DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending:
1, 3, 4
Withdrawn:
NONE
Rejected:
1, 3, 4
Amended:
NONE
New:
NONE
Independent:
1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2002-180173A (JP’173, previously cited).
JP’173 teaches (see abstract, etc.) an aluminum alloy rolled sheet product said alloy comprising (in wt.%):
Claim 1
cl. 4
JP’173
JP’173 ex. 1, Table 1
Si
0.20-0.40
0.20-0.40
0.25-0.45
0.30
Fe
0.29-0.70
0.30-0.70
0.35-0.6
0.45
Cu
0.11-0.40
0.11-0.40
0.25-0.45
0.37
Mn
0.7-1.2
0.7-1.2
0.9-1.2
0.99
Mg
2.1-4.0
2.1-3.0
2.0-3.5
2.60
balance
Al and impurities
Al and impurities
Al and impurities
Table 1: instant claims vs. prior art of JP’173
which overlaps the claimed alloying ranges of Si, Fe, Cu, Mn, Mg, and balance aluminum and impurities (including the Mg minimum of 2.1%). Further, Example 1 of JP’173 falls within the alloying ranges of Si, Fe, Cu, Mn, Mg, and aluminum (see JP’173 at Table 1, see above Table 1 for comparison with JP’173). JP’173 teaches said alloy sheet is suitable for production of aluminum cans (translation [0004]), which includes and therefore meets the instant intended use limitation of “aluminum alloy sheet for a can lid”.
Concerning the limitation of a “paint-baked coating” (independent claim 1), JP’173 teaches the application of a “coating and baking a resin paint” – which meets said limitation.
JP’173 (at Table 2, page 6) teaches Example 1 exhibits: UTS =377 MPa, YS= 336 MPa, and therefore σfm=344 MPa. Therefore, the equation in instant claim 1:
σ
f
m
(
Y
S
U
T
S
)
=
356.5
M
P
a
(
336
377
)
=
400
M
P
a
wherein 400 MPa meets the claimed minimum of ≥350 MPa.
JP’173 does not specify a) the total area of Mg2Si particles with an area ≥0.3µm2 is ≤1.0 area% (cl. 1) or b) the relationship of H0p, H45p, and Hv (instant claim 3). However, though JP’173 does not specify the claimed microstructural characteristics (cl. 1) or properties (cl. 3), because JP’173 teaches an example with alloying ranges that fall within the claimed ranges processed by substantially identical process steps of casting an ingot, homogenizing, hot rolling, cold rolling, and application of a baked coating (see translation of JP’173 p 4, see discussion above of baked coating), then substantially the same properties (such as H0p, H45p, and Hv) and microstructure are inherently expected for the rolled alloy product of the prior art, as for the instant invention. Therefore, it is held that JP’173 anticipates the instant invention. Alternatively, because of the overlap in alloying ranges together with substantially identical processing taught by the prior art (wherein the claimed microstructure and properties are expected to be present, due to such), is held that JP’173 has created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the range, including the claimed range, from the broader range disclosed in the prior art, because the prior art finds that said composition in the entire disclosed range has a suitable utility. Additionally, "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d at 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)), see MPEP 2112. Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art’s product.
Concerning dependent claim 3, see above discussion of H0p, H45p, and Hv properties.
Concerning dependent claim 4, as set forth above, JP’173 teaches overlapping alloying ranges (see Table 1 for comparison).
Response to Amendment/Arguments
In the response filed 6/23/26, applicant submitted various arguments traversing the rejections of record.
Applicant’s arguments that the instant invention is allowable because the closest prior art of JP 2002-180173A (JP’173) does not teach or suggest the claimed total area of Mg2Si particles with an area ≥0.3µm2 is ≤1.0 area%, because JP’173 teaches a different cold rolling end temperature has not been found persuasive. Cold rolling end temperature is taught by the instant specification to influence the strength [0083], and is not recognized to be critical towards achieving the claimed Mg2Si distribution. Homogenizing at a high temperature is taught to be critical towards achieving the claimed Mg2Si distribution (see instant specification at [0078], etc., and JP’173 homogenizes at typically 565°C for 8 hours [0027], which is within the preferred homogenization parameters that are expected to re-solutionize Mg2Si (see instant specification at [0075], etc.), and therefore the claimed Mg2Si distribution would be expected for JP’173 as for the instant invention. Further, though the cold rolling end temperature is taught to influence the strength properties of the claimed sheet, JP’173 teaches strength properties that meet the instantly claimed strength properties and ratios (see discussion above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733 3/11/26