DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11, 13-19, 22-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Each of claims 1-11, 13-19, 22-23 and 25 falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP § 2106.03. For example, each of claims 1-11, 13-19 fall within category of process. For example, each of claim 22-23 and 25 falls within category of machine, i.e., a “concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices.” Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348–49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)).
Regarding Claims 1-9
Step 2A – Prong 1
Exemplary claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea of correcting depth values of a measurement device.
The abstract idea is set forth or described by the following italicized limitations:
1. A method for correcting depth values of a measurement device used to log a borehole relative to the borehole collar, comprising:
receiving hole data representing the borehole, wherein the hole data includes at least a collar position indicating a location of the collar of the borehole;
determining a measurement reference position indicating a reference location of a measurement device configured to be deployed into the borehole;
receiving, from a depth logging device, one or more depth values of the measurement device in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole; and
determining ..
The italicized limitations above represent mental steps (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment). Therefore, the italicized limitations fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
For example, the limitations “determining a measurement reference […]; determining based on the one or more depth values, one or more corrected depth values [..];” are mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment), see 2106.04(a)(2). Limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea for further analysis. (discussing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010)).
Step 2A – Prong 2
Claims 1 does not include additional elements (when considered individually, as an ordered combination, and/or within the claim as a whole) that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
For example, first element is “receiving hole data representing the borehole, wherein the hole data includes at least a collar position indicating a location of the collar of the borehole” to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
For example,2nd additional element is “receiving, from a depth logging device, one or more depth values of the measurement device in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole” to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The 3rd additional element is “measurement derive”. This element amounts to mere use of a generic component of borehole logging system, which is well understood routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and this element individually does not provide a practical application. In view of the above, the “additional element” individually or combine does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. see MPEP 2106.05(d).
In view of the above, the three “additional elements” individually do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the “additional elements” in combination amount to a generic borehole logging system with computer software with high level of generality , where such computers and software amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer(s) and/or mere use of a generic computer component(s) as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, these elements in combination do not provide a practical application. The combination of additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, and for this additional reason, the combination of additional elements does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Claims1 does not include additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. For example, the limitation of Claim 1 contains additional elements that is, i.e. measurement device”, generic devices, which are well understood, routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)). The reasons for reaching this conclusion are substantially the same as the reasons given above in § Step 2A – Prong 2. For brevity only, those reasons are not repeated in this section. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(g) and MPEP §§2106.05(II).
Dependent Claims 2-9
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-19 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 1 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Particularly, claims 2-11, 13-19 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity, mere use of instructions and/or generic computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
For example, the limitations of Claims 2-4, 7-8 are a mental step.
For example, the limitations of Claim 5-6, generic borehole logging system, which is well understood routine and conventional.
For example, the limitations of Claims 9 insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering)
. Regarding Claims 10-11, 13-19
Step 2A – Prong 1
Exemplary claim 10 is directed to an abstract idea of correcting depth values of a measurement device.
The abstract idea is set forth or described by the following italicized limitations:
10. A method for correcting depth values of a measurement device used to log a borehole relative to the borehole collarby a measurement apparatus, including:
receiving a collar position of a borehole, wherein the collar position indicates a location of the collar of the borehole;
determining a measurement reference position indicating a reference location from which a measurement device is to be deployed to measure the borehole; and
generating, based on the collar position and the measurement position, one or more corrected depth values to correct for a difference between the collar position and the measurement reference position of the measurement device, in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole..
The italicized limitations above represent mental steps (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment). Therefore, the italicized limitations fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
For example, the limitations “determining a measurement reference […]; generating[..] one or more corrected depth values [..];” are mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment), see 2106.04(a)(2). Limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea for further analysis. (discussing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010)).
Step 2A – Prong 2
Claims 10 does not include additional elements (when considered individually, as an ordered combination, and/or within the claim as a whole) that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
For example, first element is “receiving a collar position of a borehole, wherein the collar position indicates a location of the collar of the borehole;” to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The 2nd additional element is “measurement apparatus”. This element amounts to mere use of a generic component of borehole logging system, which is well understood routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and this element individually does not provide a practical application. In view of the above, the “additional element” individually or combine does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. see MPEP 2106.05(d).
