance with the MPEP, ‘ In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)’ therefore the overlapping range is obvious [see e.g. MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Claim(s) 14 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAR in view of Jinzarli et al (US 2020/0369786) hereinafter JIN.
As for claim 14, HAR teaches claim 13, wherein step (S4) comprises:
a step (S4-11) of placing the solid phase comprising the cellulose fibers in contact with an alkaline aqueous solution comprising sodium hydroxide in order to obtain a solid phase of alkaline cellulose fibers [0058],
But otherwise fails to teach the next series of steps claimed.
JIN teaches that when making a cellulose dope that one manner of producing one is by:
a step (S4-11) of placing the solid phase comprising cellulose fibers in contact with an alkaline aqueous solution comprising sodium hydroxide in order to obtain a solid phase of alkaline cellulose fibers [0004]
a step (S4-12) of pressing the solid phase of alkaline cellulose fibers in order to eliminate the excess alkaline solution and obtain a compact solid phase of alkaline cellulose fibers (pressing under vacuum) [0005],
a step (S4-13) of grinding the solid phase of alkaline cellulose fibers obtained at the end of step (S4-12), in order to obtain a solid phase of alkaline cellulose fibers that is less compact than the solid phase obtained at the end of step (S4-12) (shredded) [0005],
a step (S4-14) of aging the solid phase comprising the alkaline cellulose fibers obtained at the end of step (S4-13) [0005],
a step (S4-15) of placing the solid phase of aged alkaline cellulose fibers in contact with carbon disulfide in order to obtain a solid phase of cellulose xanthate fibers,
a step (S4-16) of placing the solid phase of cellulose xanthate fibers in contact with an alkaline aqueous solution comprising sodium hydroxide in order to obtain a cellulose dope comprising undissolved particles [0006], and
a step (S4-17) of maturing the cellulose dope comprising undissolved particles (as they are reacted which requires some maturing of the cellulose dope in with the reactant) [0007-8].
In accordance with the MPEP a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the dope making step of HAR with the one of JIN as this amounts to a simple substitution of making dopes with dissolving pulp with the expected result of forming a wet spinnable dope [0011; 0014-15].
As for claim 24, HAR teaches claim 13 and that filtration is used but does not teach the details of pore size etc [0040].
JIN teaches that known filtering pore sizes for the dope to produce fibers is 5 um which is at an end of the claimed range [0219].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the pore size of JIN as this would allow for the filtering of the dope of HAR to occur. As both HAR and JIN pertain to cellulose dopes they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAR in view of Ganvir et al (US 2017/0362342) hereinafter GAN.
As for claim 15, HAR teaches claim 13, but does not teach NMMO in step 4.
GAN teaches that in conventional production of cellulose dope that dissolving the cellulose in NMMO and then evaporating water achieves a uniformity of slurry and homogeneous dope formation [0003].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the conventional manner of employing Step 4 of the process NMMO and evaporating water as GAN teaches that this is the conventional manner which achieves a uniformity of slurry and homogenous dope formation. As this is the conventional manner, one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination and would find GAN and HAR to be analogous art.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAR in view of Barla et al (US 2019/0218362) hereinafter BAR.
As for claim 21, HAR teaches claim 17 and but does not teach wherein the alkaline aqueous solution comprises a phase transfer catalyst.
BAR teaches that when making a cellulose dope of recycled cellulose that phase transfer catalysts such as benzyltributylammonium chloride improves energy efficiency of the process [0053].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the phase transfer catalyst of BAR to the solution of HAR in order to improve the energy efficiency of the process. As both HAR and BAR pertain to creating a dope from recycled cellulose they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected success in the combination.
As for claim 22, HAR/BAR teaches claim 21, and wherein the quaternary ammonium is benzyltributylammonium chloride [BAR: 0053].
As for claim 23, HAR/BAR teaches claim 22, wherein the quaternary ammonium is benzyltributylammonium chloride [BAR: 0053] and while a direct concentration of the benzyltributylammonium chloride is not taught, it serves also as a surfactant which HAR teaches occurs in a mass percentage between 0.1 and 2% (0.05-0.5 wt% which overlaps the claimed range) [HAR: 0043].
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711