In view of the above, the two “additional elements” individually do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the “additional elements” in combination amount to a generic borehole logging system with computer software with high level of generality , where such computers and software amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer(s) and/or mere use of a generic computer component(s) as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, these elements in combination do not provide a practical application. The combination of additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, and for this additional reason, the combination of additional elements does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Claims10 does not include additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. For example, the limitation of Claim 10 contains additional elements that is, i.e. measurement apparatus”, generic devices, which are well understood, routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)). The reasons for reaching this conclusion are substantially the same as the reasons given above in § Step 2A – Prong 2. For brevity only, those reasons are not repeated in this section. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(g) and MPEP §§2106.05(II).
Dependent Claims 11, 13-19
Dependent claims 11, 13-19 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 10 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Particularly, claims 11, 13-19 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity, mere use of instructions and/or generic computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
For example, the limitations of Claims 13-14,17-18 are a mental step.
For example, the limitations of Claim 15-16, generic borehole logging system, which is well understood routine and conventional.
For example, the limitations of Claims 19 insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering)
Regarding Claims 22-23 and 25
Step 2A – Prong 1
Exemplary claim 22 is directed to an abstract idea of correcting depth values of a measurement device.
The abstract idea is set forth or described by the following italicized limitations:
22. A borehole measurement apparatus for correcting depth values used to log a borehole relative to the borehole collar comprising:
a controller device configured to control operations of the borehole measurement apparatus associated with performing a logging of the borehole;
a measurement device configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device into the borehole from a reference location; and
transmit the one or more geological measurement values to the controller device; and a depth logging device configured to: generate one or more depth values of the measurement device in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole; and
transmit the one or more depth values to the controller device, wherein the borehole measurement apparatus is configured to communicate with a depth correction computing device external to the borehole measurement apparatus, the depth correction computing device having:
a communications interface to receive data from at least the controller device; at least one computer processor to execute program instructions; and
a memory, coupled to the at least one computer processor, to store program instructions for execution by the at least one computer processor, wherein the depth correction computing device is configured to:
receive hole data representing the borehole, wherein the hole data includes at least a collar position indicating a position of the collar of the borehole;
receive, via the communications interface, at least the one or more depth values generated by the depth logging device; and
determine based on the one or more depth values, one or more corrected depth values to correct for a difference between the collar position, and a measurement reference position indicating the reference location of the measurement device..
The italicized limitations above represent mental steps (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment). Therefore, the italicized limitations fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
For example, the limitations “determine based on the one or more depth values, one or more corrected depth values to correct for a difference [..];” are mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment), see 2106.04(a)(2). Limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea for further analysis. (discussing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010)).
Step 2A – Prong 2
Claims 1 does not include additional elements (when considered individually, as an ordered combination, and/or within the claim as a whole) that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
For example, first additional first element is “a measurement device configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device into the borehole from a reference location; and transmit the one or more geological measurement values to the controller device; and a depth logging device configured to: generate one or more depth values of the measurement device in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole; and transmit the one or more depth values to the controller device, wherein the borehole measurement apparatus is configured to communicate with a depth correction computing device external to the borehole measurement apparatus, the depth correction computing device having: a communications interface to receive data from at least the controller device; receive hole data representing the borehole, wherein the hole data includes at least a collar position indicating a position of the collar of the borehole; receive, via the communications interface, at least the one or more depth values generated by the depth logging device” to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use/ data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The 2nd additional element is “A borehole measurement apparatus; a controller device configured to control operations of the borehole measurement apparatus associated with performing a logging of the borehole; a memory, coupled to the at least one computer processor, to store program instructions for execution by the at least one computer processor, wherein the depth correction computing device ”. This element amounts to mere use of a generic borehole logging system, which is well understood routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and this element individually does not provide a practical application. In view of the above, the “additional element” individually or combine does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. see MPEP 2106.05(d).
In view of the above, the two “additional elements” individually do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the “additional elements” in combination amount to a generic borehole logging system with computer software with high level of generality , where such computers and software amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer(s) and/or mere use of a generic computer component(s) as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, these elements in combination do not provide a practical application. The combination of additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, and for this additional reason, the combination of additional elements does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Claims22 does not include additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. For example, the limitation of Claim 1 contains additional elements that is, i.e. borehole measurement apparatus, controller, processor, memory”, generic devices, which are well understood, routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)). The reasons for reaching this conclusion are substantially the same as the reasons given above in § Step 2A – Prong 2. For brevity only, those reasons are not repeated in this section. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(g) and MPEP §§2106.05(II).
Dependent Claims 23 and 25
Dependent claims 23 and 25 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 22(set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Particularly, claims 2 and 25 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity, mere use of instructions and/or generic computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
For example, the limitations of Claims 23 and 25 insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., data gathering)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-5, 7-8 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newman (US 20080035334)
Regarding claim 1. Newman teaches a method for correcting depth values of a measurement device used to log a borehole relative to the borehole collar logging a borehole, comprising(fig. 23):
receiving hole data representing the borehole, wherein the hole data includes at least a collar position indicating a location of the collar of the borehole(2305- 2345: fig.23);
determining a measurement reference position indicating a reference location of a measurement device configured to be deployed into the borehole(2350: fig.23; [0287], [0290];);
receiving, from a depth logging device, one or more depth values of the measurement device in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole(2355—2370: fig.23); and
determining based on the one or more depth values, one or more corrected depth values to correct for a difference between the collar position- and the measurement reference position(the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it:[0290]; 2370-2375: fig.23).
Regarding claim 2. Newman further teaches the one or more corrected depth values are corrected against a depth offset of the measurement reference position relative to the collar position(D-Y: [0290]).
Regarding Claim 3. Newman further teaches depth offset is determined by determining a distance between the measurement reference position and the collar position, and the one or more corrected depth values are determined by applying the depth offset to each of the one or more depth values generated by the measurement device(the depth of the tubing 125 at the time the pitting sensor data was obtained is determined. This depth is recorded as variable D. In step 2370, the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it: [0290]).
Regarding Claim 4. Newman further teaches the application of the depth offset is based on whether the measurement reference position is above the collar position or otherwise(the depth of the tubing 125 at the time the pitting sensor data was obtained is determined. This depth is recorded as variable D. In step 2370, the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it: [0290]).
Regarding Claim 5. Newman further teaches the measurement device (150: fig.1) is positioned at the reference location by a deployment vehicle (140: fig.1), the deployment vehicle being positioned at a corresponding vehicle location at a surface region around the collar position (420: fig.4; [0115]).
Regarding Claim 7. Newman further teaches the reference location of the measurement device(150) is determined by the deployment vehicle based on the vehicle location(140: fig.1; fig. 22B).
Regarding Claim 8. Newman further teaches the reference location of the measurement device is determined by processing location data provided by a locator device within, or coupled to, at least one of: the deployment vehicle(140: fig.1; 1800: fig. 18); and the measurement device(150: fig.1).
Regarding Claim 22. Newman teaches a borehole measurement apparatus for correcting depth values used to log a borehole relative to the borehole collar comprising(150:fig. 1;200: fig.2):
a controller device configured to control operations of the borehole measurement apparatus associated with performing a logging of the borehole (250: fig.2);
a measurement device configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device into the borehole from a reference location([0071], [0111]); and
transmit the one or more geological measurement values to the controller device([0071], [0111]); and
a depth logging device configured to: generate one or more depth values of the measurement device in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole(205,255, 250: fig.2; fig. 3A-B; fig. 22B); and
transmit the one or more depth values to the controller device,
wherein the borehole measurement apparatus is configured to communicate with a depth correction computing device external to the borehole measurement apparatus, the depth correction computing device having(130: fig.1):
a communications interface to receive data from at least the controller device(280, 230, 135: fig.2);
at least one computer processor to execute program instructions(130: fig.2); and
a memory, coupled to the at least one computer processor, to store program instructions for execution by the at least one computer processor, wherein the depth correction computing device is configured to(130: fig.2):
receive hole data representing the borehole, wherein the hole data includes at least a collar position indicating a position of the collar of the borehole(2305- 2345: fig.23);
receive, via the communications interface, at least the one or more depth values generated by the depth logging device(2355—2370: fig.23); and
determine, based on the one or more depth values, one or more corrected depth values to correct for a difference between the collar position, and a measurement reference position indicating the reference location of the measurement device(the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it:[0290]; 2370-2375: fig.23).
Regarding Claim 23. Newman further teaches the depth correction computing device is configured to receive, via the communications interface, the measurement reference position(370: fig.3B; [0290]; fig. 22b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Newman in view of Guaman (US 2005/0288819).
Regarding Claim 6. Newman silent about the deployment vehicle is an autonomous vehicle configured to guide itself to the vehicle location based on the hole data.
However, Guaman teaches the deployment vehicle is an autonomous vehicle configured to guide itself to the vehicle location based on the hole data([0024], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Newman, the deployment vehicle is an autonomous vehicle configured to guide itself to the vehicle location based on the hole data, as taught by Guaman, so as to perform maintenance and repair activities in oil and gas wells, risers and in pipelines.
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-15, 17-19 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of Moody (US 2021/0262340).
Regarding Claim 9. Newman silent about the measurement device is a geological logging tool configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device to measure the borehole, the one or more geological measurement values corresponding to the one or more corrected depth values.
However, Moody teaches the measurement device is a geological logging tool configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device to measure the borehole, the one or more geological measurement values corresponding to the one or more corrected depth values (200: fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Newman, the measurement device is a geological logging tool configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device to measure the borehole, the one or more geological measurement values corresponding to the one or more corrected depth values, as taught by Moody, so as to perform knowledge of depth enables precise drilling trajectory and enables positioning of components at specific locations along a drilled.
Regarding claim 10. Newman teaches a method for correcting depth values of a measurement device used to log a borehole relative to the borehole collar by a measurement apparatus, including (100: fig. 1; fig. 23):
receiving a collar position of a borehole, wherein the collar position indicates a location of the collar of the borehole (2305- 2345: fig.23);
determining a measurement reference position indicating a reference location from which a measurement device is to be deployed to measure the borehole (2350: fig.23; [0287], [0290]); and
generating, based on the collar position and the measurement position, one or more corrected depth values to correct for a difference between the collar position and the measurement reference position of the measurement device(the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it:[0290]; 2370-2375: fig.23),
Newman silent about in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole.
However, Moody teaches in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole (200: fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Newman, in response to the deployment, from the reference location, of the measurement device to measure the borehole, as taught by Moody, so as to perform knowledge of depth enables precise drilling trajectory and enables positioning of components at specific locations along a drilled.
Regarding claim 11. Newman further teaches the one or more corrected depth values are corrected against a depth offset of the measurement reference position relative to the collar position (D-Y: [0290]).
Regarding claim 13. Newman further teaches the application of the depth offset is based on whether the measurement reference position is above the collar position or otherwise(the depth of the tubing 125 at the time the pitting sensor data was obtained is determined. This depth is recorded as variable D. In step 2370, the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it: [0290]).
Regarding claim 14. Newman further teaches the one or more corrected depth values are generated by incorporating the depth offset into the determination of one or more depths of the borehole(the depth of the tubing 125 at the time the pitting sensor data was obtained is determined. This depth is recorded as variable D. In step 2370, the computer 130 records the pitting sensor data as having a depth equal to D minus Y. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the depth variance to the base depth reference could be positive or negative based on relative position to the base reference and for that reason the computer 130 could also add the variance to the determined depth D if the relational position of the sensor to the base reference required it: [0290]).
Regarding Claim 15. Newman further teaches the measurement device (150: fig.1) is positioned at the reference location by a deployment vehicle (140: fig.1), the deployment vehicle being positioned at a corresponding vehicle location at a surface region around the collar position (420: fig.4; [0115])
Regarding Claim 17. Newman further teaches the reference location of the measurement device(150) is determined by the deployment vehicle based on the vehicle location(140: fig.1; fig. 22B)
Regarding Claim 18. Newman further teaches the reference location of the measurement device is determined by processing location data provided by a locator device within, or coupled to, at least one of: the deployment vehicle(140: fig.1; 1800: fig. 18); and the measurement device(150: fig.1).
Regarding Claim 19. Newman silent about the measurement device is a geological logging tool configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device to measure the borehole, the one or more geological measurement values corresponding to the one or more corrected depth values.
However, Moody teaches the measurement device is a geological logging tool configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device to measure the borehole, the one or more geological measurement values corresponding to the one or more corrected depth values(200: fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Newman, the measurement device is a geological logging tool configured to generate one or more geological measurement values of the borehole in response to the deployment of the measurement device to measure the borehole, the one or more geological measurement values corresponding to the one or more corrected depth values, as taught by Moody, so as to perform knowledge of depth enables precise drilling trajectory and enables positioning of components at specific locations along a drilled.
Regarding Claim 25. Newman silent about the measurement device is configured to provide the one or more geological measurement values to the depth correction computing device via the communications interface.
However, Moody teaches the measurement device is configured to provide the one or more geological measurement values to the depth correction computing device via the communications interface(200: fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Newman, the measurement device is configured to provide the one or more geological measurement values to the depth correction computing device via the communications interface, as taught by Moody, so as to perform knowledge of depth enables precise drilling trajectory and enables positioning of components at specific locations along a drilled.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman in view of in view of Moody , further in view of Guaman (US 2005/0288819)
Regarding Claim 16. The modified Newman silent about the deployment vehicle is an autonomous vehicle configured to guide itself to the vehicle location based on the hole data.
However, Guaman teaches the deployment vehicle is an autonomous vehicle configured to guide itself to the vehicle location based on the hole data ([0024], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Newman, the deployment vehicle is an autonomous vehicle configured to guide itself to the vehicle location based on the hole data, as taught by Guaman, so as to perform maintenance and repair activities in oil and gas wells, risers and in pipelines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) US 2024/0125227: disclose the tool comprises a casing collar locator and the action comprises detecting a casing collar within the wellbore, the method further comprising: determining a depth of the untethered tool within the wellbore; and correcting the depth of the untethered tool based at least in part on a known depth of the casing collar.
b) US 2019/0211667: the system 10 includes one or more reference location devices. For example, a reference sensor 68 is disposed at the borehole string 12 and provides a reference location by which the location of the receiver 40 can be confirmed or corrected. The reference sensor 68 may be configured to detect features of the borehole 12 and/or downhole components that are at known depths or locations along the borehole 12. For example, the reference sensor 68 is an electromagnetic sensor (e.g., similar to a casing collar locator), a gamma ray measurement device or other suitable sensor for detecting features such as casing collars, liner tops, cement tops, casing joints or profiles, known irregularities in a cement bond log, and others.
c) US 2018/0163530: disclose Well drilling and logging operations often require ranging measurements. Ranging measurements are taken at a reference point and detect electromagnetic, acoustic, nuclear or other emanations from a target. The ranging measurements may be used to identify, for example, the relative location or distance of the reference point from a known target, or to identify the location or distance of a target from a known reference. One common use of ranging is to allow a relief well to find a target blow-out well, follow the target blow-out well, and identify a suitable intersection point. Ranging measurements may be taken using a sensor located inside of a drill string, but they may be susceptible to interference from the drill string. For some ranging measurements, the drill string must be removed from the well prior to performing measurements in that well. Such tripping of the drill string before each ranging measurement, however, may be costly and time consuming.
d) US 2013/0284434: disclose With the end 103 of the coiled tubing 102 in this position, the depth computer 152 may assign the input value from the angular position sensor 120 as an initial coiled tubing spool angular location reference. Likewise, the depth computer 152 may assign the input value from the contact sensor 122 as an initial coiled tubing contact sensor location reference. In an embodiment, the depth computer 152 may transmit a signal to the contact sensor 122 to establish a zero depth reference.
e) US 8,260,554: disclose a method for correcting a motion related distortion in a sensor measurement comprises establishing a reference position in a borehole. A parameter of interest is measured at a plurality of toolface angles as the tool makes a revolution in the borehole. A distance to a wall of the borehole is measured associated with each parameter of interest measurement. A lateral motion of the tool is measured between each parameter of interest measurement, and a toolface angle of the tool is measured at each parameter of interest measurement. A controller comprising a processor acts according to programmed instructions to calculate a correction to the parameter of interest measurement referenced to the reference position based at least partly on the measured tool motion.
f) US 2011/0297371: disclose drill collar.
Contact Information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857